Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Apr 27, 2017
    90
    Expeditions: Viking spins an absolutely wonderful tale of exploration and conquest. The setting, the story, the ambiance –my imagination ran wild in ways you’d expect to experience reading a good fantasy novel. Betrayal angered me, new friendships elated me, and changing the balance of power in Britain made me feel equal parts devious and mischievous. Reconstructing my home, making it safe, strong and prosperous made me feel proud of my achievements. Every battle, every camp site and map scrubbed clean of its hidden treasures felt like it played a part in the grand scheme of things. There aren’t a lot of games that can pull something like this off even adequately. Expeditions: Vikings does it masterfully.
  2. May 12, 2017
    86
    Everything that was good in Conquistador is taken to its next level of evolution with the change from the Strategy/RPG formula into a more "traditional" RPG experience in Viking. Fans of Logic Artists' first game and of the RPG genre in general are sure to be delighted with this authentically Norse experience filled with intrigue, cultural conflict, exploration and conquest.
  3. May 9, 2017
    85
    Expeditions: Viking is the rare RPG that eschews the fantastic and is better for it. Despite the small team behind it, there is a level of depth here that AAA studios should take notice of. The only downside is a tendency to spike the difficulty with no warning and a propensity for crashing that abruptly ended my adventure three separate times. Despite these issues, Expeditions: Viking is an RPG you won’t want to miss. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have villages to pillage.
  4. Apr 30, 2017
    85
    Expeditions: Viking is a great mix of strategy and RPG elements, a must-have for all fans of Expedition: Conquistador, but some imperfections are still present.
  5. Jun 5, 2017
    84
    This brutal saga about power and burden of choice is such a captivating adventure that you quickly forget about the game's minor flaws.
  6. Aug 31, 2017
    80
    Viking isn't the most refined game, with limited camera control, repetitive graphics that lack detail, and a lack of high-production presentation. It nevertheless succeeds in immersing the player in its world through an intriguing main story focused on local politics and motivations and driven by realistic struggles and constraints. Viking effectively impresses upon the player its main themes about the illusion of choice and the binding chains of circumstance, and also offers a multitude of poignant side-stories and strong character development. To top it off, the game features a unique combination of combat mechanics and abilities that allow creativity and enable some very interesting and satisfying strategies, as well as a novel take in timed and deliberate progress and out-of-combat party maintenance. Players looking to take part in a realistic and historically-inspired world with an engaging politically-driven story should look past the game's lack of technical polish and definitely pick up Expeditions: Viking.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 5, 2017
    80
    Solid and funny RPG with great turn based combat, and above all, great freedom in choices. And you can plunder monasteries too!
 [Issue#275]
  8. May 29, 2017
    80
    A deep tactical - and strategic - RPG. [Issue#262, p.58]
  9. May 26, 2017
    80
    Even though its technology is somewhat dated, this tactical-RPG has immense depth and a great “consequences” game design that offers a unique experience.
  10. May 24, 2017
    80
    Expeditions: Viking builds on the best of the previous game. It offers entertaining strategic duels, a well-developed story, a pleasant replayability, and a realistic Viking adventure.
  11. May 20, 2017
    80
    Expeditions: Viking is an epic and enjoyable journey. And while its gameplay mechanics are not as easy-to-learn as some more casual players would expect, once you take your time and learn through its detailed world and rules, you’ll definitely enjoy it for a very long time.
  12. May 15, 2017
    80
    Expeditions: Viking features some admirably nuanced turn-based combat that is in service of a larger story and interesting characters. It is a game that probably demands -- and certainly rewards -- multiple playthroughs both to gain mastery over the systems and to explore different choices in the story. Relatively minor quibbles with the game's visuals, camera, controls and occasional bugs aside, playing Expeditions: Viking is an unexpectedly rewarding experience.
  13. 80
    In the end, the positive aspects of Expeditions: Viking outweigh the problems. Creating such a complex, detailed, and varied title is an ambitious undertaking, and it’s exactly what’s needed for gamers who don’t want to rely on “enhanced editions” of classic games to find a good role-playing experience. Expeditions: Viking, however, is more than just an RPG; it’s also an epic journey through history — a field with surprisingly few entries. Why rely on adventures from DnD or fantasy realms, if history can be presented in such an intriguing way?
