Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 13, 2021
    90
    This ingenious blend of RPG mechanics, visual novel-style storytelling, and deck-building roguelike gameplay is a beautiful recipe for a kind of game I never knew I wanted. Even though I’ve already spent the past week getting through each of Griftlands’ campaigns multiple times, I’m still looking forward to my next run – and the run after that. Campaigns are short and challenging, making them highly replayable and memorable adventures that reward your time. It’s kinda absurd that such an eclectic group of mechanics work together in such harmony, but once you’re bitten by their charms it’s quite hard to put Griftlands down.
  2. Jun 11, 2021
    90
    Griftlands does what it sets out to do, offering a wholly compelling and unique take on its genre influences. It's yet another excellent entry into roguelike deckbuilding experiences and is immediately memorable thanks to its reliance on world-building and character depth. Even better, the story of Griftlands is a fun jaunt through a sci-fi world that is buoyed by an even more exciting card game. Those who loved Hades, Slay the Spire, or similar games will find just as much to love in Griftlands.
  3. 86
    Griftlands is an atypical deckbuilding roguelite with an addictive gameplay formula and a top notch narrative. I can see myself playing this game for a very long time while trying to master everyone of its aspects.
  4. 85
    I really like how the deck-building mechanics reflect the dispositions of the different characters. You can see this in both combat and negotiation; Sal is pretty strong all around, which makes them a good choice for your first couple of runs. Rook flips a coin every now and then during negotiation that can produce a powerful boost. Smith builds up a stockpile of empty bottles while in combat which they sometimes hurl at their opponents. The result is a wonderful sense of ludonarrative consonance.
  5. CD-Action
    Sep 1, 2021
    80
    Griftlands’ middling, insubstantial story and dull dialogues draw attention away from the game’s undeniable strengths: excellent negotiation mechanics and a pretty good combat system. [09/2021, p.42]
  6. Edge Magazine
    Jul 16, 2021
    80
    Absorbing. [Issue#361, p.112]
  7. Jul 7, 2021
    80
    Griftlands is the new champion in the deck-building roguelike games arena, thanks to its original gameplay mechanics and deep/entertaining narrative nature.
  8. Jun 22, 2021
    80
    Shortcomings aside, Griftlands is another slice of low-key brilliance from developers Klei. Is there a genre they can't do? The balance of narrative and deck-building made for a much more engaging experience than I often have with card-based titles, even if it feels like more could be done to connect those systems and bolster the storytelling. Still, I'm going to remember my adventures with Sal and the little moments of friendship and betrayal throughout each run. I like playing as a grifter; it ain't much but it's a living.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 14, 2021
    Full of good ideas, this early access card game impresses with the solidity of its game design and the intelligence of its game systems. In short, an excellent draw that deserves the attention of fans of the genre and fans of the studio. [Early Access Score = 85]
  2. I like the world and the writing, and I especially like how it can click its heels and conjure up a story – as long as you don’t get bogged down in overlong battles. It’s certainly worth keeping an eye on, and if any of this sounds interesting then an early access visit might well be worth your while. Just do your best to forget about how you could be playing Slay The Spire or Monster Train instead. [Early Access Review]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Jun 13, 2021
    8
    It is a good combination of deck building and rpg games. Sal is the easiest character, so make sense to make her the first chapter of theIt is a good combination of deck building and rpg games. Sal is the easiest character, so make sense to make her the first chapter of the game. Rook is probably the most difficult charater. Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2021
    10
    Best deck building game I played so far !
    The replayability is there. There is only 3 characters/stories but I keep cycling through them and
    Best deck building game I played so far !
    The replayability is there. There is only 3 characters/stories but I keep cycling through them and its really enjoyable
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2021
    9
    Griftlands is a great deckbuilder with an interesting setting, entertaining story, and innovative way of handling the "combat vs socialGriftlands is a great deckbuilder with an interesting setting, entertaining story, and innovative way of handling the "combat vs social encounter" dilemma most RPG fans find themselves in. For those people who enjoy "Slay the Spire" but are looking for more plot in their games. Full Review »