Grand Theft Auto V Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos: a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and fading celebrities, once the envy of the Western world, now struggling to stay alive in a time of economic uncertainty and cheap reality TV. Amidst the turmoil, three very unique criminals plot their ownLos Santos: a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and fading celebrities, once the envy of the Western world, now struggling to stay alive in a time of economic uncertainty and cheap reality TV. Amidst the turmoil, three very unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a street hustler looking for tangible opportunities and serious money; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is less rosy than he figured it would be; and Trevor, a violent dude driven by the opportunity for a cheap high and his next big score. With options at a premium, the crew risks it all in a myriad of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Grand Theft Auto V - PS3 to PS4 Comparison Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Apr 20, 2015
    100
    After the long wait, PC-gamers get what they have been hoping for. We cannot deny it; the PC is the best way to experience GTA V. Rockstar optimised the game perfectly, and we are happy to start our third and forth play-throughs.
  2. Apr 24, 2015
    100
    Sure, the Rockstar Social Club is an annoying hoop to jump through, and hardware fragmentation poses problems for some. But for those with the hardware to run it, GTA V serves as a testament to the PC platform's superiority, and a reminder that good things come to those that wait.
  3. Jul 2, 2015
    100
    If you hadn’t had a chance to play it yet at all though, and your computer can handle it, the PC version does definitely feel like the definitive version.
  4. Apr 24, 2015
    98
    GTA V PC is the ultimate version of one of the greatest games in history and the best open-world game that you will play until the advent of GTA VI or RDR 2.
  5. Apr 27, 2015
    95
    GTA V on the PC is graphically beautiful and runs like half-melted butter.
  6. Apr 16, 2015
    95
    Rockstar told us the PC-version would be the ultimate version and they were right. GTA 5 on PC looks incredible and it works almost perfectly. Sadly you might still encounter some bugs and glitches in GTA Online that you already saw on the consoles.
  7. May 1, 2015
    70
    If GTAV was more fully devoted to being either a comedy or a drama, its narrative may have been more successful. As it is, the most fun to be had in the game comes almost entirely from the moments when the player breaks away from the mission structure and enjoys the world without worrying about the context of its plot.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 7, 2020
    10
    One of the best games of all times, great open world with much possibilities, 3 protagonists with their own personality, great sideOne of the best games of all times, great open world with much possibilities, 3 protagonists with their own personality, great side characters. Essential game to play. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2015
    10
    gta 5 is a greatest game in gta history. i hope gta 6 will be better like make niko bellic protagonist, make all the city from past games ingta 5 is a greatest game in gta history. i hope gta 6 will be better like make niko bellic protagonist, make all the city from past games in the game like vice city, San Andreas (Las Venturas, San Fierro, Los Santos) and Liberty City, each city police will act different like Los Santos PD in gta 5 will be more much more aggressive and in gta 4 transitioning the non-lethal one star to the extremely aggressive six stars. Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2015
    10
    What can I say? The game was definitely worth the wait. In terms of performance the game looks absolutely incredible at max settings and fiveWhat can I say? The game was definitely worth the wait. In terms of performance the game looks absolutely incredible at max settings and five hours in I have yet to experience any kind of glitches or crashes.

    This is a refreshing PC release in that there are no major glaring issues right out of the gate at launch. Rockstsar definitely took the extra time to polish this game nicely as it has completely blown me away.

    Finally a pre-order I didn;t regret.
    Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2022
    8
    I only played the campaign (no multiplayer) and like all GTA games, it was enjoyable.
  5. Jan 6, 2020
    7
    Сюжетка слабая, игра живёт только благодаря онлайну. Да и онлайн в последнее время слабеет из-за сломанной экономики. Но всё же эта игра можетСюжетка слабая, игра живёт только благодаря онлайну. Да и онлайн в последнее время слабеет из-за сломанной экономики. Но всё же эта игра может затянуть и в ней можно оторваться, поэтому я её люблю. Expand
  6. May 3, 2015
    2
    While it's still a good game (why it's not a flat zero) the sole reason I bought a second copy of the game on PC will now likely get youWhile it's still a good game (why it's not a flat zero) the sole reason I bought a second copy of the game on PC will now likely get you banned from the game. Single player modding. The moment Rockstar says they've fixed their system and single player mods are good to go without risk of bans (even if they still wont officially support them) and it turns out to be true I will happily re-rate the game much higher (8-9), that's how important modding is to me.

    It doesn't seem to matter if you're playing single player or actually cheating online, many people are reporting bans for such simple things as entirely cosmetic mods. They seem to be using GTA:Online as an excuse to block all modding. It's really pathetic though that such a giant in the industry can't seem to limit their anti-cheating measures to only focus online when much smaller companies do it regularly.

    This game has such massive potential for great user generated content but here we sit with it being crushed in favor of a notably lackluster online experience and Shark Cards (microtransactions for GTA:O in-game cash). Due to the number of people that bought the game it's modding community could even outshine Skyrim's once tools are created/released. They don't have to support single player modding, but the least they could do would be to not actively try to stop it. We all agree that online cheaters need to be dealt with, but they really need to leave single player to the players.

    ---------------------

    The gun play is good, though the sounds are a tad stale sounding. Aiming is simple and fast, first person aiming is almost like a big name FPS. There are many guns to choose from and unlike GTA IV you can carry every last one all at once.

    Driving feels nice and smooth. Weaving through traffic in your awesome sports car is fantastic. Speeds seem to be limited unfortunately so your in-game version of the Bugatti Veyron wont even break 200. Though that may be due to the fact that many PCs won't be able to render the world fast enough to keep up with the fastest cars at their real world counterpart's top speeds. First person driving is great but definitely needs seat adjustment options.

    The AI can be incredibly dimwitted sometimes. I've had AI refuse to engage something trying to kill them, AI drivers consistently trying to drive into me as I go down the road, run into the open and get slaughtered when there is plenty of available cover, all sorts of things. Friendly AIs seem to have an aversion to shooting more than 2-3 shots in as many seconds when in vehicles, especially when they're on a turret gun.

    The AI can have it's smart moments too. Hostile AIs seem to be smarter than friendly AIs. They'll suppress you, they'll use cover often, and they'll try to flank you when they can. They will also open up on you any time they can shoot.

    Locking missiles are worthless against AI but nearly impossible to avoid for players. I've shot every last locking missile in my inventory at a slowly circling AI prop plane, I've shot numerous missiles at helicopters ad ground vehicles from aircraft. They almost always miss unless I get lucky. I've been shot at while in a far superior aircraft (a fighter jet) with guided missiles countless times by AIs as well as being shot at by players with locking missile launchers. They are relentless and EXTREMELY hard to dodge, this is coming from a guy who plays flight sims all the time. Where missiles fired at AI (even with full lock) seem to stop tracking when they get close enough to an AI missiles fired at you turn better, seem to be faster, and never give up trying to hit you. This is just flat unacceptable as far as I'm concerned. Missiles need to be uniform against all targets AI or Player.

    The story is the same one you've probably played already on 360/PS3. Retired bank robber, crazy meth dealer, and laid back gangbanger team up for epic heisting action in strangereal LA. It's a fun story but desperately needed more actual heists and content. I feel like it suffered due to an obvious shift of focus to GTA:O. There is also plenty of content locked in GTA:O that needs to be added to the story mode including clothes, vehicles, and all sorts of other goodies. The latest content releases all seem to have favored GTA:O completely excluding single player as well. If Rockstar would patch all that content into single player as well it would be amazing. Another unfortunate thing is your GTA:O character who is in fact stored locally on your computer cannot be used as a heist crew member even though GTA:O now has it's own heists, you character interacts with many of the main characters including directly working for Trevor and Lester in "jobs", and takes place before the main story.

    GTA:O is a lackluster disappointment to me. Boring grindfest or you're getting attacked by 9 year olds screaming obscenities on their mic or text chat. Jobs are fun but repetitive. No passive lobbies either. Everything is super expensive in stores.
    Expand
  7. May 21, 2020
    0
    Due to free distribution of game i have about half time failed connection. Also into the game came more much "garbage people" (moders).

See all 1278 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best Video Games of the Decade (2010-19)

    Best Video Games of the Decade (2010-19) Image
    Published: December 6, 2019
    What were the best games of the 2010s? Find out as we rank the decade's highest-scoring releases and compile of best-of-the-decade top 10 lists from a variety of video game publications.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2015

    The Best Videogames of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2015.
  3. The 20 Best PC Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring computer games released in 2015.