Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. May 17, 2019
    100
    I am extremely impressed with this little indie gem, and wholeheartedly recommend it to fans of strategy JRPGs. Especially, dare I say, to those of you who are looking for a true successor to Final Fantasy: Tactics. I am well aware of how ostentatious that may sound, but the praise is well earned here. Fell Seal: Arbiter’s Mark has earned my respect and admiration, and it deserves your time and attention. Go purchase this game, and support an indie developer who has seemingly done the impossible.
  2. Apr 30, 2019
    95
    Fell Seal: Arbiter’s Mark is easily one of the best tactical games I’ve played in recent memory. The fact that it was made by just two people is mind blowing. If you are a fan of Final Fantasy Tactics, Tactics Ogre, or games like Banner Saga, Fell Seal will scratch that itch. Just know going in that it might be a little bit before we get our next content fix.
  3. May 9, 2019
    90
    A top-notch strategy RPG that should definitely appeal to genre fans who've enjoyed games like Final Fantasy Tactics, Fire Emblem, or Summon Night.
  4. May 1, 2019
    86
    Would I recommend Fell Seal: Arbiters Mark? Yes, I would. It has remarkable polish, gorgeous art and was simply a blast to play. I went in with low expectations but walked away grinning from ear to ear. If you are looking for a turn-based tactics game set within a stunning fantasy setting, Fell Seal: Arbiters Mark should be right up your alley.
  5. Jun 3, 2019
    80
    Fell Seal: Arbiter’s Mark is an easy recommendation for anyone who loves playing Japanese tactical role-playing games. It has no shame in displaying its inspiration on its sleeve, mainly because it takes that inspiration and wears it proud, refining the gameplay with its own spin on it. With many difficulty options featured here that opens up the genre to many people, there really is no reason to not check out Fell Seal: Arbiter’s Mark, and with a lovely 32-bit throwback presentation, there is a tasty meal here that is full of heart and love for the genre.
  6. May 24, 2019
    80
    Fell Seal: Arbiter's Mark is a nice tactical RPG with an accessible learning curve.
  7. May 15, 2019
    80
    Fell Seal: Arbiter’s Mark desperately wants to recreate the experience of a tactical RPG and it does so with a few added flourishes.
  8. May 14, 2019
    80
    If you like the genre, Fell Seal will give you tons of contents and options to get lost into. This has been a very nice surprise thanks to its story, gameplay mechanics and depth.
  9. May 13, 2019
    80
    Fell Seal: Arbiter's Mark is not a perfect game, but there aren't too many things that I would change. Its biggest flaw is the generic story, but there are some balancing issues as well. Also, some game system are thoroughly explained, so I strongly recommend reading the help page or the PDF manual that comes with the game.
  10. May 10, 2019
    80
    While Fell Seal: Arbiter’s Mark might lack graphical style and an enthralling story, the combat loop is the stuff dreams are made of for fantasy tactics devotees. If you’re a fan of strategy battles and a plethora of interesting unlocks, this is the game to take you back 20 years, when you met Ramza and Delita for the first time.
  11. May 6, 2019
    80
    We recommend the game to the fans of the genre. the story is only good at its best, but the combat system and deep customization are its high point.
  12. May 10, 2019
    73
    Fell Seal isn't a game that breaks new ground, but it's still enjoyable to play regardless. The story is fun to experience and the gameplay is usually smooth and able to be played with little to no grinding. Character customization is impressively detailed in both aesthetics and creating class strategies. Overall, I enjoyed my time with Fell Seal despite the small issues I had with the difficulty spike and the graphics.
  13. Jul 8, 2019
    70
    Feel Seals is a turn-based RPG inspired by Final Fantasy Tactic, made by Final Fantasy Tactic fans and meant for Final Fantasy Tactic fans. Mix and match your skills, classes and abilities to create unique combos that will best suit your playing style.
  14. May 14, 2019
    70
    Fell Seal: Arbiter's Mark is an easy game to recommend for those that are nostalgic for the Final Fantasy Tactics games but also want to try something new over simply revisiting that series. A competent game in its own right, I enjoyed my time with Fell Seal, though it's not likely one I would revisit over many of its contemporaries simply due to how derivative it can feel at times. Still, its a solid experience that strategy RPG fans should be able to find some enjoyment out of for the same reasons that left many of us wanting more games of this style in the first place.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41
  1. Jan 21, 2019
    10
    Great game so far if you like tactics games... Great Story, Art, and music! Did you love Tactics Ogre/FFT? You will love this.
  2. May 9, 2019
    9
    A slow-paced tactical RPG with many Final Fantasy Tactic's-like features. Great artwork, really beautiful game. The songs are very wellA slow-paced tactical RPG with many Final Fantasy Tactic's-like features. Great artwork, really beautiful game. The songs are very well executed despite being a bit repetitive. The writing and story-telling is GREAT, such a breath of fresh air. A really good game. Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2019
    8
    Favorite Thing:
    Least Favorite Thing: I normally only do one but I feel the need to list 3 things I hated in a game I otherwise really
    Favorite Thing:
    Least Favorite Thing: I normally only do one but I feel the need to list 3 things I hated in a game I otherwise really enjoyed. 1) No saving during battles and some of them last an hour or more! Try doing a tournament in one sitting, it sucks. 2) The XP trickle to benched teammates quickly results in them becoming useless. 3) Injuries are just a time waster and force you to find the lowest difficulty battle.

    Date Completed: 2019-06-18
    Playtime: 51h
    Enjoyment: 8/10
    Recommendation: If you like a good tactical RPG then go for it!
    Full Review »