Gears 5 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 342 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sera is crumbling, your enemies uniting. Humanity’s reliance on technology has become their downfall and enemies are uniting to wipe out all survivors. As Kait, journey back to uncover the origins of the Locust, and fight with your squad to protect what’s left.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gears 5 - Horde Mode Gameplay And Features Reveal Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Sep 16, 2019
    92
    Visually stunning when maxed out, Gears 5 for PC comes with a very solid campaign and lots of exciting multiplayer modes that will keep you entertained for a long, long time.
  2. Sep 10, 2019
    90
    Gears is sawing in the right direction now. Gears of War 4 disappointed a bit, the new Gears studio was under a lot of (time) pressure. This time The Coalition surprised positively. Gears 5 offers more variety than previous Gears and, thanks to Jack, gives real strategic skills for the first time. I also like the longer, atmospheric story sections. Fortunately, the storyline with Kait offers suspense, as the story about the Hammer of Dawn doesn't exactly sparkle with ingenuity. Thanks to The Coalition for the three-player co-op mode as well as for the escape mode. All in all, Gears 5 convinced me.
  3. Sep 23, 2019
    90
    Coalition comes back to reverse the reception of the rather unremarkable Gears of War 4. Saying that Gears 5 is an improvement is an understatement, offering possibly the largest campaign of the franchise, filled with diverse and beautiful environments, mature writing and the familiar cover-based gameplay that remains one of the best in the industry.
  4. Oct 12, 2019
    85
    This is an intense blockbuster which delivers its brutal action just as advertised.
  5. Sep 17, 2019
    83
    Gears 5 has something for every Gears fan. The campaign plays well, even if the story is less than it could have been. Horde offers endless hours of co-op gameplay and depth, and the Versus modes are the best they have ever been. With Call of Duty still a few months away and Halo next year, Gears 5 hits at a time where this kind of great multiplayer gameplay is definitely lacking.
  6. Sep 4, 2019
    80
    With Gears 5, there’s a lot to love. The campaign is solid, making bold pushes in brave directions, and continues to be a hoot with friends. The story ultimately failed to fulfil its potential, but compelling gameplay keeps things moving. Horde continues to be a brilliant binge of violent goodness, with new mechanics and rewards that help boost longevity. Escape is a worthy addition to the roster of modes, oozing potential for more creative players to realize. Versus is back in a big way, helping newcomers find their feet, while keeping loyal fans of the franchise happy with classic game types and the thank-god-it’s-not-terrible shotgun. If you’re any kind of shooter fan, this game has earned your attention.
  7. Sep 4, 2019
    60
    Familiarly solid cover shooting with the occasional surprise. It’s fitting The Coalition has opted to simply call the latest game ‘Gears’, because mostly, it’s just going through the motions.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 108
  2. Negative: 28 out of 108
  1. Sep 10, 2019
    10
    Gears of War vai ser melhor que Last of Us. Um grande jogo de todos os tempos. Está melhor console definitivo dessa geração para Xbox ONE peloGears of War vai ser melhor que Last of Us. Um grande jogo de todos os tempos. Está melhor console definitivo dessa geração para Xbox ONE pelo Gamepass do meu irmão essa semana Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2019
    10
    Incredible game! Many options: Horde, Escape, Multi, Campagn ... All modes working 100% I LOVE THIS GAME.
  3. Sep 10, 2019
    9
    Well, new game for Xbox comes for PC in Steam. It was a great idea to release the game not in the usual Windows Store, but in Steamed, becauseWell, new game for Xbox comes for PC in Steam. It was a great idea to release the game not in the usual Windows Store, but in Steamed, because the game feels great on this client.Everything is amazing in it:
    •optimization
    •visual component
    •gameplay component (well, it's Gears of War)
    •interesting game design solutions in the company
    •story (continuing the story of Gears of War 4 and better revealing new enemies of the planet Sera
    •good online component
    But a game without flaws is not a game. Minor flaws that affected the game:
    •cosmetics opened for donation (now this is not very revealed, but with the addition of new elements it will annoy a little)
    •Bugs, poorly functioning servers and errors due to which some players cannot play the game (although these problems are solved by a couple of patches after the release, but you can’t talk about them)
    The result was a worthy continuation of the legendary series not inferior in scale to previous parts
    9/10
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2019
    8
    «Gears 5» в целом ОК.

