User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2021
    9
    I've created an account here because this game doesn't deserve this critics score. It has some flaws, yes (in hard mode some items are very hard to find, a couple of characters don't have great voice acting, and some puzzles are a bit wonky), but overall it's one of the best adventure games I've played in the last few years. Amazing graphic, music and sounds, lovely characters, a sweetI've created an account here because this game doesn't deserve this critics score. It has some flaws, yes (in hard mode some items are very hard to find, a couple of characters don't have great voice acting, and some puzzles are a bit wonky), but overall it's one of the best adventure games I've played in the last few years. Amazing graphic, music and sounds, lovely characters, a sweet story... I truly had fun playing it and the many Easter eggs gave me nostalgia for the 90s p'n'c. I don't understand why few critics have been very harsh for an indie game like this. It deserves way more. Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2021
    9
    What a criminally underrated hidden gem this is. It is not without its flaws, but this game is wonderful,
    with plenty of colorful characters and fun puzzles. It is probably the best point and click adventure game since Unavowed. Do not mind what the critics are saying. They are bunch of pretentious
    hypocrits, who gave any stupid fps high score and cannot appreciate intelligent indie adventure.
  3. Feb 1, 2021
    8
    While Encodya won't be for everyone, those that give it the time will be rewarded with a strong story, good puzzles and a beautifully drawn Neo Berlin to wander through. For some it won't be the game they want while others will fall in love.
  4. Jan 31, 2021
    9
    Ein wundervolles Point & Click Adventure

    Vorwort: ENCODYA stand auf Platz 1 in der Sortierreihenfolge meiner Steam-Wunschliste. Daher habe ich es auch direkt am Release-Tag 26. Jan. 2021 gekauft. Nachfolgend möchte ich meine Eindrücke zu dem Spiel festhalten. Die Geschichte: Die Spieler tauchen in ein Science-Fiction Story ein, die im Jahr 2062 spielt. Wir begleiten das neunjährige
    Ein wundervolles Point & Click Adventure

    Vorwort:
    ENCODYA stand auf Platz 1 in der Sortierreihenfolge meiner Steam-Wunschliste. Daher habe ich es auch direkt am Release-Tag 26. Jan. 2021 gekauft. Nachfolgend möchte ich meine Eindrücke zu dem Spiel festhalten.

    Die Geschichte:
    Die Spieler tauchen in ein Science-Fiction Story ein, die im Jahr 2062 spielt. Wir begleiten das neunjährige Mädchen Tina und ihren “Kindermädchen-Roboter” SAM durch ihr Abenteuer. Beide leben am Rande der Gesellschaft in der Mega-Großstadt Neo-Berlin. Dieses neue Berlin ist noch multikultureller als unser heutiges Berlin. Nach einem Krieg haben sich dort die asiatischen Einflüsse und Spuren sichtlich erhöht, da Europa und Asien sozusagen zusammengewachsen sind. Für Tina geht es nicht nur darum in diesem Großstadtdschungel zu überleben, sondern auch herauszufinden was mit ihren Eltern passiert ist und warum Tina, mit der Hilfe von SAM, auf sich allein gestellt ist.

    In Neo-Berlin haben die virtuelle Realität und der Cyberspace eine größere Bedeutung gewonnen als das reale Leben. Was hat Encodya mit all dem zu tun und was ist das für ein Ort?

    Die Geschichte wird in fünf Kapiteln erzählt und wirft tiefgreifende Sinnfragen auf. Nämlich was ist real und was ist in unserer Realität wichtig? Welche Bedeutung hat die Familie und insgesamt die zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen, oder sogar die Beziehung zu einem Roboter.

    Die Grafik:
    Mir gefällt der Grafikstil sehr gut. Ein Kompliment an die Künstler und Grafiker die dahinterstehen. Ich empfand ENCODYA optisch sehr ansprechend und wirklich hübsch gestaltet. Wenn man unbedingt nach Fehlern suchen möchte, könnten Perfektionisten feststellen, dass die Figuren schon mal Probleme haben Wege aneinander vorbei zu finden und manchmal eine Figur durch eine andere hindurch läuft. Mich hat das nicht so sehr gestört, da ich mich gut auf die schönen Aspekte konzentrieren konnte.

    Was noch eine zusätzliche und ganz witzige Idee ist, man kann in dem Spiel ein Objekt einsammeln, mit dem man zu einem Vintage-Look wechseln kann. Damit kann man also zu einem Pixel-Look wechseln, wenn man das denn gerne möchte. Mich erinnert das z.B. an "Day of the Tentacle Remastered" bei dem man ebenfalls zwischen Pixel-Look und hochauflösender Grafik switchen kann. Ich bin immer wieder mal zum Vintage-Look gewechselt, muss aber sagen, dass mir hier der "Original-Look" besser gefällt.

    Sprachausgabe und Musik:
    Die englische Sprachausgabe ist gut und die Stimmen passen gut zu den Charakteren. Für deutschsprachige Adventure-Fans wäre eine gute deutsche Sprachausgabe sicher nochmal eine Aufwertung, aber man kann sich zur Not mit den deutschen Untertiteln arrangieren. Die Musik ist angenehm und gut zusammengestellt. Sie passt immer gut zum jeweiligen Spielabschnitt.

    Die Rätsel:
    Man bekommt sehr klassische Adventure-Rätsel und Aufgaben angeboten. Gegenstände einsammeln und kombinieren, Dialoge führen, Botengänge erledigen, oder eine Leistung für eine Gegenleistung erhalten. Die Rätsel und Aufgaben sind in sich schlüssig und logisch und driften niemals zu sehr ins Skurrile oder nicht mehr Nachvollziehbare ab.

