Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 16, 2021
    100
    Square Enix did an amazing job with the port of FF7 Remake on PC. The game runs like a dream and can exceed the console versions in terms of visuals and performance, with a beefy PC. The keyboard controls are functional, but the game was originally designed with a controller in mind, so there's only so much that can be done in this regard. FF7 Remake on PC is the total package in terms of content and performance, and the people who have waited patiently for the game can be assured that the PC version is a high-quality offering, with a more complete version of the story than what was available in the PS4 version at launch.
  2. Dec 16, 2021
    92
    Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade launches on PC half and year later since it was released on PS4, with an ultra polished version that shines with its spectacular graphics, even if it has the same virtues and "drawbacks" on the design and gameplay areas.
  3. Jan 2, 2022
    90
    A well-judged modern adaptation of one of gaming’s all-time great adventures. The PC port doesn’t push beyond the PS5’s limits though, and who knows how many releases will conclude this remake.
  4. Dec 20, 2021
    90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a game you don’t want to miss if you’re a fan of RPGs. If you don’t have a PlayStation 5, this port is an excellent way to experience the game.
  5. Dec 17, 2021
    90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake Integrade shines as brightly on PC as it did on PlayStation, with a port that's every bit as pretty as the PS5 edition while also being not too demanding, and that includes some nice additions such as 120fps support. Recommended for both newcomers and fans of the original.
  6. Dec 16, 2021
    90
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake remains one of the finest JRPGs in recent memory, and its conversion to PC arguably enhances that reputation if you have the right hardware to make it shine. Despite shortcomings in its range of graphical settings and a lack of customisation options, this is a commendable port that runs well, looks even better, and offers patient players on the platform an adventure they’ve been waiting years for. Now it’s finally here, I have a perfect excuse for another playthrough. Bring on the mods, my body is ready.
  7. Dec 16, 2021
    90
    While in substance and form FF7 Remake remains an excellent J-RPG on PC, we can only be disappointed by the “little arms” aspect of this port. The title runs fine on a mid-range machine, but the near absence of graphics settings and incompatibility with ultrawide screens make the toll bitter. So this version does not do much justice to its support and there is more to hope for, perhaps, a life-saving update.
  8. Dec 16, 2021
    90
    A port surprisingly free of graphics options still benefits from being the most jaw-droppingly gorgeous way to play an amazing game.
  9. Jan 2, 2022
    88
    A terrific return to form for singleplayer Final Fantasy that makes the series' future exciting, in a barebones (though functional) PC package.
  10. Dec 16, 2021
    88
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake Intergrade confirms on PC all the merits of an engaging, spectacular and lasting game. Packed with a fascinating narrative, an amazing artistic direction and solid gameplay, the remake comes to the Windows platform with a frankly listless conversion, not very scalable and badly optimized, without even the most trivial graphics options.
  11. Dec 17, 2021
    84
    An authentic remake of the classic role-playing game with impressive technology, but it's missing more than two-thirds of the original's content.
  12. Dec 22, 2021
    83
    For PC gamers who have not played the console version of Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade, it’s an easy game to recommend despite the potential technical issues. There is simply too much good. The Remake is one of the best re-imagined games ever made, and the original is demonstrably a masterpiece. We would have liked more options, better optimization, and a lower price tag to be sure, but on PC, Final Fantasy VII Remake looks fantastic and the story, characters, and gameplay deserve every gamer’s time.
  13. Jan 11, 2022
    82
    Yes, Final Fantasy 7 Remake Intergrade is still that excellent game that amazed us in its console launch, but we expected far more from the PC version. It's maddening really, that with all the technological advancement it doesn't look better. This is not the port that consumers deserve, but the one that Square Enix could deliver.
  14. Jan 20, 2022
    80
    If you have already played Final Fantasy VII Remake on the PlayStation, then we can hardly recommend this port, the only exception being if you are a “PC purist” that also loves a good JRPG along the way. If that is the case, you will finally have the opportunity to try this achievement of a game and see for yourself why fans of the seventh instalment of the long-running JRPG series were so thrilled with this remake a few years ago.
