• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2004
Far Cry Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 847 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A tropical paradise seethes with hidden evil in Far Cry, a cunningly detailed action shooter that pushes the boundaries of combat to shocking new levels. Freelance mariner Jack Carver is cursing the day he ever came to this island. A week ago, a brash female reporter named Valerie hadA tropical paradise seethes with hidden evil in Far Cry, a cunningly detailed action shooter that pushes the boundaries of combat to shocking new levels. Freelance mariner Jack Carver is cursing the day he ever came to this island. A week ago, a brash female reporter named Valerie had offered him an incredible sum of cash to take her to this unspoiled paradise. Shortly after docking, however, Jack's boat was greeted by artillery fire from a mysterious militia group swarming about the island. With his boat destroyed, his money gone, and the gorgeous Valerie suddenly missing, Jack now finds himself facing an army of mercenaries amidst the wilds of the island, with nothing but a gun and his wits to survive. But the further he pushes into the lush jungle canopy, the stranger things become. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Far Cry Classic - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. The total package; outstanding gameplay, completely groundbreaking graphics, and a storyline and plot filled with surprises and heartpounding excitement. [5 1/2 "drips"]
  2. Superb in every way, technically, atmospherically, visually, sonically, it's got it all. One of the best games on the PC and one of the best games ever made full stop.
  3. We’re now thoroughly claustrophobic, agoraphobic and generally panophobic (afraid of everything). Far Cry has left us well and truly scarred, but after the experience it’s given us, we’re not ones to complain.
  4. On the one hand we have the brilliant graphics, excellent physics and devious AI, while on the other we have the disappointing sound department, a few glitches in the AI, the save system that will probably not be to everyone’s liking and the system requirements which can prove too great for some gamers out there.
  5. If you want a thrilling single-player FPS with the best looking graphics to date, then FarCry is for you.
  6. The shooting was fun and all, but it would have been much more satisfying had I felt like all of my murdering had been in service of something.
  7. Let me make this clear, through capitalization: ANY GAME THAT DOES NOT SAVE IMMEDIATELY AFTER YOU KILL A BOSS AND SEE THE ENSUING CUTSCENE HAS A BROKEN SAVE-GAME SYSTEM. I don’t care if it’s supposed to make the game more intense, it’s stupid, moronic, ridiculous, pointless and otherwise detrimental to the overall quality of the game.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 199
  1. godH
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    This game is AWESOME!!!!!!Graphics are GREAT!!!!!!! Gamelplay is AMAZING!!!! the only part i dont like about it is that when u jump down a This game is AWESOME!!!!!!Graphics are GREAT!!!!!!! Gamelplay is AMAZING!!!! the only part i dont like about it is that when u jump down a hill you die easily... not good when playing multiplayer... But other than that its one of the best games ever.... It runs ok with medium detail and 1024x768 res. on my Celery 1.2ghz Radeon 9200, and 512mb SDRAM i am upgrading when i get money so i can play this with all the details up and Anti Aliasing.... its gonna be awesome. Expand
  2. MichaelA.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Its March 2007, I got far cry shortly after it came out in 04, I'm still playing the game. Have beet single player at all levels of Its March 2007, I got far cry shortly after it came out in 04, I'm still playing the game. Have beet single player at all levels of difficulty. The game is awesome, check out the full fledge single player MOD's (Motto4). Keeps the game going and going. Just wait for Crysis. This company rocks! Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    When this first came out it blew my mind. Levels so well designed you can choose how you want to complete them, game mechanics are fantastic.When this first came out it blew my mind. Levels so well designed you can choose how you want to complete them, game mechanics are fantastic. Sure the storyline is a bit weak, but who cares when you're having so much fun. Expand
  4. MattR.
    Apr 10, 2004
    9
    Where did this game come from? I'm usually pretty up on the latest releases, but I feel like this one snuck up on me. I LOVE: the change Where did this game come from? I'm usually pretty up on the latest releases, but I feel like this one snuck up on me. I LOVE: the change of locale (no more industrial warehouses!), the AI, the beautiful graphics and cool levels. I DISLIKE: the incredible difficulty level. The later levels are mind-bogglingly hard. I also was disappointed by the way the story developed. It ended up being pretty predictable. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    While the game hasn't aged well its still good the graphics on max are still impressive even if the gun models are more 1998 than 2004 theWhile the game hasn't aged well its still good the graphics on max are still impressive even if the gun models are more 1998 than 2004 the campaign has a decent length the gunplay works well but the stealth is because all the enemies have thermal x-ray UAV vision and have super synced aiming and pistols that can shoot you 100 miles away and the story and voice acting is horrible the multiplayer is very good but you die so quickly since there is no regenerating health and your health goes down very quickly but it still is a good buy you can get it for £4 on amazon and £5.99 on steam Expand
  6. WuGladdy
    Jul 8, 2004
    7
    Hmmmm Far Cry- The Cry part is what I experienced for the first week trying to set up the game. First of all I started the installation which Hmmmm Far Cry- The Cry part is what I experienced for the first week trying to set up the game. First of all I started the installation which on the second cd, it corrupted, sending my dvd drive spastic, so I returned the game to get the DVD version. So I installed it, WOW, I got into the game to find all the graphics going weird, A little angry I then looked on the net to find the solution, I needed to update my ATI radeon 9200 drivers. So I installed it and got back in ready to get trigger happy. After the first few min I wasn't happy, no Anti-Alasing, hello were going back to the old days of the PS1. I tryed to turned it on but it crashed my computer. My little athlon 64 wasn't enough, it needed a $1000 graphics card to look fantastic. Bumper. So I played and with a little luck I completed it in less that three days. Boring, its mean't to be non linear!, it seemed pretty straight forward to me. So I decided to compare how far we have come in the last six years to halflife1 & MOH. Ok, maybe a little old but they have two strong components to a FPS. One puzzles and interaction with the environment. On numerous occasions I see opposing characters looking blankly out to sea, it doesn't happen in real life, there is all was one who does something random like having a smoke or adjusting his crutch etc. Look at MOH's first level, everyones havin a smoke playing cards, chuck a granade everyone starts flying. Things like this make games special. Also if this AI is really good why is it possible to get every opponent in section to come over and get mowed down leaving turrets empty which would have mowed me down! its a little stupid. Going back hl1, there was always something blowing up in your face, in farcry nothing, I never got crushed by anything during the game or get swept off my feet except for the boat sinking!. Its got some good features like a small but neat physics engine but the overall the game won't compare to half life 2. Expand
  7. David
    Jul 14, 2004
    0
    The totally stupid story makes it one of the worst games I've ever played!

See all 199 User Reviews

Trailers