Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 4, 2021
    100
    Forza Horizon 5 is a masterclass example of how to do an open-world racing game, bar none. Thanks to its deeply rich map, wealth of content, and fantastic visuals, it's the best racing experience I've had yet.
  2. Nov 5, 2021
    95
    Forza Horizon 5 is the racing game for everyone, which takes outsiders from the racing genre and turns them into followers of the speed, and for those who are already fans, it offers an almost endless variety of activities and challenges. Also very remarkable is the representation of Mexico, which offers vibrant landscapes full of incredible details that only those who live in Mexico will recognize. It is an indispensable game and highly recommended.
  3. Nov 4, 2021
    95
    Forza Horizon 5 is built to deliver hour after hour of glossy, beautiful fun. Hit the race mechanics as deeply as you like. Zip around the amazingly beautiful map in a Corvette for no reason at all. Find secrets. Build out your car collection. Get rich. Have a good time the way you want. Go anywhere, do anything, just don’t skip this stellar game.
  4. Nov 4, 2021
    95
    Forza Horizon 5 is yet another step up for the series and arguably the best racing game ever made. Offering a host of content across a fantastic representation of Mexico, its varied terrain and scenery, there's so much to explore and race. A massive roster of cars will perform all of these, each feeling different from the others, with a variety of upgrade and tuning options almost matching those of simulation titles. While there are a few minor niggles here and there, they are nearly so small as to be hardly worth mentioning. All in all, it's impossible not to recommend this for anybody, regardless of them being a fan of racing games or not, as this is that good.
  5. Nov 4, 2021
    95
    ¡Ay, caramba! Forza Horizon 5 is maturing under the Mexican sun a recipe concocted by Playground Games that has already delighted millions of pilots. Like an antojito, Forza Horizon 5 can be enjoyed in a good mood with anyone, anytime. Rolling over everything that has already been technically done and taking advantage of the Xbox Series X springboard to stamp the skies, Microsoft's software climbs the volcano of fun and unleashes an exhilarating torrent to be experienced alone or with others. It’s the festival of the decade.
  6. Nov 24, 2021
    91
    I don't think there's a motoring enthusiast who won't be excited about Forza Horizon 5, with a slight caveat for those who have had their fill of Forza Horizon 4 and might want more of the same - though honestly, I can't imagine how the formula could be improved upon, which in the arcade driving department is bordering on perfection. It promises and delivers an incomparably customizable driving experience, with dream-cars, in breathtaking landscapes.
  7. Nov 10, 2021
    90
    A masterful open-world racer in an unforgettable setting - would have benefited from a little more courage to innovate.
  8. Nov 9, 2021
    90
    It’s no surprise that Forza Horizon puts itself right into the mix with 2021’s Game of the Year contenders. Playground Games has been getting it right for a decade now. This is the definitive experience in the series so far, one that excels both on PC and the Xbox Series X. Minimal issues, such as server connectivity, fail to spoil the party that is just crammed with happiness and adventure. A number of small improvements across the board elevates the racer to being best in class; a huge plus for Microsoft with Sony’s impressive-looking Gran Turismo 7 flashing its headlights not too far in the distance.
  9. Nov 8, 2021
    90
    Familiar, excellent, and polished to a degree that hardly seems possible. If you love taking vintage Porsches for joyrides through environments that’d have a poet bawling then you're going to be very happy here.
  10. Nov 4, 2021
    90
    Forza Horizon 5 is a formidable game, with a spectacular graphics and an overwhelming amount of content. But above all, it is a fun title that dignifies the fun in video games with no greater pretension than that, to have the best time possible.
  11. Nov 4, 2021
    90
    Forza Horizon 5 is undoubtedly a visual showcase and technical benchmark for PC and Xbox Series X owners. If you have the hardware to run this game on PC, this is the choice to make.
  12. Nov 4, 2021
    90
    You can whine about the lack of revolution, but when everything works perfectly fine, maybe there is no reason to change it. Forza Horizon 5 is definitely the best racing game out there and has no competition. This is, by far, the biggest car adventure you can have on your screen.
  13. Nov 4, 2021
    90
    Playground's singular series gets a lush new setting, but otherwise remains committed to tuning an already winning formula. But even a marginal improvement on the best racing series around is worth celebrating.
  14. Nov 4, 2021
    90
    While Forza Horizon 5 launches with a score of "only" 9.0, it has potential for even more. All Playground Games have to do is to eliminate bugs and bring back some missing cars, which could be done in a few months, with several updates. What about a perfect 10/10? It would require a multitude of further improvements to AI and physics. But perhaps Forza Horizon 6 will achieve that. I surely hope so, as this would give us the perfect racing game.
  15. Nov 4, 2021
    90
    With Forza Horizon 5, the racing series makes its first stop in Mexico. It delivers breathtaking vistas, fast action, and the hook: the new EventLab mode that lets the community create cool, custom challenges.
  16. Nov 4, 2021
    90
    The detour into Mexico is a sight for sore eyes after a three-year stay in the rather dreary United Kingdom of Horizon 4. Innovation is about the last thing you’ll find on the Forza Horizon 5 buffet, but there is no denying that this is the best software available for Microsoft’s Series X|S consoles and, for people who have strong PCs, the best reason yet to pony up for a 4K 120Hz HDR display.
  17. Nov 4, 2021
    85
    Forza Horizon 5 is still an incredible racing game, one only overshadowed by the brilliance of its predecessor. Those with a lot of time behind the wheel in Forza Horizon 4 may feel this is one step forward for two steps back, but there's still a ton of fun to be had in this high-octane adventure.
  18. Nov 4, 2021
    85
    Forza Horizon 5 has carried the tradition of consuming my time inside a genre that normally doesn't interest me. Playground Games has displayed technical wizardry with this game and while it doesn’t change the formula to any significant extent, the experience found within Forza Horizon 5 is killer.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. While Burnout Paradise Remastered still offers more involved gameplay on a second-to-second basis while still offering a similarly gleeful atmosphere there isn’t another open world racing game so exquisitely polished as this. If you’ve played a Forza Horizon game before then you might feel a slight sense of deja vu, but you won’t care as the formula has been perfected at last. The best sound and visuals, the most variety of gameplay, the best editors, superb car handling… it’s sheer class. And so, so big. Yes, it really is the best modern open world driving game, so get it. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 695 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 10, 2021
    0
    Rated 0 because literally unplayable and thus there is nothing to rate. Can drive about 5 meters from garage until game just closes itself.Rated 0 because literally unplayable and thus there is nothing to rate. Can drive about 5 meters from garage until game just closes itself. Sometimes do not even get that far. No error no nothing just closes itself. And then company is saying close this and this application. First off I don't have any of those programs listed in their suggested list and secondly when I purchase a product then I expect it to work and not that I have to start figuring out how to trick the game to run properly and without crashing. On a PC if a Xbox game studios game is supposed to start working for some people while Windows Defender, Xbox app or other MS applications have to be closed then there is something really really bad... Maybe try to optimise your games first before releasing? Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2021
    1
    This is just so bad...

