Gods Will Be Watching Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gods Will Be Watching is a minimalistic point and click thriller centered on despair, commitment, and sacrifice as players face narrative puzzles and moral dilemmas that will affect both the lives of your team and the people you are sworn to protect. Set against the backdrop of anGods Will Be Watching is a minimalistic point and click thriller centered on despair, commitment, and sacrifice as players face narrative puzzles and moral dilemmas that will affect both the lives of your team and the people you are sworn to protect. Set against the backdrop of an interstellar struggle, Gods Will Be Watching follows Sgt. Burden and his crew in six tense chapters from hostage situations and wilderness survival to biological weapon prevention and agonizing torture scenarios. Each decision is crucial and players will need to choose between the lives of their team and the saving the world from genocide. There's no good or evil, just decisions, with only you and the gods as a judge to your actions. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gods Will Be Watching - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Aug 4, 2014
    85
    This is a unique game, presented as a traditional point-'n'-click adventure title but more focused on strategy and planning instead of puzzle solving. If you push on and don't give up, you'll be rewarded -- just expect a few heartbreaking moments first.
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    81
    As a simulation of complex group dynamics as well as life and death decisions this is a very interesting experiment.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    80
    By utilizing time and resource management, inside claustrophobic and violent situations, it builds tension and instills panic like very few games.
  4. Aug 20, 2014
    65
    Gods Will Be Watching could’ve been one of the best indie games of 2014. A challenging adventure about making deadly choices. A game we would’ve loved to mention in a single breath together with The Banner Saga, Papers Please and The Walking Dead. Unfortunately, the developers focused too much on a risk management game mechanic, which is more irritating than emotionally moving.
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    60
    Where Gods Will Be Watching is really testing, though, is in its almost impenetrable difficulty. There’s a fine line between challenge and frustration, and sadly, with all of its positives, Gods Will Be Watching will leave you questioning whether its really worth it.
  6. games(TM)
    Aug 20, 2014
    50
    The goalposts are moved without warning. [Sept 2014, p.127]
  7. Aug 27, 2014
    35
    In 2013, Deconstructeam entered a Ludum Dare competition with a bare bones concept of a game. Now, a year later, this game has a price tag, but it’s bare just as it was back then.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
  1. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    I played the demo many years ago. It was just a short suvival webgame, where you had to manage a small group of survivers on a fire. When II played the demo many years ago. It was just a short suvival webgame, where you had to manage a small group of survivers on a fire. When I first saw this game, my first thought was "hey, I already played that for free many month ago!"

    But then I bought this game when it was on sale. This game is much more then the demo. It has 6 different chapters, each unique. You always have to make decissions and manage your resources to survive or reach a certain goal in a set time. It is not real time, but turn based. So for example, you got like 25 days to reach a goal. You need to care for your crewmembers health and morale and you need to handle random events.

    And its all in this cool old adventure look :)

    I really love this game. It can be really challanging sometimes and it is hard to keep everyone alive. You often have to leave someone behind. I just reached chapter 5 by now.

    Each chapter is very different, so its not just the same mechanism just with 6 different backgrounds. Each chapter has unique mechanisms, dangers and ways to play it. In one chapter, you are just around a fire and need to keep everyone alive and the fire runing, and you need to care about their health. In another chapter, you are in a desert with a big team and need to care for water and ammunition, while moving around the desert.

    I'm very curious how all this ends. I could go on playing 100 chapters of this! :)
    Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    9
    Really innovative game with a lot of style. Both art, music, controls, characters and story have a unique personality and are outstanding. ItReally innovative game with a lot of style. Both art, music, controls, characters and story have a unique personality and are outstanding. It isn't a game for everyone because it's really hard, but it makes sense because the game wants to push you to make limit decisions that sometimes forces you to take certain hard choices. Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2014
    9
    Let me start by saying, this game is frustrating, teeth-grindingly frustrating, and this is coming from someone who loves the dark soulsLet me start by saying, this game is frustrating, teeth-grindingly frustrating, and this is coming from someone who loves the dark souls franchise. you will have to repeat chapters over and over again, and a lot of the time it comes down to lucky whether you succed or not. it is NOT for everyone, but i really did enjoy it. its stategic, its intriguing and it kind of ♥♥♥♥s with your personal psyche a bit. If you can make it past chapter 2 without breaking something you should be golden

    i dont even have to mention the art and music, people who hate this game even claim that to be fantastic.

    Its stressful, its painful, at times tedicous, and has one of most epic finales ive seen in games since times of MGS... if you find games becoming to easy these days, enjoy a challenging narrative, and have A LOTTT of patience, then this game is so worth trying.
    Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2015
    7
    I played the demo a few years ago and immediately bought the game after its release. I have to say i still like the look and feel of the game,I played the demo a few years ago and immediately bought the game after its release. I have to say i still like the look and feel of the game, but the gameplay itself and the difficulty aren't all that great. Its good for what it is, but if it hadn't been for the story, i would not have finished the game.

    Also, i encountered a few bugs during my playthrough. For example one time my partner died during an interogation scene but the main character was still talking to him, even though he wasn't in the scene anymore. Instead, there was a robot-like thing standing at the corner of the screen, which then immediately glitched away once the dialogue was over. I am not rating the game down because of this bug, as it felt pretty cool at the time and actually added to the strange mood.
    I am just mentioning it so you know what to expect ;)

    If you want to play an interactive science fiction story, give this game a try. If not, stay away from it.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2014
    5
    The concept of the game is to force you into making moral decisions under pressure. It's an interesting idea and it is set in a pretty pixelThe concept of the game is to force you into making moral decisions under pressure. It's an interesting idea and it is set in a pretty pixel graphic sci-fi story, on the topic of what is dictatorship, what is rebellion, and what is terrorism. The game was too difficult and frustrating for me to enjoy, and if you are looking for a moral choice-driven game I would instead recommend "Walking Dead".

    This game is -extremely- difficult, and it took me about 1,5 hours to get through just the first level. A big portion of the difficulty is inherent in the randomness of the game, making it so frustrating that I eventually gave up without finnishing. I get the idea of making me frustrated to experience the true feelings of the characters situation, but it came to a point where I lost my emotional connection to the story and the game became a chore instead. The game also features an online system that gives you statistics of your choices versus other players choices. I really think this could have been a great game if the difficulty level wasn't so overbearing. It's a good example of how game mechanics sometimes can ruin an otherwise good concept.
    Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2014
    3
    The game is more frustrating than an old Nintendo game, most of the time playing is spent walking around trying to micromanage four differentThe game is more frustrating than an old Nintendo game, most of the time playing is spent walking around trying to micromanage four different things that are boring to actually even try to manage. Also the fact that you have click to walk somewhere makes the game incredibly awkward. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    Pretty boring really. The thing that finally made me give up for good during the first level was having to walk slowly back and forth betweenPretty boring really. The thing that finally made me give up for good during the first level was having to walk slowly back and forth between the 'cooling down room' and the other side of the bank to execute single line commands. Repetitive, pretentious and poor writing. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews