Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series, Cyanide has developed games for the PC and next-gen consoles.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Castlewood - Game of Thrones Web Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    78
    Fans of the books and the series will be thrilled, as all the classic features are here: multi-faceted characters, schemes, betrayals, incest, twists and genuine anti-heroes that seek redemption desperately, but in vain. [July 2012]
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    There's no denying that Game of Thrones will test your tolerance. There are so many negative idiosyncrasies and cost-cutting measures in place that you'll probably start to wonder when the game will just fall part entirely. But it never actually does. In fact, it stays on course to deliver a compelling parallel narrative to the opening book and HBO series, with characters as morally ambiguous and events just as horrific as any from Martin's pages.
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2012
    70
    If you're a fan of 'A Song of Fire and Ice' (or HBO's series), get this game, as it tells a great new story set in Westeros and co-created by Martin. [August 2012, p.74]
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    58
    Far from the RPG that Game of Thrones deserves, but still better than its components have the right to be. [Sept 2012, p.58]
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 3, 2012
    50
    Martin's world deserves better than this. [July 2012, p.64]
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    50
    Play this game only if you know A Game of Thrones novel and also if you are willing to forgive that the game hasn't been made properly at all. Only then you are going to be captivated by a thrilling and well-made story with the power to make up all the negative aspects. Simply, Game of Thrones is all about its content, not its form.
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    35
    Once again a Game of Thrones-game disappoints, because the last Game of Thrones-game by Cyanide was also average at best. This role playing game lacks any polish, looks amateurish and lacks a good enough story arc to remain interesting. Even for diehard fans of Game of Thrones we can't recommend this.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 84
  2. Negative: 14 out of 84
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    hugely underrated.best story in a video game. the combat is a poorly-executed version of Dragon Age: Origin's, and is the major drawback here.hugely underrated.best story in a video game. the combat is a poorly-executed version of Dragon Age: Origin's, and is the major drawback here. but if you can overlook this, you'll have a lot of fun. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2020
    10
    As a fan of A Song of Ice and Fire as well as The Game of Thrones, it only seemed natural that I would like this game. That's anAs a fan of A Song of Ice and Fire as well as The Game of Thrones, it only seemed natural that I would like this game. That's an understatement, though. I loved it through and through, it was very nice to be a part of the world, but seeing as the story is completely separate to the events of AGoT, it feels like a breath of fresh air. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2017
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. At first the uninspired combat and controlls almost made me quit the game but I am glad I didn't. The story reallyI really enjoyed this game. At first the uninspired combat and controlls almost made me quit the game but I am glad I didn't. The story really picks up after a few chapters and the ending is really well executed and feels very GOT-sy. If you play games just for gameplay and usually just skip dialogue this game is not for you. On a pure technical view I'd give it a 4/10 but the story and atmosphere made it a 9/10 for me. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2018
    8
    I have to say that I have been enjoying my experience playing this Game of Thrones game. Don't listen to the critics but make up your mindI have to say that I have been enjoying my experience playing this Game of Thrones game. Don't listen to the critics but make up your mind for yourself and you will find that it isn't as bad at it is being made out to be... Peace! Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2017
    7
    This is one of my first guilty pleasure games, beforehand games used to be just bad or good. This however, is a flawed game, let there be noThis is one of my first guilty pleasure games, beforehand games used to be just bad or good. This however, is a flawed game, let there be no doubt. The mechanics are plain crappy, there are plenty of bugs and at one point I got stuck as three of my bannermen flogged me at a bridge, which had me sighing as I hadn't saved in a while. The story is, however, grand and R.R. Martin-worthy. The player follows two characters, which you're able to "modify" in a limited way, with varying personalities. Will you give it the Man-of-the-People playthrough, or will you be the rugged, silent type? The story takes you over key locations in Westeros and lesser known lands, but it is a hoot. Yes, the battles are manky, and yes, it all feels too limited, but the story is woven splendidly and feels real. Pick it up in a sale and enjoy the 5-10 dollars you spent on a cool interactive addition to the Game of Thrones franchise. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2017
    6
    This is a very solid attempt at an RPG by a very inspired and driven developer that clearly loves the setting, but the budget simply isn'tThis is a very solid attempt at an RPG by a very inspired and driven developer that clearly loves the setting, but the budget simply isn't there to make something worthwhile. Voice acting falls flat, character models converse like marionettes (Worse even than Bethesda), combat is repetitive at best and frustrating at worst (although some of the build ideas are very innovative).
    The story is captivating and interesting, but not enough to make you want to get through the rest of the game, just to see it poorly expositioned in cutscenes.
    Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2020
    0
    Je n'ai vu que la série ou plutôt tenté de voir la série, car en quelques épisodes... je me suis endormi à chaque fois à chaque épisode !...Je n'ai vu que la série ou plutôt tenté de voir la série, car en quelques épisodes... je me suis endormi à chaque fois à chaque épisode !...

    Et là avec cette adaptation en jeu vidéo confiée aux branques de chez Cyanide, le studio franchouillard très merdouillard et pas débrouillard (sauf à se débrouiller pour faire de la merde bien entendu) eh bien, on est pas rendu ! je me suis en effet encore endormi plusieurs fois, dès les premiers dialogues, puis pendant les cinématiques (interminables) enfin pendant le premier combat (à dormir debout).

    Il faut dire que la "mise en scène" est très dilettante, pour ne pas dire rincée et que les dialogues sont ineptes, aggravés il est vrai (une fois n'est pas coutume) par une VF très mollassonne. Evidemment, ça tient autant à l'incompétence de Cyanide qu'au matériel d'origine (cette série de merde à chier debout) un matériel inexploitable tant il est à la fois pathétique et chiantissime.

    Le combat ici est une hérésie bâtarde qui réussit le tour de force de n'être... rien du tout finalement. A part une simple merde bien sûr. Ni du temps réel, ni du vrai temps pausé, ni du tour par tour... juste de la merde !

    De toute façon, on a surtout des tonnes de parlote (à tomber dans le coma) le tout desservi par des graphismes très en retrait et assez misérables... Non, vraiment rien à faire, rien à foutre de cette énième daube de Cyanide, on tire la chasse par dessus et puis c'est tout.
    Expand

See all 84 User Reviews