    So disappointing It might even almost rival Cyberpunk 2077 at this point. I am beyond words. I never thought I would
    This is just so bad...

    So disappointing It might even almost rival Cyberpunk 2077 at this point. I am beyond words. I never thought I would give a Forza Horizon, my favorite driving franchise a 1 out of 5 only because you can kind of play with a controller with ton's of disconnected and crash but still you can or I would have given a zero. I bought a Logitech g923 (that is list in their support list of wheels) with shifter and a TV just to play this game to find out I paid for an early access I never got to play all because the wheel just do not work at all, the constant disconnection make you unable to play with friends, the constant crash to desktop and lack, lack, lack and lack of communication.

    As of today November 10th there is still no patch to fix all the problems that make you unable to play the game and since the Early access we only get this tweet;

    Forza Support
    @forza_support
    We are expecting a Hotfix to drop later this week that will address multiple crash, wheel and connection issues for #ForzaHorizon5 We will update as soon as its live!

    The game has gone gold for a month and we paid for it and to play since November 5th. Look at the list of bugs you cannot tell me they have done their job! No instead they use us the buyer like if we were working for them to test and find their bugs so they can fix it. I'm sorry but we do not work for you, we are not your tester this is shameful. Early Access is not a Closed beta it's a release and they failed.

    List of known issues since the early access:
    https://support.forzamotorsport.net/hc/en-us/articles/4409616884883-FH5-Known-Issues

    I think one of the worse thing they ask us to do to fix their OWN bugs is to literally uninstall or disable tons of every day used and important program that can keep you safe and make your computer hardware and software work like "logitech Hub, discord, obs, antivirus" !

    https://support.forzamotorsport.net/hc/en-us/articles/360007593074-My-Game-is-Not-Launching-or-is-Crashing-on-PC

    Next time are they gonna ask us to uninstall Windows or other company games because it interfere with their game!? What kind of fix is this?

    I'm sorry Playground games, I love your games but this is terrible... especially the lack of communication. If this is how you care about your fans and buyers I'm doubtful I'll get any of your upcoming games.

    Until then,

    Prove me wrong, give me faith?
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2021
    3
    It's the same cringe-fest as Horizon 3 and 4. Sounds are better but still not as good as in Horizon 2. The gameplay is as arcade and asIt's the same cringe-fest as Horizon 3 and 4. Sounds are better but still not as good as in Horizon 2. The gameplay is as arcade and as primitive as it was in 3 and 4. There is no innovation since Horizon 2 which was a really great game. It's sad to see all these reviewers giving it 9-10 ratings. It's like if the game was brainwashing people. And I don't even consider all technical issues with the pc version. Full Review »