Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. CD-Action
    Feb 4, 2016
    90
    Redesigned interface and wealth of various small improvements make Football Manager 2016 much more accessible to newcomers without sacrificing even a bit of its astounding depth. [01/2016, p.64]
  2. Jan 12, 2016
    90
    The finest game Sports Interactive has released. Games released annually tend to feel incredibly similar year on year, but a lack of progress isn’t something that can be claimed here. Yes, at its core it’s the Football Manager we know and love, only this time it’s a treat for the eyes as well as the head.
  3. Nov 17, 2015
    90
    Football Manager 2016 may not be a huge overhaul over previous titles but the game feels a lot more accessible for anyone to pick up and play. Sports Interactive continues to show why Football Manager is the most dominant of sports management sim.
  4. Nov 16, 2015
    90
    Is it worth releasing your Football Manager 2015 and transfer in Football Manager 2016, yes it most certainly is. Prepare to lose many hours to the footballing phenom that is Football Manager 2016.
  5. 90
    With two new modes and a ton of improvements and additions, Football Manager 2016 is another great entry into an already stellar series.
  6. Nov 13, 2015
    90
    Every year, Football Manager takes a step further, and its always a meaningful one. If you are interested in the managerial aspects of soccer, this is, and will always be, your home.
  7. Nov 10, 2015
    90
    Football Manager 2016 is the cornerstone of a new era. The game we already know gets many little improvements, and Create-A-Club and online Fantasy Draft modes, despite some restrictions, are a precious and welcome additions (and addictions) to the game.
  8. Nov 20, 2015
    87
    The foundation with its accurate statistics and believable correlations is as rock solid and convincing as always and on top of that you’ll get the best match presentation in the series’ history – which doesn’t mean that much if you consider that only a few years ago they still used oversized dots. Nonetheless this is the stuff that soccer fans’ dreams are made of. Who would have thought that animated spreadsheets could invoke more emotion than the latest FIFA or PES iterations?
  9. Nov 17, 2015
    87
    Football Manager 2016 is still a great game for every football fan. It brings some interesting additions, but at the same time there are some issues that Sports Interactive should finally tackle really hard.
  10. Nov 11, 2015
    87
    FM 2016 is the biggest and deepest game of the franchise so far, but it's up to the FM 2015 player to decide whether the changes, tweaks and improvements we've seen this year are enough.
  11. Dec 7, 2015
    86
    Football Manager 2016 makes accessing the more complex features easier: it's both deeper and more user friendly.
  12. Jan 20, 2016
    85
    Football Manager 16, although not terribly innovative, is improved in almost every aspect compared to its predecessor. Better UI, friendlier tactics menu, more realistic 3D engine and transfer negotiations are among the most important improvements. Moreover, the adaptive AI offers a new level of challenge while also the “create a new club” and “fantasy draft” bring in some fresh air, albeit the lack of solid new gameplay ideas is apparent.
  13. Nov 23, 2015
    85
    Football Manager 2016 makes you care about your team just as much as in the real world, providing the most realistic football manager experience to date.
  14. Nov 17, 2015
    85
    It’s the best football managing game around, no contest. Every year it gets better too, with refined mechanics, more complexity and steps in the right direction. Some historical flaws are still there, unfortunately, like unrealistic values for some players, or boring press conferences. Iron out the kinks and it will become perfect.
  15. Nov 14, 2015
    85
    Football Manager 2016 feels a little thin initially, but as players dig deeper into the experience, they will find that it offers the best expression of the core mechanics that has defined the series for the past few years.
  16. Nov 11, 2015
    85
    Football Manager 2016 has many improvements, adds new interesting modes, has deeper statistics, and is full of content. However, still some classic issues remain in terms of visuals and sound.
  17. Nov 11, 2015
    85
    Football Manager 2016 refines its bases with countless tools like the Prozone analytics to make you the best manager ever.
  18. Dec 6, 2015
    84
    There’s not much new here in terms of ground-breaking additions and improvements, but Sports Interactive’s efforts are just about enough to offer an improved experience and a more fun game compared to last year’s release.
  19. Nov 19, 2015
    83
    Still untouchable on the footy front—but shelf life and that inconsistent 3D engine chip away at its tender Achilles.
  20. Power Unlimited
    Jan 27, 2016
    81
    The franchise hasn’t changed much since 2014, or 2013 for that matter, but there’s a reason actual football clubs still use Football Manager as a scouting tool: its realism. Trading tens of thousands of incredibly realistic footballers will simply never be boring. [jan. 2016, page 082]
  21. Football Manager 2016 is still a good game and this time, Sport Interactive tried something new (New Magager creation screen, Touch Mode etc.). But it needs a real rival.
  22. Jan 26, 2016
    80
    This year's combination of small improvements and innovations creates an excellent experience, that helps the newcomers join in. The veterans will be on other hand pleased with clarity and overall balance. It’s not a revolution -thankfully- because revolution could cause more harm in the moment.
  23. Dec 20, 2015
    80
    Football Manager 2016 is back with a vengeance, thanks to the good restructuring of existing features. There is not so much new in this game, but it is definitely improved.
  24. 80
    On the hardest levels of difficulty, I win more than 90 per cent of my games in titles like NHL, Madden, FIFA and NBA, but there I have the ability to more directly influence how the games play out. Here, it is about strategy, development and then learning the complexities of the game. This can make it difficult to find success, but I have found that it can be attained if you are patient and willing enough to stick with it.
  25. Nov 25, 2015
    80
    Football Manager 2016 is an incredibly complete (and complex) football simulation. The amount of detail and depth is just staggering; too bad that the newest and potentially most innovative part (the narrative-multiple choice ridden one) is just confusing and not fun.
