Far Cry Primal Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 842 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The era is the Stone Age, a time of imminent peril and limitless adventure, when giant mammoths and sabretooth tigers rule the globe, and humanity is at the low end of the food chain. As the last survivor of your hunting group, you will learn to build a deadly arsenal, fight off dangerousThe era is the Stone Age, a time of imminent peril and limitless adventure, when giant mammoths and sabretooth tigers rule the globe, and humanity is at the low end of the food chain. As the last survivor of your hunting group, you will learn to build a deadly arsenal, fight off dangerous predators, and outsmart enemy tribes to conquer the land of Oros and become the Apex Predator. You'll assume the role of Takkar, a seasoned hunter and the last surviving member of your group. You have a single goal: survive in a world where you are the hunted. Grow your tribe and sharpen your skills to lead your people, conquer the land of Oros, and become the apex predator. Encounter a cast of memorable characters who can help push back the dangers of the wild. Face enemy tribes who will do anything to eradicate you and your allies. [Ubisoft]

    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Far Cry Primal First Gameplay Trailer - The Game Awards 2015
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 7, 2016
    86
    Primal, while not an FPS, is unmistakably a Far Cry. Ubisoft tried an experiment with this new setting and managed to refresh the franchise without altering its core.
  2. Mar 11, 2016
    82
    Solid, engaging and technically delicious, Far Cry Primal is a spin off that amuses the player even without firearms and vehicles, although the playful infrastructure is too conservative. On PC the only major differences are the sixty frames per second and a sharper image.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Apr 7, 2016
    80
    The hackneyed story doesn't detract from the thrilling world and new challenges of 10,000BC. [Issue#249, p.45]
  4. Mar 1, 2016
    75
    If you’re even remotely interested in the Far Cry games then you’ll be right at home with Far Cry Primal, but if you’re looking for a completely fresh experience you’re going to be sorely disappointed.
  5. Mar 7, 2016
    70
    Far Cry Primal on the PC looks like a well prepared conversion - stable, pretty and optimized. But these days that's not enough - a game running on a much more powerful hardware should be unique and FCP isn't. It's hard to justify spending money on a superb PC that will run the game in the highest settings when an equally good console version runs great on a cheaper machine. And you need to remember that Primal is just a visual overhaul of Far Cry 4.
  6. Mar 7, 2016
    65
    If they had put another year of development toward it, maybe then we would've seen what we were hoping it would be.
  7. Mar 10, 2016
    55
    Far Cry Primal is more and yet less of the same Far Cry we’ve been playing for the past few years, minus a few fun systems. It's not worth the asking price, and demands more of your time than it deserves.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 155
  2. Negative: 47 out of 155
  1. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    PC version:
    AMD graphics card
    Ultra graphics settings 60 fps no performance issues Graphics = Great Story-line (so far) = great Sound
    PC version:
    AMD graphics card
    Ultra graphics settings
    60 fps
    no performance issues

    Graphics = Great
    Story-line (so far) = great
    Sound = good
    Game play = good

    Lots of stuff to craft
    lots of upgrades to do for your cave
    Lots of skills to level up on similar with previous FarCry games

    Why so much negative reviews? Well they probably don't even have the game and just hate Ubisoft. I mean come on! Look what they are saying. "boring"? "Ugly"? LMAO!
    Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. IT gud veri veri veri veri veri veri veri veri veri veri veri veri veri gud Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2016
    9
    This is more of the same Far Cry, and if you enjoy the Far Cry experience, that is a very good thing. I loved all the Far Cry games in theThis is more of the same Far Cry, and if you enjoy the Far Cry experience, that is a very good thing. I loved all the Far Cry games in the past and really enjoyed this one as well. The beast companions are new and a great addition that really adds to the experience. Expand
  4. May 3, 2018
    7
    Hey, did you know there were "strong" women warriors 10,000 years ago? Seriously! Having sagging **** vagina, 50% of body mass of an averageHey, did you know there were "strong" women warriors 10,000 years ago? Seriously! Having sagging **** vagina, 50% of body mass of an average male and a high pitched voice that will strike fear in your enemies were features that allowed our ancestors to fight with mammoths and conquer hostile tribes.

    Jokes aside, I wonder if anyone actually thought for a second how utterly ridiculous it is to put this narrative into a prehistoric game. I mean they did some research, right? You might as well have wooden guns, I mean why not.

    As for everything else, I like FC series. My favorite is FC3. I like the gameplay, because the story pretty much always sucks, more specifically story missions a lot of which are forced and sometimes even ridiculous. But the propaganda that they're trying to push more and more in every new entry of the series is getting out of hand. I usually disregard that and just focus on free roam gameplay which is what I love about Far Cry. And yes, it is a reskin, but I'm frankly OK with it - they put a spin/skin on all familiar things, it was a nice break before the proper entry of the series.
    Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2021
    5
    The game looks great even in 2021, but boring quests and the lack of a main story are very bad for this game. Well-designed nature, quiteThe game looks great even in 2021, but boring quests and the lack of a main story are very bad for this game. Well-designed nature, quite memorable characters, nice graphics and excellent performance. All this pales before you get bored of the game very quickly. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2017
    4
    It's hard to say why this game doesn't work. I was interested in the beginning, but then the story feels super shallow and filled withIt's hard to say why this game doesn't work. I was interested in the beginning, but then the story feels super shallow and filled with cliches. The gameplay can be fun, - afterall the game has the latest far cry genes. The environment is beautiful as always. I think it all comes down to mission design. The missions have this feeling of mass produce. Like someone from the far cry team said - 'let's just throw in a lot of similar mission and call it a day as we have all the basics covered otherwise'. It's obvious - they just didn't made any effort nor had any real inspiration for this one. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2018
    0
    NothingNothing new.Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooring Expand

See all 155 User Reviews