• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2004
Far Cry Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 935 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A tropical paradise seethes with hidden evil in Far Cry, a cunningly detailed action shooter that pushes the boundaries of combat to shocking new levels. Freelance mariner Jack Carver is cursing the day he ever came to this island. A week ago, a brash female reporter named Valerie hadA tropical paradise seethes with hidden evil in Far Cry, a cunningly detailed action shooter that pushes the boundaries of combat to shocking new levels. Freelance mariner Jack Carver is cursing the day he ever came to this island. A week ago, a brash female reporter named Valerie had offered him an incredible sum of cash to take her to this unspoiled paradise. Shortly after docking, however, Jack's boat was greeted by artillery fire from a mysterious militia group swarming about the island. With his boat destroyed, his money gone, and the gorgeous Valerie suddenly missing, Jack now finds himself facing an army of mercenaries amidst the wilds of the island, with nothing but a gun and his wits to survive. But the further he pushes into the lush jungle canopy, the stranger things become. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Far Cry Instincts Official Movie 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. The total package; outstanding gameplay, completely groundbreaking graphics, and a storyline and plot filled with surprises and heartpounding excitement. [5 1/2 "drips"]
  2. Superb in every way, technically, atmospherically, visually, sonically, it's got it all. One of the best games on the PC and one of the best games ever made full stop.
  3. We’re now thoroughly claustrophobic, agoraphobic and generally panophobic (afraid of everything). Far Cry has left us well and truly scarred, but after the experience it’s given us, we’re not ones to complain.
  4. On the one hand we have the brilliant graphics, excellent physics and devious AI, while on the other we have the disappointing sound department, a few glitches in the AI, the save system that will probably not be to everyone’s liking and the system requirements which can prove too great for some gamers out there.
  5. If you want a thrilling single-player FPS with the best looking graphics to date, then FarCry is for you.
  6. The shooting was fun and all, but it would have been much more satisfying had I felt like all of my murdering had been in service of something.
  7. Let me make this clear, through capitalization: ANY GAME THAT DOES NOT SAVE IMMEDIATELY AFTER YOU KILL A BOSS AND SEE THE ENSUING CUTSCENE HAS A BROKEN SAVE-GAME SYSTEM. I don’t care if it’s supposed to make the game more intense, it’s stupid, moronic, ridiculous, pointless and otherwise detrimental to the overall quality of the game.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 214
  1. Mike
    May 4, 2004
    10
    Woooooooooo this game is fun. the only problems is fps lag, and sound errors. paradise is beautfiul with terrorists :D
  2. MichaelA.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Its March 2007, I got far cry shortly after it came out in 04, I'm still playing the game. Have beet single player at all levels of Its March 2007, I got far cry shortly after it came out in 04, I'm still playing the game. Have beet single player at all levels of difficulty. The game is awesome, check out the full fledge single player MOD's (Motto4). Keeps the game going and going. Just wait for Crysis. This company rocks! Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    When this first came out it blew my mind. Levels so well designed you can choose how you want to complete them, game mechanics are fantastic.When this first came out it blew my mind. Levels so well designed you can choose how you want to complete them, game mechanics are fantastic. Sure the storyline is a bit weak, but who cares when you're having so much fun. Expand
  4. Brits
    Sep 29, 2004
    9
    Great game, but the monsters are sux...:(
  5. Apr 7, 2018
    8
    Extremamente bonito com relação a outros jogos de sua mesma época, porém com inimigos de inteligência duvidosa. A jogabilidade às vezesExtremamente bonito com relação a outros jogos de sua mesma época, porém com inimigos de inteligência duvidosa. A jogabilidade às vezes irrita, mas a construção de um mundo paradisíaco se sobressai no final. Expand
  6. BerlusconiisaThief!!
    May 7, 2004
    7
    A little bit boring.
  7. Mar 2, 2019
    0
    Completed FC 1-4, Primal, Blood Dragon. Never had a problem.
    I run a smooth Windows7 that agrees with everything I've given it.
    I run FC5
    Completed FC 1-4, Primal, Blood Dragon. Never had a problem.
    I run a smooth Windows7 that agrees with everything I've given it.
    I run FC5 first time and it crashes.
    I run a second time and it runs like butter through a waffle iron.
    I play the opening sequence and wonder what the point is. Scripted openings that are insanely difficult because there is no preparation, no understanding of the mechanics, no knowledge of how anything works is retarded.
    I'm sure it's fun like all the other FC games after you get past the forced F U start. What's the point? I wish devs would stop trying to make their games a "who's D!ck is bigger" opening.
    Expand

See all 214 User Reviews

Trailers