User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 4 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2020
    10
    Great game. Very interesting, you can see that she worked hard on it. Unique mechanics, nice graphics. A very cool mix of genres. The game really brings you back to HOMM and XCOM at the same time. At the same time being original. Very pleased with the purchase and will look forward to the continuation of this and other games studio :)
  2. May 7, 2020
    9
    I've been caught by game's art style, the pinch of humor and satisfying game-play. After I started to play, I didn't realize how few hours were gone. I strongly recommend Fort Triumph to all the fans of HOMM and XCOM - the guys managed to create a balanced product which brings the good memories back.
    I hope this team will produce more and more of the games turning it into a series. I know
    I've been caught by game's art style, the pinch of humor and satisfying game-play. After I started to play, I didn't realize how few hours were gone. I strongly recommend Fort Triumph to all the fans of HOMM and XCOM - the guys managed to create a balanced product which brings the good memories back.
    I hope this team will produce more and more of the games turning it into a series. I know for some people it may be too much and unnecessary, but I would love to have voices at least for the main characters. Looking forward to have more news from the team!
    Expand
  3. May 29, 2020
    10
    Developer:CookieByte Entertainment
    Publisher:All in! Games
    Price: 24.99 Coming soon to Switch in 2020! In humble beginnings, this game began as a Kickstarter campaign. I can only imagine that the brains behind Fort Triumph had the idea to stick both the RPG and Strategy genres into a pretty powerful blender and see how the results tasted. The end all being that this is a delicious
    Developer:CookieByte Entertainment
    Publisher:All in! Games
    Price: 24.99
    Coming soon to Switch in 2020!

    In humble beginnings, this game began as a Kickstarter campaign. I can only imagine that the brains behind Fort Triumph had the idea to stick both the RPG and Strategy genres into a pretty powerful blender and see how the results tasted. The end all being that this is a delicious combination in general, but no smoothie is complete without a few additions to keep it from being boring, and the developers here have went above and beyond to make sure that that’s the case.

    In what can only be described as a very alive and colorful world, your campaign opens in lush forests filled with trees and rocks that, trust me, are just as relevant to you as your own character. With such amazing attention to detail, I am asbolutely sure that the graphics had to have been assembled with love and care. The depth of color really pops, and while things are bright and cheery looking, they don’t detract at all from the fact that you’re waging war here. Menus are detailed and easy to understand, and icons make total sense. The end result here is a wonderfully crafted experience that looks to be the pinnacle of professional game design at a price point that not only is surprising, but hard to resist.

    Fort Triumph consists of a three-act campaign that has you managing a swath of companions as you build out their skill trees with points from playing through the scenarios. Each character has branching paths, allowing you a level of customization for their classes. While the campaign alone is worth the price tag, up to 8 players can also participate in online co-op, and any one of them can be subbed in for an AI character instead if you have a smaller friend group wanting to game together. In today’s world where social distancing and stay-at-home orders are commonplace, online functionality is more important than ever in being able to have fun experiences with your friends without risking illness.

    Now, battle is similar to things you may have experienced, but there’s a layer of thought that has to go into the utilization of skills. Making the best use of these skills is a must to succeed, because should a comrade fall in battle, that’s it — they’re gone forever. Permadeath mechanics aren’t lost on the Strategy RPG crowd, with popular series Fire Emblem being one of the biggest franchises to feature it. Fans of such games will be right at home with Fort Triumph, and will likely enjoy the more expanded battle system. Where other games have a rock/paper/scissors combat style, Fort Triumph boasts skills that can be selected and used in battle. Utilizing these skills can turn the tides of war in your favor, but learning when to use them can take a little bit of wisdom to take full advantage of each character’s capabilities — but take heart, friend, your abilities on your characters aren’t the only ways to wage war in Fort Triumph.

    The beautiful world around you is also not just for show. Trees can be hidden behind to avoid damage and rocks can be picked up and thrown. This interactivity creates some real depth to gameplay and I found myself gunning for cover more often than I expected to, and was rewarded more than once by nestling myself in the foliage to avoid damage only to pop right back out and cause chaos for the enemy ranks. While generally tactical combat sets me on edge and has me with a concerned and calculated facial expression that more than once has been compared to “Resting **** Face,” or RBF, I was usually smirking with glee about being able to use the field for more than just soaking up the blood and tears of my enemies.

    Cutscenes are works of art entirely, and the music lends well to the ambience. I was generally humming and bobbing along to the music while laughing at the less-than-serious plot — and that’s the thing, this game is made to be FUN. Most strategy RPG’s have heavy and dark tones with stories full of political intrigue and sometimes tragedy after tragedy. Fort Triumph is a parody of a tale that reminds you that a game doesn’t have to be grown-up in order to be good, and that sometimes the silly things are just as, if not more enjoyable than their contemporary counterparts.

