Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 4, 2016
    73
    EVE: Valkyrie can provide you with a decent VR experience, but it is poor of offline content. However, it's still one of the best game for Oculus Rift at launch.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 18, 2016
    70
    While the first few hours are incredible, sadly a lack of depth in handling and content leads to a game that needs a few more hours in the oven. [Issue#253, p.58]
  3. Jul 18, 2016
    65
    EVE Valkyrie seems to be between a tech demo and a full game. It is an 'okay' multiplayer shooter, that especially feels cool thanks to the virtual reality elements. But as soon as there are better shooters for Rift, EVE Valkyrie will no longer be relevant.
  4. Apr 22, 2016
    63
    That potential clearly exists in the final version, but woefully underdeveloped single-player and multiplayer offerings ultimately suck the air out of the cockpit. [Tested with Oculus Rift]
  5. May 29, 2016
    60
    VR done right, if you've got the stomach for it. [Tested with Oculus Rift; Issue#174, p.80]
  6. Apr 18, 2016
    60
    Strong first impressions make this ideal when showing off your new Rift headset, but there's little to keep you flying beyond those first few moments. [Tested with Oculus Rift]
  7. Edge Magazine
    Jun 7, 2016
    50
    It's a great deal of fun for the first 20 minutes, but once you've mastered your ships and applied your favourite skull decals, there's little to keep you hooked. [Tested with Oculus Rift; June 2016, p.110]
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 47
  2. Negative: 23 out of 47
  1. Mar 29, 2016
    0
    Look beyond the superficial visual eye candy and the initial novelty of the Oculus, and what you have is pretty uninspired repetitiveLook beyond the superficial visual eye candy and the initial novelty of the Oculus, and what you have is pretty uninspired repetitive gameplay. Ultimately what gives a game longevity is good solid gameplay, not just visuals that players quickly grow used to and take for granted. This game does not have that. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2016
    1
    Its fun for maybe 10 Minutes, after you left behind the initial impression and surprise of the VR experience it gets old so fast. The spaceIts fun for maybe 10 Minutes, after you left behind the initial impression and surprise of the VR experience it gets old so fast. The space battles are boring and repetitive, im happy that i didnt waste money on this game. Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2016
    6
    Sitting in a cockpit being catapulted into the dark unknown was the moment when I said, yes, the Rift was totally worth the price ofSitting in a cockpit being catapulted into the dark unknown was the moment when I said, yes, the Rift was totally worth the price of admission. I glanced down at my arms and saw arms there, space suited and in the same place as my real arms, and I can't fully explain just how memorable that simple glance was.

    Sadly, the game gets repetitive quickly. If you've played Eve, Valkyrie is its opposite in every way, for better and for worse. I'm not a particular fan of Eve, so that's not an automatic strike against, but if there's one thing Eve has, it's depth. Valkyrie has none. It's basically Counter-Strike in space. Just a handful of small maps, brief matches between tiny ships, not much in the way of tactics beyond "shoot it until it dies, then shoot something else".

    All of that said, Valkyrie remains the most immersive experience I've had on my Rift. It stays installed for the occasional match, and because I start it up every time I'm showing it off to someone. That "wow" moment I had seems to be universal.
    Full Review »