Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 24, 2021
    90
    In Exo One, each world has its own characteristics, which make the journey truly unique.
  2. Nov 18, 2021
    90
    As confusing as this might sound, Exo One is every bit relaxing as it is intense. Its exploration of the mysterious and deep reaches of space combined with its perfectly arranged soundtrack creates a different kind of sci-fi experience that should definitely be checked out by fans of the genre. As far as I know, this is Exbleative’s first title, but it’s an absolute banger. I’ll be eager to see future projects from the studio, science fiction-based or otherwise.
  3. Nov 18, 2021
    85
    Intriguing and startlingly original, Exo One offers a quiet, meditative experience that's both foreign and mysterious.
  4. Nov 17, 2021
    85
    Exo One is almost a perfect sci-fi puzzle game, let down by one poor level right in the middle. The movement, the beauty of its scenery, and the peculiarity of the narrative is something I really appreciate about video games as an art form.
  5. Dec 3, 2021
    80
    Exo One can be included in the list of most unique games that have appeared this year. Not because it is so innovative, but in which other game do you ride like a marble through the cosmos? This game puts you in a state of movement and wonder.
  6. Edge Magazine
    Dec 2, 2021
    80
    This absorbing, flawed, daringly singular adventure firmly places Weston and team among the kind of risk-taking explorers to which his game pays tribute. [Issue#366, p.120]
  7. Nov 24, 2021
    80
    A very powerful experience, which can be completed in less than three hours but capable of burning itself into your eyes and mind.
  8. Nov 17, 2021
    80
    Despite offering a faster-than-light flight through the galaxy, Exo One‘s wider angle is a slower-paced and melancholy journey through a beautifully-realised cosmos. There are some issues with bugs, and the unhurried pacing won’t be for everyone, but Exo One is an unmissable voyage for those who know what they’re getting into.
  9. Nov 28, 2021
    75
    Despite everything, a very nice adventure to discover.
  10. Nov 29, 2021
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Nov 22, 2021
    70
    Short and sweet but in no way significantly dented by its own strict vision and run-time, Exo One‘s picturesque voyage through one far-flung planet to the next, though not without fault, is more engaging and novel than it is mildly indulgent.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 22, 2021
    An otherworldly journey that runs out of things to do.
  2. Dec 6, 2021
    Exo One is not a mechanically deep game, nor a narratively enthralling one, but nevertheless, I see myself returning to it many times in the future. The game pulls off a fantasy I’ve heretofore only approached in my dreams: to leave all remnants of Earthliness behind and skim the surface of an alien world, the desert as smooth as polished glass.
  3. Beyond its success as a mood piece, it's tempting to recommend Exo One solely for its scenery. As a machine for generating desktop wallpapers or screensavers, it's first rate. Some of you, I feel, will love it for this alone. But as I said up top, maybe I just don't like sci-fi vistas as much as I thought I did. Long before Exo One's short three hours reached their conclusion, I just wanted it to be Exo Done.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Nov 25, 2021
    5
    This game is painfully average with controls that make you feel like you are constantly fighting the camera to see where you are going.This game is painfully average with controls that make you feel like you are constantly fighting the camera to see where you are going. Nothing here is new, the story is not thought provoking at all, and the worlds have the depth of a puddle. Once you get past the awe of the art style, (which is actually pretty good) you will notice that after the 3rd world which is 10 minutes in you've already seen everything the game has to offer. This makes the rest of the game a dull slog to the finish line with some levels very uncomfortable overstaying their welcome in run-time. The developers seem to have had a great idea here, but when push came to shove, they couldn't flesh it out enough to make it work well which ended in a lot of bad design decisions. I don't think this game is worth the buy and you will probably get more enjoyment watching others play this walking sim rather than playing it yourself. Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2021
    8
    A not so new experience but well crafted.

    Exo One it's about exploring the unknown in a sphere-like alien spacecraft that uses the
    A not so new experience but well crafted.

    Exo One it's about exploring the unknown in a sphere-like alien spacecraft that uses the environment's energy and gravity to progress in this journey.

    The graphics are pretty much spot-on. A simplistic but clean weather system, flora, and these kinds of monuments/relics all around.

    Sound like it is pleasant to the ear, the sound of the rain touching the ground, the sound of the craft gliding through the wind currents and diving inside the vast open oceans.

    As for bugs, it has very few when it comes to gameplay, especially playing a specific level around mid-game where you need to do the slingshot effect to exit an asteroid's orbit. This level is pretty fast to complete, but sometimes you might be stuck because of the other asteroid's gravitational field pulling you more than it should from overly long distances. I haven't encountered anything more.

    Load times are only present when switching between levels and hidden by an animation which can be problematic for people with schizophrenia.

    The game is about 2-4 hours. It all comes down to if you're enjoying your surroundings and exploring or just rushing it.

    Story-wise you will have some dialogue and pictures thrown at the screen. The voices sound distant and fictional-like.

    The controls are basic and intuitive. I recommend playing with a controller for more chill and immersive gameplay while sitting back on your chair/couch/bed.

    Summarizing looks beautiful from start to finish. You will immerse yourself into it by how good it looks and sounds. Delivered the concept it was supposed to transmit, spectacular addition to the genre.

    Maybe they could do more, but for now, it is a solid game.

    8/10

    Follow me on Twitch Sinhwaui for real-time gameplay and opinions.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2021
    10
    This game is something that everyone should experience, it is something that will stay in your memory forever, sorry if this review is shortThis game is something that everyone should experience, it is something that will stay in your memory forever, sorry if this review is short with constructive explanations and more of my emotional feelings, but what are the games suppose to do at the end of the day ? I think to leave a something that i cant explain, its just a mystery. I RATE THIS GAME AS A PEACE OF ART of 2021 ! Full Review »