Generation Zero Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to 1980’s Sweden. The local population has disappeared, and hostile machines roam the streets. Explore the open world to unravel the mystery, perfect your fighting strategies, and prepare to strike back. Play alone or together with up to three friends, as you discover ways to defeat Welcome to 1980’s Sweden. The local population has disappeared, and hostile machines roam the streets. Explore the open world to unravel the mystery, perfect your fighting strategies, and prepare to strike back. Play alone or together with up to three friends, as you discover ways to defeat the invaders. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Generation Zero - Gameplay Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. Apr 5, 2019
    80
    Generation Zero could probably be best described as an unpolished gem. If a second part is going to be made (and I sincerely hope that’s happening), I’m sure that it’s going to be much better and better focused. Until then, if you're playing Generation Zero in a single player or with other people, you’re in for a treat. You’re going to experience something unique, and that in itself is valuable.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 15, 2019
    69
    Generation Zero was designed with co-op in mind, but it lacks basic quality of life features, like dedicated servers, ignore list for matchmaking and even something as vital as integrated voice chat. [Issue#237, p.50]
  3. Apr 1, 2019
    61
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 25, 2019
    50
    The basic approach of Generation Zero is quite appealing, unfortunately the execution lacks finesse. The world is too big, too generic, too lifeless. The story and missions feel trivial and the numerous bugs and glitches ruin the last bit of fun.
  5. May 26, 2019
    50
    Three hours in, and Generation Zero is running on fumes. It will take you 30 hours to get to the end of this story, but what's the point? This game is just as dead as everyone in the alt-dimensional Sweden.
  6. Mar 31, 2019
    45
    Generation Zero stumbles on its own concept et never achieves to find balance between shooter and survival. Repetitive and dull, it does have some ideas but they don’t have enough impact to hide all the flaws.
  7. Apr 2, 2019
    20
    Generation Zero is a beautiful, broken, and boring jog through 1980s Sweden with a side of stealth and robots.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 12 out of 33
  1. Mar 26, 2019
    10
    Great graphics and fun gameplay, solid launch from Avalanche. Love the co-op features as well as solo.
  2. Mar 26, 2019
    10
    Fantastic Atmosphere, satisfying and fun gun play, one of the best game made without a massive budget.
  3. Nov 9, 2019
    8
    I think generation zero is a good game but not perfect.Yes it can crash sometimes but it's a lot of fun if you're playing it with your friends
  4. Oct 25, 2021
    6
    лутать прикольно и роботов убивать прикольно , есть кооператив и смешно уезжать на великах от роботовлутать прикольно и роботов убивать прикольно , есть кооператив и смешно уезжать на великах от роботов
  5. May 2, 2020
    5
    Nice graphic style, but absolutely stupid AI that could see and shoot you through the walls, you could just connect the player that has openedNice graphic style, but absolutely stupid AI that could see and shoot you through the walls, you could just connect the player that has opened all spots on map and use fast travel to find new areas.
    Spawn spots and mechanic is broken.
    Not worth it. At least now.
    Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gameplay is dead.
    Empty world.
    No quests, like real quests.
    "Go to the military base ".
    THats the quest.
    Or - check that place . Thats quest.
    Go there,, kill some dumb robots, get more ammo, proceed. Unbeliveable. DONT BUY THIS - ITS STILl ALPHA.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2020
    0
    The guys do not understand where is a "hardcore" game and where is **** interface" game.
    I was already suspicios to the game watching it poor
    The guys do not understand where is a "hardcore" game and where is **** interface" game.
    I was already suspicios to the game watching it poor rating when I start it.
    So in abandoned house and car I've got a gun, medicits and two tipes of ammo, one with 8 bullets and one with 126. I've got a mission market on home and task to find and eliminate an enemy. I couldn't find an enemy for few minutes, so I figured out in youtube that I should move on a road despite marker.
    Allright, here first small robot, I shoot, it shoots, ammo is out, I try reload but no, no way.
    I run away and try to inspect interface how to reload ammo, but it's very unclear. Also I managed tu equip and use one of three medicits. Meanwhile combat can not be stopped no way, so robot pursues my character and kill him.
    Ok, respawn and spent time figuring out how to equip the only remaining type of ammo.. I meet a robot, fight it and ups medicits didn't respawn.
    The pricks thought that because I died because of their **** interface I should searching stupid houses and cars again? No, I'll delete your staff and post a corresponding review on their staff.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews