Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Dec 28, 2017
    95
    Still the best thing for any true Football lover out there, it will take weeks and months of your life.
  2. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2018
    90
    I’m delighted that after so many years the developers managed to find a room for improvements that enrich the experience in such meaningful and impactful ways and got another inch closer to blurring the line between Football Manager and reality. It’s hard to believe, but the game is even better than it was. [01/2018, p.66]
  3. Jan 16, 2018
    90
    In my view, Football manager 2018 is an absolute triumph that revels in the cliche, ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’. The changes, and especially the new dynamics system have never had me feeling closer to my squad, the new engine is slick, and the additional motion captured animations really do freshen up the proceedings. This is another truly stellar outing from Sports Interactive, true masters of their craft and pioneers of the management genre.
  4. games(TM)
    Dec 31, 2017
    90
    The best and most human FM to date. [Issue#195, p.77]
  5. Nov 16, 2017
    90
    These are changes that tilt the simulation closer to reality with captivating aplomb, and ensure that the armchair managers among us are kept busy for another whirlwind 12 months of 40-yard screamers and cup final heartbreak.
  6. Nov 13, 2017
    90
    New features have brought Football Manager 2018 closer to the beautiful game than ever before. Personalities, the hierarchy and social groups all play a part in the way you interact with the players. The system is rusty but still revolutionary for the series as it brings an ever more emergent way of telling stories. In addition to this are improvements throughout the game in how data is viewed and represented.
  7. Nov 10, 2017
    90
    In general, what all of this adds up to is a more sensitive game. All of the depth is there as before, but the humanity of football is represented in a greater way - whether that is through players striking up bromances that lead to goals on the pitch or you personally getting involved in pricing wars with clubs from Europe and, increasingly, China.
  8. Nov 9, 2017
    89
    The quintessential football management sim is back with its most ambitious undertaking in years.
  9. Jan 21, 2018
    88
    Football Manager 2018 builds a virtual world which can rival the real one, by using huge and complex database. Many new features in 2018 were designed just to let players experience a more and more realistic manager career.
  10. Nov 27, 2017
    88
    Overall, Football Manager 2018 is as addictive as ever; packed with a plethora of options and tactics to choose from, it immerses you into the world of football management like never before. Quite simply, unless you’re up to date with your coaching badges, Sports Interactives’ latest effort is the closest you’ll get to becoming a managerial messiah. So, if you’re passionate about football and you fancy yourself as a bit of a José Mourinho, then Football Manager 2018 is an essential purchase.
  11. Dec 1, 2017
    85
    Football Manager 2018 finally offers some new and exciting features in addition to the usual incremental improvements over last year’s version. We’re still not completely happy with the match engine and the overly bloated interface but this year’s FM is a good purchase.
  12. Nov 21, 2017
    85
    Football Manager 2018 is not a great revolution compared to its previous deliveries, but it offers very interesting news in terms of professional and personal information about players, tactics and signings that makes it better than ever.
  13. Nov 9, 2017
    85
    New year, new Football Manager: this time the people at Sports Interactive added some great features in the scouting department, the medical center and dynamics, but old problems like the frequency of injuries and the poor media simulation still lingers. All considered, a very solid effort nonetheless.
  14. Nov 9, 2017
    85
    Football Manager 2018 is still the best and most complete managers game. The new features are really nice, but they aren't as innovative as we wanted to see. It would be nice if Sports Interactive takes more risks for Football Manager 2019.
  15. Nov 13, 2017
    84
    Football Manager 2018 brings some good improvements on key areas like team dynamics and injuries, but old issues are still unresolved.
  16. 84
    Football Manager 2018 is a bigger, deeper and more complex episode of the saga. The best football universe simulation features a lot of new mechanics which give to the managers the chance to feel, manage and understand even better their teams. The evolution is amazing, but lacks of a real update to the UI, too old and chaotic, a little bit of polishing, with some dynamics which need to be fixed with the upcoming updates, and some issues in terms of hardware optimisation.
  17. Nov 9, 2017
    82
    Football Manager 2018 will not be remembered as a milestone in the franchise, but it is a game with significant improvements (like the dynamics system or the medical center) that will please die hard fans.
  18. Jan 21, 2018
    80
    Progress? Sure. Nothing incredibly dramatic to move the football game world, but as you once jump into a new year, you will not return back to the previous one voluntarily.
  19. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 6, 2018
    80
    Like Leicester winning the Premiere League, FM18 Touch knocks over its more fancied rival. [Issue#269, p.56]
  20. Nov 15, 2017
    80
    An overhauled scouting system, squad hierarchy and better injury surveillance. Football Manager 2018 offers several new and exciting features, and even though none of them feels totally complete at the time of writing, they bring great hope for what's to come.
  21. Nov 14, 2017
    80
    Football Manager 2018 adds some new features and overall improves the flow of the experience, but we're starting to feel the need of bigger and more relevant additions.
  22. Nov 14, 2017
    80
    Football Manager 2018 is a very good manager game for soccer fans.
  23. Nov 13, 2017
