Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Sep 23, 2015
    90
    Evoland II may not offer the most amazing gameplay of any title you pick up this year, but its charm, writing, and storyline will keep you entertained and playing on through all the genres and graphical styles it represents. It’s a mashup on a grand scale — and a successful one — bringing together many of the elements that make us love all those games individually.
  2. Sep 2, 2015
    90
    I was impressed at how the references did seem well thought out, rather than flashing characters to try and tickle your nostalgia taste buds.
  3. Aug 30, 2015
    85
    Evoland 2 is a bombastic mix of console-type RPG, fighting game, turn-based strategy and platformer - something for real game experts.
  4. Aug 27, 2015
    83
    Evoland 2 is far from perfect, but it is a great experience that we've enjoyed all the way through. It's quite basic when it comes to gameplay mechanic, but its charisma makes up for it.
  5. Oct 27, 2015
    80
    Evoland 2 does everything better, with clever jokes, a host of great references and (surprisingly) a great story to go along with it. Surely, there's some lame ideas along the way, but overall this is a history lesson you don't want to miss.
  6. Sep 30, 2015
    80
    Evoland 2 is a rollercoaster through the history of videogames. Full of witty dialogues and gaming reference, it will be loved by the old school gamers. Otherwise some controls issue prevent him to reach perfection.
  7. Sep 7, 2015
    80
    Evoland 2 is in all means the successor to Evoland. The game is isn't as straightforward, it takes a lot longer to beat and throws in multiple genres to mix it up. Everyone who loves retro games is gonna love Evoland 2.
  8. Aug 27, 2015
    80
    An absolute must-play for action-RPG fans. With the variety of game styles represented, the well-written dialogue, and rich (if sometimes predictable) story, it’s a classic in its own right and filled with nods to genre greats.
  9. 80
    Evoland 2 is a creative and inventive success which improves on the first in every way and accomplishes its mission to explore the history of gaming.
  10. Aug 25, 2015
    80
    It's a surprisingly adept blend of various types of nostalgia and does a good job of capturing the feel of SNES-era style RPGs without overstaying its welcome.
  11. Aug 24, 2015
    80
    The first game is completely unnecessary for enjoying the second one, but those who appreciated Evoland will love Evoland 2 as it merely expands on the ideas and concepts of the original.
  12. Aug 31, 2015
    79
    Evoland 2 finally gets it right and vastly improves upon the first game. It combines a charming story, tons of retro goodness an lots of variety to a robust, fully fledged game. If you have any love for video game classics, especially from the 16-bit era, Evoland 2 is for you.
  13. Mar 21, 2018
    78
    The experience is always pleasant and gratifying.
  14. Nov 2, 2015
    78
    Evoland 2 is a game that will appeal mostly to longtime RPG aficionados. It's not a perfect execution of its wonderful concept, but it's still a successful showcase of various gameplay styles and formats that's sure to make you smile and reminisce about your fondest gaming memories.
  15. Aug 24, 2015
    78
    A travel through the videogames evolution that manages to entertain despite its difficulty spikes. One nice trip full of details that goes directly to the hearts of a generation of gamers.
  16. Power Unlimited
    Oct 8, 2015
    75
    Not every game benefits from having more content, Evoland 2 is a prime example of that. The concept remains fun and you get a ton of RPG for a small price but Evoland 2 doesn’t measure up to the first entry. [Oct. 2015, p.051]
  17. 70
    Even though that narrative isn't quite of a quality we want to see, it's a step forward for the new franchise, and after the bugs are fixed up, Evoland 2 will be a whole lot of simple, but effective, fun.
  18. Sep 4, 2015
    70
    Evoland 2 is a pretty good Zelda-style game with mediocre pieces and parts of other games mixed in; it doesn't reinvent the wheel but pays homage to the wheels that came before it.
  19. Sep 8, 2015
    65
    A fun homage to older games, Evoland 2 relies too much on nostalgia effect to fully explore it’s fun initial concept.
  20. Sep 7, 2015
    60
    Evoland 2 has a little bit of everything. Whilst it’s not un-proficient at the many genres it tackles, it is unfortunately all ripped from other, better games.
  21. Aug 30, 2015
    60
    Evoland 2 came up with a good way of integrating its graphical changes into the narrative, and succeeds at being a full-fledged game that shifts between the eras of RPGs.
  22. Sep 14, 2015
    55
    A visually appealing but ultimately trite series of references to much better games.
  23. Oct 13, 2015
    50
    It’s clear that the developers have a lot of reverence for old games, but the work on the actual gameplay just doesn’t do well enough to pass on why we should feel the same. Instead you’re just going from one lesser version of a genre to another, a clear example of when less is more.
  24. Sep 29, 2015
    40
    While Evoland 2's trip through video game memory lane made me feel like a kid again, the high points are outnumbered by the times I muttered "Ugh, one of these." Nostalgia can be great at times, but but most of this stuff is better left in the past.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 62
  2. Negative: 11 out of 62
  1. Sep 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Whilst Evoland was a straight-up pisstake of the RPG genre, Evoland 2 does something genuinely impressive by juggling both being a pisstake of most game genres and actually being quite good in all of those genres. One minute it's a topdown RPG, the next you're doing a puzzle a la Professor Layton, later you're doing stealth, and after that it becomes a Metroidvania - and this is all in the first two hours. It's fantastic and I would reccommend it any day. Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2021
    4
    The game would have been higher except for the multiple stealing of game concepts.
    A top down shooter. wasn't too bad after I figured out
    The game would have been higher except for the multiple stealing of game concepts.
    A top down shooter. wasn't too bad after I figured out that I could just hold CTRL and it would keep shooting. But forcing a person to complete this in order to continue with the game? NO! This needed to be a bonus side game. Then you go and steal Mortal Kombat game play. THIS IS A RPG!!!!!!!
    Fortunately I found a cheat to win that battle.
    It's been a few weeks now and I don't remember why, but I deleted the game because of stupid things like what I mentioned. There was something I had to do and I said F**K it, this sucks.
    This was an unfortunate discovery as I loved the first one.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2021
    5
    One of my main complaints about Evoland was that it felt too short and rushed. Well that was fixed in Evoland 2. The story has more depth; theOne of my main complaints about Evoland was that it felt too short and rushed. Well that was fixed in Evoland 2. The story has more depth; the game is longer and it feels more like a full game. That is sadly where my praise of it as the better of the two ends because it found ways to take two steps back in other directions. They removed turn based combat entirely from Evoland 2 in favour of just having real time combat. As someone who enjoyed the turn based combat more than the real time in Evoland this was a disappointing move. The puzzles found a way to be annoying much of the time as I found many to be nonsensical and beaten more by trial and error than by logic. Basically I can say that I beat them but not why. I know what I did but most of the time it made no sense. The game managed to have some pet peeves of mine such as battles I wasn’t supposed to win (which makes even trying pointless). The humour was a saving grace of the game and as good with the references to older games as the original was. The game still lacked a map system and objective list. The game would tell me what I needed to do in passing but gave no indication as to where it was and gave no map system to give me an idea of where to look. The game also had re-spawning enemies like the original which I am not a fan of.

