Far Cry Primal Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 684 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The era is the Stone Age, a time of imminent peril and limitless adventure, when giant mammoths and sabretooth tigers rule the globe, and humanity is at the low end of the food chain. As the last survivor of your hunting group, you will learn to build a deadly arsenal, fight off dangerousThe era is the Stone Age, a time of imminent peril and limitless adventure, when giant mammoths and sabretooth tigers rule the globe, and humanity is at the low end of the food chain. As the last survivor of your hunting group, you will learn to build a deadly arsenal, fight off dangerous predators, and outsmart enemy tribes to conquer the land of Oros and become the Apex Predator. You'll assume the role of Takkar, a seasoned hunter and the last surviving member of your group. You have a single goal: survive in a world where you are the hunted. Grow your tribe and sharpen your skills to lead your people, conquer the land of Oros, and become the apex predator. Encounter a cast of memorable characters who can help push back the dangers of the wild. Face enemy tribes who will do anything to eradicate you and your allies. [Ubisoft]

    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Far Cry Primal First Gameplay Trailer - The Game Awards 2015
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 7, 2016
    86
    Primal, while not an FPS, is unmistakably a Far Cry. Ubisoft tried an experiment with this new setting and managed to refresh the franchise without altering its core.
  2. Mar 11, 2016
    82
    Solid, engaging and technically delicious, Far Cry Primal is a spin off that amuses the player even without firearms and vehicles, although the playful infrastructure is too conservative. On PC the only major differences are the sixty frames per second and a sharper image.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Apr 7, 2016
    80
    The hackneyed story doesn't detract from the thrilling world and new challenges of 10,000BC. [Issue#249, p.45]
  4. Mar 1, 2016
    75
    If you’re even remotely interested in the Far Cry games then you’ll be right at home with Far Cry Primal, but if you’re looking for a completely fresh experience you’re going to be sorely disappointed.
  5. Mar 7, 2016
    70
    Far Cry Primal on the PC looks like a well prepared conversion - stable, pretty and optimized. But these days that's not enough - a game running on a much more powerful hardware should be unique and FCP isn't. It's hard to justify spending money on a superb PC that will run the game in the highest settings when an equally good console version runs great on a cheaper machine. And you need to remember that Primal is just a visual overhaul of Far Cry 4.
  6. Mar 7, 2016
    65
    If they had put another year of development toward it, maybe then we would've seen what we were hoping it would be.
  7. Mar 10, 2016
    55
    Far Cry Primal is more and yet less of the same Far Cry we’ve been playing for the past few years, minus a few fun systems. It's not worth the asking price, and demands more of your time than it deserves.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 126
  2. Negative: 44 out of 126
  1. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    PC version:
    AMD graphics card
    Ultra graphics settings 60 fps no performance issues Graphics = Great Story-line (so far) = great Sound
    PC version:
    AMD graphics card
    Ultra graphics settings
    60 fps
    no performance issues

    Graphics = Great
    Story-line (so far) = great
    Sound = good
    Game play = good

    Lots of stuff to craft
    lots of upgrades to do for your cave
    Lots of skills to level up on similar with previous FarCry games

    Why so much negative reviews? Well they probably don't even have the game and just hate Ubisoft. I mean come on! Look what they are saying. "boring"? "Ugly"? LMAO!
    Expand
  2. May 13, 2020
    10
    A truly underrated game. One of the best games ever. It would be much better accepted by the community if it weren't a Far Cry. My favoriteA truly underrated game. One of the best games ever. It would be much better accepted by the community if it weren't a Far Cry. My favorite game. Everything you ever wanted in a video game. It never gets boring and a very interesting concept. It can make a person dream and it never stops being exciting.
        LOVE THIS GAME!!! BUY!!!
    Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2017
    9
    I know there is nothing essentially new in Far Cry: Primal but the setting made the game for me. Exploring the prehistoric world was reallyI know there is nothing essentially new in Far Cry: Primal but the setting made the game for me. Exploring the prehistoric world was really enjoyable. Learning to control beasts, finding new places, taking out outposts using only my pets, that suicidal redneck cave-man... That was wonderful. I haven't felt it since FC3.

    I hope the next Far Cry game will be post-apocalyptic... Maybe a fantasy Far Cry.
    Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2016
    6
    First the good points:

    1) The graphics are AMAZING 2) The fighting is really fun 3) I love the fact that the moment that I leave the
    First the good points:

    1) The graphics are AMAZING
    2) The fighting is really fun
    3) I love the fact that the moment that I leave the safety of my camp, any animal or enemy tribesmen that can kill me, will try and kill me. This to me, adds to the whole living in the year 10,000 BC where just surviving the day is a huge victory . For example I may be walking past a mammoth (which I haven't noticed somehow) and then the next thing I know, I'm running for my life trying to survive something that has every intention of stomping me out of existence.
    4) I believe that Ubisoft made a whole new language for this game. I just wanted to say that they did a excellent job with the language, and that I really appreciate them going the extra mile.

    Now for the bad. Before I begin I just want to clarify that even though their is less bad points, these points weigh more heavily to me, then the good points.

    1) The game makes me do mundane and tedious tasks. Let me elaborate, one of the most important things to do in the game is to improve your village. Now in order to do this I have to find these rare beasts. As the name suggests these beasts are rare and harder to find. So I have been forced to walk in circles for what feels like hours just for the opportunity to kill these beats, so I can improve my village, so I can progress in the game.
    2) The skills set is a waste of my time. After you unlock the ability to tame all the beasts and owl kills, their really isn't any point to that. So I really don't see the point of spending time unlocking new skills when they really don't help or change the way that I play the game.
    Expand
  5. May 12, 2020
    5
    What seems to be the perfect Blend of type and setting turns out to be the most disheartening bugfest imagenable, Do NOT play Survival Mode,What seems to be the perfect Blend of type and setting turns out to be the most disheartening bugfest imagenable, Do NOT play Survival Mode, it has bugs designed to make you rip your head of. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2020
    4
    This might feel god if this is your first far cry game or/and if you haven't played lots of games in your life.
    Okay atmosphere,on-point
    This might feel god if this is your first far cry game or/and if you haven't played lots of games in your life.
    Okay atmosphere,on-point random encounters,mediocre story,ending and mechanics
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2018
    0
    NothingNothing new.Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooring Expand

See all 126 User Reviews