Friday the 13th: The Game Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Friday the 13th: The Game is a third-person horror, survival game in which players assume the role of a teen counselor, or for the first time ever, Jason Voorhees. You and six other unlucky souls will do everything possible to escape and survive while the most well-known killer in the worldFriday the 13th: The Game is a third-person horror, survival game in which players assume the role of a teen counselor, or for the first time ever, Jason Voorhees. You and six other unlucky souls will do everything possible to escape and survive while the most well-known killer in the world tracks you down and brutally slaughters you. Friday the 13th: The Game will strive to give every single player the tools to survive, escape or even try to take down the man who cannot be killed. Each and every gameplay session will give you an entirely new chance to prove if you have what it takes not only to survive, but to best the most prolific killer in cinema history, a slasher with more kills than any of his rivals. Meanwhile, Jason will be given an array of abilities to track, hunt and kill his prey. Stalk from the shadows, scare your targets and kill them when the time is right in as brutal a fashion as you can imagine. Take control of the legendary killer that is Jason Voorhees and terrify those unfortunate enough to cross your path. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Friday the 13th: The Game - PAX West 2016 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. May 31, 2017
    85
    Overall the game is beyond simplistic, but perhaps that's for the best. Overcomplicating things might have made it less fun in the grand scheme of things, and while I can't say for certain if I'll be playing this game a year from now, I do know I can affectionately call it my frightening summer fling for multiplayer. Illfonics has set the stage, it's time for them to keep improving upon this great idea, and for other companies to take the hint and follow in their footsteps. This is asymmetric multiplayer at its most addicting, and horror in one of its purest forms.
  2. May 31, 2017
    80
    A truly unique experience, unlike any other multiplayer game you’ve played (certainly a cut above other asymmetrical titles), where cooperation, wits and sometimes ruthless murder are what it takes to survive. Be wary of this game if only for its propensity to hook you. Jason has sunk his pickaxe into me, and he's not letting go, ensuring I will be playing Friday the 13th: The Game extensively for the considerable future.
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 20, 2017
    70
    Friday the 13th does not overflow with content, but is rich enough to generate varied memories (unlike Dead by Daylight, another example of asymmetrical multiplayer). What it needs to become a truly worthwhile game is some more polish. [08/2017, p.76]
  4. May 29, 2017
    60
    Players can absolutely see the incredible potential of Friday the 13th: The Game. When the game works without issue, it provides a fantastic, tense experience unlike other asymmetrical horror games on the market. It could just be so much better. Polishing off the bugs and expanding with additional content and modes would turn this into a title that becomes a longstanding favorite rather than something folks play for a hot minute before moving onto the next Early Access multiplayer title.
  5. Sep 18, 2017
    60
    Cult series done pretty well into the game. The fun is almost instant, but it also disappears as quickly. If there were more possibilities and environments, perhaps one would stay there longer. For a few plays the game serves fine, but not many players will return very often. Impression is also corrupted by obsolete visuals and technical issues.
  6. Jun 7, 2017
    60
    Friday the 13th: The Game has a lot of potential, but it's an incomplete game with only one mode and without the single player campaign. Right now it's afflicted by many bugs and glitches and it needs a lot of support and polishing.
  7. Jun 3, 2017
    40
    These shortcomings and ongoing server issues aren't easily overlooked, and work against what promise Friday the 13th shows. As of now, a week after launch, it's short on content and performs poorly all around, especially on consoles. The story goes that the developers weren't prepared for amount of people who wanted to jump on day one, but that does little to assuage players who were convinced that they were paying for a finished product. Despite showing potential that may one day be realized, Friday the 13th comes across as an unfinished game that shouldn't have been released in its current state.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 56
  2. Negative: 28 out of 56
  1. May 31, 2017
    10
    Ok so first and foremost YES the game does contain bugs and glitches (what game DOESN'T this day in age?). But as a huge fan of the FridayOk so first and foremost YES the game does contain bugs and glitches (what game DOESN'T this day in age?). But as a huge fan of the Friday the 13th movies I must say this game is one big fat sexy LOVE LETTER to the film franchise. They absolutely NAILED just about everything you can think of. Jason's design and infliction of terror are absolute PERFECTION. Playing as a counseler makes you feel as helpless, weak, and sometimes stupid as one of the characters in the movies. Why do people think that is a bad thing? This game isn't meant to be competitive per se...it's meant for a bloody good time. And that is most certainly is. Some games play out like a little mini movie and those make for some of the most tense, engaging, and surreal bit of gameplay I've experienced since the first Left 4 Dead game. Thumbs up to illfonic and gun media for making this fanboy super happy! Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2017
    10
    The game was really well developed, have pretty good graphics, one great gameplay and it's possible to play for hours without being bored,The game was really well developed, have pretty good graphics, one great gameplay and it's possible to play for hours without being bored, especially with friends.
    3 maps so far, with the objects in the houses changing every match, as well as the phone house and the vehicles. 11 survivors, each one with different advantages and disadvantage. A lot of movie references and some unique deaths. No rendering issues yet. Jason is very OP. Way more elaborated than Dead By Daylight. Also, it has a single player mode being developed and promise to launch in the summer of 2017 (USA).
    Expand
  3. May 31, 2019
    9
    I consider this game one of the best games of 2017, by far. The game can be played various ways depending on which counselor you have andI consider this game one of the best games of 2017, by far. The game can be played various ways depending on which counselor you have and playing as Jason. I actually enjoy the team work of playing as a Counselor. You get a good variety of maps and styles, different Jasons with different abilities and perks and a bunch of camp counselors with different perks and abilities. You can play this game any way you want to.

    The game can be frustrating. Sometimes luck just is not on your side. I once spawned in a new game and within what seemed like a few seconds Jason was at my location. I've also escaped several times in various ways. You can call the cops and run to them when they arrive, you can fix up a car and drive away, you can take a boat out of there or even kill Jason. Killing Jason is no joke. Very difficult and it should be.

    At the end of the day, this is a fun horror game that has legit replay value. There is no doubt I will be playing this game years from now. It's a fun game to pull out in October when Halloween is coming.
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2017
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all – I'm not a hater, I've pre oredered the game five months ago, and after so many excitements it's time for my opinion.

    So After 10 hours in the game – I can say fully that Friday the 13th is one of the my dissapionmets of 2017. even more then Outlast 2. And I'll explain it with eveything.

    Firstly, the benefits. There are 3 maps, and they are huge with a lot to explore in each house. The ways of escaping are largers, you can call the police and wait a couple minutes for them to come, and you can find some pars of a car/boad and escape. there are many consulers and jasons but they are not pefect and I'll explain it later. the soundtrack is gorgoues as final for the benefits.

    now what about the cons? As a start – the graphic is terrible with so many unfinished places to take care of. There are many many many many many bugs and lags. the server crused me at least 7 times since I've begun to play. The animations' faces maybe funny but getting tired after a couple of times when Jason is running after me and I'm with a face of **** I've **** to do and a murder is after me'. now, this is fine, but it's happening even when Jason is not chasing me, and i'm opening a door with the same **** faces, jesus. oh yeah, the lags are very effectives in the game, when you open a door and the door is opening where your hands aren't there, the same goes when Jason grabs u. The thought of the way the fatalities are manage, are great, but when it actually done (in actual fact) it looks so awful. the delay of the animation kills is a beginner developer and if you think it's like Mortal Kombat X, it's not even close. The 'Tommy Jarvis' charactor isn't special at all. the only differences btw u and him, is that he has a shoutgun with one bullet that isn't help much (even at all, when you nervous and aiming the gun against Jason who is closting to u, you'll notice that you won't harm him because u missed from stress) and is stealsh at 10, something that is good, but has for other chracators too. I've played more then like 70 or more matchs, and my chances of playing with Jason were all so less that I had more chance to win in the lotto. Some sad things: You cannot change anything in the keyboard and mouse settings. The developers aren't letting u until they'll release an update that letting you rebinding. You cannot run evn a little bit. If u run, your stamina goes down, and if you've wated all your stamina and Jason is chasing after u – your chances to get out alive is like I'll have more chances to play with Jason all the time – and it's not happening at all.

    This is just a taste of my fully review that will upload to our website.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2017
    3
    In all honesty this game was a huge let down.

    It runs terrible most of the time. Jason can resort to cheap tactics such as shift grab which
    In all honesty this game was a huge let down.

    It runs terrible most of the time. Jason can resort to cheap tactics such as shift grab which is you play as one of the slower characters is un avoidable.
    While on the topic of Jasons grab it can be near impossible to get free from it. I main Vanessa who is one of the faster characters and if Jason grabs me I typically die within seconds of the grab, I hope Gun nerfs the grab... Other than that I would say the balance is decent. Still a few issues but nothing too terrible.

    The main issue is just how boring the game is when Jason is not chasing you, the game literally turns into the most boring scavenger hunt since the 2017 white house easter egg hunt. I spent nearly 15 minutes without Jason finding me (I wasn't staying still I was just running yes running from house to house trying to find the stuff I need)

    The game is also glitchy as all hell.. Literally I was in a tent hiding when Jason hit the back of it at which point I jumped out as fast as my character could and it launched me into the air where I stayed for the rest of the game just literally floating above the map (I will admit this made for some awesome eye in the sky viewings of the kill animations but it removed the tension and fear as I was literally unkillable). On top of that glitch I also experienced the dreaded Database Login Failure which plagued me for the first two days of the games launch, and after that error was sorted out I was unable to level up for a further two days... No this may seem like a non issue but try playing a game against a level 30 Jason with high tier kills with the base Vanessa without any perks, Trust me it doens't work well at all. It's about as effective as hitting Michael Myers with a spoon.

    However I will say that this game is only entertaining to me when me and a few buds team up and play it. When I solo play I just get so bored and annoyed at how unbalanced the game is and how some teammates don't communicate and leave in the car on their own. This game works well with friends... there is nothing more satisfying than killing Jason with a team of friends that communicate well.

    Another issue I have with the game is the music. Sometimes Jason's combat/ stalking music will play when he is on the complete opposite side of the map. This is super infuriating because it will make me stop whatever I am doing and hide, I get this at least once a game.

    Now on to how the game looks itself, this game is created in the Unreal 4 engine but it looks like it was made in the Unreal engine 3. The textures on Jason himself are actually the best textures and animations in the game.... however the counselors look even worse than Mass Effect Andromeda's Ryder did. Chad in particulat looks just I have no words to describe it... Oh wait I do DATED.
    The faces and animations look dated. I mean Assassins Creed 2 had similar looking faces.... I mean I get it the characters are sweating from fear or whatever but there is no way a human face is supposed to look shiny and well... I guess like Play-dough.
    All the counselors look like they were molded from clay. I would even say some of their faces looked better in the beta. Yes looked better in the beta.

    I mean at least you can get a few laughs out of these horrendous faces and glitchy animations.

    Oh I haven't even mentioned the glitchy fighting mechanics... Doesn't matter what weapon you use the hits might not register sometimes. For example I was in the combat stance with an axe (the most powerful weapon in the game bar the shotgun) right in Jasons face and hit him with it. I got the fight back notification and the stun one but somehow Jason was still able to grab me and throw me through a window without actually getting stunned. The game expects you to fight Jason when you are cornered but it rarely works. I mean holy hell how do you expect me to fight and stun something that doesn't even register my hits.

    I will admit that some weapons like the shotgun and flare gun work almost without fail. A lot of work must have went in to ensuring the accuracy and reliability of those weapons. I commend them on that... but that's about all I can praise without a single complaint.

    Now this may seem like I hate the game... But that is far from the truth. I just find it horrifyingly dissapointingly bland, boring, and the worst of all it's offenses is that it's disapointing. It claimed to be the Dead by Daylight killer but that game works better and is waay more balanced, but even that game is far from perfect..

    In conclusion I would give this game a 3/10. I cannot recommend this game for this price. $40 for a multiplayer only game is a bit steep since it only contains 3 maps and one game mode. Maybe get it on sale if you're friends have it.
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2019
    0
    Abanonware as the devs hide behind a legal dispute. It only prevents new additions, yet the devs refuse to do any work on the massive list ofAbanonware as the devs hide behind a legal dispute. It only prevents new additions, yet the devs refuse to do any work on the massive list of bugs that have been around since early Beta. If that were not bad enough, hackers rule what few servers are still running which the devs also refuse to do anything about. Expand
  7. May 27, 2017
    0
    This game is terrible and unless you like waiting forever due to laggy servers and then getting into a glitch filled game, don't waste yourThis game is terrible and unless you like waiting forever due to laggy servers and then getting into a glitch filled game, don't waste your money. The company also has the worst customer service I have ever experienced and seems to only want your money. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews