User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    I will keep this short and too the point. The game is good, and creative. I think anyone could enjoy it out of the box, however I do not know what max level will bring yet. For the price it is keeping me entertained, more than your average game. The one down side is it seems to be a *ninja* great game. No one knows how good it is because no one is playing it. I am, and I must say I amI will keep this short and too the point. The game is good, and creative. I think anyone could enjoy it out of the box, however I do not know what max level will bring yet. For the price it is keeping me entertained, more than your average game. The one down side is it seems to be a *ninja* great game. No one knows how good it is because no one is playing it. I am, and I must say I am impressed with the gameplay I LOVE it, but the graphics, and audio need some work. Hence can't give it a 10, older graphics on a new game. But it is fun enough I don't care. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    I'm surprised that folks think this game doesn't have enough content. It has thousands quests to do at launch, plenty of zones, instances, abilities, skill trees, and a nice long character progression time (if you solve this game in 24 hours, you're insane or just know the game extremely well). I give it an 8, due to graphics issues and sporadic bugs, which most likely will be fixed overI'm surprised that folks think this game doesn't have enough content. It has thousands quests to do at launch, plenty of zones, instances, abilities, skill trees, and a nice long character progression time (if you solve this game in 24 hours, you're insane or just know the game extremely well). I give it an 8, due to graphics issues and sporadic bugs, which most likely will be fixed over its lifetime (there are many less graphics issues than in beta). Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    The game fits its niche well. I feel like the foundation is all there (solid gameplay), and the extra polish and content (presumably in the works) will make it a really great value in this space.
  4. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    The unusual setting of ancient Rome is a welcome break from the traditional fantasy settings of most MMOs. I like the look of the game. So far the gameplay is pretty traditional for an MMO, but the minions and estate system bear promise.
  5. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    God's & Heroes has been a long time in the making; I've been following the development of this game for the past few years with Perpetual and now Heatwave Interactive. Having played it now for the last week I have to say it does live up to all my expectations. The quests are fun, gameplay impressive, graphic and audio as good as I have seen in any game within this genre. Yes there are someGod's & Heroes has been a long time in the making; I've been following the development of this game for the past few years with Perpetual and now Heatwave Interactive. Having played it now for the last week I have to say it does live up to all my expectations. The quests are fun, gameplay impressive, graphic and audio as good as I have seen in any game within this genre. Yes there are some minor bugs, but show me an MMO game that doesn't have bugs; and from what I can see the dev team are closing these out quickly.

    I highly recommend this game to any MMO gamer - you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    No doubt, the game looks a bit dated, but I stopped noticing that pretty quickly. The story line is interesting - having everything taken from you and starting from scratch while seeking revenge. Many of the quests in the epic story arc make the impact feel more personal to my character. Managing minions and developing my estate are welcome novelties in this MMO. The developer hasNo doubt, the game looks a bit dated, but I stopped noticing that pretty quickly. The story line is interesting - having everything taken from you and starting from scratch while seeking revenge. Many of the quests in the epic story arc make the impact feel more personal to my character. Managing minions and developing my estate are welcome novelties in this MMO. The developer has announced some upcoming features I'm looking forward to like crafting and a new hybrid class. I guess the bottom line is this game has captured my attention and held it in spite of its imperfections. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    This game has two things going for it:(1) There is an active, vocal community feeding the developers a constant source of feedback, and (2) The game is backed by a dedicated group of professionals who are actively listening to customer feedback and making constantly improvements. From open beta to last night, it has been fun to watch the game grow in its many dimensions. I personallyThis game has two things going for it:(1) There is an active, vocal community feeding the developers a constant source of feedback, and (2) The game is backed by a dedicated group of professionals who are actively listening to customer feedback and making constantly improvements. From open beta to last night, it has been fun to watch the game grow in its many dimensions. I personally know of no other game where an entire company from management down to the front lines of support and development are actively listening to the customer base. While the game does have its problems, glitches and bugs, the foregoing give the game more potential than its polished counterparts. Expand
  8. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    I think this game has a lot of potential! I have a subscription all set up and am ready to be here for the long haul. I'm excited about the improvements that have already been made and look forward to all the new stuff that they can do. Does anyone remember a game ever launching that was completely polished and perfect? I also have to say that I love feeling part of their community.I think this game has a lot of potential! I have a subscription all set up and am ready to be here for the long haul. I'm excited about the improvements that have already been made and look forward to all the new stuff that they can do. Does anyone remember a game ever launching that was completely polished and perfect? I also have to say that I love feeling part of their community. The support is wonderful and I like knowing that any issues I may have (crash every once in a while) is helping the devs figure out the problem and they use the information I give to make the game run better. Expand
  9. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    I have enjoyed playing this game since back in open beta. The minion system is cool, and gives a lot of flexibility for quick casual play sessions or more serious instances that require quick thought and action.

    It's a very polarizing game. It's unpolished, there are bugs and (even though I don't feel this way), many people think it's too short. Now for the good stuff: it has an
    I have enjoyed playing this game since back in open beta. The minion system is cool, and gives a lot of flexibility for quick casual play sessions or more serious instances that require quick thought and action.

    It's a very polarizing game. It's unpolished, there are bugs and (even though I don't feel this way), many people think it's too short. Now for the good stuff: it has an amazing team behind it who communicates with the community and makes them a part of the game's growth. It has great writing, decent graphics, but most importantly, it's simply a lot of fun. All told, there's something about this game that grabbed me and made me want to keep playing. I would definitely give it a shot, especially if you like MMO's that bring a little bit of challenge to your questing.
    Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    66
    Doesn't wander far enough from the path to make it worth picking up over the other, more content-filled MMOs. [Oct 2011, p.88]
  2. CD-Action
    Aug 31, 2011
    50
    At first I planned to turn my whole review into a vivid description of all the bugs that Gods & Heroes charmed me with, like holes in textures, missing descriptions on the map, misguiding signposts, running through lava rivers unharmed, fighting hand to hand against an owl that was floating 30 feet above the ground or chasing a snake that managed to climb on top of some shed. What's even worse, God & Heroes looks awful. It should have never been dug up and resurrected by Heatwave Interactive – it reeks and its jerks poorly imitate life. [September 2011, p.66]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 8, 2011
    40
    Might not have been built in a day, but sure feels like it at times. [Sept 2011, p.66]