Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Jul 2, 2015
    100
    If you hadn’t had a chance to play it yet at all though, and your computer can handle it, the PC version does definitely feel like the definitive version.
  2. CD-Action
    Jun 29, 2015
    100
    Rockstar promised that the PC edition of GTA V would be the best way to experience this breathtaking game, and that’s exactly what it is. [06/2015, p.48]
  3. Jun 2, 2015
    100
    Beautiful, witty, rude and captious Rockstar’s GTA V PC release is a must play title. Entangling open world, a great variety in missions, tons of online content and a port that respects the game itself and PC gamers alike.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 12, 2015
    100
    Even more free, prettier, smoother and in every aspect a more comfortable Los Santos than we all remember. Old song for the extra money you say? C'mon, for game like this you can never pay too much. [Issue#252]
  5. May 11, 2015
    100
    Ultimately you will get everything you expected from GTA 5 for PC; a tremendous game with many months of playability and the potential to only get better.
  6. May 4, 2015
    100
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. May 4, 2015
    100
    At the end of the day, this is still Grand Theft Auto V, an entry that I find is the best in the series, and a game that has been made that little bit better with the performance boost and graphical enhancements.
  8. Apr 24, 2015
    100
    Sure, the Rockstar Social Club is an annoying hoop to jump through, and hardware fragmentation poses problems for some. But for those with the hardware to run it, GTA V serves as a testament to the PC platform's superiority, and a reminder that good things come to those that wait.
  9. Apr 23, 2015
    100
    GTA V's PC version is the true mother of all versions of the epic crime adventure. Great optimization and controls adjusted for PC gameplay show that quality conversions still have not died.
  10. 100
    Even on its third outing, Grand Theft Auto V continually manages to impress and astound, and the refinements made on the PC version are just the icing on the cake.
  11. Apr 21, 2015
    100
    There is simply no argument to be had. The PC release of GTA V is by far the very best version of the very best Grand Theft Auto game to date.
  12. Apr 20, 2015
    100
    There is no doubt that this is the definitive version of one of the best games in this decade. The Online Heists are guaranteed laughs and the campaign is still perfect as always.
  13. Apr 20, 2015
    100
    Look, most of you probably won’t be able to run GTA V in the 4K resolution on Ultra, and most will only dabble in the video editor and director modes. But this is the definitive version of one of the best games in the last few years. What that means is that GTA V on PC remains breathtaking at every corner and was, of course, well worth every minute of the wait.
  14. Apr 20, 2015
    100
    Grand Theft Auto V offers a fairly large amount of graphical options to achieve smooth 60 fps on a variety of modest configurations and has enough options to push visual quality up to 4K resolution and beyond for those with beefy enough computers. The arrival of GTA V on PC was long awaited, but it was definitely worth the wait.
  15. Apr 20, 2015
    100
    After the long wait, PC-gamers get what they have been hoping for. We cannot deny it; the PC is the best way to experience GTA V. Rockstar optimised the game perfectly, and we are happy to start our third and forth play-throughs.
  16. Apr 20, 2015
    100
    The already featured-packed game now comes with further improved visuals, a powerful editor and new meaning to the first person mode thanks to the mouse/keyboard combo. Excellence at its finest.
  17. Apr 20, 2015
    100
    You’d think GTA V had been purpose built for the PC, and that’s because it has been – from the generous array of graphics options, to native keyboard and mouse support – Grand Theft Auto V isn’t disguised as a PC game; it is a PC game.
  18. PCGamesN
    Apr 20, 2015
    100
    For those coming fresh to the experience, you’re about to play one of the best games ever made. It’s still very much the Grand Theft Auto you’ve known and loved since the series transitioned to 3D open worlds in GTA3, but it has been enhanced and improved to dizzying heights.
  19. Apr 18, 2015
    100
    A game that will give you faith once again in PC ports. To not take a bite of this seductively colorful cherry does both your rig and your very self a disservice which can never be forgiven.
  20. Apr 18, 2015
    100
    The incredible thing is how alive it all seems.
  21. Apr 18, 2015
    100
    It’s technically more accomplished in every conceivable way, but it’s also tremendously ambitious in its own right. No other world in video games comes close to this in size or scope, and there is sharp intelligence behind its sense of humour and gift for mayhem...It is one of the very best video games ever made.
  22. Apr 16, 2015
    100
    It’s been a long time coming, but Grand Theft Auto V’s PC debut is a triumph...The Rockstar Editor is endlessly entertaining. The online heists are, with friends, some of the most fun you can have in a multiplayer game. The single-player story is an exhilarating series of increasingly absurd missions. And it all takes place in one of the richest, densest, most atmospheric game worlds ever built.
  23. Apr 16, 2015
    100
    GTA 5 PC is the best version of Rockstar North's game by a huge margin. Period.
  24. Apr 15, 2015
    100
    This is the definitive version, replacing the PS4 equivalent, and it goes some way to expunging the memory of the rather botched launch of PC GTA4. Not all the way...
  25. Apr 15, 2015
    100
    The most beautiful and richest edition of this phenomenal game, with a wonderful Los Santos and excellent optimization.
  26. Apr 15, 2015
    100
    GTA V represents videogames at their finest. Tense and dramatic when it wants to be, joyful and surprising when the player wants it. Rockstar has managed to harmonize the different trends in the saga, managing to create an unforgettable experience that will be enjoyed for a long time to come. This new version comes with some interesting additions: FPS mode, better graphics, 60 FPS, 2 new radios and the Rockstar Editor.
  27. 100
    Grand Theft Auto V finally hits PC after over a year of waiting. While the wait was hard it was completely worth it given the final product on display. Improved graphics are just the beginning as the game becomes an entirely new experience on PC.
  28. Apr 14, 2015
    100
    If GTA V on PC is a bit late, it can easily be forgiven. Because the content is already awesome and it's technically stunning. It feels like a new Los Santos. There is no open world game that can match that. And the Rockstar Editor offers such an easy access and so many possibilities in terms of clips/movies creation that we can only be sure that the pleasure will last for a long, long time.
  29. Apr 24, 2015
    98
    GTA V PC is the ultimate version of one of the greatest games in history and the best open-world game that you will play until the advent of GTA VI or RDR 2.
  30. Apr 16, 2015
    98
    To define GTA V PC as a simple 'porting' is simply wrong: minor technical issues aside (on their way to being fixed), this is the final celebration of a magnificent free-roaming game - perhaps the best ever made. Insanely fluid and beautiful to play.
  31. Apr 21, 2015
    97
    This is as good as GTA V can get. The new graphical possibilities only enhance its greatness and the possibility of a modding and machinima community lays the foundation to a promising future for the game.
  32. Apr 21, 2015
    97
    The driving portion of the game is not as sharp or nuanced as the latest Need for Speed from Criterion. The gunfighting isn’t as crisp or thrilling as nearly any FPS you’d care to mention. There are games that are better at recreating the mechanics of pulling off heists. Yet somehow Rockstar has taken all of these ingots of lead and spun them into gaming gold.
  33. Apr 24, 2015
    96
    This is the best version available of one of the greatest games in History. GTA V for PC is almost perfect, if your PC is powerful enough to run the game in 4K resolution, at 60 FPS.
  34. Apr 15, 2015
    96
    GTA V is one of the best PC versions we've seen in a long while. The new features might not be enough to replay the game, but if you haven't played it yet, you'll find this to be a great game that's better than ever.
  35. Jun 8, 2015
    95
    We could not expect a better PC port PC for Grand Theft Auto V. Rockstar North, offers right from day one a huge game in optimized, widely scalable, and high impact graphics and the video editor, although not so easy to use, is an enjoyable addition.
  36. Apr 27, 2015
    95
    GTA V on the PC is graphically beautiful and runs like half-melted butter.
  37. Apr 24, 2015
    95
    If you’re over 18, and you’re not sensitive to what I’ve mentioned before, I can’t recommend this game enough. It’s an amazing look at how far ahead of the game Rockstar are with their open-world titles, and their living, breathing environments.
  38. Apr 21, 2015
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V on the PC takes an already amazing game and makes it better. Every aspect just seems sharper and better than previous releases. This is how all ports should be handled.
  39. Apr 20, 2015
    95
    We have been kept waiting for very long, but GTA 5 for PC really is the best version of the game. It offers the same ingenious story of three characters, plus the online mode with Heists, more music and a very good optimisation. Definitely worth the wait.
  40. Apr 20, 2015
    95
    Though it should've come out ages ago, and PC gamers have every right to feel like they were put on the backburner, Rockstar North has tried to make sure that Grand Theft Auto V for PC is the ultimate version. If you ask me overall, they've succeeded.
  41. Apr 17, 2015
    95
    One and a half years after its initial release for last-gen consoles, you’ve probably heard it before: GTA 5 is one of the best games currently out there. So go ahead and buy it already. Rockstar even did a mighty fine job with the PC port.
  42. Apr 17, 2015
    95
    The PC Verizon of GTA V is almost perfect. The superb base version is well known and loved, but the optimization, controls and new options knock it out of the park. Of course there were some issues with the game after the launch - so many delays should have eliminated these kinds of setbacks and for that the final grade goes down a bit. But when you finally get to play GTA V on your PC you'll be amazed.
  43. Apr 16, 2015
    95
    Rockstar told us the PC-version would be the ultimate version and they were right. GTA 5 on PC looks incredible and it works almost perfectly. Sadly you might still encounter some bugs and glitches in GTA Online that you already saw on the consoles.
  44. GTA V is finally here, on the PC platform. We have been waiting for a long, long time (1 year, 6 months, 28 days). But the game looks smooth with 60fps and variable resolution settings (4K!). It’s time to re-explore San Andreas with old friends.
  45. Apr 15, 2015
    95
    GTA V for PC is undoubtedly an essential videogame, including better graphics and every update this far.
  46. Apr 28, 2015
    92
    The PC version may not have any new content, but it hits the platform in an extremely polished way. It won't change your mind about the game if you've already played it on another platform, but it certainly cements itself as a fantastic version of an entertaining game.
  47. Apr 21, 2015
    92
    GTA V and the wealth of assets it claims have, quite literally, never been better.
  48. Apr 20, 2015
    92
    A sandbox of extraordinary scope created with a masterful attention to detail. A patchy campaign doesn't spoil this wonderful, evocative city.
  49. Apr 17, 2015
    92
    The definitive version of GTA 5 is the PC version. It doesn't just look great, it plays great with the mouse and keyboard.
  50. Apr 30, 2015
    91
    No doubt, future updates and optimizations will be patched in, but for what we've got right out of the gate, there's a lot going on for the PC crowd this time around.
  51. PC PowerPlay
    May 30, 2015
    90
    Packed with a wide range of gameplay, some great features, and - amazingly - works the first time. Great stuff from Rockstar. [June 2015, p.53]
  52. 90
    It is sharp, witty, intelligent, and just the right shade of nasty -, and is a true inspiration for future open-world action adventure games.
  53. Apr 24, 2015
    90
    Fantastic visuals and enhanced AI behaviour makes the virtual world of San Andreas come to life, and the Rockstar Editor is a powerful tool for machinima creators. It really is the definitive version of a modern classic.
  54. Apr 22, 2015
    90
    Grand Theft Auto V is at home on PC, with Rockstar pouring an incredible amount of effort and work into their long overdue PC port. There is simply no better way to experience the branching story in Los Santos - setting a new benchmark on what we can expect from the highest tier of visual fidelity in gaming.
  55. Apr 17, 2015
    90
    Visually this is the definitive edition of the gangster drama we all came to love (or hate) with all its gorgeousness as well as its little flaws. And with the editor as well as the director mode creative players get all the tools they need.
  56. Apr 15, 2015
    86
    In short, GTA V is still a great game, that hasn’t changed, but the PC version doesn’t add a lot and introduces plenty of new problems that you have to contend with. If you are graphics-obsessed or are a fan of machinima, then pick it up. Otherwise, the last-gen versions will do you fine.
  57. May 1, 2015
    70
    If GTAV was more fully devoted to being either a comedy or a drama, its narrative may have been more successful. As it is, the most fun to be had in the game comes almost entirely from the moments when the player breaks away from the mission structure and enjoys the world without worrying about the context of its plot.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5328 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Apr 14, 2015
    10
    What can I say? The game was definitely worth the wait. In terms of performance the game looks absolutely incredible at max settings and fiveWhat can I say? The game was definitely worth the wait. In terms of performance the game looks absolutely incredible at max settings and five hours in I have yet to experience any kind of glitches or crashes.

