Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Sep 18, 2015
    90
    The Guild of Dungeoneering is a fabulous game, which provides hour after hour of addictive gameplay for kids or a thirty-three year old man-child like myself.
  2. 90
    Guild Of Dungeoneering's uniquely blended gameplay is a genuine breath of fresh air and will enchant its players immediately.
  3. Jul 15, 2015
    83
    A refreshingly simple, yet fitting art design and a great mixture of components make this a turn based dungeon crawler like no other. Unfortunately your success depends a little too much on luck and it shows a tendency for grind.
  4. CD-Action
    Oct 17, 2015
    80
    For every “this game is stupid, I’m not playing it ever again” there was “OK, just one more time”. [10/2015, p.62]
  5. Jul 28, 2015
    80
    Guild of Dungeoneering can get frustrating due to all of the randomness, but even then there's just no getting around the fact that it is a wonderful game. And if it ever does come to handhelds, I'll be eager to give it another go.
  6. Jul 21, 2015
    80
    I’ve never played anything quite like Guild of Dungeoneering, and while its lo-fi look took some time to win me over, it’s become my go-to game for quick, bite-sized gaming that still satisfies an overall sense of achievement.
  7. Jul 21, 2015
    80
    Guild of Dungeoneering is simple, light-hearted fun with an adorable sketchbook aesthetic and delightful humor. It's not perfect, but as obscure indie games go, it's certainly top tier.
  8. Jul 14, 2015
    80
    There may not be much more to the game than the constant adventures, but it's tailor-made for short, easily-digestible chunks of gameplay.
  9. Jul 14, 2015
    80
    A tightly-conceived, devilish little game, keen to show dungeon crawling conventions the trapdoor. It takes what it needs from the best in CCGs and tactics and folds them into a structure that’s clever and consciously underivative. It’s a deck I intend to keep playing with.
  10. Jul 20, 2015
    78
    Overall The Guild of Dungeoneering is worth a look from gamers who enjoy card-based or board games from time to time and are willing to forgo depth in exchange for humor and a unique take on rogue-like dungeon games.
  11. Aug 11, 2015
    77
    Guild of Dungeoneering is challenging and cleverly designed. One of those games always installed on the hard disk that regularly tempts you to play another match.
  12. PC Gamer
    Sep 15, 2015
    76
    Charming and accessible, but this is a game to play with the sound off while you're watching TV. [Nov 2015, p.62]
  13. Aug 10, 2015
    75
    With memorable art style and brilliant narrator, Guild of Dungeoneering is a whimsical card game with RPG elements. A light-hearted adventure that lacks depth, but offers a really fun challenge.
  14. Jul 21, 2015
    75
    Guild of Dungeoneering is easy to get into and understand thanks to its simplicity, but it is that simplicity which ultimately prevents it from being something great.
  15. Jul 16, 2015
    75
    Guild of Dungeoneering offers a nice mixture of genres with RPG and strategy elements combined in a card game. The gameplay is challenging and elaborate, with the exception of the fighting system, which is a bit simplistic.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 54
  2. Negative: 20 out of 54
  1. Jul 16, 2015
    10
    Cute graphics and found the gameplay quite addictive, makes me want to keep going back to play more when my character dies. Good for boardCute graphics and found the gameplay quite addictive, makes me want to keep going back to play more when my character dies. Good for board game fans. Cool soundtrack too, worth checking out Full Review »
  2. Aug 2, 2015
    5
    TL;DR: Some nice ideas, but not the best implementation.

    The game has a certain charm you can hardly deny - and the general battle
    TL;DR: Some nice ideas, but not the best implementation.

    The game has a certain charm you can hardly deny - and the general battle mechanics are well-thought. But the game lacks just a little bit in regards to long-term motivation and replayability.

    It really bothers me for example that i can not re-do already done dungeons. The worst thing: At the time i finished the game there were still three class building unbuilt - means i couldn't play three classes. But since you can't re-do done dungeons i would need to grind all the early parts of the game again to test the classes i couldn't test last time. Of course i expect add-ons - especially because the game hardly took 20 hours to complete - but that doesn't really make up for it.

    The game feels a little bit content-starved. The basics are there: For example that some dungeons are a lot easier with certain heroes and item-build-pathes. But to make this one a really good game there needs to be tons of additional content, like a slight character advancement and generally bigger pools of items.

    After about 10 hours of playing you sadly know every item in the game. And if you realize what is really strong, you won't really use other items any more. So every dungeon gets to be repetitive - slaying weaker monsters until you have your items, then go and kill the boss.

    I think this game has the potential to go up to 7, 8 or 9 points - but in its release version, i sadly can't give more than 5 points, although i certainly hope it will see lots of improvement with the upcoming add-ons.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2015
    0
    There is zero progression in this game, it is not a dungeon crawler.

    This is an rng card game that turns into the the biggest grinder since
    There is zero progression in this game, it is not a dungeon crawler.

    This is an rng card game that turns into the the biggest grinder since ddo, the only way to get ahead is to grind gold, which gives some upgrade guild options, but youll hate that all your characters start as weaponlesss weaklings every dungeon.
    Full Review »