User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1247 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    The revolution has began. Valve did it with the original Half-Life. Then pushed the limits with Half-Life 2. Now Alyx is here to bring us the future of videogames.

    Best Half-Life. Best AAA title. Best VR game. I have spoken.
  2. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    This is the beginning of the greatest revolution in the gaming industry that I have ever seen. The ending is amazing! I put 10/10 without any doubt!
  3. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Fantastic game! Very scary, very fun, and amazing storytelling.... Can't wait for another... ADDICTED
  4. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    It's not just another "vr game" It's so immersive I forgot about covid 19 pandemy.
  5. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Don’t listen to the troll reviews! Valve has worked hard on this game and made it compatible for even the most affordable HMDs. There are more ways to use movement, such as smooth locomotion instead of teleportation. Ladder movement has been fixed! The level design, sound design, graphics and puzzles are phenomenal.
  6. Mar 23, 2020
    3
    It’s really not that Hal-life, that was expected by fans for years. I think it is made for selling Vavle’s versions of VR. After Boneworks it’s no pleasure to play Alyx.
  7. Mar 23, 2020
    0
    Uninspired, jaggy, rushed fan service to the most overrated franchise of all time. LMFAO. critics giving this a 10/10 to justify their $1000 PC VR headset purchase.
  8. Mar 23, 2020
    0
    Ensure you have a finger tracked setup for this game. Nothing is added by using VR for this game, a bad shot at trying to breathe some life into VR using a beloved franchise.
  9. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    The awesome part of Hal-Life series! Cool story, gameplay, graphics, characters and optimization.
  10. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Definitely on of the best vr games I've ever seen, it has beautiful graphics and an engaging story.
  11. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a masterpiece. I'm playing on low fidelity due to my pc being a bit of a potato. But it still plays really well and is truly the best vr game I have played to date. Expand
  12. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Great gameplay
    Great story (the story was unpredictable as well)
    Great ending
    Well optimized game
    Great graphics
    I think the negative review's were becuse of why the game is made for vr
  13. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Obra maestra, definitivamente es revolucionario como todas las entregas anteriores, está vez la revolución fue el vr como en juegos anteriores no era fácil jugarlos necesitabas de un buen PC entonces si no tienes vr no tienes porque votar negativamente eventualmente todos los juegos serán vr
  14. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Valve did a new revolution ı think. They did two revolution in 1998 and 2004 and now they did another. VR can be the future for gamers. I was not thinking that before playing half life alyx but everything has changed after this game. This is amazing. I cant tell it with words. İt is perfect .
  15. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Valve have always been famous for pushing technical boundaries further in games. The company that made Half Life, Steam, SteamController, Valve index and 2 most popular online games ever now presented a game changing VR game utilizing newest technology and bringing it to masses.
    To be honest, I can't recall a non-vr game having such awesome photorealistic graphics. Now seeing such
    Valve have always been famous for pushing technical boundaries further in games. The company that made Half Life, Steam, SteamController, Valve index and 2 most popular online games ever now presented a game changing VR game utilizing newest technology and bringing it to masses.
    To be honest, I can't recall a non-vr game having such awesome photorealistic graphics. Now seeing such mindblowing level of visual fidelity in VR, the deeply detailed world while having a constant high rate FPS - this shows who is the Boss of video games industry. Not just Vavle is the Boss of All Games being Steam, but they still make killer games at a level that no studio can beat. They have best programmers and artists. Valve produced the best VR game ever existing to date, and made an important contribution in popularizing virtual reality headsets.
    Expand
  16. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Games like these are used as benchmarks that will be remember forever. From the story and also from the gameplay point of view, this is amazing.
  17. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    good excellent thanks for your time Glad tiding the sound configuration of duty
  18. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    crown and it was disgusting that I i me i I will have to sideload me to the
  19. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Now there is this thing called being jealous. That is certainly how some people reacted to the game coming out and not being able to play it because they do not own or want the required hardware. I wonder if they have the same reaction to games coming out to consoles etc. that they do not own. Or maybe they just want endless iterations of the game they have played already. Ah well, I'dNow there is this thing called being jealous. That is certainly how some people reacted to the game coming out and not being able to play it because they do not own or want the required hardware. I wonder if they have the same reaction to games coming out to consoles etc. that they do not own. Or maybe they just want endless iterations of the game they have played already. Ah well, I'd recommend this game in particular on the simple fact that it is finally pushing a reemerged technology forward into gaming. Expand
  20. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    An incredible addition to the Half-Life series. Iy has absolutely everything you would hope for and more from a new Half-Life title. By far the best VR experience out there right now. Beautiful graphics, amazing story and dialogue, and the atmosphere is perfect. Headcrabs, zombies, and barnacles are all so much more creepy than ever before, and the sound design is absolutely superb. ThisAn incredible addition to the Half-Life series. Iy has absolutely everything you would hope for and more from a new Half-Life title. By far the best VR experience out there right now. Beautiful graphics, amazing story and dialogue, and the atmosphere is perfect. Headcrabs, zombies, and barnacles are all so much more creepy than ever before, and the sound design is absolutely superb. This is a perfect game in every way. The only way it could have been better is if it never ended. Expand
  21. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Действительно топовая игра для VR. Атмосферно, интересно, затягивающе. Ожидания оправдались, игра просто нечто.
  22. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    The best VR experience i ever had, nice job Valve!.