    This is a refreshing PC release in that there are no major glaring issues right out of the gate at launch. Rockstsar definitely took the extra time to polish this game nicely as it has completely blown me away.

    Finally a pre-order I didn;t regret.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2015
    10
    Ignore all the idiots marking the game a 0 just because they had to download a patch. It looks fantastic and runs flawlessly. BrilliantlyIgnore all the idiots marking the game a 0 just because they had to download a patch. It looks fantastic and runs flawlessly. Brilliantly optimised for PC, unlike GTA IV. An absolute triumph, and one of the best games ever released on PC. Well done Rockstar on getting it right this time. Full Review »
  3. Apr 15, 2015
    10
    I was not going to write a review but after seeing so many people rating this game with a zero only for not being able to download the patchI was not going to write a review but after seeing so many people rating this game with a zero only for not being able to download the patch on day one, which is by the way a reasonable issue that any game can have, I decided I would write one.

    First of all I would like to say that I managed to download the patch before the servers supposedly went down. When I got in the game it was a bit laggy at the beginning but that is because my PC is not amogst the strongest machines out there by far. The game has very in depth graphical settings so after tweaking some, it felt incredibly smooth. What surprised me was the fact that the game seems to be running smoother with vsync on which is not the case with most of the other games but then again it might be only me and my PC.

    The controls might feel a little bit wonky. Especially having the special abilities set to caps lock might get very annoying. So I would recommend looking in the key bindings and playing with the for a little bit till you find something that works for you. Or you can play with a gamepad.

    GTA V is a very well made port. Which is a nice change after GTA IV. The optimization is great. And although it still has some elements from the console version that might not feel too great, the gameplay is amazing. I would maybe make some small improvements the driving model. What I also like about the game is that they brought back some stuff that was lacking in GTA IV like car customization. That was one of the best things to do in San Andreas and I was really sad when I found out it was not going to be in GTA IV. They also made some really big improvements to the multiplayer which is a blast with friends. One more thing I would like to point out is the first person mode which completely changes the way the game is played and it feels a lot more immersive.

    I haven't gotten far enough in the story to be able to fully review it but so far it is pretty intriguing.

    With all that said if you are wondering whether or not to buy this game I would recommend that you do. without any doubts. It is well worth the money.
    Full Review »