Gods Will Be Watching Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gods Will Be Watching is a minimalistic point and click thriller centered on despair, commitment, and sacrifice as players face narrative puzzles and moral dilemmas that will affect both the lives of your team and the people you are sworn to protect. Set against the backdrop of anGods Will Be Watching is a minimalistic point and click thriller centered on despair, commitment, and sacrifice as players face narrative puzzles and moral dilemmas that will affect both the lives of your team and the people you are sworn to protect. Set against the backdrop of an interstellar struggle, Gods Will Be Watching follows Sgt. Burden and his crew in six tense chapters from hostage situations and wilderness survival to biological weapon prevention and agonizing torture scenarios. Each decision is crucial and players will need to choose between the lives of their team and the saving the world from genocide. There's no good or evil, just decisions, with only you and the gods as a judge to your actions. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gods Will Be Watching - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Aug 4, 2014
    85
    This is a unique game, presented as a traditional point-'n'-click adventure title but more focused on strategy and planning instead of puzzle solving. If you push on and don't give up, you'll be rewarded -- just expect a few heartbreaking moments first.
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    81
    As a simulation of complex group dynamics as well as life and death decisions this is a very interesting experiment.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    80
    By utilizing time and resource management, inside claustrophobic and violent situations, it builds tension and instills panic like very few games.
  4. Aug 20, 2014
    65
    Gods Will Be Watching could’ve been one of the best indie games of 2014. A challenging adventure about making deadly choices. A game we would’ve loved to mention in a single breath together with The Banner Saga, Papers Please and The Walking Dead. Unfortunately, the developers focused too much on a risk management game mechanic, which is more irritating than emotionally moving.
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    60
    Where Gods Will Be Watching is really testing, though, is in its almost impenetrable difficulty. There’s a fine line between challenge and frustration, and sadly, with all of its positives, Gods Will Be Watching will leave you questioning whether its really worth it.
  6. games(TM)
    Aug 20, 2014
    50
    The goalposts are moved without warning. [Sept 2014, p.127]
  7. Aug 27, 2014
    35
    In 2013, Deconstructeam entered a Ludum Dare competition with a bare bones concept of a game. Now, a year later, this game has a price tag, but it’s bare just as it was back then.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 33
  2. Negative: 11 out of 33
  1. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    I played the demo many years ago. It was just a short suvival webgame, where you had to manage a small group of survivers on a fire. When II played the demo many years ago. It was just a short suvival webgame, where you had to manage a small group of survivers on a fire. When I first saw this game, my first thought was "hey, I already played that for free many month ago!"

    But then I bought this game when it was on sale. This game is much more then the demo. It has 6 different chapters, each unique. You always have to make decissions and manage your resources to survive or reach a certain goal in a set time. It is not real time, but turn based. So for example, you got like 25 days to reach a goal. You need to care for your crewmembers health and morale and you need to handle random events.

    And its all in this cool old adventure look :)

    I really love this game. It can be really challanging sometimes and it is hard to keep everyone alive. You often have to leave someone behind. I just reached chapter 5 by now.

    Each chapter is very different, so its not just the same mechanism just with 6 different backgrounds. Each chapter has unique mechanisms, dangers and ways to play it. In one chapter, you are just around a fire and need to keep everyone alive and the fire runing, and you need to care about their health. In another chapter, you are in a desert with a big team and need to care for water and ammunition, while moving around the desert.

    I'm very curious how all this ends. I could go on playing 100 chapters of this! :)
    Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    Great game. Tough nut to crack, though. I really liked how the game didn't hold your hand but only gave you a challenge, that was on theGreat game. Tough nut to crack, though. I really liked how the game didn't hold your hand but only gave you a challenge, that was on the borderline of possible/impossible, and let you run wild. It really added to the dark gritty atmosphere and the desperation of the story.

    Considering how small the budget probably was, it was a great game that really packs a punch of a awesome sci-fi story, with its minimalistic graphic art-style. I really hope, they are going to work on a sequel because im running wild for some new challenges. I would love to see more of the Everdusk organisation and maybe a space battle, that one gets to play. That would be awesome :D
    Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2014
    9
    Let me start by saying, this game is frustrating, teeth-grindingly frustrating, and this is coming from someone who loves the dark soulsLet me start by saying, this game is frustrating, teeth-grindingly frustrating, and this is coming from someone who loves the dark souls franchise. you will have to repeat chapters over and over again, and a lot of the time it comes down to lucky whether you succed or not. it is NOT for everyone, but i really did enjoy it. its stategic, its intriguing and it kind of ♥♥♥♥s with your personal psyche a bit. If you can make it past chapter 2 without breaking something you should be golden

    i dont even have to mention the art and music, people who hate this game even claim that to be fantastic.

    Its stressful, its painful, at times tedicous, and has one of most epic finales ive seen in games since times of MGS... if you find games becoming to easy these days, enjoy a challenging narrative, and have A LOTTT of patience, then this game is so worth trying.
    Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    Gods will be Watching is a pretty good tale. The game revolves around it's story, plot, character development, and a metric ton ofGods will be Watching is a pretty good tale. The game revolves around it's story, plot, character development, and a metric ton of micromanaging. Though it's not for everyone and can be very confusing to a lot of players.