    Сюжетная кампания куда веселее и увлекательнее, чем в «Gears of War 4», которую прошел год тому назад. В целом всё
    «Gears 5» в целом ОК.

    Сюжетная кампания куда веселее и увлекательнее, чем в «Gears of War 4», которую прошел год тому назад. В целом всё куда разнообразнее в плане локаций, ситуаций и прочего. Есть пара-тройка новых механик, которые неплохо смотрятся, но реализованы довольно слабо, что стелс, что опенворлд. Остается надеяться, что условная 6-рка продвинется в этом аспекте куда дальше и лучше. Ну и да, финал типичной трилогии или чего такого оставляет смешанные впечатления от оборванного клиффхэнгера и условного “to be continued”, которое придется ждать года 3. Ну и дизайн новой трилогии всё так же не цепляет.

    Неплохо освежили мультиплеер. Никогда не любил «Horde», к нему же отправляется «Escape», вроде любопытный новый режим, но не для меня. А вот классический «Versus» за счет повышенной скорости и TTK прям заиграл новыми красками, дико протащился с этого режима, хотя раньше не особо ценил мультиплеер серии.

    Спорная техническая составляющая ПК-версии периодически портила впечатления.
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2019
    6
    The single player is good , however I can't say the same for mp as it crashes way too frequent on my gtx 1060 card while playing ranked game,The single player is good , however I can't say the same for mp as it crashes way too frequent on my gtx 1060 card while playing ranked game, costed me a win on last round as it crashed right before the game score screen and didnt count my win.... Coalition please fix this asap!! untill then just stick to single player and endure its crashes... Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2019
    4
    What a waste ... I'm a longtime fan of the series. And the fourth part was good and promising, but this is a turn in the completely wrongWhat a waste ... I'm a longtime fan of the series. And the fourth part was good and promising, but this is a turn in the completely wrong direction.
    Yes, graphically it is excellent, but everything else is terrible. Characters do not cause any sympathy. They are not consistent, flat and boring. You cannot create a drama if a player does not give a damn about its participants.
    Fights are hellishly boring.
    Too many one-shots out of nowhere and too little enemy variety. There are a lot of enemies who are almost not dangerous, but require a long and tedious shooting at one point on their ass or somewhere else.
    Constant babysitting with ai companions, plus one-shots, plus checkpoints, plus boring shooting at large enemies at one point and you get at times the most incredibly hellishly boring repetitive gameplay.
    Open arenas are pointless timewasters.
    And oh god, hire good writers please.
     What is this miserable cliched “Luke I'm Your Father” plot? You destroy plot potentials for locusts! They could have had a centuries-old history, and now they have nothing.
    And, I laughed to the pain in my stomach over the choice that you suddenly give me. I see what you did here. You collect statistics and try to understand whether it is possible to bury old gears or fans are not yet ready to swallow your pathetic new gears. I'm not on your side on this
    Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2019
    0
    It's sad to say, but this has to be the worst Gears game I have played (I've played all the games but GoW Judgement). The game was releasedIt's sad to say, but this has to be the worst Gears game I have played (I've played all the games but GoW Judgement). The game was released over a month ago now and the game still feels like its in beta. The lag is high in this game nearly all the time, and the game is full of bugs that hurt game play experience and waste valuable time. This game feels like Gears of War 2 where to play with low ping you would need to be host, in this case you would need to be very close to whatever random server is chosen. The movement is also very clunky especially with the current cover system which feels like it got worse from previous Gears as well. The character selection and map selection is the lowest I have ever seen, and the maps get stale quickly due to only 7 different maps to choose from. It is very hard to find good things to say about this game when I feel any other Gears of War did everything better. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall Videogame Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Games

    Fall Videogame Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: August 23, 2019
    Get details on the most notable games headed to consoles and PC between now and the end of 2019.
  2. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.