Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Sep 13, 2016
    95
    Definitely a worthwhile game to pick up if you’re even remotely interested, featuring a really solid story and combat, this is a time sink and a half of content.
  2. Sep 7, 2016
    85
    A tremendously well optimised PC port of one of the better Japanese action RPG franchises out there, God Eater 2 Rage Burst gives a great account of itself on PC to the point that you nearly forget that Monster Hunter even existed.
  3. Sep 9, 2016
    80
    Those who tough it out and take the time to learn the game’s subtleties will be in for a treat, though. Once you get your head around Rage Burst's combat, the game gains a wonderfully strategic edge, and hunting down each big-game Aragami becomes a unique and rewarding challenge.
  4. Sep 7, 2016
    80
    The characters were flat but not cringe-inducing. The combat was repetitive but showed nuance as I dug more into Blood Arts. The graphics were passable, if not wholly unpleasant. God Eater 2: Rage Burst is comfort food with a controller, bland but filling. It may not be the best Thanksgiving, but I can see why some kids call it their favorite holiday.
  5. Sep 5, 2016
    80
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst inadvertently feels less like a sequel to God Eater Resurrection than a very substantial expansion, becoming a refinement of what came "before" than a genuine step forward. While it's impossible to deny the mechanical improvements in the game, many players' enjoyment of it will largely hinge on how much more God Eater they wanted to play, or if this is the only one available to them.
  6. Aug 31, 2016
    76
    The combination of characters, backstory, and gameplay all play its part in making God Eater 2: Rage Burst an enjoyable action RPG. Visuals and audio are both solid and do its job of presenting the game with fluidity and fast-paced action. While gameplay doesn’t necessarily deviate from that of God Eater: Resurrection, you should be playing because you enjoy the gameplay style, but want a new story and more content to delve into.
  7. Oct 3, 2016
    75
    The fights aren't overly strategic, but you are rewarded if you know the weaknesses of monsters you're facing; there are tons of these fights, and each is rather short unless you pump up the difficulty.
  8. Sep 5, 2016
    75
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst is a solid attempt at the action survival genre, with a long campaign, co-op multiplayer and lots of customization.
  9. Aug 30, 2016
    75
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst is a solid alternative for the hunting game genre. If you're also looking for fast gameplay and attention to the plot, then this game is for you.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 53
  2. Negative: 16 out of 53
  1. Sep 16, 2016
    8
    People seem to get upset when comparisons to Monster Hunter are made (presumably because it highlights the deficiencies of the game inPeople seem to get upset when comparisons to Monster Hunter are made (presumably because it highlights the deficiencies of the game in question), but you can't not make the comparison. And regardless of whether or not MH created the genre, it did (and still does) define it. It is the benchmark against which all games of the genre will (and rightfully should) be compared.

    God Eater 2 is a solid game, and I give my stamp of approval. If you don't play MH, and are into these kinds of games you'll love it. If you DO play MH it becomes less a little less appealing though. The game has its strong points (story, beautiful anime artstyle) but it's not as engaging, the hunts are far too quick and the areas are smaller. Im playing it just because I like to diversify and see what's out there. I enjoyed the first but I think it just got a little stale for me in the sequel. So I'm scoring it an 8 despite having grown bored of it, cause it's at least as good as Resurrection which I did enjoy.

    Idk. It's a good game and I recommend. Not as good as Monster Hunter (nothing ever is) but enjoyable all the same. Especially good deal since it comes with Resurrection
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2016
    8
    God Eater II Tick's all the right boxes for fans of the anime and expands on the foundation set by the previous game. It brings a tacticalGod Eater II Tick's all the right boxes for fans of the anime and expands on the foundation set by the previous game. It brings a tactical 'monster hunter' experience to P.C. owners and a high octane one at that. It has some issues with bland textures as is the norm with most ports and isn't free from missions feeling repetitive after a while when grinding. The combat is where this game shines and a noteworthy honorable mention to Bandai Namco for some excellent character &
    monster designs as well as a abyss deep overall customization system. Covering
    everything from your weapon, ammo, character & chosen party to a satisfactory extent. The combat is fast, tactical & addictive! Interesting plot development add an extra layer of depth to the God Eater story.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2019
    0
    Same as the first one but with an actually worse story/characters.
    How did they manage that ?
    I also spent 44 hours on this which adds up to
    Same as the first one but with an actually worse story/characters.
    How did they manage that ?
    I also spent 44 hours on this which adds up to nearly three entire days on this abomination of a franchise.
    No more.
    Full Review »