    Pros:
    -Stunning visuals and sound
    -Fun story that is a joy to play through
    -Great multiplayer

    Cons:
    -You eventually run out of story

    Overall: 9.5/10

    Fort Triumph is an absolutely joyful experience. It’s immersive world is a work of art from the ground up, with every detail thoroughly crafted to meld with the core of it’s gameplay. The only complaint I have is that eventually its over, and that I would like for it to be a bit less of a resource hog, but in all honesty, nothing should deter you from picking this up and giving it a spin.
    Expand
  4. May 7, 2020
    9
    Это было классно! Эта игра меня просто проглотила! Когда я её запустил, я не мог остановиться часов наверное восемь, и если бы не надо было на работу, я осилил бы её целиком за один присест! Советую всем ценителям жанра! Минус бал только за слабые бои которые нельзя пропустить авто боем! В остальном всё шикарно! Буду надеяться на выход компаний за другие классы!Это было классно! Эта игра меня просто проглотила! Когда я её запустил, я не мог остановиться часов наверное восемь, и если бы не надо было на работу, я осилил бы её целиком за один присест! Советую всем ценителям жанра! Минус бал только за слабые бои которые нельзя пропустить авто боем! В остальном всё шикарно! Буду надеяться на выход компаний за другие классы!
  5. May 5, 2020
    10
    HOMM map system + great turn-based combat with a modern XCOM like twist. I liked the role of physics in the game - it supports the replayability very well, there is a lot of fun in trying different approaches to battles. It's what we all loved in HOMM3 but on a different level when it comes to fighting the enemies - really enjoyed that. Fort Triumph has a fun setting, interesting, sillyHOMM map system + great turn-based combat with a modern XCOM like twist. I liked the role of physics in the game - it supports the replayability very well, there is a lot of fun in trying different approaches to battles. It's what we all loved in HOMM3 but on a different level when it comes to fighting the enemies - really enjoyed that. Fort Triumph has a fun setting, interesting, silly characters, and some intelligent humor. The only thing I'd like to see more is... additional content! Definitely worth buying! Expand
  6. May 8, 2020
    9
    An eclectic turn-based strategy game with a great personality and colorful visuals that pop. Environmentally-focused combat is deep and rewarding to learn, as watching big plays unfold is explosive and satisfying. Along with visuals that pack a charm akin the Warcraft series, simple base building, randomized battlegrounds and world maps topped with some light RPG elements will keep youAn eclectic turn-based strategy game with a great personality and colorful visuals that pop. Environmentally-focused combat is deep and rewarding to learn, as watching big plays unfold is explosive and satisfying. Along with visuals that pack a charm akin the Warcraft series, simple base building, randomized battlegrounds and world maps topped with some light RPG elements will keep you coming back for more. With 4 factions, a co-op mode, and a fun story; Fort Triumph is a must-play for fans of the genre and worth a play for anyone interested. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2020
    4
    An infinitely primitive game with monotonous battles and a global map, which was done only for advertisers to write that the game is similar to Heroes. Yes, your children can play this parody of turn-based strategies, but keep in mind that despite the primitive graphics, the game is very demanding on the computer.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 24, 2020
    80
    While light on modes and depth, Fort Triumph’s largely enjoyable campaign and satisfying turn-based combat are attractive enough to keep a player’s interest from start to finish. Flinging rocks to smash trolls and setting the ground ablaze to scorch goblins doesn’t get old, and the multiple difficulty settings and permadeath options can challenge even more experienced tactical fans.
  2. May 20, 2020
    70
    The sense of humour and simplicity make it sort of a slog for veterans of the genre. But the flexibility of the terrain system and the breeziness of the writing make me think this would be a great way to introduce someone to this style of game. They can work their way up to those more complicated experiences. For now, they get to live in a world where everything is simple, and magical wind can blow your problems away.
  3. May 19, 2020
    70
    Transposing the tactical turn-based combat and character permadeath of XCOM to the fantasy genre seems like an obvious idea and Fort Triumph does a good job with it, adding some physics-based combat and touches of contemporary humor to the mix. On the other side of the ledger, the humor might not tickle everyone the same way and overall the look of the characters and the story seem content to settle for familiarity instead of reaching a little more for originality. Fort Triumph is in no way a bad game and fans of turn-based RPGs, traditional fantasy RPGs and XCOM will probably enjoy the experience.