Elite: Dangerous Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1847 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next game in the Elite series - a space epic with fully multi-player. Carve your own path through a rich gaming sandbox, set against a backdrop of raw anarchy, galactic powerplays and intrigue. Do whatever it takes to upgrade your ship’s hull, engines, weapons, defences, cargo hold;The next game in the Elite series - a space epic with fully multi-player. Carve your own path through a rich gaming sandbox, set against a backdrop of raw anarchy, galactic powerplays and intrigue. Do whatever it takes to upgrade your ship’s hull, engines, weapons, defences, cargo hold; constantly improve your capabilities and influence on your journey towards the most coveted rank in the history of gaming - ‘Elite’. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Elite: Dangerous - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. May 11, 2015
    90
    Everyone who played the original game back in the 80's, should be right at home. It's the 21st Century version of "Elite." But newer, uninitiated players may find it strangely desolate and repetitive. A grand space simulation, aimed at the series' hardcore fans.
  2. Games Master UK
    Feb 22, 2015
    88
    Bold, brave and beautiful - Elite's return aims high and achieves almost all of its grand ambitions. [Mar 2015, p.60]
  3. Jan 13, 2015
    85
    Elite: Dangerous is one of the games with the greatest potential ever seen in the history of this media. At present, we are talking about a title that includes a reproduction in 1: 1 scale of our galaxy, with billions of stars to explore and contents that go far beyond the life expectancy of a human being. In one word: incredible.
  4. Dec 22, 2014
    80
    For all its frustrations, you'll spend much longer in the sweet spot than you spend getting there. Elite: Dangerous demands much, but repays your devotion many times over.
  5. Mar 4, 2015
    80
    Elite Dangerous is a very ambitious game. Travel through the massive universe in your own spaceship. Trade, explore and fight your way through the galaxy in this epic and enormous game. But keep in mind: the game still has a way to go until it's finished.
  6. Jan 15, 2015
    80
    Everyone's experiences in Elite: Dangerous will be unique to them, and it only takes a couple of mesmerising ones to justify the early grind.
  7. Dec 16, 2014
    70
    A "launch" build with some features still in infancy, Elite: Dangerous nonetheless offers terrific space flight ambiance and trading progression befitting of the once-revolutionary series. In a few months time, this title could be outstanding.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    Gameplay 9 (combat in particular is excellent and addictive!)
    Setting 10 (full galaxy!)
    Graphics 10 Sound 10 Multiplayer 8 Smooth servers
    Gameplay 9 (combat in particular is excellent and addictive!)
    Setting 10 (full galaxy!)
    Graphics 10
    Sound 10
    Multiplayer 8
    Smooth servers 10

    I have un installed Star Citizen arena commander pay to win. Nough said.
    Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    This review is based on game potential and what it's going to become in a years time. Bar the lacking barebones multiplayer this game isThis review is based on game potential and what it's going to become in a years time. Bar the lacking barebones multiplayer this game is currently the best in the genre. It's not your typical MMO and once the multiplayer has more work it will be up there with the likes of WoW, Counter Strike and LoL in genre leading games. Graphics are stunning, amazing visuals and a perfectly rendered universe of immense size and quality. Planets, rock and nebulas are well modeled and the game optimization is good. It looks alright on a low end system and breath taking on a high end one. Sound fits the game profile well, weapons, engines and the universe sound as you'd expect a space sim to, all down to the cool computer voice and hyper drive explosions. Gameplay for Elite veterans or space sim/flight sim enthusiasts is easier but expect a steep learning curve in a game that rewards for practicing and putting time into. This isn't an Eve Online type game so don't expect an MMO with stats and numbers this is pure skill based flight game, there is some grinding but you won't be grinding 10,000 bore you'll be flying to space stations in different systems trading, mining and fighting.

    This game isn't for everyone so check your a fan on this before buying! Give it a year and this already solid foundation will be with the best games ever!
    Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    Elite is back! New, upgraded and shiny but at the core it's still Elite - you, your ship and the universe of possibilities.

    As per 2.07
    Elite is back! New, upgraded and shiny but at the core it's still Elite - you, your ship and the universe of possibilities.

    As per 2.07 (last pre-launch update) it feels good, looks better and plays great. The foundation is very solid and it can get only better with the promised development after release that will continue to expand the base of the game while also working on major expansions like planetary landings and first person.

    The latest fixes during Beta and Gamma have done an excellent job to improve the stability and overall balance of the game. Trading is finally fixed and logical again, combat feels great. No issues with the netcode (for me) and overall an excellent experience. Mind though - this game isn't easy and doesn't hold your hand - your actions have consequences and there is no magic immunity nets. Live fast, die hard!

    In addition, Frontier Developments have shown to be a great company, constantly hearing and answering their customers and changing the game to suit people's requests. Many times features or fixes requested in the forums have "magically" appeared in the game showing that the guys at Frontier actually do really care about our opinions - this also corroborated by some of the senior Frontier staff frequently posting and engaging in debates and clarifications with the players.
    Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2014
    9
    A promising start to the reboot of a great franchise. I think the best is yet to come.
    I would encourage anyone to at least give the game a
    A promising start to the reboot of a great franchise. I think the best is yet to come.
    I would encourage anyone to at least give the game a try, the initial learning curve is very steep by the standards of the day; but once you dig deep the effort is rewarding.
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2015
    7
    I get annoyed by people who either give this game 0 - usually the ones who will never forgive Frontier for the offline mode debacle - and alsoI get annoyed by people who either give this game 0 - usually the ones who will never forgive Frontier for the offline mode debacle - and also the ones who give it 10 who are blinded by all the hype.

    I have been playing since mid-beta and can see why it is not for everyone. But there is one factor that keeps me coming back:

    It's not Eve. I don't have to spend my time playing by other people's rules. I can have fights with other players and not worry about a million other players turning up and zapping me. I can do my own thing.

    If you want Eve fork out your 10 quid a month and stay away with your tedious griefer buddies. Sit around in space stations all night doing nothing except talking because you are too scared to leave and might start having to play the game.

    The graphics are amazing and although gameplay can be repetitive, that's the nature of computer games.

    A few points get knocked off because missions don't work tremendously well. I would like to be able to complete them without having NPC pilots trying to bribe me all the time and then having the whole thing cancelled because I hit the wrong button.

    The nerd in me admires the attempt to create a Milky Way copy in the game. There's no way of telling whether or not it's accurate but I like the point it makes about the vastness of space.

    In conclusion I hope that Frontier keep pushing this thing forward and make some improvements, add a few more ships and perhaps add some more variety in terms of missions.

    I have spent a fair bit of money on this game and although it's been worth it, my VFM rating will go up if Frontier introduces developments such as landing on planets and walking around.

    So ratings are:

    Graphics 10/10

    Gameplay 7/10

    Sound 9/10

    Value for money: 6/10

    Overall 7/10
    Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2014
    3
    Great graphics and sound, boring gameplay. Once you've done the few things there are to do a few times you realise how shallow and empty itGreat graphics and sound, boring gameplay. Once you've done the few things there are to do a few times you realise how shallow and empty it is. Released a year too early. Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2020
    0
    Shouldn't be called multiplayer most encounters with other players result in the game disconnecting, that's if your even lucky enough to runShouldn't be called multiplayer most encounters with other players result in the game disconnecting, that's if your even lucky enough to run into anyone that isn't just blowing you up on sight... flight mechanics are almost as bad as the driving mechanics. Don't waste your money!

    Update: After not playing for a year almost all bugs still exist, gameplay is still horrible and multiplayer is even worse with constant disconnects. You can be in the same system with 20 people and see 3 people, jump out then in 3 more new people.. P2P is trash, and this multiplayer is very very limited. Fleet Carriers are a complete joke, im sure the only guy that put more than 2 hours into them was the model designer that could have been done when this game was released as easy as now. They are the only "end game" content, credits are pointless and you cant even share them without a huge hassle of dumping cargo or using a fleet carrier to set prices. Yeah the galaxy is big, but after you've seen the a handful of the models and find out theres nothing actually special to find...
    Expand

See all 880 User Reviews

Trailers