    Don´t listen to the trolls, who gave this game a bad voting. This right here is a masterpiece!
  23. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    It would be pointless to write another review, as there are already tons out there with WHY the game is so great. I am amazed how Valve manged it to bring HL2 (which I played religiously in 2004 and then HL2:DM for a long time) into 2020...and it doesn't feel dated but all new and exciting again. My Rift was literally collecting dust in its box...and this is finally a game I can't stopIt would be pointless to write another review, as there are already tons out there with WHY the game is so great. I am amazed how Valve manged it to bring HL2 (which I played religiously in 2004 and then HL2:DM for a long time) into 2020...and it doesn't feel dated but all new and exciting again. My Rift was literally collecting dust in its box...and this is finally a game I can't stop playing.
    Everything, everything about this game is just awesome.

    To the people who say that "they made it only to sell their $1000 index HMD": Well you can get a used Rift CV1 for €200, less than just an average gamer monitor. Your "$1000 HMD" argument doesn't fly anymore.
    Expand
  24. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Don't listen to the flatties trying to troll on this game.
    If you play this game, you would not be able to give it a bad score.
    I cannot praise this game enough. As an avid fan of VR as a platform, this is exactly the push we needed to show to the world VR is ready! Half-Life: Alyx is doing a massive service (and sure, making a tasty profit, not the point though) to the tech world by
    Don't listen to the flatties trying to troll on this game.
    If you play this game, you would not be able to give it a bad score.

    I cannot praise this game enough.
    As an avid fan of VR as a platform, this is exactly the push we needed to show to the world VR is ready!
    Half-Life: Alyx is doing a massive service (and sure, making a tasty profit, not the point though) to the tech world by putting VR in the spotlight once more. Valve don't just stop there however. At the same time they are contributing to the arts and nacent XR development industry, raising the bar on input language, immersive narrative through entity interactions, and just such a satisfying, solid, and unique gaming experience.

    As a VR developer myself, it's hard to overstate the importance of this game to the industry. Surely a water-shed moment for tech at large.
    Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Best game ever i m just sad that it didn't last for ever hopefully we get new one soom
  26. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Half Life is back.

    Make no mistake, this is not Half Life 3, but it is a full-fledged Half Life game, a wonderful addition to the series, and pushes the boundaries of gaming's newest frontier like all major Half Life games should. Some experienced VR users have expressed frustration with some features that Alyx is missing compared to other VR games like H3 and Boneworks. These
    Half Life is back.

    Make no mistake, this is not Half Life 3, but it is a full-fledged Half Life game, a wonderful addition to the series, and pushes the boundaries of gaming's newest frontier like all major Half Life games should.

    Some experienced VR users have expressed frustration with some features that Alyx is missing compared to other VR games like H3 and Boneworks. These critiques are valid, but my theory is that this is because Valve has included only the most polished VR interactions and features that they could. It is a solid title for both those new to VR, as well as people who have been escaping meatspace since 2016 or even earlier.

