Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 12, 2019
    95
    Eliza is a poignant, well-presented tale about how even technology created to help people can be harmful when it replaces human connection. Rather than demonizing technology, though, Eliza is a paean to compassion, communication, and all the varied ways people can lift each other up.
  2. Edge Magazine
    Sep 12, 2019
    90
    His masterstroke is Eliza itself. [Issue#337, p.120]
  3. Aug 13, 2019
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Nov 21, 2019
    80
    It’s a game about the compromises necessary to get by in the working world and problems that don’t come with pat solutions.
  5. Aug 21, 2019
    80
    It is not unreasonable to assume that the software suggested in Eliza already exists, though it has not yet been exploited and marketed. Our culture certainly believes that technology is the solution to what ails us, even when what ails us is technology, and Eliza the visual novel is an interesting and engaging exploration of that thesis.
  6. Aug 12, 2019
    80
    Zachtronics make a detour from its puzzle game destiny with the visual novel Eliza. It's slick in its design, though shy on the big choices you might expect from most visual novels. Still, packed with a stellar solitaire minigame, impressive voice acting, and one of the most prescient narratives I've seen in games, if you're a fan at all of interactive stories that'll have you gripped from start to finish, Eliza is it.
  7. Aug 20, 2019
    76
    I have such mixed feelings about Eliza. With regard to what it does well, it stands head and shoulders above the competition. In terms of the concepts explored, exemplifying how directionless adulthood can be, and its presentation, Eliza is exceptional. Regarding the actual narrative, pace, and flow of the writing, Eliza can be a slog to get through that frequently left me wondering, "Why am I doing this in the game right now?"
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 12, 2019
    I came out of Eliza with the sense that I'd been on a journey of juggling grief, hope, and joy through the existential dread that is living a modern, tech-filled life. And for that reason, I recommend this visual novel as a must-play experience. [Ars Technica Approved]
  2. Aug 29, 2019
    It’s a realistic depiction of depression, but it’s as tiring to play as it is to live.
  3. Aug 12, 2019
    I came to this game imagining it would be a clever take on the Turing Test, a scenario designed to see if a machine can pass for a human intelligence. Instead, I explored the possible outcomes of trying to treat mental health problems at scale. Removing the humanity from the act of helping humans cope is a dystopian way of solving the problem; Eliza’s story highlights the potential pitfalls of generalizing a deeply personal process.
  4. Nora is wonderful. [RPS Bestest Bests]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Oct 20, 2019
    10
    Eliza is my new go-to game if anyone asks if i can recommend a calm visual novel. The game is not short but not too long and you might be ableEliza is my new go-to game if anyone asks if i can recommend a calm visual novel. The game is not short but not too long and you might be able to complete it in less than day. The graphics are perfect and fit wonderfully in combination with the amazing voice acting. Story wise the game contains explanation of the past, current and future of certain Characters and sometimes you really feel empathy with some of them.
    In my opinion Eliza is the best Visual Novel of the year and really deserves more attention
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2019
    9
    Eliza is a powerful Visual Novel (VN) around AI and mental health that maybe nearer a future reality than we think. Excellent voice acting,Eliza is a powerful Visual Novel (VN) around AI and mental health that maybe nearer a future reality than we think. Excellent voice acting, intriguing characters with a past and nice graphics and sounds make this a really good experience. And with different endings too. One of the best I've had since Highway Blossoms. Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2020
    4
    Eliza is a visual novel from Zachtronics, the gaming company that has produced a huge number of puzzle games. Their games often have a certainEliza is a visual novel from Zachtronics, the gaming company that has produced a huge number of puzzle games. Their games often have a certain atmosphere to them, along with some sort of brief stories, and this visual novel feels very much in the same tonal vein as their other works.

    The story focuses on Evelyn, someone who goes to work at a big company called Skandha. The company’s primary product is Eliza, an AI counselling program, and rather than have people talk to a virtual avatar, instead the company has hired a bunch of outside contractors as “proxies”, whose job it is to read the lines Eliza fed to them and to look empathetic.

    It quickly becomes clear that more is going on than it seems – Evelyn is not some random 30-something who is coming back to work after spending years in depression, she was actually the original designer of the Eliza system. Moreover, the system itself is clearly being overhyped – the program is very much like the original Eliza program from the 1960s. It’s frequently pointed out by characters working at the company that they don’t understand Eliza, and as Evelyn points out, it’s because they’re wrong about what the program is on a fundamental level – it isn’t a counseling program at all, it isn’t really even about language recognition.

    It’s a mirror.

    The story is low-key and subdued, but it is quite interesting topically. It is about someone in a midlife crisis, it addresses a bunch of adult issues like feeling like a failure or not being ready to start a family or whatever else, and it also is looking at the interface between humans and machines, and whether or not machines can help people in ways that go beyond what they have done. Is machine learning and datamining to try and give people better mental health treatment ethical? Can these companies truly be trusted with the data? Are the ambitious people at the head of the company visionaries, or ruthless sociopaths?

    I was enjoying it… but then, the story got to its end, and it rather flubbed the landing.

    The story as a whole examines the flaws in the Eliza system, as well as Evelyn’s own relationship with it and the other people who worked on the project, as well as people who are still working on it. At the end, the player is finally presented with choices that determine the ending of the work.

    And yet… I found it to be quite unsatisfying in the end.

    The game felt pretty solid leading up to the last couple chapters, but while finally being able to go off Eliza’s script in chapter 6 felt like it was going to be a cathartic moment, it didn’t really end up feeling as climactic as the story felt like it was going to be. There were things I wanted to say to the patients, but those weren’t actual options I was presented with in a lot of cases; Evelyn was still limited, and while having two choices instead of one was something, it didn’t end up giving the sense of freedom that I think it was intending for. To be fair, some of it was also, I think, deliberate; some of Eliza’s suggestions actually were helpful to people, and it was clear that Eliza was ultimately helpful in some ways. The story isn’t supposed to be “Eliza bad”, it’s that the whole thing was complicated, and people had unrealistic expectations for what it could do but it could help some people sometimes.

    And the endings were a very mixed bag. Three of the endings felt like they completely discarded the grayness and moral ambiguity of the story, instead feeling very “all or nothing, black or white”, instead of embracing the many shades of gray that the story had deliberately been painting with up to that point. Of the five endings, only one felt like it was really a “proper” way to end the story, and a second feeling at least "reasonable" in a sense, but really turning the whole thing into something of a shaggy dog story.

    The result is that the story didn’t ultimately stick the landing, and if you don’t stick the landing, your story doesn’t really work. The story had interesting ideas, but it ultimately fails to go to interesting places with them.

    And that’s a pity.

    I’m glad Zachtronics tried something different, and many of the things in the story were things that I myself had thought about, and thus, I found it interesting to see others thinking along the same lines, but it ultimately didn’t feel like it delivered.
    Full Review »