    80
    The best new Football Manager in several years, and although the improvements are still minor they create a more nuanced and realistic experience than ever before.
  24. Nov 13, 2017
    80
    Not a revolution, but the same, old, deep, exciting managing experience.
  25. Nov 13, 2017
    80
    Football Manager 2018 does not revolutionize the series. It is still relying on the facts of its success and refine them with new tools. You never change a winning team as a manager would say. You just need to train it again and again to make it better.
  26. Nov 10, 2017
    80
    At its heart, Football Manager 2018 remains a compelling experience, delivering rollercoaster highs of conquering the world while battling the agonising lows of relegation and sackings. The problem is the first signs of weariness are really starting to show themselves in this year's edition. It is like an ageing star in the twilight of their career; more than previously, there is a lack of genuine innovation from a team of developers who are held up to an exceptionally high standard. For sure, there are some welcome additions; the performance of the 3D match engine, alongside the revamps of scouting and medical teams, for instance, show that Sports Interactive does take refinement seriously. However, the continuing focus on the aspects most fans of the series find the most tiresome - the social media and player conversations - portray a worrying trend of the wrong path being pursued. The fundamental strengths of Football Manager remain, yet it seems a better strategy these days is possibly to pick up the title every two seasons for the best 'bang for buck' factor. For the annual buyer, this year's might prove a tougher pill to swallow and could well be deserving of one mark lower.
  27. Nov 9, 2017
    80
    Football Manager 2018 is a great game, but that’s mostly down to the sheer depth of the series on offer from previous years. A few new features here are fun as ideas, but I’d like them to have a more meaningful impact in-game...Still, after putting nearly 50 hours into FM 2018, I can’t see myself stopping anytime soon. The sheer number of things that you can do make it ridiculously addictive – and one of the best value games around. Just make sure you know what you’re getting yourself into first.
  28. Nov 9, 2017
    80
    The king is finally back, though with different white hair under the crown.
  29. Nov 9, 2017
    80
    Fundamentally, there aren’t many changes to the Football Manager core. This is a yearly update of a series that’s been around for a long time. All the same, there have been fundamental changes to elements of the game, and they’re welcome, and logical.
  30. Nov 24, 2017
    78
    Football Manager 2018 is a nice football simulator that suffers from the lack of competition in the genre.
  31. Nov 13, 2017
    70
    Football Manager 2018 is still an engaging manager experience, but focus on realism over fun combined with a lack of innovation leave the game less interesting over time.
  32. Nov 9, 2017
    70
    Football Manager is an annual series that really only has to worry about competing with itself. Aside from a few pipe dream projects on Steam, there are really no other football management titles around. Despite not all the feature changes being an unqualified success, Football Manager 2018 is still to be recommended as an absurdly detailed simulation title. To this day, it has a propensity for generating narratives rivaled only by the Paradox grand strategy games. But if you do already own Football Manager 2017 I’d regard the yearly upgrade as gently desirable rather than an urgent necessity.
  33. Nov 9, 2017
    60
    While still liable to take over your every waking hour, Football Manager 2018 takes the delicate balance of previous years and weighs it down with too many superfluous, or downright irritating, changes.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 13, 2017
    Innovations in the right places keep an old veteran match fit. [Recommended]
  2. In many ways, I feel the same way about Football Manager 2018 as I do about football in 2018. I love the sport, but I found so much of the talk around it and the personalities involved more than a little bit tiresome.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 70
  2. Negative: 27 out of 70
  1. Nov 19, 2017
    0
    I've played every single FM since the first release and every single CM since CM 2001/2002. You cannot be serious with this game, FM18. By farI've played every single FM since the first release and every single CM since CM 2001/2002. You cannot be serious with this game, FM18. By far the worst game the series has ever produced. It's 10 days since it has been released and it's not yet ready to hit the market as a live game. Full of bugs, it's absolutely ridiculous. I'm leading 3-0 at half time and I'm getting equalized because it won't make my substitutions. Once I make my changes, the substituted player appears on the bench in place of the player that should have gone on the pitch, but on the pitch is still the substituted player. So I have the same player two times (once running out of position on the pitch as I've changed the tactic and once chilling down on the bench). And many other bugs. Thanks SI for destroying all my trust in the series. I will think twice before I will buy any other FM. I think I will stick with FM16 as your work stopped there. Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2017
    6
    Another year, another Football Manager. For those who do not know this series, which already dates from 2004, it is a football game thatAnother year, another Football Manager. For those who do not know this series, which already dates from 2004, it is a football game that offers us the position of coach and we have to lead our club to success, being necessary to manage everything, including players, training and tactics. Many of those who know this series should already be asking what news has this FM 2018 in relation to the previous one. They are few and nothing more than an attempt to join the useful to... the game that still has the old problems of the previous Football Manager's.

