Guacamelee! Gold Edition Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guacamelee! is a Metroid-vania style action-platformer set in a magical Mexican inspired world.

    The game draws its inspiration from traditional Mexican culture and folklore, and features many interesting and unique characters. Guacamelee builds upon the classic open-world Metroid-vania
    Guacamelee! is a Metroid-vania style action-platformer set in a magical Mexican inspired world.

    The game draws its inspiration from traditional Mexican culture and folklore, and features many interesting and unique characters. Guacamelee builds upon the classic open-world Metroid-vania style of games, by adding a strong melee combat component, a new dimension switching mechanic, and cooperative same-screen multiplayer for the entire story. The game also blurs the boundaries between combat and platforming by making many of the moves useful and necessary for both of these.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Guacamelee! - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    98
    It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but the amount of care and polish that went into this title is readily apparent.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    91
    So I definitely think Guacamelee! is worth picking up if you haven’t done so yet. If you missed out on the PSN version, or hell, just want to play through the game again, it’s well worth checking out. This remains one of the more impressive independent releases this year, and certainly makes me curious to see what developer Drinkbox Studios is working on next.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee! Gold Edition only helps to enhance the rich, fun, free-scrolling action platformer by strengthening the visual art style and adding a bevy of Steamworks features.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    Guacamelee does a brilliant job in blending the highlights of the genre's corner stone titles such as Metroid and Castlevania, while still retaining it's own brand of charm.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Despite its relatively short length, Guacamelee! Gold Edition is definitely worth your money. You'll enjoy every second of its cartoony style and sense of humor.
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    87
    As a big fan of games like Castlevania and Metroid, this genre is right up my alleyway. Sadly, nowadays I lack the time and patience to take on new games of this genre in an adequate manner. Thus, Guacamelee! was a welcomed exception. The classic gameplay, stylish comic-design and excellent humor were exactly what I needed. The fact that Guacamelee! got such a good PC-port was only the cherry on top. So if enjoy metroidvania-games in the slightest, has to check out Guacamelee!.
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    70
    A solid Metroidvania brawler with a whole lot of heart and a whole lot of humour.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Timeraider's Review Time:
    Dust
    2d sideview platformer/massive fighting Gamplay: 9/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Performance: 8.5/10
    Timeraider's Review Time:
    Dust
    2d sideview platformer/massive fighting

    Gamplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 8.5/10
    Performance: 8.5/10
    Problems/bugs/glitches: 8/10
    Storyline: 9/10
    Emotional attachment/ general immersion: 10/10

    General score: 9/10

    Additional comments:
    I am usually not the guy to play sideview fighters, especially chaotic ones. However this game it deserves everything. The graphics are great and fit the gameplay.. not to detailed and slightly cartoony, while maintaining the resolution and graphical advancements found in the newer games.
    The gameplay is great it has nice performance on even weak PC's and the game just feels very smooth. Pressing 30 buttons per second will happen, but it wont show even the slightest microstutter on the screen.. its all fluid and smooth.
    The storyline is very immersive (ive heard people actually pinked away a tear and i myself felt touched at some moments to so far) and the game keeps you in a tight lock im known for never finishing games, which is a trait alot of gamers suffer from. However since ive started playng this game im stuck to the screen and will certainly finish this (will be my third pc game ive ever finished in the last 8 years (others were Trine 2 and.. Star Wars Battlefront 2 i believe)...

    This was my short recommendation. If you want a full review.. sorry but i dont do those.
    Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. The music and art style are both captivating. They work together well to create an unforgettable and unique experience.This game is amazing. The music and art style are both captivating. They work together well to create an unforgettable and unique experience.

    The platforming at many stages is downright genius in that it will not only make you think, but often allow you to piece together a platforming solution on the fly. It is an intense experience that is not hindered by difficulty.

    It's corny and humorous at times, which gives the game a personality all it's own. The game is downright charming.

    This game also does not forget its roots and knows it's fan-base. It has plenty of Easter eggs that pertain to it's inspirations, which will only add more flavor and appeal to those that like this kind of game.

    A must have for anyone who likes fun.
    Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Love it! Shadow Complex meets Super Meat Boy. Illustrations and Colors are perfect, might be the best looking 2D game in a long time. If youLove it! Shadow Complex meets Super Meat Boy. Illustrations and Colors are perfect, might be the best looking 2D game in a long time. If you find the combat or bosses in this game difficult, perhaps you need to train more at the 2D gym with the rooster.. which I did... then I dominated. Like SMB, there's going to be some Extra levels (outside of the game story) that will make you lose your mind. The only thing that sorta' pissed me off were the precise timing of moves (for extra levels) that don't necessarily work perfectly with an analog controller, but with repetition is doable. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    It's a good action platforming game. Lots of charisma. Not laugh out loud funny but the mood of the game and of the characters are humorous.It's a good action platforming game. Lots of charisma. Not laugh out loud funny but the mood of the game and of the characters are humorous. HOWEVER, it is extremely difficult. The platforming is the most difficult parts. I can't play this game for extended periods of time without getting frustrated. In fact, I am not even sure I am enjoying myself because the platforming levels can be so difficult. But with that being said I recognize that this is a good game and if you want that challenge then this is the game for you. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2020
    7
    Guacamelee is a very stylish 2D metroidvania. Juan the (very muscly) agave farmer has his girlfriend kidnapped by Calaca, a skeleton from theGuacamelee is a very stylish 2D metroidvania. Juan the (very muscly) agave farmer has his girlfriend kidnapped by Calaca, a skeleton from the world of the dead. After being summarily dispatched by the sombrero-wearing skeleton, Juan finds himself in the world of the dead. There he gets a mask that allows him to return to the world of the living as a luchador (Mexican wrestler) and fight back against Calaca and his henchmen.

    This game is steeped in Mexican tropes and terrible food-based puns. Almost everything in the game is a pun, and the whole thing is wrapped in a very irreverent air. There are silly little screens that pop up before boss fights to announce who is fighting who, the character(s) make silly poses when they get new powers, your helpful wise old man guide is a goat, and one of your important upgrade powers is the ability to turn into a chicken.

    Yes, it is a rather silly game.

    Overall, the core gameplay is pretty straightforward for a Metroidvania – you have your basic set of attacks, a little trio of punches and kicks, and over the course of the game you gain six additional combat maneuvers, the ability to wall jump, double jump, the ability to turn into a chicken, and the ability to swap between the world of the living and the world of the dead. (And, if you complete an optional sidequest, the ability to fly in chicken form at the very end of the game)

    Sometimes enemies are surrounded by a colored aura which protects them from harm, and if you want to hurt them, you have to use the proper move on them. You have to use your abilities to break some colored stones to access new areas, as well as some secrets. And of course, you use your new movement powers (including a couple of combat maneuvers) to access new areas over the course of the game.

    It’s all pretty standard fare, and honestly, the game isn’t particularly innovative in any way mechanically. Honestly, the enemies aren’t particularly remarkable either; there’s not a huge number of them, and not a great variety in them, either.

    Fortunately, the game is pretty short, so before it would become tedious, it’s all over, and you’ve beaten it. Just going through the game would take you five or six hours, and 100%ing it takes about nine – and the game would outstay its welcome if it was any longer than that, so that’s a good thing.

    The whole game is just… done competently. It’s nothing particularly remarkable, but the style of the game works quite well, the game is silly enough without trying too hard to be lulzy, the game looks good visually, the overall core gameplay is solid enough, and it avoids the trap of being overly long.

    If there is a flaw to this game, it is that it doesn’t really wow the audience in any way – if you’ve played Metroidvanias, you’ve basically played this game, and there are certainly better ones than this. But on the other hand, this is well-paced and a nicely sized experience, and it is probably above average overall within the genre – it doesn’t do anything remarkable, but what is there is done well.

    In the end, I give it a thumbs up. It’s worth playing if you like Metroidvanias, and it’s small enough that it ends before you’re tired of it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2017
    6
    OK, this game is hard. The first boss fight (X 'tabay or however you spell it) is not too hard once you learn the patterns. The second fightOK, this game is hard. The first boss fight (X 'tabay or however you spell it) is not too hard once you learn the patterns. The second fight (flame face) was too easy and I first-attempted it. There are various sections of the game with gruelling horrible platforming sections that do not require much skill but patience. They are a cheap shot at making the game harder. You will find yourself clutching various buttons on your controller (or keyboard) at once, then messing up and pressing the wrong buttons. Breathe deep during these sections to reduce the risk of a panic attack... Once you finally beat these sections you feel rewarded... for about 30 seconds, then you are faced with another horrible section (ugghhhhhhhh). The third boss (Jaguar Javier) is SO FREEEKIN HARD. The game goes from -meh kinda medium difficulty- to -HAHAHA ALL THAT WAS JUST A TROLL NOW WE ARE GONNA GIVE YOU A BOSS WHICH YOU WILL ONLY GET 2 HITS ON BEFORE YOU DIE- diffuculty. All his attacks are fire so you cannot dodge them. He constantly gives himself shields which you neede to press some kind of combination which you are so likely to mess up, then he gets a hit on you. The annoying part is that you have a delay from being hit to getting back up again (which means as soon as you get back up again he sends you back down.

    OK, enough of the cons. Aside from what I just mentioned the game is preeeeety cool. The open maps are fun to explore and the metroidvanian exploration, backtracking, opening new areas and exploring them is all a blast. Also the art style is cartoony and cool. I like it. Let's talk about the core of the game: the combat. It is polished and satisfying to whack skeletons and throw them aginst the roof, reducing them to a mere pile of bones. The El infierno stage of the game adds an extra challenge for completionists to unlock all of the characters. The storyline is not the strongest point of the game, it is a cliche story of an ordinary guy who becomes a superhero to save the world from monsters, except this time, it's set in Mexico. ¡Oh si! Burritos! The Soundtrack is catchy and fun, and the game is an (sorta) good time (apart from what i mentioned before...)

    By the way, don't try to play this with a keyboard, you will spend half an hour just re-mapping the atrocious controls, only to make them a tiny bit less atrocious.

    Verdict: This game is cool, but only get it if you are a fan of rock hard difficult games. If you are a fan of super metroid, try this game out. After all, it is metroidvania. For me however, what i hope to see in the future is an easy mode. Thank you for your time reading this long review.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2015
    0
    I kill the first boss, I get rewards and the stuff, the game sends me automatically back to the hub and I decide to stop here for this time.I kill the first boss, I get rewards and the stuff, the game sends me automatically back to the hub and I decide to stop here for this time. I was surprised the next launch that I had to do the whole **** again, what kind of game does not autosave after the end of a boss ?! 0/10 would not play again. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews