Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jul 20, 2020
    100
    The cars are faster than ever and feel better to drive than ever thanks to tighter controls and base improvements to the game’s car handling. Equally, the addition of accessibility features like steering help and the casual modes open up F1 2020 to an even wider degree of players, from those with a casual racing interest to people with full-blown personal racing simulators.
  2. Jul 9, 2020
    96
    All in all I have to say once I got out my gamepad this game became a blast to play. Codemasters did one hell of a job giving a sense of speed and realism when playing this game. Now I will say this is also a review coming from someone that has not played the previous installments so some of the things I mention may be carried over from previous titles. So this review was from someone going in blind so take that for how you will.
  3. Jul 6, 2020
    95
    F1® 2020 is an amazing step in the right direction for Codemasters. By adding the My Team mode to the series, it gives this racing game a different personality; one sprinkled with adventure elements, and it works.
  4. Jul 12, 2020
    90
    An exceptionally good update to Codemasters' increasingly polished and wide-reaching racing series.
  5. Jul 10, 2020
    90
    The new "My Team" mode is the biggest innovation (and improvement) in recent years and fits perfectly into the F1 game concept from Codemasters. Apart from that, the many adjustments to the driving experience, penalty system, TV-like presentation and technology add a little extra. F1 2020 is not only the best F1 game, it is also one of the best racing games out there.
  6. Jul 9, 2020
    90
    The ultimate benchmark of the genre.
  7. Jul 6, 2020
    90
    F1 2020 offers a fantastic experience for Formula 1 fanatics. The MYTEAM mode is anything but a tacked-on bullet point and will likely be the most popular way to enjoy the game offline. It encompasses the entire Formula 1 team experience, save for the political red tape, dubious origins of financial backing, and the countless euro-trash orgies the top drivers are certainly participating in after making podiums.
  8. Jul 6, 2020
    90
    F1 2020 feels daunting for first-timers, but it lets you learn and adapt as you continue to progress and challenge yourself. Barring a few downsides with its My Team and Driver Career modes, it remains a true marvel in the sim-racing genre where every competition is nail-bitingly fierce and exciting.
  9. Jul 6, 2020
    90
    F1 2020 is not just the best episode of the franchise, but one of the best simcade racing game of this generation. This year Codemasters brings all the emotions and frantic action of the top class of motorsport to the players, crafting an incredible experience both for newcomers and experienced drivers. The new team career is awesome, and overall, the game is solid and rich with content.
  10. Jul 6, 2020
    90
    With some great improvements on and off the track F1 2020 is an exceptional racer, and the one to beat this year.
  11. Jul 6, 2020
    90
    F1 2020 does as much as can be expected from Codemasters, offering an oustanding racing experience on the track. Where it goes further is off of the track, bringing in an incredibly extensive My Team mode, as well as fleshing out the career mode with a full Formula 2 season. With a massive amount of content, great racing and quality throughout, it's hard not to love the game. The only real issue I have is the inclusion of the new Podium Pass (battle pass) system, adding a microtransaction for cosmetics.
  12. Jul 6, 2020
    90
    F1 2020 is simultaneously the deepest yet most accessible Codemasters Formula One experience to date. The heavy reliance on recycled vignettes and the same old faces we’ve been seeing for virtually an entire generation admittedly means F1 2020 doesn’t necessarily look as fresh as it feels but, between My Team and splitscreen, this is the most fun I’ve had with the F1 series for years.
  13. Jul 8, 2020
    89
    Quotation forthcoming.
  14. Jul 12, 2020
    88
    The deep career mode is even better when managing your own team, and the racing is superbly tactical.
  15. Jul 17, 2020
    85
    Overall the game is the same as F1 2019 with some tracks redesigned and with the My Team mode added. It should give people a couple seasons to go through instead of career mode, which is still available for those who want to do both. We may not be too far away from having an F1 motorsport manager game or even an add on if this keeps going, maybe for those more interested in managing rather then racing.
  16. Jul 9, 2020
    85
    F1 2020 is another very good opus in the series, and this time, it allows the player to act as the owner of a team. It also marks the comeback of split-screen multiplayer. A must-have for racing fans.
  17. Jul 10, 2020
    80
    F1 2020 manages to bring enough content with its new "My team" proposals which add yet another interesting layer to an already excellent base. We still regret the redundant side of the pre-race training programs (not enough variety), but it is ultimately the lot of Formula One that does not reinvent itself every day either. If you love F1 and want to enjoy it virtually, F1 2020 is the best and it is not because it is the only one.
  18. Jul 9, 2020
    80
    While it might not be the best racing simulation on the market, there is no other place to get the full experience of Formula 1 as one of the ten teams or as a fresh newcomer on the block. If this is the final game for the current generation of consoles, then this is a lovely way to end that cycle. If Codemasters keep this up going into next generation, then expect the series to only get better, because right now, F1 2020 is a worthwhile investment for F1 fans and fans of realistic style racing games.
  19. Jul 7, 2020
    80
    Content wise, the work done by Codemasters it’s brilliant, introducing a managerial mode on a solid racing game that will require great dedication to be exploited at his best.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Aug 2, 2020
    9
    Gran juego (o simulador). Para los que recién incursionan en el mundo de los F1 de Codemasters, hay cierta facilidad a la hora de aprender lasGran juego (o simulador). Para los que recién incursionan en el mundo de los F1 de Codemasters, hay cierta facilidad a la hora de aprender las mecánicas, los reglajes y los modos de juego. Mientras que para los que venimos jugando desde hace varias entregas, la simulación está cada vez mejor lograda y más realista que nunca. Pero sin dudas, el mayor acierto de esta entrega es el modo MyClub. Totalmente recomendable. Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2020
    0
    Microtransactions in a full-price title. Do I need to say more? No I don't.
  3. Jul 26, 2020
    0
    F1 should seriously consider another studio to make F1 games in the future, because this is starting to become a bigger joke than FIFA is...