Gunpoint Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 404 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gunpoint is a stealth puzzle game that lets you rewire its levels to trick people.

    You're a freelance spy, infiltrating high security buildings with subterfuge, face-punching, and an unusual type of electronic sabotage. You can cross-link things like light switches and doors so that the
    Gunpoint is a stealth puzzle game that lets you rewire its levels to trick people.

    You're a freelance spy, infiltrating high security buildings with subterfuge, face-punching, and an unusual type of electronic sabotage. You can cross-link things like light switches and doors so that the guards unwittingly take out their own security systems, their colleagues, and even themselves. It's pretty funny.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gunpoint -Gadget Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    95
    Gunpoint is fun, innovative, simple, engaging and a whole host of adjectives that would take far too much time to write out. So I will say this instead: Play this game because you won’t regret it.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    90
    Gunpoint is a short, well-crafted title that combines film noir, stealth, and hacking puzzles into a incredibly fun gaming experience. No one mechanic or playstyle takes precedence over the others, but all are equally balanced and fun to play around with.
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    90
    Gunpoint is a refreshingly welcome addition to the burgeoning stealth genre. It nails player movement, puzzles, and storytelling in games, and completely removes anything that stands in the way of these three.
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Smart, fun and challenging enough without being punishing: Gunpoint is a brilliant indie game that every nostalgic of the Amiga and PC “golden age” of gaming shouldn't miss.
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    Gunpoint borders on puzzle game genera without fear, giving us a great crossing of genres, short but intense.
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    80
    Become a detective, who's using obstacles on his way as launching pads to his success. Gunpoint is a dope to the action-stealth genre with its entirely new and unorthodox gameplay. The only thing spoiling the overall experience is that the game is short.
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    70
    Gunpoint is stylish, incredibly atmospheric and quite deceptive as it is actually a clever puzzle rather than stealth action. Too bad it is only 3 hours long, and there is no incentive to revisit the game when you’re done with it.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 120
  2. Negative: 8 out of 120
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    I bought the game because it looked like an interesting little platformer, and instead I was pleasantly greeted with one of the most genuinelyI bought the game because it looked like an interesting little platformer, and instead I was pleasantly greeted with one of the most genuinely funny, and genuinely fun games that I've played to date.

    You play as Richard Conway, a freelance spy working on the case of the recently deceased Selena Delgado. Throughout the story you contact people of interest and potential clients through your phone, which gives you around three response-options where the clients can respond back. It's an interesting means of progressing the story and it works well, using humor that can be taken by some as childish, but is overall hilarious and doesn't rub off as cheesy. Almost nothing in the game rubs off as cheesy or cliche despite the extreme prevalence of corniness in similar movies and games. The only thing is that the game was assembled with the YoYo GameMaker, which leaves limitations on certain aspects of the graphics, but is overall unnoticeable.

    The mechanics of movement are very easy to pick up and master. You can walk, climb along ceilings and walls, and use your absurdly powerful 'super-trousers'. The combination of the 3 makes for some of the best movement mechanics I've ever encountered with a game, seeing as there is almost no room for anything to go wrong. You can jump, scale, and tackle from any part of the map with ease and it's a blast. Since the platforming aspect itself is almost clean as butter, most of the challenge in the game comes from the very innovative 'Cross-link' system. Essentially you are given the ability to rewire any component of the building at will, 'use this button to open that door, or use this security camera to send the elevator to that floor'. It too works cleanly and effectively, meaning that most of the game is spent thinking about the most efficient means of completing the objective. The game just plays as it should, no complications.

    The art-style and music form this noire-esque type of feel and they work wonderfully together. The music sounds like something that should play when a real detective is working on a case. Opening Cross-link mode turns the music into a slightly muffled but slightly techni-fied version, giving a techy feel to an otherwise retro game.

    The story and length of play are the only things that leave something to be desired. Most people will finish the game in 3-4 hours, and the story as a whole doesn't do the rest of the game justice. Bear in mind that each individual segment of the story is executed perfectly, but that the pieces don't seem to work so well when put together. Regardless, I think the game is a steal for 10 bucks and is well worth anyone's time to play, the game is easy and an overall fun experience. Nothing detracts from the game enough to warrant a decrease in score: it does it's job, and gets out. That's all I ask for from a game and Gunpoint has done just that and more in a new manner. There's nothing like it, buy it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    I am really enjoying this game, alot more so than any other new release in recent memory. Mixing stealth and puzzle together so seamlessly wasI am really enjoying this game, alot more so than any other new release in recent memory. Mixing stealth and puzzle together so seamlessly was a brilliant move. The crosslink has to be one of the most amusing game gadgets I've used since the portal gun. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    One of the few indie games I really enjoyed playing through, my only problem with it is that it doesn't last for very long, but if you wantOne of the few indie games I really enjoyed playing through, my only problem with it is that it doesn't last for very long, but if you want something new and refreshing this is a game I would definitely recommend. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    This game was a standout I think. Basic, clean, and efficient in design. It is clear cut fun mixed with thinking. The different abilities youThis game was a standout I think. Basic, clean, and efficient in design. It is clear cut fun mixed with thinking. The different abilities you can purchase are comical and add various ways to beat the different stages. You could make a guard shoot another guard with a pull of a switch three stories away or maybe kick a door into 3 guards, killing them instantly. The graphic choice adds to the great atmosphere and mood of the game itself. The only complaint would be play time, but as I said before, you can easily re-play Gunpoint and have fun doing so. Quite possibly one of my favorite indie games so far, all condensed into a strategic, stealth, puzzle game; fun for everyone. Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    A good little game. smart, funny, simple, efficient. A short blast,but a worthwhile one. The art design is really cool, the dialogs, thoughA good little game. smart, funny, simple, efficient. A short blast,but a worthwhile one. The art design is really cool, the dialogs, though sometime a bit tiresome to read, are really well made and clever. The soundtrack is also a hit, reminding me of L.A. Noire. My only problem with the game would be its really short lenght. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    This game has a lot of funny moments, and the game play is solid. My one and only complaint with it is that its very short. But you can designThis game has a lot of funny moments, and the game play is solid. My one and only complaint with it is that its very short. But you can design your own levels for it, so that somewhat makes up for it. All in all, very fun game. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    The only reason this game scores high is because the developer is and has been writing for Future Publishing for over 10 years. Concerning theThe only reason this game scores high is because the developer is and has been writing for Future Publishing for over 10 years. Concerning the game, its short and boring and the puzzles are too easy. It comes down to trial and error with no replay value. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Trailers