    Zu Beginn des Spiels kann man zwischen zwei Schwierigkeitsgraden wählen. Ich hatte mich für die schwere Variante entschieden. In dieser Variante muss man ohne Hotspot-Anzeige und Hilfefunktion auskommen. Einiges meiner Spielzeit entfällt daher auf das akribische Absuchen von Screens und dem Entdecken relevanter Objekte. Spieler die dafür keine Geduld haben, oder für die das Adventure-Genre neu ist, würde ich daher die leichte Variante empfehlen.

    Der Support:
    Ich möchte hier lobend den Support erwähnen, der sehr schnell auf meinen Forums-Eintrag reagiert hat und mir eine passende Lösung zur Verfügung gestellt hat.

    Im Kapitel 5 kann es ggf. zu einem Absturz kommen, wenn man einen Screen nach rechts hin verlassen möchte. Ich konnte den Absturz dadurch verhindern, dass ich die beiden “.abc-Dateien” in meinem Installationsordner unter ENCODYA_Data/StreamingAssets gelöscht hatte.

    Fan-Fiktion:
    Es wäre genial, wenn ähnlich wie bei “Beyond a Steel Sky” zu ENCODYA noch eine deutsche Sprachausgabe und Sammelkarten nachgeliefert würden.

    Ich würde mich jedenfalls über weitere Adventures von Chaosmonger Studio und Assemble Entertainment freuen.

    Fazit:
    Eine Kaufempfehlung für alle Point & Click Adventure Freunde und diejenigen, die es noch werden wollen.

    Bewertung: 85 %

    Wenn eine deutsche Sprachausgabe und Sammelkarten vorhanden wären und zudem noch kleine Schönheitsfehler beseitigt würden, dann hätte ich eine Bewertung jenseits der 90% gegeben.

    [link omitted per site rules]
    Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Lovely little gem with lots of great moments. Excellent execution of point'n'click mechanics.
  6. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom..
  7. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Doesn't deserve the critics score. ENCODYA is a wonderful game and also a great point & click adventure.
  8. Apr 4, 2021
    8
    I decided to rewrite my original review because someone needs to encourage creatives, and prompt people to keep working on their projects and their passion.

    What I like most about Encodya is how well it’s a solid point and click game. Graphics look amazing. Characters are really well done. Traffic Bot, Tina, Sam, Mean Robot – they are all charming and have a personality that makes
    I decided to rewrite my original review because someone needs to encourage creatives, and prompt people to keep working on their projects and their passion.

    What I like most about Encodya is how well it’s a solid point and click game. Graphics look amazing. Characters are really well done. Traffic Bot, Tina, Sam, Mean Robot – they are all charming and have a personality that makes characters seem different and unique. Voice acting is great.

    I felt it was necessary to comment how Cyberspace and IG are kind of dystopian right now, and I’m (kinda) glad the game doesn’t shy away from commenting on issues relevant to a lot of people, though I wish it had more of its own personality, whatever that means for its devs.

    I played Cyberpunk 2077 and Cloudpunk, as well and while this game does seem similar to it, I found characters here much more likeable and “human” in a sense they seem warm and different and most of them have their own voice.

    I wouldn’t want to live in this city either, but at least this city has slivers of kindness and it’s not edgy just to be edgy.

    While this game is clearly inspired by Blade Runner (as were Cyberpunk 2077 and Cloudpunk), I wish devs would create a very different city – not all future settings need to be dark and Japanese.

    There’s room for a city that’s in the future, and also a place that a lot of people didn’t see before.
    Broken Age (chapter 1) seemed original and even timeless, also done recently (well, not recently recently but it was a good point and click adventure), so perhaps it’d be interesting to see different and original worlds that don't rely on Japan or Asia that much but have their own flavour.

    To be fair, we did have 2 more games that relied heavily on Blade Runner (Cloudpunk and Cyberpunk 2077) but I liked this game more because of its likeable characters that remind you of adventure games days past.

    I like the world and its characters, and how it all looks like, I just wish it could have been something we didn’t see quite as often. As much as social media is vapid, I do feel like the best way to combat that is to make a game that is different or the opposite of today’s Cyberspace cynicism.

    That said, I didn’t like game being meta that much because it just takes you out the experience of something new and unique.

    People who made this could make something new and unique.
    Original score 7, gave it 8 for effort. Indie games deliver more heart than triple A studios.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 1, 2021
    60
    An interesting world full of cool ideas sadly hampered by its story and gameplay pacing. Encodya has a great variety of content and puzzles to baffle and test players of all skill levels that make the game worth the price of admission. If point and click adventures are of interest, then this title should be on a wish list as it presents a unique experience and story that would have benefitted from a little bit more feedback and a patch.
  2. Feb 25, 2021
    70
    Encodya doesn’t bring anything new to the point-and-click genre, but that’s not really what it’s going for. It’s a coming-of-age tale set in a dystopian world that, honestly, doesn’t seem too far off from where we as a society might be headed. Chaosmonger Studio does well to ground Tina in reality, despite living in a world full of superficial facades and virtual dangers - all with the help of her lumbering, lovable companion SAM-53. (Great name, by the way.)
  3. Feb 16, 2021
    70
    As a massive fan of Blade Runner, Studio Ghibli, and Monkey Island, I was let down by the derivative nature of Encodya. What’s most disappointing is that it’s obvious how much care and love went into its development. The visuals look spectacular, the central character relationship is touching, and the developers’ affection for the source material is evident. Unfortunately, the game not only fails to rise to its inspirations but seems to pull from them without an understanding of why they worked in the first place. That said, if you’re looking for a heartwarming story to scratch an old-school adventure game itch, then Encodya might be a good match! Just try not to expect anything overly original.