  26. Nov 24, 2015
    80
    Football Manager 2016 lacks of ambition to be one of the main episodes of the Sports Interactive series. It's the most complete FM we have though, and it's consequently the best till next year.
  27. Nov 18, 2015
    80
    Football manager needs some real competition. Their developers make only small changes every year when we expect they focus, for instance, on the graphics engine. However, the game is still very powerful an very enjoyable.
  28. Nov 17, 2015
    80
    Football Manager 2016 is complete misery, heartache, and bouts of pure anger – directed at a bunch of numbers. But I love it.
  29. Nov 16, 2015
    80
    Football Manager is still the king on the hill of sports simulation games. Though FM16 is predictable and takes no chances with its established recipe, it delivers an infinitely repeatable game that is both very entertaining and wickedly addictive.
  30. Nov 14, 2015
    80
    Few game franchises have ever gripped like this one, and its symbiosis with the real sport remains rather staggering. For those who recall the heady days of Championship Manager, but who became alienated by the increasing complexity of its Football Manager replacement, FM 2016 represents an opportunity to come back. Your loved ones and work mates, however, may regret it.
  31. Nov 19, 2015
    70
    A microscopic improvement on Football Manager 2015, that is as addictive and engrossing as ever but seems to have run out of steam in terms of new ideas.
  32. Nov 11, 2015
    70
    Interestingly, Sports Interactive has said it plans to sell a standalone version of Football Manager Touch, with a release date of "sometime before Christmas." If you’re the same kind of Football Manager player as me, you may be better off waiting for that. For now, you can find Football Manager Touch here in Football Manager 16. Many of the new features--the Set Piece Creator, Create a Club and a lightly tweaked tactics UI--are available in Touch while almost everything I dislike has been cut. This, coupled with the fact that the match engine feels just a little bit more Joachim Löw than Tony Pulis this year, was enough to draw me back in.
  33. Nov 11, 2015
    70
    Solid. Dependable. This edition of Football Manager has set itself up not to concede, and to make occasional expressive forays into new territory. The scattering of innovations (hilarious character creator aside) are worthwhile, but some old, persistent quirks still rankle.
  34. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 16, 2016
    60
    As usual, it's a great sim of football manager. But this time it differs from previous episodes almost in no respect. [Issue#260]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 9, 2015
    This is the most complete version of Football Manager yet, offering up something new for both seasoned veterans and newcomers alike.
  2. Football Manager 2016 isn’t the best of the 3d match engine era – I think that’d go to 14, which consolidated lots of ideas into a redesigned tactical system – but the apparent improvements to both long- and short-term AI make it a much more involving and reactive experience.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 137
  2. Negative: 24 out of 137
  1. Nov 13, 2015
    4
    BUY FM15 WITH UPDATED DATABASE!!! I love football manager I really do but like most yearly releases you struggle to see the value ofBUY FM15 WITH UPDATED DATABASE!!! I love football manager I really do but like most yearly releases you struggle to see the value of purchasing the what is 90% the same game year after year after year. And I am afraid it is even harder this year, The much boasted create a manager feature to put it gently is garbage not many options and when I tried to put myself in the game well I looked like a very dodgy regen with a creepy smile to be honest I preferred it when I could put my own picture in. A lot of things have been tweaked apparently but after 20 hours of playing can't say I have noticed any. Glaring problems such as the match engine players being badly animated with players seeming to float across the pitch with out moving there legs and goal players doing stupid things, yes I know we get the odd howler in football but it is not this bad.

    Yes I am being harsh with this review and score but I love FM and want it to do better and hold it to a high standard all the way back to when I was playing when I was 13 signing Freddy Adu. To sum up I do not see any value in this installment and my big gripe about general laziness and minimal effort being put in remains from last year e.g same questions in interviews where we they have not even bothered to change the wording is dam lazy where such minimal effort has gone in every where else.

    Final thoughts: A lazy effort and I am dissapointed if you are a fool like me you will buy it every year then moan then buy it next year but if you are sensible buy FM15 and download a custom database for the latest transfers.
    Full Review »
  2. FCP
    Nov 15, 2015
    6
    Simplistic, luck-based, arcadey crap made for casuals. Defenders are mentally retarded and there's nothing you can do about it. Stick toSimplistic, luck-based, arcadey crap made for casuals. Defenders are mentally retarded and there's nothing you can do about it. Stick to FM11/12/13, they are by far the best, most challenging and realistic FM's ever. This is just another crappy plastic FM. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2016
    2
    Since a fan&player of this style games since championship manager 92/93, every new year it advanced we arrived FM 16. But, is this the best?Since a fan&player of this style games since championship manager 92/93, every new year it advanced we arrived FM 16. But, is this the best? Of course no. Since FM14, sigames take control from you and give it to itself. Every new version of the game, your control and given tactics are less and less. Just buy player and put pre defined player roles thats all.
    When tactical sliders gone, your hands are tied up, you are not free to create your tactic, especially when individual tactics.
    I think when they made the handheld version and online support for this game, they take too many constant for this game, its easier for them to manage but they couldnt do this well too.
    Play FM 13or FM14; these are the best. After FM14, they all pre defined tactical game.
    And; dont think about the graphics and visiuals about this game. İts nonsense. FM is not a PES or FIFA. New generation players dont understand the sprit of the game this game dont need visiuals(stadiums,supportars,weather condition, etc etc). SI try to attract new generation players.
    To SI; improve the game not visiuals.
    Finally, there are lots of things to improve the game but they are in the wrong way.
    Dont buy this, play FM 13&14, you will be very much satisfied.
    Full Review »