  14. May 3, 2017
    80
    Expeditions: Viking, while not perfect, offers outstanding tactical combat, with excellent character and world development. You'll encounter a host of interesting characters, fulfilling quests and important decisions as you travel from Denmark to Britannia, in a quest to save your clan.
  15. 80
    For all the beauty and the brains behind Expeditions: Viking, the one gripe of mine that chips away at its score is the bugginess.
  16. Apr 27, 2017
    80
    While Expeditions: Viking won’t be winning any awards for ground-breaking storytelling or innovative gameplay, it’s compelling in just the right way that keeps commanding attention throughout. I found it to be a lot of fun, if a little unpolished in places.
  17. Apr 27, 2017
    80
    Layered with enough depth and intricacy for genre veterans, but loaded with fantastic tutorials and information for newcomers, this game welcomes all types of players. A formula that has been bettered, through and through, Expeditions: Viking is an absolute joy.
  18. Apr 27, 2017
    79
    Expeditions: Viking finds an excellent balance between historical realism and RPG mechanics.
  19. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jun 5, 2017
    77
    Previous game from Logic Artists, Expeditions: Conquistador, didn’t leave lasting impression on me, so I didn’t expect much from Vikings either. As it turns out, I was wrong – developers really nailed the setting and gave some mechanics a much-needed makeover. [Issue#220, p.52]
  20. May 8, 2017
    75
    Expedition: Viking is a fun slightly strategic RPG that utilizes an interesting theme to great effect. Unfortunately, it doesn’t take enough chances to really be memorable.
  21. Apr 29, 2017
    75
    I enjoyed my time with Expeditions: Viking, even though noticeable technical problems can hold it back. Its engaging story kept me constantly intrigued, and made me want to survive for the sake of my village. Long load times and a few glitched out quests really held back the experience from ascending the level to other great strategy titles, but I would definitely recommend to strategy fans because of its deep and engaging gameplay.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 107
  2. Negative: 14 out of 107
  1. Apr 29, 2017
    10
    It's a 10, definitely. and yes there are bugs, but the devs are clearly working hard hard to get them squashed, and are doing a great job ofIt's a 10, definitely. and yes there are bugs, but the devs are clearly working hard hard to get them squashed, and are doing a great job of helping people. So buggy game but still a 10? Yes, because I couldn't just leave the game for 5 days and wait until the bugs were taken care of. Once I started the game I HAD to play -just a little bit more, and a little bit more ....
    As you would expect in a game from these devs, it is solid game design, it is excellent writing, it is truely glorious music. The characters have .. character (!) and the story is engaging with choice and consequense. This is a great game, and will be fantastic in a week when it's been patched a bit more.
    Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2017
    9
    This is an amazing game. I still can't believe how well-made this is for an indie studio. The amount of detail and polish is just impressive.This is an amazing game. I still can't believe how well-made this is for an indie studio. The amount of detail and polish is just impressive. The game looks beautiful - both the environments and characters are very pleasant to look at. The combat is smooth, informative, tactical and fun! The setting, characters and story work well together and I'm genuinely interested to play more of it. I feel like I'm a part of the Vikings TV series!

    Also, I can't stress enough how good the user interface for dialog is. In a lot of text-heavy games, the dialog box becomes cluttered and because of that reading becomes boring or tedious. That is not the case in Expeditions: Viking! All the text is neatly formatted and color-coded and all the choices are numbered! The reading in this is just pure joy. I love it!
    Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2017
    9
    WOW!!! Never thought this game would be so good from an unknown studio , very great combat,the game has an actually good story, greatWOW!!! Never thought this game would be so good from an unknown studio , very great combat,the game has an actually good story, great character dialogs and beautiful environments
    Is it the best rpg ever ? no, but for an unknown studio this is very great
    There are only a few bugs but that is one negative point under the overwelming positive points
    Believe me you have to buy this game
    It costs 26,99 euros on steam so its not a full budget game ( which makes it even better)
    Buy this game!!!!!!!!
    Full Review »