    I played Evoland 2 on Linux. It froze on me one time. There were no graphics options, not even a full-screen option. The game auto saves at certain points and unlike the original has a save icon that is clearly visible so I know when it was happening. There are also still save points scattered throughout the map but they are time based so after using them you can’t use them again for a period of time. I didn’t notice any spelling errors. I played the game with a Logitech F310 game-pad which worked without issue.

    Disk Space Used: 881MB
    Input Used: Logitech F310
    Save System: Checkpoints and Save Stations

    GPU Usage: 4-20 %
    VRAM Usage: 432-667 MB
    CPU Usage: 2-6 %
    RAM Usage: 2.4-2.7 GB

    To it’s credit Evoland 2 fixed some of what I disliked about the original but it also had things that went unfixed or were made worse. I liked the new characters and the way the story was going but between the annoying puzzles; the lack of direction and specifically really disliking the Biblos battle I did not finish Evoland 2. I spent seven hours and fifty one minutes on the sequel before quitting. I paid $5.49 CAD for the Evoland Legendary Edition so you could say I paid $2.75 CAD for Evoland 2. The value here was fine for the content but not for the enjoyment I got. Even though the original was shorter and went too fast it was the more enjoyable of the two games.

    My Score: 5.5/10

    My System:

    AMD Ryzen 5 2600X | 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15 | MSI RX 580 8GB Gaming X | Mesa 20.3.4 | Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB | Manjaro 21.0 | Mate 1.24.1 | Kernel 5.11.6-1-MANJARO
    Full Review »