Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 22, 2016
    88
    Up to now no other games manages to capture the illusion of actually sitting in a speedy spaceship like CCPs space action developed exclusively for VR. It might not be completed yet, but it shows off what VR can do to gaming. [Tested with Oculus Rift]
  2. Oct 17, 2016
    85
    EVE Valkyrie is one of the best titles for our Virtual Reality headsets, and a big step forward for spacefight sims.
  3. May 13, 2016
    80
    Currently the best multiplayer experience on the Oculus Rift, if only the servers were more populated due to the bungled launch of the Rift. Easily recommendable once more people have headsets if you've got a hankering for space dogfighting.
  4. Mar 28, 2016
    80
    It's addicting and easy to pick up, and the progression system has legs without feeling like I need to dump money into it. [VR Edition]
  5. Oct 15, 2016
    79
    Progression and microtransaction problems aside, after a VR stint in EVE Valkyrie I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to playing a dogfighting game on a regular screen. It’s just too good at showing me what I’ve been missing by not being able to look around freely as I pursue or evade targets. The intense and movie-like moments of strafing an enemy carrier while dodging incoming fire are a thrill. [Tested with VR]
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 47
  2. Negative: 23 out of 47
  1. Mar 29, 2016
    0
    Look beyond the superficial visual eye candy and the initial novelty of the Oculus, and what you have is pretty uninspired repetitiveLook beyond the superficial visual eye candy and the initial novelty of the Oculus, and what you have is pretty uninspired repetitive gameplay. Ultimately what gives a game longevity is good solid gameplay, not just visuals that players quickly grow used to and take for granted. This game does not have that. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2016
    1
    Its fun for maybe 10 Minutes, after you left behind the initial impression and surprise of the VR experience it gets old so fast. The spaceIts fun for maybe 10 Minutes, after you left behind the initial impression and surprise of the VR experience it gets old so fast. The space battles are boring and repetitive, im happy that i didnt waste money on this game. Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2016
    6
    Sitting in a cockpit being catapulted into the dark unknown was the moment when I said, yes, the Rift was totally worth the price ofSitting in a cockpit being catapulted into the dark unknown was the moment when I said, yes, the Rift was totally worth the price of admission. I glanced down at my arms and saw arms there, space suited and in the same place as my real arms, and I can't fully explain just how memorable that simple glance was.

    Sadly, the game gets repetitive quickly. If you've played Eve, Valkyrie is its opposite in every way, for better and for worse. I'm not a particular fan of Eve, so that's not an automatic strike against, but if there's one thing Eve has, it's depth. Valkyrie has none. It's basically Counter-Strike in space. Just a handful of small maps, brief matches between tiny ships, not much in the way of tactics beyond "shoot it until it dies, then shoot something else".

    All of that said, Valkyrie remains the most immersive experience I've had on my Rift. It stays installed for the occasional match, and because I start it up every time I'm showing it off to someone. That "wow" moment I had seems to be universal.
    Full Review »