    There is no tutorial. The game is heavily based around trial and error. If you screw up you gotta start all over again. (From the start of the chapter you're in, not the entire game.) It will give you hits and tips but that's about it.

    The story itself is very confusing. It makes sense in the end but for awhile you won't get what's going on. The game also has a weird way of saying "Your choices don't matter..." It doesn't matter if you kill a character off they'll still be there. (Which is a odd way of doing it. But it might make some sense at the end.)

    In a way it's kind of using the same system as The Walking Dead games at the end. It sums up all your choices and compares you to everyone else who has played the game.

    The game graphics will obviously drive away people who want amazing realistic graphics but I think that the pixilated art style really works! It can show how much a simple art style can express amazing detail.

    The game is an ok length. It took me only about 10 hours to complete. But what killed it for me was the lack of replayability. Sure there are some achievements you can go back and get but they didn't drive me to go back and play it. I mostly just went back to screw around in the hostage situation rooms.

    At times the game can be really repetitive. It took me about 2 hours to complete one of the chapters mostly because of the game crashing and because of some unreasonable events and just my own stupidity.

    The games soundtrack is astounding! It's very catchy. Each chapter has only 2 soundtracks though. One for the default and another if you beat the game on easy.

    There's a lot of broken English. That's all I can say about that. ._.

    Gods will be watching has a hard time explaining itself. It's a good story but it can be very unorganized and confusing to the player. One of the chapters in the game actually seems very out of place for what it's intended to be. It took me a very long time to actually figure out what it was about...

    This isn't a game for everyone. It's very confusing and a bit on the annoying side... It's a game for people who have a very open mind and for people who can figure out the plot of a story fairly quickly. It might take awhile to understand and might require a second play through for people who are completely confused.

    In the end I have to give the game a score of 7.5/10.
    It's a good game overall but it has a ton of loopholes missing plot segments and confusing twists. I think there's a future for Devolver Digital. But it will take some time...
    Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2014
    5
    Wow... this game is a big disappointment.

    I originally decided to pre-order the game in it's collector's edition because I already knew the
    Wow... this game is a big disappointment.

    I originally decided to pre-order the game in it's collector's edition because I already knew the soundtrack was going to be kick-ass by the demo, and the game seemed already too awesome for words. The title alone draws a person in... but why the hell is this even called Gods Will Be Watching? What the hell kind of Gods are even in the game?

    The big problem with this is game is mostly false advertisement in the trailers - of which now are too damn short and uninformative really, something the devs made short for a reason. THIS GAME HAS NO BIG LIFE CHANGING DECISIONS ALMOST WHATSOEVER. It's no more than a simple time-management survival point n' click. And it can't even do that right, in the final terms.

    The story is a confusing, muddled, so-and-so sci-fi thriller about two space empires in the midst of civil unrest and hostility between them, but that's just a backdrop anyway. Most of it really centers around a terrorist group (and yes, no matter what good deeds these guys do, they are still damn terrorists) called Xenolifer, who are attempting to 'fight the system' who allows alien slavery by releasing an alien virus as a biochemical weapon on the xenophobic majority public. Again, bad solution which rightly labels them 'terrorists'. AND MOST OF THIS I NOT EVEN EXPLAINED CORRECTLY WITHOUT THE COMIC I GOT FROM PRE-ORDER.

    So blah blah, you play an undercover operative who attempts to thwart the plans of Xenolifer (the main leader is named Liam), but he feels that there is still good in him and his belief (proven wrong the third level basically). And then in comes the gameplay... which is basically the demo plastered over six levels. Nothing intuitive at all other then stuck-in-single-level situations, and must solve in correct amount of actions. When I found this out by the third level, I literally wanted to trash bin this whole game.

    But I can't! What's good in the game is the sweet electro soundtrack by fingerspit, as well as the awesome visual design in pixel art. But that's all really, it's not enough to justify the games existence. It could of totally been better, but it was a small idea and gameplay esthetic spread out to fit a full unintuitive narrative.

    Unfortunately, this is what I consider Devolver Digital's first failed game - almost nothing of it's overall expectation. Just frustrating gameplay, toppled over unlikable characters, mixed with more than 50% of the game's choices made meaningless (such as one character's reappearance the next level even after death). Never pre-ordering anything again.
    Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2015
    3
    I can accept and embrace the fact that this game is a very hard one. What I cannot do is approve of the barebones concept that is this game.I can accept and embrace the fact that this game is a very hard one. What I cannot do is approve of the barebones concept that is this game. The "Riskmanagemant" in this case is simply an euphemism for unnecessarily unforgiving trial and error featuring a lot of RNG. Which kind of boils down that this game has - despite it's nice gaphic style, great music and (probably) good story - doesn't really have any actual gameplay. I cannot really judge the story/dialogue since I've not seen that much of it.

    I never had the feeling of actually enjoying myself, just pushing on because I wanted to advance the story. I might be playing the game the wrong way or just being spoiled by the new steamlined generation of games, but artificially stretching the interesting concept of GWBW into full game lengh seems like a horrible design choice for me.
    Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    Pretty boring really. The thing that finally made me give up for good during the first level was having to walk slowly back and forth betweenPretty boring really. The thing that finally made me give up for good during the first level was having to walk slowly back and forth between the 'cooling down room' and the other side of the bank to execute single line commands. Repetitive, pretentious and poor writing. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews