Football Manager 2021 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The manager is the beating heart of every football club. In Football Manager 2021 dynamic, true-to-life management experiences and next-level detail renews that focus on you like never before, equipping you with all the tools to achieve elite status.

    With more than 50 nations and 2,500
    The manager is the beating heart of every football club. In Football Manager 2021 dynamic, true-to-life management experiences and next-level detail renews that focus on you like never before, equipping you with all the tools to achieve elite status.

    With more than 50 nations and 2,500 clubs at every level of the football pyramid to choose from, the possibilities are endless. It’s over to you, boss.

    Choose your colours and the challenge that best suits your ambitions and then work with your club’s hierarchy to ensure you meet theirs… or face the consequences.
    Join forces with your backroom staff to assess the strength and depth of your playing squad before dipping into the transfer market. There’s likely to be a starlet in your Academy knocking on the door of the first team…
    Craft tactical strategies, formations and styles of play for every occasion to maximise your club’s chances of winning football matches and getting those three points.
    Immerse yourself in the spectacle of match day and revel in the glory of management as your planning pays off on the pitch.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Dec 1, 2020
    100
    Football Manager 2021 is a winner and a real worthwhile upgrade not only for those who played the previous game but also those who might have lapsed in recent years. This is the most realistic version yet, with deeper player interaction and more varied communications with your team and key staff making you feel even more like a real manager.
  2. Nov 24, 2020
    90
    With Football Manager 2021, Sports Interactive have once again delivered a game that countless fans will happily be pouring hundreds of hours of their lives into.
  3. Jan 18, 2021
    90
    Football Manager 2021 combines the best elements of previous games and undergoes a dramatic improvement that cuts deeper than the superficial. It’s heavy, detailed, and been given a new texture by a more personal take on management.
  4. Nov 23, 2020
    85
    The pandemic didn't stop the folks at Sports Interactive: even this year, their product is the undisputed king in the genre it created. A deep and rewarding medicine for all the weeks spent indoors.
  5. Jan 12, 2021
    80
    It’s been a long time since we attended university. When our parents asked what we did when we were supposed to have been studying, we always replied by saying we were making a statistical analysis of To Madeira and Tsigalko. Little did they know they were cult players in the addictive first versions of Football manager.
  6. Dec 4, 2020
    80
    Football Manager 21 may not look like a revolutionary entry, but the sum of its advancements, the new analytic tools, and the numerous improvements inside the match engine are enough to keep you hooked again for hundreds of hours.
  7. Nov 23, 2020
    50
    It's an improvement over Football Manager 2020, but even so, it might be difficult to justify an upgrade to Football Manager 2021 except for dedicated fans who are willing to shell out, even if it only means minor additions and upgrades in the grand scope of the franchise.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
  1. Dec 19, 2020
    10
    Bom eu sempre gostei do jogo.
    E com a versão 2021 conseguiram mais uma vez melhorar o jogo.
    Mas acho que já esta chegando ao seu nível
    Bom eu sempre gostei do jogo.
    E com a versão 2021 conseguiram mais uma vez melhorar o jogo.
    Mas acho que já esta chegando ao seu nível máximo onde não há mais necessidades de todos os anos lançaram um novo jogo pelo mesmo preço.
    Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2022
    10
    Good game! I must to write alot to post my opinion I dont like metacritic.
  3. Nov 30, 2020
    10
    Like the last ones, this game is awesome. I know there are some patches to come, but i know it will be amazing
  4. Dec 11, 2021
    8
    I've probably spent a year of my life cumulatively playing Championship Manager titles and for the last decade the Football Managers. ThisI've probably spent a year of my life cumulatively playing Championship Manager titles and for the last decade the Football Managers. This version is basically the same as the one I got two years ago. It's a bit better, and the database and player knowledge is amazing. It suffers from a couple of problems with the match engine still, particulatly on set pieces - any man marking and your covering defenders will run into the opposition box during an opponent counter attack. Very frustrating. The tactics the pc employs are very samey after a couple of seasons too. But overall very good. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2021
    3
    It's just a terrible game and has been for years. Incredibly scripted (you can have games where you have 30 shots but you know, just know,It's just a terrible game and has been for years. Incredibly scripted (you can have games where you have 30 shots but you know, just know, you're going to draw/lose it, because the game says so in advance). Players are incapable of squaring a ball, they all shoot from the narrowest of angles, all the time, every time. And so on.

    The above makes it look like the game is 'hard' - no, it's the opposite. It's ridiculously easy. But it's not easy because of anything I'm doing with it; it's just easy by design.

    They call this a simulation of football; it's not. The makers of this game are too busy with their heads up their arse to actually make significant improvements, instead engaged in prolonged mutuatl masturbation over pointless crap like an expected goal stat being included.

    Avoid. It's really, really, really bad.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2021
    2
    O jogo é legal e divertido, mas BASTANTE mentiroso, incrível, eu não consigo ganhar UMA final decidida nos pênaltis, o time adversário seO jogo é legal e divertido, mas BASTANTE mentiroso, incrível, eu não consigo ganhar UMA final decidida nos pênaltis, o time adversário se fecha mas meu time consegue chegar ao gol mas sempre perde gol fácil, cansado desse script horrível. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2021
    0
    Как можно с каждым годом портить игровые механики? ввели кучу бессмысленных фичей и персонала, зато с каждым годом всё больше тупых скриптов.Как можно с каждым годом портить игровые механики? ввели кучу бессмысленных фичей и персонала, зато с каждым годом всё больше тупых скриптов. Как ещё назвать пример, когда твоя команда выносит всех, а потом матч с соперником, который намного слабее, и выносит тебя в одну калитку? Переигрываешь 20 раз матч с разными тактиками, игроками, стратегиями - результат тот же, игре нужно, чтобы ты проиграл! и не важно логично это или нет. за 10 лет игру убили Expand

See all 30 User Reviews