User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2824 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Now, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. The game's a open-world; you could go out and massacre everybody, destroy gangs, steal cars, and call in the FBI and the army and fight till the death. One of the new features is building investments, which is also a great feature that teaches you to stopNow, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. The game's a open-world; you could go out and massacre everybody, destroy gangs, steal cars, and call in the FBI and the army and fight till the death. One of the new features is building investments, which is also a great feature that teaches you to stop wasting money on chicks and to get your head into the game. Great graphics for 2003 as well as the game engine. The story's a meh but who the **** cares; it's GTA. A 10 out of 10!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first I thought the game was going to be hopelessly stupid, but there is honestly a lot of hilarious and thoughtful satire/comedy in the game that proved my initial assumptions dead wrong. Vice City had some features that were highly lacking in other GTAsThis is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first I thought the game was going to be hopelessly stupid, but there is honestly a lot of hilarious and thoughtful satire/comedy in the game that proved my initial assumptions dead wrong. Vice City had some features that were highly lacking in other GTAs to come, like the ability to buy businesses and strip-clubs, and other types of properties such as garages for stolen vehicles, among other things. The game's story and characters weren't especially memorable, and definitely weren't as good as what you'll find in newer GTAs, but they were definitely acceptable quality.

    A more relevant attraction to Vice City, for me though, was the terrific variety of radio stations in the game, and the hilarious nature of the game's social commentary. Rockstar did a terrific job of making the game entertaining to both thoughtful individuals, as well as people who just want some short-term fun going nuts and blowing things up, and the diversity and size of the audience they have attracted to the Grand Theft Auto series is a testament to that fact.

    I highly recommend this game! Granted, the graphics are dated, but if you can look past the graphical flaws, you'll find a gem here. If you can't look past the graphics, give some of the newer GTA games a try. They're all wonderfully enjoyable.
    Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This is what we called ,,evergreen" in gaming. It's definition of pure, clear, maximum satisfying video game art. Can't wait for the ,,Vice City Rage" - fantastic mode, coming soon!
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    This is well worth playing from start to finish. Even after you finish the story, just messing around performing impossible jumps or running from the cops and national guard is worth the price of admission. Shooting backwards with the tank while moving forward for some extra nitro: priceless.
  5. Nov 23, 2018
    10
    Да это чувство черт возьми. Ты заходишь и все чувствуешь нутром, каждую крупинку этого шедевра. Начинаются вступительные титры и ты чувствуешь, хотя их чаще пропускали. Появляется логотип наших любимых и всем известных Rockstar Games, мастеров своего дела. И вот ты уже в главном меню, выбираешь новую игру и начинается загрузка... Это загрузка оставила такой след в сердцах почитателей, яДа это чувство черт возьми. Ты заходишь и все чувствуешь нутром, каждую крупинку этого шедевра. Начинаются вступительные титры и ты чувствуешь, хотя их чаще пропускали. Появляется логотип наших любимых и всем известных Rockstar Games, мастеров своего дела. И вот ты уже в главном меню, выбираешь новую игру и начинается загрузка... Это загрузка оставила такой след в сердцах почитателей, я хочу заострить внимания именно на почитателях Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, а ни вообще Grand Theft Auto. Ведь эти люди и теперь могут зайти в этот шедевр и пройти его от начала и до конца. После чего в конце всплакнуть и сказать, что: «Я видел нечто прекрасное, то что западает в душу на долго и уже никогда от туда не выйдет». Я из таких ребят и по-настоящему горжусь этим. Не в плане хвастовство и олдскульщины, а в плане почитания и уважения к хорошей игре. Ведь ее действительно можно любить искренне, и без капли сомнения.

    Понятно что люди, которые играли в нее еще в те времена, приходили в восторг ещё больше. Для них это было неким совершенством, которое не хочется покидать. Когда ты заходишь сейчас, может иногда ты можешь подумать о плохой графике и о чем не будь ещё старом. Но как только начинаешь играть, тебя в сразу с ног сбивает запах атмосферы и ностальгии. Эти чувства абсолютно неподкупны. Я ни в какой игре не испытываю такой ностальгии, как в Grand Theft Auto: Vice City. Rockstar покорили мое сердце тогда, и продолжают покорять сейчас, спустя столько лет. Объективному и строгому геймеру трудно что-то подсунуть, хоть тогда на этот счет вообще не задумывались. Поэтому нюх на хорошую игру сработал в то время как надо, но самое интересное, что и продолжает срабатывать.

    Майами 80-х просто шикарное время для преступной истории. Это неотъемлемая часть той эпохи, которая показала себя не с лучшей стороны, со стороны наркотиков. Кокаин был везде, а там где его не было он тут же появлялся. И кто смотрел фильм "Лицо со шрамом", знает что в игре было не только много отсылок. По сути весь путь главного героя, был построен на пути главного героя фильма. Я ни в коем случаи не хочу сказать, что это какой-то там плагиат. Это вдохновение разработчик, их узренние прекрасного и сотворение идеального. Они воспользовались лучшим, чтобы сделать еще лучше. Когда ты играешь и замечаешь эти намеки, ты неимоверно радуешься. Мысли не приходят, чтобы выдвигать какие-то обвинения. Это замечательно проделанная работа, которая ни осталось не замеченная, истинными и преданными фанатами. Да, в этом плане фанаты шарят чуть больше. Но ведь есть люди, которые посмотрели фильм после прохождения, и они тоже осознали и узрели прекрасное, по сути в двойне.
    Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    The controls can be very confused at times, the graphics dont look as vibrant and colorful as the PS2 version and there are a lot more bugs and graphical errors I have spotted. Apart from that, not much else to say other than it is still as fun as the console version and if you are a PC gamer looking for a good sandbox game, this is the one to buy.
  7. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    Wonderful free-roam action-game made by Rockstar. The game is set in the 80's and brings the neon and colorful suits with it.

    The story is well written and as all Rockstar(and GTA-games) the game makes fun of itself and is very entertaining. There's enough side missions and activities to have you occupied for a long time.
    Buy it, you won't regret it!
  8. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Another gaming classic from Rockstar. Nothing particularly revolutionary, but in every respect it is fun and engaging. It's better than GTA 3 in every way, and a really special experince. There are numerous Scarface references and easter eggs- from the opening credits to the characters, some buildings and the story. The city is very good, and this game introduces assets- so you can buyAnother gaming classic from Rockstar. Nothing particularly revolutionary, but in every respect it is fun and engaging. It's better than GTA 3 in every way, and a really special experince. There are numerous Scarface references and easter eggs- from the opening credits to the characters, some buildings and the story. The city is very good, and this game introduces assets- so you can buy businesses. Rampages and getting a high wanted level are the most satisfying here. The weapons are also brutal. Overall, the missions are good quality and they've got a real sense of character and humour. The soundtrack of Vice City- including the chat show VCPR- are the best in all of GTA. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Gta vice city is the 2003 sequel to GTA 3, and in many ways a far superior game than the latter. While not a perfect game, it has a certain charm and is definitely one of the best games of the series.

    Presentation - 8 Unlike GTA 3, vice city’s graphics have aged very well, and still look very appealing to the modern eye, although the character models and animations, continue to be very
    Gta vice city is the 2003 sequel to GTA 3, and in many ways a far superior game than the latter. While not a perfect game, it has a certain charm and is definitely one of the best games of the series.

    Presentation - 8
    Unlike GTA 3, vice city’s graphics have aged very well, and still look very appealing to the modern eye, although the character models and animations, continue to be very blocky, and generally not on par with the rest of the game.

    Sound - 10
    On the sound department, there are also a lot of improvements from GTA 3’s somewhat inconsistent sound quality. The sound effects and voice-overs are very high qualities, and the voice acting in particular is excellent, thanks, in most part, to the excellent contributions of Hollywood stars like Tom Sizemore, Dennis Hopper, William Fichtner, Burt Reynolds, and my favorite off them all, Ray Liotta :-D.
    The soundtrack is also composed of an excellent compilation of 80’s license tracks that work really well with the game’s mood.

    Gameplay – 8
    The gameplay is similar to every other GTA game. You start as a small criminal grunt “dumped” in a corrupt city and your goal is whatever you want it to be. If you like to explore, “grab” a car, motorcycle, boat, plane, helicopter or tank and go nuts, or instead do some story missions, or blow everything up real good, the decision is yours. There is not much innovation from the previous installments, except from a few things here and there, for example you can drive more vehicles this time around but, beside the cars and the motorcycles, everything else handles a bit awkward, especially the planes and helicopter, which sometimes adds a bit of unnecessary frustration to certain missions. The other main innovation is the ability to buy businesses to earn more money, but unfortunately that is tied to the main story, so you have to do the campaign to unlock that.
    The controls are “functional” with mouse and keyboard, but sometimes the mouse stop’s responding after reloads.
    The game can also be quite frustrating from time to time, mostly because of the controls than anything else and the A.I. can be summarize in two words: Brain dead.
    However, GTA Vice City is still a very enjoyable experience, nonetheless.

    Story - 7
    The story is your typical GTA affair. You are Tommy Versatti, an ex convict and mafia “capo” that is sent to oversee a drug deal that ends up badly. Your mission is to find the ones responsibly, kill them and retrieve the stolen money (off course it becomes more complicated later on)
    In resume, not the most creative story I’ve seen but nonetheless surprisingly well written, and in my opinion, one of the best stories in the GTA franchise.

    Conclusion: If you liked GTA 4 and 5, and have the “cojones” for it, GTA Vice city is definitely worth a try.
    Expand
  10. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    A really great game... Nice graphics great gameplay bigger Miami-based city ,an Miami Vice/Scarface based story and an amazing soundtrack...
    It's really one of the contemporary classics which is worth playing it
  11. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite GTA game. The feel of the game and the great music/soundtrack makes for a great experience. The soundtrack in this game is great, and one of the best I've seen (or heard) in a game. However, the pc controls do take a little bit of time to get used to, but the PC port is infinitely better due to the ability to easily mod the game by creating your own character skins.
  12. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    As a "Rockstar Fanboy" who has inhaled every GTA title since my first Multiplayer experience in 1998 i have to say that no GTA title has never gripped me like Vice City. The whole setting, including environment, music, story and (for this time) awesome graphics made a really "complete" game.
    Since then, IMAO Rockstar tries to recreate this feeling for their players but, i regret to say
    As a "Rockstar Fanboy" who has inhaled every GTA title since my first Multiplayer experience in 1998 i have to say that no GTA title has never gripped me like Vice City. The whole setting, including environment, music, story and (for this time) awesome graphics made a really "complete" game.
    Since then, IMAO Rockstar tries to recreate this feeling for their players but, i regret to say that , never got this Miami Vice / Scarface feeling again.
    Expand
  13. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the greatest games of all time in the grand scope of things. Ive been playing games for a long time and I cant remember another game other than San Andreas that blew my mind the way Vice City did. I even remember the whole soundtrack and 10 years later, every time I hear Broken Wings, I Ran, I just Died In Your Arms Tonight, Waiting for a Girl like You, Dance Hall Days,Easily one of the greatest games of all time in the grand scope of things. Ive been playing games for a long time and I cant remember another game other than San Andreas that blew my mind the way Vice City did. I even remember the whole soundtrack and 10 years later, every time I hear Broken Wings, I Ran, I just Died In Your Arms Tonight, Waiting for a Girl like You, Dance Hall Days, Africa, or Owner of a Lonely Heart, I immediately get a craving to play Vice City. VC, along with San Andreas are the only reasons there is still a PS2 hooked up to my TV. Expand
  14. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    I played every GTA to this day, with the exception of Chinatown Wars and GTA 2. And this is still my favorite. But why? I don't even know what makes it so great. The new vehicles, like the helicopters? The amazing soundtrack? The jaw dropping graphics (for 2003, of course)? The whole 80's atmosphere? The city itself? The remarkable characters, references and the actors? The controls.I played every GTA to this day, with the exception of Chinatown Wars and GTA 2. And this is still my favorite. But why? I don't even know what makes it so great. The new vehicles, like the helicopters? The amazing soundtrack? The jaw dropping graphics (for 2003, of course)? The whole 80's atmosphere? The city itself? The remarkable characters, references and the actors? The controls. otherwise, do not have the best response, and the driving is not that great, but I love it anyway. Expand
  15. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    On the Personal Computer Platform, GTA Vice city is one of the most graphically advanced titles of its era, considering it came out in 2003, its graphics are stunning visually and ascetically. Its story line is interesting and always seems to keep you entertained and immersed in action, as the Grand Theft Auto series is renowned for, the Miami feel to the game, in where it is situated,On the Personal Computer Platform, GTA Vice city is one of the most graphically advanced titles of its era, considering it came out in 2003, its graphics are stunning visually and ascetically. Its story line is interesting and always seems to keep you entertained and immersed in action, as the Grand Theft Auto series is renowned for, the Miami feel to the game, in where it is situated, gives it that beech going immersed experience. This game personnaly is a great title and i would reccomend to anyone wanting another take on the Grand Theft Auto series. Expand
  16. Oct 28, 2017
    9
    I played Vice City for the first time when I was 7 years old on my older brother's PS2. All I did was drive around and shoot at people with no real objective. I would watch my brother play through the story even though I didn't really understand any of it. I remember playing a small bit of it again when I was a bit older and I got into it and decided to buy it on steam. Boy am I glad II played Vice City for the first time when I was 7 years old on my older brother's PS2. All I did was drive around and shoot at people with no real objective. I would watch my brother play through the story even though I didn't really understand any of it. I remember playing a small bit of it again when I was a bit older and I got into it and decided to buy it on steam. Boy am I glad I did.

    The Story
    We got a dude named Tommy Vercetti who moves to Liberty City after his Mafia boss buttboy, Sonny tells him too. A coke deal goes bust. His boss calls, and Tommy don't got the money, Sonny. So Tommy works for a lot of dudes and turns into scarface in 2 weeks.
    The Story is really good. A really big improvment from GTA 3's barebones story. This time, the main character actually talks. Tommy has some character too him, and he might not be mighty complex, he's atleast interesting.

    The Gameplay
    Although the gameplay doesn't have a huge improvment from GTA 3, it feels a lot more polished. One of my major critisims of GTA 3 was it's insane difficulty towards the end. Vice City does have a few frustating missions, but still feels easier to play and complete than GTA 3. The shooting was made easier and the driving was made smoother.

    Graphics and Cinematics
    The graphics are still 2002 PS2 graphics and aren't that impressive by today's standards, but the atmosphere of bright neon pink and yellow, makes the game a nice sight. Cinematics are actually intreging and interesting this time around and don't feel like a necessity to understand what's going on. The dialouge between the characters is very well written, which makes a lot of cutscenes memorable.

    Soundtrack
    Of course a game set in the 80's is gonna have a lot of 80's music! The soundtrack in this game is the best in the series. Even if you think you don't like 80's rock, give the stations a listen, most will still jam.

    Final Verdict
    I really like this game. I didn't feel like I was trudging through it like I was with GTA 3. I got all of the hidden packages, and I got to about 80-90% completion before deciding to play San Andreas next. This game was a blast from beggining to end! I strongly suggest that anyone that hasn't tried this game out, to do so.

    8.5/10
    Expand
  17. Mar 19, 2017
    9
    It has been 14 years and still playing this game in 2017. And always feel like being in a cult movie.
    There pleny of line which I cannot forget.

    Rico: Hey. I'm Rico. You the man with the big cojones?
    Tommy Vercetti: Tommy Vercetti. Let's go...
    Rico: Ok man, treat her like a woman.

    And, thank you very much for helicopter mission (Demolition Man)
  18. Jun 19, 2017
    10
    GTA: Vice City is set in the mid 80s in a city based off of Miami - Vice City, you take control of a man who just got out of prison named Tommy Vercetti. No bad thing to say about this masterpiece - amazing soundtrack,gameplay,story. Everything that has to be done to make a great 3rd person was made in VC,
  19. Michael
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best games on ps2 it is hard has good graphics and is fun even if u clock it.
  20. HussainJ.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    It is super and a classic game i just love the game.
  21. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    This basically takes Grand Theft Auto III adds some new features such as entering more buildings, buying property, and more weapons; tosses it into Florida in the 80's; and lets you take over...literally. The atmosphere is amazing and the story is great too. Definitely would recommend it.
  22. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game brings back memories - it is essentially the enhanced port of GTA III into the modern era, paving way for the highly acclaimed GTA IV. Must play for any GTA fan with tons of fun.
  23. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This Is the best Game of last years , Mod Vice City : Multiplayer is very good mod for GTA ahh hot 80's years , beatiful girls and sun and Radio Station , This game was not boring for ever !: ) sorry for my ENG
  24. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    Everything is amazing about this game. Its story, its characters, the script and last but not least, the soundtrack. It really takes you back to the 80 s.
  25. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto Vice City is a really good game. It has a beautiful written story, their missions are so funny, the game takes you to 80s in a engaging way, it is not an overstatement give a score of 10.
  26. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    This game is a wonderful play on 1980s Miami. Grand Theft Auto: Vice City contains an overwhelming amount of content, especially considering the fact it was developed in 2003. Although the world is a bit small in regards to Grand Theft Auto IV and Skyrim, for it's time, this game does an excellent job filling the area with lots of content. Almost every spot in the game has some tie inThis game is a wonderful play on 1980s Miami. Grand Theft Auto: Vice City contains an overwhelming amount of content, especially considering the fact it was developed in 2003. Although the world is a bit small in regards to Grand Theft Auto IV and Skyrim, for it's time, this game does an excellent job filling the area with lots of content. Almost every spot in the game has some tie in with a quest. There is no empty space. In Oblivion you could ride your horse around for 10 minutes and find almost nothing to do. In Vice City, Everywhere you drive there's something to do. This brings me to my next point; driving. Often times, I found myself aimlessly driving around just for the fun of it, sometimes doing various vehicle submissions (like the Taxi, Vigilante, and Ambulance missions). The stunts in the game are a bit lacking, as it's often difficult to find a proper set up for a super awesome stunt you want to pull off (no flips on a motorcycle). 10 years after Grand Theft Auto: Vice City hit store shelves it's still a hugely successful game and easily regarded as one of the best open world, action shooters of all time. Expand
  27. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Beautiful game, best GTA ever made, the climate is amazing, 80' style buildings, clothes, cars. Sunset, long beach, lazurite water, palms, red cabriolet, and girls in a bikini; and obviously the most important thing: Music
  28. May 10, 2021
    10
    One of my 3 childhood games that I will never stop enjoying
    Best soundtrack, atmosphere, story, map...
    It was all put together so well its just perfect !
    Hope to see VC return in GTA6, fingers crossed
  29. Feb 27, 2020
    10
    the greatest game of all time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  30. Dec 6, 2019
    9
    I often hear that "GTA SA" is better, but for me it is not.
    This atmosphere, which makes me nostalgic. So far, the best GTA.
  31. Feb 7, 2020
    10
    Ozamana göre en kaliteli oyun ama gelmiş geçmiş en iyi oyunlardan birisi .
  32. Feb 6, 2021
    9
    A classic. Still a great game after so many years from realease, the one you come back to all over again.
  33. Apr 28, 2021
    9
    GTA: Vice City is nothing short of a masterpiece from Rockstar Games. The cast, the theme, the play. GTA: Vice City tells a much tighter, more personal story than GTA3.
    You play as Tommy Vercetti , a gangster who's just finished a 15-year stint in prison. Once there Tommy teams up with a lawyer and they two begin plans for a big drug trade. Once the drugs and the money disappear, Tommy
    GTA: Vice City is nothing short of a masterpiece from Rockstar Games. The cast, the theme, the play. GTA: Vice City tells a much tighter, more personal story than GTA3.
    You play as Tommy Vercetti , a gangster who's just finished a 15-year stint in prison. Once there Tommy teams up with a lawyer and they two begin plans for a big drug trade. Once the drugs and the money disappear, Tommy finds himself fighting to discover who's cheated him while fending off the existing criminal elements of Vice City.
    The Vice City is set in a fictional take on Miami, Florida. The game's look, particularly the clothing and vehicles, reflect its 1980s setting. But it's the voice actors of the game who steal the show. In this game The player may run, jump, or drive vehicles to navigate the game's world. The player uses melee attacks, firearms and explosives to fight enemies.
    In the end, I can say Grand Theft Auto: Vice City provides just about everything you'd want in an outstanding game. It's bigger and better in almost every imaginable way. The game adds enough gameplay content to engage players. I've never gotten bored with GTA Vice City and I am sure it would be same form almost anyone
    Expand
  34. May 6, 2021
    10
    Best gta and best game i ever played i playing this game for8years I love it everyone need to play this game for minimum 1 time
  35. Jun 11, 2021
    10
    Söyleyebileceğim hiçbir şey yok. Yıl itibariyle efsaneye dönüşmüş bir oyun. Muhteşem.
  36. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    On the PC, this game is a highlight of the Grand Theft Auto series. GTA: San Andreas, the next game, was fun, but in the end the gangland battles game mechanic proved less entertaining for me than Vice City. GTA4 may have been great on the consoles, but on the PC it was badly implemented with terrible stuttering graphics (even on monster machines) and badly implemented controls. Bearing inOn the PC, this game is a highlight of the Grand Theft Auto series. GTA: San Andreas, the next game, was fun, but in the end the gangland battles game mechanic proved less entertaining for me than Vice City. GTA4 may have been great on the consoles, but on the PC it was badly implemented with terrible stuttering graphics (even on monster machines) and badly implemented controls. Bearing in mind that this game is now almost 10 years old, it still holds up well. The usual GTA humour is there, the city is large enough to keep you interested and allow you to explore, there's lots of missions and the vehicles are fun to drive if you have a joystick or gamepad. If you grew up in the '80s you'll appreciate lots of the 'in joke' references. Fair enough, the graphics are starting to show their age a little, but this does mean that it will run well on more modest machinery.

    Steam occasionally sell this game for £1.50 and if I didn't already own it I'd snap it up. At this price it's a complete bargain.
    Expand
  37. May 11, 2013
    9
    The game is perfect.Very good and long singleplayer,open world,missions,buildings for missions,and more.I think that the graphic should be a little better,but everything else is perfect
  38. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    I am very tied emotionally to the roots of 3D GTA, so is difficult for me to say which one is the best. GTA 3 was the very first. Vice City the most vibrant. And San Andreas the biggest and boldest.. And none of them goes below 9, because not only they gained one of the biggest armies of fans, but also punched the industry in the face and showed it where to go.
  39. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Easily the best GTA game. With it's awesome gameplay and a lot of interesting missions there is a place in your disk for this... The best thing in Vice City is the feeling. The awesome looking Miami feels so good to be in. You don't even want to leave your chair... Must play...
  40. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    One of my absolute favorite parts of GTA.
    I loved this game, it was fantastic. In addition, the soundtrack was perfect.
    Before GTA 5 came out, Vice City was my favorite part.

    Despite all this, I recommend everyone to play Vice City.
  41. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Graphics 7/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Controls 10/10
    Story 9/10
    Characters 10/10
    Level design 10/10
    Presentation 10/10
    User Interface 9/10
    Sounds 9/10
    Music 10/10
  42. Feb 27, 2016
    8
    PROS
    -intriguing story
    -Decent gameplay
    -Fast loading times

    CONS
    -Hard gameplay .
  43. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    This is, in my humble opinion, the best Grand Theft Auto game in the series as well as one of the greatest sandbox games ever made. It improved on its predecessor, GTA III, in almost every regard. Considering GTA III was ahead of its time, this is an impressive feat. The PC version is by far the best, as expected.
  44. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    What happens when you take a good game and make it godly? That would be the case of Vice City, the follow-up to GTA III. Rockstar took the game and remade it into nothing but awesomeness fixing all the issues the previous game had and even adding to it. All the problems I had personally with the previous game are long gone and the new additions that I never knew I wanted are incredible, soWhat happens when you take a good game and make it godly? That would be the case of Vice City, the follow-up to GTA III. Rockstar took the game and remade it into nothing but awesomeness fixing all the issues the previous game had and even adding to it. All the problems I had personally with the previous game are long gone and the new additions that I never knew I wanted are incredible, so let's talk about what Vice City has that GTA III doesn't and how Vice City just does everything better than it. The main character this time, Tommy Vercetti actually has a personality unlike the character from the previous game who always kept quiet and nodded his head whenever someone told him to do something, Tommy on the other hand is a really good character with a sense of humor who isn't afraid of anything and will always tend do the most insane **** you'll ever see. The missions this time around are a LOT more fun and aren't as frustrating as the missions in GTA III that would sometimes just make you tear your hair out. The missions are quite challenging sometimes but they are great and even if you fail, you'll always want to try again till you succeed because you'll always be waiting to see what else this game has up it's sleeve, and let me tell ya, this game is just full of surprises in it's excellent storyline. The guns this time are actually affective, you can actually aim with them and the crosshair won't lie to you like it did in the previous game, your shots with the guns in GTA III would fly all over the place and barely ever hit what you wanted it to, that's fixed in Vice City and it's really fun to use the guns, they are all great, the guns are a lot more varied now and there are also more melee weapons now, and they are gory fun! Like Katanas and chainsaws that just leave a disgusting mess full of blood and I love it. There are also a lot more vehicles in the game now, plus the addition of helicopters which are quite hard to control at first but you will get used to it and it can be a lot of fun to fly around. Another great thing about the game and it's storyline is that it's full of humor, the game has really great writing and excellent dialog, and it's actually funny whenever the writers made a joke, I laughed quite a lot myself, especially when I listened to the radio. Lazlow did a great job with the radio in this game, the commercials and stations are hilarious, they make a lot of pop culture references and they make it funny, I really enjoyed this game. I might even agree that this is the best game in the series, but there's San Andreas to compete with the game... Expand
  45. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    Yes, on foot controls suck, there are some difficult missions, but nothing that can't be done for the second or third attempt. Still, this is my favourite GTA game, the 80's presentation is fantastic. (The clothes, the music.) I can 't even mention another well made game, that is set in the 80's. Younger players would probably never appreciate another GTA set in the 80's so I'm pretty sureYes, on foot controls suck, there are some difficult missions, but nothing that can't be done for the second or third attempt. Still, this is my favourite GTA game, the 80's presentation is fantastic. (The clothes, the music.) I can 't even mention another well made game, that is set in the 80's. Younger players would probably never appreciate another GTA set in the 80's so I'm pretty sure we'll never return to Vice City again. Expand
  46. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    10/10, La historia de este juego es muy buena, al final de cada misión, no podes aguantar la intriga de saber que va a pasar después en la historia, uno de los pocos juego que se ambienta en los '80 que realmente te hace sentir en los '80, la música de la radio es perfecta, el voice acting, lo sonidos, el humor, todo es perfecto para mi en este juego.
  47. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Es un buen juego,las misiones,trama,historia,ETC son realmente buenos.buenas graficas,ETC aunque sus misiones no esten tan buenas,yo le dare un 9 porque fue mi juego favorito yo lo recomiendo para que lo juegen y disfruten,tanto como yo,espere que les guste,que los compren les gustara mucho como a mi me gusto PD:es uno de mis juegos favoritos y se merece una gran critica porque es un juegoEs un buen juego,las misiones,trama,historia,ETC son realmente buenos.buenas graficas,ETC aunque sus misiones no esten tan buenas,yo le dare un 9 porque fue mi juego favorito yo lo recomiendo para que lo juegen y disfruten,tanto como yo,espere que les guste,que los compren les gustara mucho como a mi me gusto PD:es uno de mis juegos favoritos y se merece una gran critica porque es un juego entretenido y divertido. Expand
  48. Mar 6, 2017
    9
    Çocukluğumda beni büyüleyen oyunu tekrar oynadım ve anladım ki bu oyun sadece bir çocuğu değil yüzlerce oyun oynamış ama artık zamanı kısıtlı olan bir yetişkini bile büyülüyor. GTA:Vice City asla unutulmayacak.
  49. Nov 27, 2015
    10
    Gta vice city, was one of the best rockstar games and back to the 80s games i've ever played. It is action-packed and it is filled with blood and is sexy at the same time but it is still a great game any in anyway. Rockstar minigame was amazing and I think a lot of people like in 2003 or 2004. If I were to say out of 10 I would say 10 because it was a great campaign game with a great campaign
  50. Nov 14, 2016
    10
    Klar, das erste Wort, das einem zu "Grand Theft Auto" einfällt, ist: Freiheit. Das weis ich, denn so steht es in den Geschichtsbüchern. Und, ja, "GTA 3" hat's erfunden, und erst "San Andreas" hat es perfektioniert. Aber mindestens ebenso wichtig an "GTA" ist: Zeitgeist. Und den erfahrbar zu machen, gelang "Vice City" so präzise wie noch keinem Buch, Film oder Videospiel zuvor. Klar kannKlar, das erste Wort, das einem zu "Grand Theft Auto" einfällt, ist: Freiheit. Das weis ich, denn so steht es in den Geschichtsbüchern. Und, ja, "GTA 3" hat's erfunden, und erst "San Andreas" hat es perfektioniert. Aber mindestens ebenso wichtig an "GTA" ist: Zeitgeist. Und den erfahrbar zu machen, gelang "Vice City" so präzise wie noch keinem Buch, Film oder Videospiel zuvor. Klar kann man sich "Beverly Hills Cop" oder eine Folge "Knight Rider" ansehen und fühlt sich an die Achtziger zurückerinnert. Bücher und Vinylscheiben aus der Zeit leisten Ähnliches. "Vice City" aber schickt uns direkt in das Jahrzehnt von New Wave und Cocktailkirschen und lässt uns darin so viel Zeit verbringen, wie wir wollen. Man kann die Hawaii-Hemden und anderen Geschmacklosigkeiten der Epoche tragen, im rosa Neonlicht eines Nachtclubs abhängen, lernen, wie sich die 30 berühmtesten amerikanischen Autos der Achtziger fahren, und dabei zwischen Radiostationen hin und her wechseln, die von Synthipop bis HipHop alles im Programm haben, was auf einen anständigen "Best of the 80s"-Sampler gehört. Die Quintessenz dieser Erfahrung: mit einem Ferrari Testosterossa in den Sonnenuntergang cruisen, während "I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight" von der Cutting Crew im Radio läuft. Expand
  51. Apr 16, 2020
    10
    My first game. What an atmosphere ,sunny Miami , luxury cars, machine guns,rocket launchers ,cheat-codes.... Amazing game
  52. Aug 27, 2020
    10
    80's is my favourite era and why cause I was addicted with VICE CITY game like drugs,guns,music scene...
  53. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    Good game, the graphics are good, but are dated now. The story-line was good, but the game needed a bit more prompting about what to do, once I got to the point in the game where you need to buy a bunch of companies it was a bit annoying trying to find which ones I needed to buy. Theres also no way to look around by moving the mouse like in San Andreas, your view stays the same as the wayGood game, the graphics are good, but are dated now. The story-line was good, but the game needed a bit more prompting about what to do, once I got to the point in the game where you need to buy a bunch of companies it was a bit annoying trying to find which ones I needed to buy. Theres also no way to look around by moving the mouse like in San Andreas, your view stays the same as the way your vehicle is facing. The aiming in this game was a little bit awkward as well. The acting was good and the characters were pretty funny too, and the game is very enjoyable, but it needs a bit of improvement. Expand
  54. Nemesisthe
    May 17, 2003
    8
    VERY INTERESTING GAME. GREAT GRAFIX...
  55. AdamB.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    Great game.
  56. Jan 18, 2015
    9
    Very good game. The atmosphere, music, cars, everything is down pat. The graphics are great for that era, too. The story is great, the characters are engaging and interesting, this game has it all.

    Well, almost. I am removing 1 score point for the "try again" missions. Explanation: the missions are a victim of lazy design, where by and large, you need to know beforehand what you will
    Very good game. The atmosphere, music, cars, everything is down pat. The graphics are great for that era, too. The story is great, the characters are engaging and interesting, this game has it all.

    Well, almost.

    I am removing 1 score point for the "try again" missions. Explanation: the missions are a victim of lazy design, where by and large, you need to know beforehand what you will face in order to be able to complete the mission. So you have to make a first attempt, which you will fail, and then a second, which you may well succeed. The missions are mostly not very difficult, but this lazy design amounts to false difficulty, which lenghtens the time spent in the game, but does not increase the enjoyment thereof. Add to that the long and unskippable cutscenes at the beginning of a lot of the missions, and you have something that grates on the nerves in an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    It is still very playable as of 2015. You may want to turn up your anti-aliasing to crazy levels however...
    Expand
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Where do you start with Vice City.

    This game is by far the best game in the series,it has everything you could ask for and more. It certainly boasts one of the best soundtracks in any game ever,to cater for all needs. Taking great inspiration from the 1980's drug wars,you find yourself deep in a world of drugs gangs and crime. The city is awesome,albeit a little small compared to San
    Where do you start with Vice City.

    This game is by far the best game in the series,it has everything you could ask for and more.
    It certainly boasts one of the best soundtracks in any game ever,to cater for all needs.
    Taking great inspiration from the 1980's drug wars,you find yourself deep in a world of drugs gangs and crime.

    The city is awesome,albeit a little small compared to San andreas,still is great fun to drive around and has alot of memorable places.
    The biggest thing i enjoyed was the ability to buy your own companies and a vast amount of homes.
    Expand
  58. ERB
    Jul 30, 2013
    7
    One of Rockstar's most greatest game.But I put a score Of 7 because If you go near the water you suddenly lose health points.But still I consider this as a good game because game play is cool and especially when It is cheated.
  59. Mar 31, 2015
    7
    Like: bikes, your own business, rock band, soundtrack
    Don't like: missions, atmosphere, plot, cars, guns
    Summary: a good game, but previous part (III) is better.
  60. Jun 6, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first I wanted to put her 2/10, but after passing the game I changed my mind. I hate this game with all my heart,this is the worst part of the GTA. How can I play this when there is San Andreas? Expand
  61. Jan 2, 2011
    7
    The game is fun and has a great storyline. But the rest is the same as all the others in the GTA series. I do have to say though, It is way too easy. It is more for fun than anything else and I do enjoy the free world play and doing whatever you wish.
  62. Dec 12, 2019
    0
    Make a GTA 3 mod in a year and realese it as a new game? Great plan, Rockstar!
  63. AlexF
    Oct 9, 2009
    5
    OK at best. Mediocre graphcis. Need a wall map to know where everything is in order to play the game well. Redoing missions is a drag. Doesn't add anything over GTA III, which wasn't all that great either.
  64. Apr 15, 2015
    4
    This game is so boring and the story is so bad that the only fun thing to do is drive around the town while listening to your MP3 songs which does not actually qualify for a fun game to me, though.
  65. [Anonymous]
    Mar 26, 2004
    6
    Overrated game.
  66. DUSTONE.
    Oct 21, 2003
    1
    I LOVED THE GAME.
  67. JujuB.
    Aug 20, 2003
    4
    Its a bloody mad GAMEE!!! .....sadly, when u get 100%...its not what you have expected in the pS2 version.......which is why i put it on 4......they really screwed up the ending.
  68. Sickmate
    May 3, 2004
    5
    GTA 3 is 400,000 times better than vice city,and 500,000 times bigger.
  69. gamemaster06
    Oct 2, 2007
    8
    It's a very fun and interesting game. the graphics might be a little crappy but the game is OK!
  70. CraigC.
    Oct 8, 2005
    5
    This game is awesome I played it with my friend and we could get girls on bikes and there were cheat codes.
  71. Oct 2, 2013
    6
    I loved this game back in the day on the the PS2 and spend many hours playing around in this virtual playground. The story was good, the acting great, the music and vibe brilliant, it basicly took an already awesome GTA3 and perfected it.

    Now, so many years later, i thought i'd revisit this digital Miami on my netbook and i have to say it still holds up pretty well. Sure the graphics
    I loved this game back in the day on the the PS2 and spend many hours playing around in this virtual playground. The story was good, the acting great, the music and vibe brilliant, it basicly took an already awesome GTA3 and perfected it.

    Now, so many years later, i thought i'd revisit this digital Miami on my netbook and i have to say it still holds up pretty well. Sure the graphics are outdated and the gameplay can feel a bit clunky but it is still acceptable seeing it's such a great classic, while this time round i would be able to be a lot more accurate aiming and shooting with a mouse.

    But unfortunately the controls are more or less a disaster. The game is just as i remembered it but even though i'm playing it on the PC now it still feels like i'm playing it on the PS2. That can't be right. In other words, a bad port.
    Aiming with the mouse for instance doesn't feel as smooth as you would expect, and to make matters even worse the vertical sensitivity of the mouse is not affected when adjusting the overall mouse sensitivity so that while panning from side to side will work as you set it, looking up and down will throw your view all over the place with the slightest movement of your mouse. And I understood it's been like that for years too and Rockstar has not even bothered fixing it. What a fail.
    Same goes for the widescreen option by the way. Yes, there is a widescreen option this time round but they even managed to screw that one up. The gameworld itself adjusts to the widescreen ratio fine but the HUD on the other hand does not and just gets stretched. Not only that, aiming is affected by it as well. To be able to hit your target with widescreen mode on you'll have to aim at his/her feet and slightly to the right of him/her. Only way to fix it is to turn widescreen off again.

    So when it comes down to it a great game gets a mediocre port to a platform where it should've shined even more. It is pathetic honestly.
    Don't get me wrong, i can still take pleasure out of GTA Vice City, but not as much as i'd hoped. Very disappointing Rockstar.
    Expand
  72. Mar 6, 2013
    5
    I might be slightly spoiled by having played IV, San Andreas, Saints Row 2 and 3 first, but I feel it's just not as good as those are. Several of the missions would be impossible without cheats as far as I could tell, there's some brutal padding between the 3rd last and 2nd last missions, the audio quality was kinda meh, and for a sandbox there's surprisingly little content. I beat theI might be slightly spoiled by having played IV, San Andreas, Saints Row 2 and 3 first, but I feel it's just not as good as those are. Several of the missions would be impossible without cheats as far as I could tell, there's some brutal padding between the 3rd last and 2nd last missions, the audio quality was kinda meh, and for a sandbox there's surprisingly little content. I beat the game in about ten hours. Compared to the 20-45 I spent beating each of those other games, that's a little lacklustre. On the bright side, it's fantastically written, as is par for the course with Rockstar. Expand
  73. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Arguably, the best part of this atmosphere of the Grand Theft Auto series is one. Wonderful memories tie in with the engine száguldással while Michael Jackson yells on the radio.
    Compared to the excellent visuals for his age, but also in the emerging positive for me. The tasks are boring to me, and unanimous, the side missions towed and pedestrian behavior is very annoying. The artificial
    Arguably, the best part of this atmosphere of the Grand Theft Auto series is one. Wonderful memories tie in with the engine száguldással while Michael Jackson yells on the radio.
    Compared to the excellent visuals for his age, but also in the emerging positive for me. The tasks are boring to me, and unanimous, the side missions towed and pedestrian behavior is very annoying. The artificial intelligence is terrible at 1-2, and the juice of media vehicles horrible management.
    Expand
  74. Nov 22, 2016
    5
    The game shows it's age.

    + Idea
    + Storyline

    - Gameplay
    - Graphics

    This game was once good, but except for nostalgia it doesn't have much to offer anymore.
  75. Jul 7, 2016
    5
    My personal opinion is different from yours. I don't like GTA: Vice City and consider it to be the worst game in GTA games. I didn't like the story at all, I didn't like the setting, I didn't like the city, etc. My choice is GTA: SA (and nah, I am not black). Compared to SA, it hasn't such athmosphere. Well, if you disagree with my opinion, I am not angry.
  76. May 6, 2020
    0
    J'avais la version PC du jeu chopée dans un cash merde pour un ou deux euros... non, je crois que c'était un euro en fait. J'écris 'j'avais" parce que je ne l'ai plus : j'ai arrangé le cd aux ciseaux et mon clebs joue avec le boîtier : ça lui fait les dents. Enfin, donc, quand je l'avais, j'ai tenté de le faire marcher sous windaube 7 et surprise, ce jeu aussi vieux fonctionne ! enfins,J'avais la version PC du jeu chopée dans un cash merde pour un ou deux euros... non, je crois que c'était un euro en fait. J'écris 'j'avais" parce que je ne l'ai plus : j'ai arrangé le cd aux ciseaux et mon clebs joue avec le boîtier : ça lui fait les dents. Enfin, donc, quand je l'avais, j'ai tenté de le faire marcher sous windaube 7 et surprise, ce jeu aussi vieux fonctionne ! enfins, disons qu'il a l'air de fonctionner, ce qui n'est pas exactement la même chose...

    En fait, il plante après la seconde mission. Systématiquement. Mais après tout, il n'est pas censé marcher sans protester, la rétrocompatibilité étant ce qu'elle est sur PC, c'est-à-dire quasiment nulle et non avenue... Pas de problème, j'ai aussi une babasse qui tourne sous XP (windaube Xpet pour les intimes) et là aussi, le jeu plante ! et même que sans planter, quand on veut le quitter bien gentiment, il reste bloqué, ce gros con !

    Mais alors je percute tout de même... il faut être fou ou inconscient pour jouer aux versions PC des jeux de chez Rocktarte ! il est bien connu que c'est des portages tout foireux et tout foirés... CQFD ! Alors, je me rabats sur la version Xbox... ouii, oui, j'ai ça qui traîne aussi quelque part... je passe un certain temps à retrouver la prise péritel de la Xbox pour la brancher sur ma télé 4K. Eh, c'est rigolo, non ? une prise péritel sur une télé 4K ! du 480p sur un écran 2160p ! hein, t'es sérieux, là ?!...

    Etonnamment, c'est plus flou que pixélisé... ça arrache les yeux mais on s'y fait. Enfin, à peu près. Et là... oui, tu vas rire : et là, le GTA me recasse les couilles et plante chaque fois après la troisième mission ! c'est du vice ou je m'y connais pas. Chez Rocktarte, ils ne savent pas programmer sur la Xbox non plus ! putain de leur race...

    Bon, c'est pas une grosse perte, car même sur PC, le jeu n'est pas bien beau ; on peut néanmoins le rendre à peu près jouable à pied avec le clavier et la souris. Et encore... Et pour configurer la menette, c'est mission impossible. Sur la Xbox, on se rend compte tout de même des saccades dès qu'il y a de l'action, des flics qui se téléportent derrière vous, des renforts de truands qui déboulent plus vite que la lumière et... de la non-jouabilité quasi-totale du truc : le pire TPS qu'on ait jamais vu !

    Par ailleurs, le jeu ne fait pas de sauvegarde automatique après une mission, ce qui implique de retourner à cette planque de merde à chaque fois : ça gave mais d'une force !... incréable. Et comme il plante avant qu'on ait le temps de revenir à la planque, on l'a dans le baba !

    Enfin, bref, quelle daube et quelle grossse merde, bricolée avec le fion ! un jeu vicieux et vicié, pourri jusqu'au trognon.
    Expand
  77. Apr 5, 2021
    9
    Probably the best GTA when it comes to the setting. Miami styled Vice City was absolutely stunning and it is probably one of the most requested comebacks for upcoming GTA 6.
  78. Oct 14, 2021
    9
    insane atmosphere. interesting story. perfectly balanced difficulty. my favourite part of the series
  79. Oct 31, 2020
    2
    Overall, as a sequel this is huge disappointment. Just GTA 3 DLC but not polished at all. That one kinda game where nostalgia is a hell of a drug, Vice City is nothing but a pointless Scarface ripoff. To remind you, this junk was put together in matter of 9 months.
  80. AlexA.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    No way can you give this game anything lower than a 9 in my oppinon gta vice city is the best gta game ever to hit pc.
  81. DjounaidD.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    Its so cool game I was playing it from the first day of it bealive me.
  82. R.Dalvi
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Very ahrd but at the same time so entertaining that it is very hard to stop playing it even though you have not completed it.
  83. ArneB.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    Fantastic game. The only thing that detracts is the fact that the main character talks. This is why GTA3 is the better game as it is more imersive.
  84. Sgt.Awesomeness
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    I like many things about this game. The trademark GTA free-roam/sandbox element, the Scarface-style Miami setting, hiding out on the 2nd floor balcony of someone's house staking out and trying to get 6 stars then finally stealing a tank but getting immediately caught because it's far too slow and then shouting profanity after all your hard work goes to waste. But all that stuff I like many things about this game. The trademark GTA free-roam/sandbox element, the Scarface-style Miami setting, hiding out on the 2nd floor balcony of someone's house staking out and trying to get 6 stars then finally stealing a tank but getting immediately caught because it's far too slow and then shouting profanity after all your hard work goes to waste. But all that stuff combines like all delicious flavors combining to make an awesome new food. A very fun party-ish game indeed. Expand
  85. MafiaGuy
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    This game's great, and is much more fun than GTA 3.
  86. NickV.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    Best game ever but this game was based on the movie scarface. The Music, buildings and most of the characters!
  87. KentO.
    May 13, 2003
    10
    Good.
  88. TimA.
    Jul 17, 2003
    7
    This game is better than the previous one, but there is a lot to improve for the graphics! It's good but not that good......
  89. TimH.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Can't STOP PLAYING! The only time I stop is when I get an unhandled exception...
  90. Vicecityisgreat
    Aug 14, 2003
    10
    Greatest game i've ever played i cant quit playing it it is awesome.
  91. RobbyA.
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    I thing this game is the best of all. NO COMMENTS.
  92. ChrisH.
    May 2, 2004
    10
    This game rocks who in the world would give a number any lower than a 9 get a life if you would!
  93. HidroG.
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    This game is way better that gta 3 since it has got more things and certainly more blood.
  94. Graham
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    Amazing fun for a while ... apart from two issues I really wish they'd sorted: 1) you're stuck redoing the same mission time after time because you miss some deadline by 2 seconds. 2) You have to watch all the cutscenes and can't skip them (I can't believe game makers still make this basic error!! Please if you're reading this NEVER enforce cutscenes.) It has so Amazing fun for a while ... apart from two issues I really wish they'd sorted: 1) you're stuck redoing the same mission time after time because you miss some deadline by 2 seconds. 2) You have to watch all the cutscenes and can't skip them (I can't believe game makers still make this basic error!! Please if you're reading this NEVER enforce cutscenes.) It has so much to it this game - just riding around the city is worth the price of the game imho. My housemate would have a drunken session most nights trying to find the biggest ramp to jump off. I thought he was being daft until I realised you get points for this! I played it for about a week or two, great fun. It's tongue in cheek darkness too, in case you're a worried parent or squeamish or something ;-) Expand
  95. SamF.
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    Great Game all around. Its open ended gameplay is something to be copied by other games for a good reason, and it works. The third person fighting mode could be a bit easier and better done. But the whole game really sucks you into the immersive gameplay and missions. Hours of lost sleep for sure.
  96. MarcB.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Heyyo, Amazing game. I love it. That's why even I had to mod it. If only GTASA had the same modding capabilities I tell ya...
  97. MobusD.
    Jan 15, 2008
    8
    I actually think gameplay/storywise, III was better, but still, this was very amazing.
  98. Dalek
    Jul 10, 2009
    7
    I thought that this game was ok, I was really excited when I got it. It was fun at first but then it got harder and the thing that pulled me down is that little helicopter mission to bomb the construction site. Sort of hard on a laptop that may not have Num lock keys. The graphics could had been a little bit better and more things to do.
  99. PhilD.
    May 16, 2003
    9
    9/10 - It could be perfect if there was not that annoying clipping problem.
  100. Jok`RdeMo
    May 19, 2003
    9
    Yeah, this is cool. I like this even better than GTA 3. what to say, radio is very cool and also posibility to play mp3. But the best thing of game is that it can really work on slow PC's (i mean Duron 600 with 128 RAM it goes almost without slowing down). Cool...
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Best of all, the numerous bugs and glitches that brought the PS2 version down a notch have been cleaned up and eliminated, for the most part. Enemies no longer shoot you through solid walls, you no longer randomly lose health while running, and cars remain in your garage until you take them out.
  2. 100
    Side-missions are just amazingly fun.
  3. It transcends the very genre it once created.