  15. Jan 11, 2022
    80
    This version of Final Fantasy 7 Remake isn’t as huge a step up from the PS4 or PS5 version as it should be, but it is still more than a suitable way to experience it outside of the console space.
  16. Jan 3, 2022
    80
    An authentic reimagining of the first act as a 30+ hour action-oriented thrill ride with new sub-plots, characters, and an elegant, modern interpretation of the ATB combat system. The remake is still best experienced on consoles, however, where solid performance and controls can be guaranteed.
  17. Dec 16, 2021
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade is an excellent reimagining of the iconic PS1 JRPG that features fantastic visuals and addicting combat. The new Yuffie side content provides additional fun, and even addresses a few minor issues from the 2020 console release.
  18. Dec 23, 2021
    75
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake on PC is the same great game known from consoles, reviving the spirit of the original from 1997... But which, at the same time, suffers from bad decisions of the developers who chose to ignore the specifics of the PC platform, while charging quite a prohibitive sum for it. This simply shouldn't be happening.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 16, 2021
    At any rate, I'm hopeful that Final Fantasy's modding community can figure out how to inject some UE4-modifying code into this port before long. UE4 ships with so many easily customized variables, and as of this article's publication, Square Enix representatives have not answered my questions about why those options aren't available for FFVIIR's buyers.
  2. Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade doesn't just make a good first impression. It also makes a lasting impression, which is something that's been missing from mainline Final Fantasies in recent years. The bits in between could be more succinct, sure. Chapters could be less drawn out; there could be less cramming yourself through endless tight spaces to disguise its loading screens; heck, you've fixed the goddamn doors Square Enix, why couldn't you have fixed the nice little paper signs on Ma's Soft Drinks shop, too, eh? Despite all that, and the fact it's probably twice as long as it should be, Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade nearly always has enough highs to balance out the lows. Its action barrels along with a joyous spring in its step, and even the cinematics leave you gasping for breath at the absurd spectacle of it all. Final Fantasy XV may proclaim itself to be "the Final Fantasy for fans and first-timers," but I'd argue Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade is a much more fitting recipient of the title. [RPS Bestest Bests]
  3. Dec 16, 2021
    All of this adds up to a port that does the bare minimum to run well on PC hardware. It’s not a showcase for the platform in any way — it’s a showcase for how great a console game Final Fantasy VII Remake was. And, well, I have to admit that that’s been my takeaway from playing through the PC version this week. It could have been a more thoughtful port, sure, but this game is still incredibly good and runs better than it did on the PS4, which is something. It’s worth checking out if you haven’t played it on the PS4, but I wouldn’t recommend double-dipping if you have a PS5.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 441 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 441
  1. Dec 17, 2021
    10
    Very good game and i'm absolutely glad it's finally on PC! Yes, i agree, it is overpriced, but it doesn't have Denuvo, so if you don't wannaVery good game and i'm absolutely glad it's finally on PC! Yes, i agree, it is overpriced, but it doesn't have Denuvo, so if you don't wanna buy it, you can get it from "somewhere else". Either way, what actually matters is that this great game is finally on PC and actually runs really well. This was surprising Christmas present for sure. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2021
    10
    It's so obvious that bunch of people are going to whine and leave bad reviews, because it's not on steam and whatever else. In my opinion whatIt's so obvious that bunch of people are going to whine and leave bad reviews, because it's not on steam and whatever else. In my opinion what really matters is the fact that i can actually FINALLY play this game on my PC. I absolutely don't care what store i need to use to buy it. I want to play the game. I don't care about store okay? I rather take this, than nothing. Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2021
    10
    Very fun game. Beautiful visuals, good combat, boss fights, characters are very likable and also look really cool with their epic hairstylesVery fun game. Beautiful visuals, good combat, boss fights, characters are very likable and also look really cool with their epic hairstyles and voice acting is also solid. Would recommend. Full Review »