    Dynamics is a new system of Football Manager 2018, which aims to add a new layer of realism to the game. This system aims to relate the state of team cohesion with the state of administrative support and team performance on the pitch. The hierarchy (Dynamic) presents a table, divided in 4 parts, with the players who are influencers. Social groups, which can be divided into 3 or 4 groups, are meant to show the connection between the players. In Dynamics (Satisfaction), we can also observe the happiness of the squad, if they are happy with the training, with the club, etc, just as we can call a team meeting and talk about the team's current performance, to try to increase the morale of group.

    Football Manager 2018 also has a new feature called "Medical Center". With this, we can see in more detail the injuries of the players, take care of the physical condition of the players, see the history of injuries that the players had and see the Risk Analysis of each player, among other things. Scouting only received a better organization and for the first time in the series, we can improve the facilities and buy packages that cover local, national or continental leagues. As much as the Social Groups and Medical Center were the aspects that pleased me more in this Football Manager, as well as I liked the fact that we can observe the strengths and weaknesses of our next opponent. The graphics engine has been slightly upgraded (it now supports DirectX 11), although it is considered to be minor. A plus of this Football Manager 2018 are the loadings. I notice they are much faster than the previous titles.

    But leaving the new features and the graphics engine aside, and time to talk about what is one of the most important nuclei of Football Manager: tactics. As always, the player has to build a tactic with his feet and head to lead the club to success. Offensive or defensive football, with or without ball possession, fluid or structured, frequency of crossings, short or mixed passes, etc. There is a lot for the user to choose. However, I have a negative point to point to the tactics of the game. I feel that some tactics are too strong compared to others. For example, I use an offensive 4-3-3 layout (two center defenses, two lateral defenses, three middle and three forward) offensive and in one of the games I gave 8-0 to FC Bayern Münich and I find it unrealistic.

    Goalkeepers, even the best, like David De Gea or Manuel Neuer, look like ducks to defend. They don't know how to force the balls to go forward or to another direction that does not carry the ball to the goal. The engine of the game (attention I'm not referring to the graphics engine) is somewhat retarded. Sometimes the players do not do what we ask (in the instructions) in the corners and the on free kicks. I ask them (in the corners) to point to the 2nd pole and do the exact opposite or send the ball to the other side.

    Sports Interactive likd (by negative) to undermine our club, with some players complaining constantly that they need minutes or because they want to be the starters. What about transfers in this Football Manager?? Sports Interactive also continues to sleep in this chapter. Clubs demanding a huge millions of euros cake to try to hire a completely unknown X player is nonsense. For example, I tried to hire an unknown young striker from AC Milan and the Italian club asked for 39.5 million.

    The new features of Football Manager 2018 brought a little breath of fresh air to the series, but the old problems continue to persist and Sports Interactive doesn't want to resolve that. Football Manager 2018 did an exhibition "à lá" SL Benfica (without anything against the club and without anything against the fans) and leaves from here with a draw.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2017
    0
    Not enough change. The 3d and graphic are even worse than last year I dont know how they can do this.

    The multiplayer game is unplayable
    Not enough change. The 3d and graphic are even worse than last year I dont know how they can do this.

    The multiplayer game is unplayable for me playing from a different country than my friend...

    I bought all the football manager since 1998 but it's the last one I buy if they not make BIG changes.
    Full Review »