Everybody's Gone to the Rapture Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture transports the player back to the brief moments leading up to the apocalypse to explore the choices people make when they’re faced with world-shattering events beyond their control.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 11, 2016
    96
    A true visual novel that draws you in and leaves you wanting more. Fantastic voice acting and musical score really just provide icing on the cake here. Very worthwhile!
  2. Apr 14, 2016
    79
    A leisurely stroll through a beautiful apocalypse. Rapture is stirring and heartfelt, but may be too slow and hands-off for some.
  3. Apr 27, 2016
    76
    It's a fascinating and moving paper chase, but having to walk around so much is quite annoying.
  4. Apr 19, 2016
    70
    A bit better than ADR1FT but less than Firewatch, Everybody's Gone to the Rapture is a very good observation game that boasts impressive graphics, a great soundtrack and a nice story. The only drawback is the sluggish pace at which the player can move.
  5. May 2, 2016
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Apr 19, 2016
    70
    Everybody's Gone to the Rapture it's an interactive tale that brings to the table a powerful story.
  7. May 4, 2016
    65
    The stunning graphics and the exceptional music, as well as voice overs, are not enough for a game that lacks appropriate optimization and a satisfactory interpretation of the events we tail after, packed in no longer than 5 hours. A very promising narrative experience that proves inadequate in many key areas.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Apr 16, 2016
    10
    Groundbreaking graphics (nearly photo realistic), detailed world, throughtful story, atmospheric. It's a masterpiece of a game and a one of aGroundbreaking graphics (nearly photo realistic), detailed world, throughtful story, atmospheric. It's a masterpiece of a game and a one of a kind experience. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2016
    9
    How should I begin? This game is wonderful and it's definitely not for everybody. Some unkind voices may call it 'boring walking simulator',How should I begin? This game is wonderful and it's definitely not for everybody. Some unkind voices may call it 'boring walking simulator', but I would rather look at it as some kind of a bookish experience. It has great, emotional narrative that unveils story piece by piece. It has stunning, beautiful graphics.
    (dynamic shadows of clouds!) The music is just marvelous, orchestral scores fit the overall vibe perfectly. I could listen to them even without the game. As I said, it will not satisfy everybody, because gameplay is minimal. The game is hardly interactive and focuses purely on an experience of the world and story as it is. It's like reading a book. And watching a book. And listening to a book. :) The same concept was used with their previous creation 'Dear Esther' (great short story btw). It may sound paradoxically but this game is not really for playing but for exploring the world and story . Hey, at least you can drink tea or eat crackers peacefully while enjoying a journey ;)
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2018
    8
    Very nice story! After some time it is still memorable. If you like walking simulators this one is one of the best in genre (lesser than WhatVery nice story! After some time it is still memorable. If you like walking simulators this one is one of the best in genre (lesser than What Remains of Edith Finch). Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2018
    5
    During my playthrough I went astray and stumbled upon this little spot in the level. Few bushes, trees and wheelbarrow. No piece of the story,During my playthrough I went astray and stumbled upon this little spot in the level. Few bushes, trees and wheelbarrow. No piece of the story, nothing to interact with, nothing poetic about it. Just empty and useless piece of land. During my trip back to main path, which took me about a minute considering the speed of the walk, I reflected on it and realized that myself and developers, we wasted our precious time. And it never left me. Expand
  5. May 28, 2017
    5
    Continuing my story game theme as of late I jumped on this one as it looked interesting but after finishing it I could have lived withoutContinuing my story game theme as of late I jumped on this one as it looked interesting but after finishing it I could have lived without playing it. It's a pretty great art piece but a piss poor game, technically it's a shocker, I had to play with the 30fps cap enabled on medium settings just to maintain a somewhat stable frame rate, 60fps was out of the question even on low settings. It is a very nice looking game, on the same level as The Vanishing of Ethan Carter which blew me away but with considerably worse performance (60fps solid in TVoEC). The video settings menu was almost completely empty with only the basics available. The audio was really great though, both the music and voice work, absolutely no complaints here. Gameplay wise, well there wasn't any, at all, you literally walk around (VERY slowly) and press X occasionally, a lot of games are falsely labelled as walking sims but this really was just that. This would have been a much better game with proper optimisation and a proper run button (there's a sad excuse for one where you hold R2 and you slowly build up speed but it's not always available and you barely move any faster). Expand
  6. May 7, 2016
    3
    A very infuriating game.

    Important premise: I like exploration games, so this is not a "this is not a game!" type of review. Having said
    A very infuriating game.

    Important premise: I like exploration games, so this is not a "this is not a game!" type of review.

    Having said that, the problem with this game is very simple: the Chinese Room company has very talented artists, but they're completely inept at implementing a videogame.

    The graphics, musics, voiceovers are wonderful, but the game is terribly implemented:

    The 3d engine is very slow; his is the absolutely slowest game I've played in the last year (on par with Gone Home) - it will stutter even at 720p with modern, relatively highly specced hardware.

    The approach to controls is too "puristic", and it just doesn't work.
    The "run" functionality seems to work sometimes but not most of the time.
    There is no jump; this is in line with the game, except that after 10 minutes of playing, I already got stuck in a place without exit.
    The walking dynamic is very strange; it's supposed to mimic real life (so it has a fast/slow cycle), but it is not appropriate for a videogame.

    To wrap up, play a "demo version" (cough cough...) before buying it, as youtube playthoughs will not give you an idea of how infuriating this game is.
    Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2017
    0
    Maledetti bastardi. MALEDETTI.BASTARDI: mi hanno inculato con Dear Esther, mi hanno inculato con questo...ora basta, per me è boicottaggioMaledetti bastardi. MALEDETTI.BASTARDI: mi hanno inculato con Dear Esther, mi hanno inculato con questo...ora basta, per me è boicottaggio puro da adesso in poi; non appena vedrò scritto The Chinese Room anche solo in un angolino non guarderò più nemmeno il trailer. Bastardi.

    Passi il walk simulator, passino i controlli di merda, passi la lentezza estrema del gioco...cazzo il doppiaggio è superbo e la storia ti prende....MA LA TRAMA...perché sempre TRAME DI MERDA??! Perché?!?!

    Nessuno, nessuno...ripeto: NESSUNO sembra interessarsi alla QUALITA' della trama...tutti che elogiano o criticano il gioco a livello tecnico...ma cristo di un dio in croce ma vi sembra normale una trama basata sul fatto che l'estinzione della razza umana la decide una cazzo di scienziata pazza in preda alle mestruazioni che sclera perché il marito si va a bere una birra con una ex e allora via, tutto il mondo a puttane!? Ma porco dio...ma di cosa stiamo parlando qui?? Ma questa è gente da rinchiudere, ma chi l'ha sceneggiata sta roba, la Boldrini?

    Se ne incontro anche uno solo di quelli della Chinese Room gli spacco i denti, giuro. C'hanno la fissa della fine del mondo e del suicidio? Beh gliela giustifico.
    Ma che cazzo...
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews