Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Edge Magazine
    Jan 4, 2019
    70
    Yes, perhaps Gris is a little big in love with itself. Maybe we should take the hint. [Issue#328, p.114]
  2. Dec 20, 2018
    70
    I won’t say that GRIS is bad. It is not even remotely bad. What GRIS is is disappointing. It can’t decide whether or not it wants to be a fun platformer or art piece, and the reality is that it could have been both. There’s a lot of hyperbole out there right now about this being a must play and I have a feeling a lot of people that do will be disappointed by this title. If GRIS goes on sale I would say pick it up if the art style seems appealing, but otherwise don’t look to GRIS to be the new LIMBO or INSIDE because the puzzles aren’t as deep and the gameplay isn’t as prevalent.
  3. Dec 13, 2018
    70
    We've seen Gris before, back when it was sold in the wrapper of Limbo, Journey, or Ori and the Blind Forest. It's the same old platformer that's being turned around yet again for a new audience with new gimmickry that, while functional, simply brings little to the table. It's easy to fall in love with, at least superficially, until you examine it even closer. It looks great, it's smooth, and you sure can jump a lot – but it's unsatisfying in so many ways that make it difficult to recommend over more competent and feature-rich games in the genre. After all, you know the old adage: beauty is only skin-deep.
  4. Dec 21, 2018
    66
    Gris’s visual appeal hinders as much as it helps its exploration of grief.
  5. Dec 13, 2018
    65
    As an audio and visual package, Gris is stunning. However some missteps in gameplay prevent it from being something special.
  6. Dec 13, 2018
    65
    Gris is, at times, a meditative, affecting exploration of complex emotions that uses its levels as a canvas for some of the most beautiful visual design in any platformer, backed by a fantastic score. At others, it’s a maddeningly simple and confusing game that lets its artistic ambitions run roughshod over its gameplay.
  7. Dec 13, 2018
    60
    A week or so removed from playing Gris, I don’t know what I’ll remember it for, if at all. Gris feels like it almost belongs in a museum, with crowds marveling at its art and sound for a few minutes, before moving on to something else. There are moments of beautiful brilliance in Gris, all of which are dragged down by a decidedly average platforming game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It’s hard to overstate how impossibly beautiful this game is! How good the animation! I couldn’t look away from it even when it was making me roll my eyes! Like whatever the opposite of a car crash is! Sorry for shouting! I’m sort of cross with it! But also want to play it again! Because it might be the most stunning game I have ever seen! Argh!
  2. Dec 21, 2018
    A platform game with mild puzzles and plenty of THEEEEEMES, a fantastic art style and soundtrack are really what brings it to life.
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    It’s a game that starts out beautiful, and only improves the more you play.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 358 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 358
  1. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    This is a masterpiece and everyone should give it a chance despite being an indie from a "small company", delivers sadness and perfection withThis is a masterpiece and everyone should give it a chance despite being an indie from a "small company", delivers sadness and perfection with a simple but great story, really beautiful game! Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2018
    9
    What a beautiful game. The music, the visual art, the atmosphere.
    The best purchase this year, alongside with Unavowed and Pillars of eternity 2.
  3. Dec 23, 2018
    0
    Чем-то напомнила супер марио, только без монстров, монеток и труб... Что это вообще?
    Что вообще мешает людям прикручивать так называемый
    Чем-то напомнила супер марио, только без монстров, монеток и труб... Что это вообще?
    Что вообще мешает людям прикручивать так называемый "визуальный дизайн" к обычным играм, зачем полностью кастрировать игровой процесс, что бы показать "дизайн"?

    У меня художественное образование, я архитектор и хоть убей не пойму, что так нравиться простым рабочим людям в этой поделке. На мой взгляд IWD 2 гораздо гармоничней и на голову лучше, в плане визуального оформления, только там, помимо него, еще и шедевральная игра есть. Здесь нет не того, не другого. Лишний раз убеждаюсь, как легко людям впарить какую-нибудь х...ю и выдать за высокое искусство. :(
    Full Review »