Europa Universalis IV Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Europa Universalis IV explores the world history in an experience crafted by Paradox Development Studio, the masters of Grand Strategy. The experiences of true exploration, trade, warfare and diplomacy will be brought to life in this epic title rife with rich strategic and tactical depth.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Europa Universalis IV - Casus Belli Music Video
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The ultimate strategic simulator of an early modern history state with wide options for both success and failure. Do you want to unite Britain under Scotland, thwart the Spanish Reconquista or maintain the Inca empire? Suit yourself. [Issue#234]
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    95
    Paradox Development Studio has shown that it understands grand strategy like no other studio. Europa Universalis IV is the defining game in the genre, laying out the whole world in front of players and just letting them have at it. It's a polished, almost terrifyingly vast title that gets its hooks in you the moment you click on that first country, and simply refuses to let go.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    So, Paradox have done it again – learning from the design of Crusader Kings II, Europa Universalis is an excellent starting foundation.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    The newest installment in the “Europa Universalis” franchise is yet another evolutionary step forward. If you liked EU1 – EU3, you will want to pick this one up. If you are interested in grand strategy and you have not played it, you should pick up a copy. If only they could fix the combat system.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    How does it feel to lead a nation over a couple of centuries? As fascinating as it is frustrating. The handling is overly complicated, you can get overwhelmed by the most simple matters. But if you’re willing to invest time, you might just etch your name in history.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    83
    Europa Universalis IV is the game of August for all the proud PC owners. Paradox Interactive wanted to give to his Grand Strategy game a fourth chapter that is even more refined.
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    Europa Universalis IV is the game you graduate to when you’re tired of Civilization. That’s ultimately also why all those numbers are there, beneath the surface: because you never graduate away from Europa Universalis IV. It drops you in the deep end before you’re ready, but if you can swim back towards the shallows during those first five hours, you’ll unlock a game so rich, it’ll be helping you tell stories for years.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 249
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    WOW! For about ten years Paradox Development have been a small team of nice guys working hard to give us good games and mostly failing. TheirWOW! For about ten years Paradox Development have been a small team of nice guys working hard to give us good games and mostly failing. Their games have been for the most part tedious, pretentious and ugly, with cluttered mechanisms, and hideous micromanagement. Most of the Paradox efforts suffered from terrible tutorials and ridiculous learning curved that discouraged any vaguely casual gamers. But beyond inaccessibility, the games were finally not that good, because even when you figured out the mechanisms they were still too MECHANICAL: not even really worth learning in the end because they were all variations of a sausage machine. However something miraculous happened with Crusaders Kings 2, and echoes of the good things we saw in earlier games (Hearts of Iron 2) reappeared: Better looking graphics. Simpler, yet DEEPER gameplay. The machine kept churning away but Paradox learned to save us from the worst of it, and the gameplay began to blossom. Europa Universalis IV seems to demonstrate that Paradox has really turned the corner. The game is beautiful. Gameplay is fluid. The depth and complication is welcome, but it has been softened with a more thoughtful and gaming friendly structure! GREAT WORK PARADOX! Good things take time, and your grand ambitions are finally bearing fruit. I'm very excited about where this will lead with the Hearts of Iron series, because all the design wisdom that we can see in CK2 and EU4 is leading in the absolute correct direction. If you love strategy gaming please go and buy this game and support this developer! This is a FAR, FAR superior game to Civilizations 1-5 as well as anything put out by Creative Assembly. It's been a long wait but worth it. Can't wait to see what we get when the final few pieces of the game design puzzle fall into place. If they get the budget to build something with a more solid multiplayer experience we will see the PERFECT game. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2017
    10
    One of my favourite strategy. The developers made a great job. The game sends me to the deep medieval world. One week I could not move awayOne of my favourite strategy. The developers made a great job. The game sends me to the deep medieval world. One week I could not move away from my computer. I think this is the best historical strategy from Paradox.
    After I start to play Europa Universalis IV I couldn't play the sid meier s civilization.
    Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Another awesome game from paradox! A great improvement from EU3. But CK2 is still my favourite!Amazing game that really makes Civilization 5Another awesome game from paradox! A great improvement from EU3. But CK2 is still my favourite!Amazing game that really makes Civilization 5 look kind of boring in comparison. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2020
    9
    I'm at about 1,300 hours currently... One point knocked off for expansion/dlc practices.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    I would likely give EU4 an 8.5, however as no half scores are possible, I decided to round it up on account of the fact that I couldn't reallyI would likely give EU4 an 8.5, however as no half scores are possible, I decided to round it up on account of the fact that I couldn't really think of a major problem that couldn't be fixed. One thing I will say is; this game is not for the faint of heart. Losing is almost always a very real possibility and the AI is better at dragging you back down that it was in previous iterations when you became too power.

    It's also a little more new-player friendly than EU3 so far as I can tell, and it is a little easier to manipulate the AI than in just about every other Paradox Title ever (which is a good thing). All in all, if you're a fan of Paradox titles, or Grand Strategy in general, definitely worth checking this game out. There are many hours of enjoyment to be had, even for returning EU3 customers.
    Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2019
    8
    Europa Universalis is one of the most re-playable games that you can find. You can play for Any country from 1440-1821 period. Compare to theEuropa Universalis is one of the most re-playable games that you can find. You can play for Any country from 1440-1821 period. Compare to the previous game it became much more diverse and detailed. All big nations feel unique thanks to the tree of missions and special mechanics. For the person who wants to start to play this game for the first time it will seem too complex, and most people will quit after few hours. It is a common problem for almost all Paradox games. Therefore, when you get into it will become one of your favourite strategy games.

    Strategy Element- 5/5 From the first moment you get a full control of your country. You control micro and macro econ, you have control over foreign policy, control over army...

    Re-playable element-2/2 As I said you can play for any country and as soon as you finish playing for one of them you would want to start playing for the new one.

    Multiplayer-0/1 Unfortunately it is almost impossible to play multiplayer. Me and my friends tried to play together but we couldn't play even at speed 4 out 5( speed of time). Our best result was speed 3, in the end we gave up since it would take us ages to finish the party.

    DLC-0/1 generally most of DLC are good and add interesting mechanics, but the problem is that there is more then 10+ DLC for which you need to pay 50+ dollars in total.

    Music-1/1 It is OK, a beat repetitive, I liked more the one in Stellaris
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2020
    0
    The unbalanced countries / dynasties make multiplayer impossible. The graphic is just below average. Didn't feel entertained while playing,The unbalanced countries / dynasties make multiplayer impossible. The graphic is just below average. Didn't feel entertained while playing, nor was I educated in history. Expand

See all 249 User Reviews

Trailers