    If you bought a VR headset for this game and are finished with it, don't put that headset away yet, this isn't all VR has to offer. If you want more Half-Life in VR just on an indie budget, pick up Boneworks. If you want more physics-based combat, pick up Blade & Sorcery or GORN. If you want even more intricate and wonderful gunplay, pick up Hot Dogs, Horseshoes, & Hand Grenades. If now you're thinking you'd like to try Counter-Strike in VR, pick up Pavlov. If you want another linear semi-horror, single-player VR FPS, pick up Walking Dead: Saints and Sinners. If you want something completely different, you can't go wrong with Beat Saber.

    Many people have already proclaimed Half Life: Alyx to be VRs "killer app" and that argument certainly has merit, but don't let that trick you into thinking it's all there is worth playing.
    Expand
  27. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Es una jodida maravilla, mira que tenía las expectativas altas pero pffff, las ha superado, y la optimización es brutal, hasta con una GTX 1650 se puede jugar.
  28. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Played the whole game, took about 12 hours to complete. In terms of gameplay it's not going to blow your mind but it's not intended to. It feels incredibly natural, what you think should happen will usually happen. Make sure you avoid spoilers because the game has a great story which you will want to earn. I see a lot of people saying the game is disappointing compared to Boneworks butPlayed the whole game, took about 12 hours to complete. In terms of gameplay it's not going to blow your mind but it's not intended to. It feels incredibly natural, what you think should happen will usually happen. Make sure you avoid spoilers because the game has a great story which you will want to earn. I see a lot of people saying the game is disappointing compared to Boneworks but everything I disliked about Boneworks wasn't in this game. Platforming in Boneworks was irritating. The thumbstick movement in Boneworks made me feel really sick but with Alyx I didn't feel anything with the blink motion enabled. The action with guns felt incredibly similar but Half Life had the added great scripting of the enemies and each big fight felt like you were fighting for your life.

    The short review is it's amazing and it is an instant VR classic.

    Notes for people who are on the fence:

    1. You don't need to buy the Valve Index
    2. It's a prequel but it definitely adds to the story of the original games
    3. It isn't Half Life 3 but uses the Half Life universe correctly and treats the lore well
    4. The game really wouldn't be the same with a mouse and keyboard, people will complain but the game would be so easy with a mouse a keyboard but the added complexity of VR IS the game.
    5. If you are interested in VR and just are waiting for an opportunity this is definitely the opportunity but if you aren't interested that is fine
    6. There is no need to spam 0/10 ratings on a game you never played
    Expand
  29. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Half-Life: ALYX is one of the best games I've ever played on any platform, and certainly the best VR game I've ever played. You might notice that the reviews are either 10/10 or 0/10 and the only people rating it 0/10 didn't actually play the game. It has a few minor flaws such as so-so melee, but the full package makes up for it and then some. The guns feel satisfying to use. TheHalf-Life: ALYX is one of the best games I've ever played on any platform, and certainly the best VR game I've ever played. You might notice that the reviews are either 10/10 or 0/10 and the only people rating it 0/10 didn't actually play the game. It has a few minor flaws such as so-so melee, but the full package makes up for it and then some. The guns feel satisfying to use. The locomotion is polished and a joy to use, even on Vive touchpads. The graphics are not as good as some other AAA flatscreen games, but it still looks fantastic. This is done because VR needs high framerates and high resolutions to look even ok.

    I won't spoil anything, but the game is worth it for the ending alone.
    Expand
  30. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    The best vr title to date.
    Just love it. Gameplay is fun and scavenging around the levels is really enjoyable. Could have more sceneries.
  31. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    Half Life: Alyx is an absolutely phenomenal game. The creative level design, art style, puzzles, and dialog are right at home in the Half Life universe, and while Half Life: Alyx may not be the long awaited Half Life 3, Valve is definitely back at it with a new welcome addition to the Half Life universe. TL;DR below.

    THE PROS: - I continue to struggle to describe the way this game
    Half Life: Alyx is an absolutely phenomenal game. The creative level design, art style, puzzles, and dialog are right at home in the Half Life universe, and while Half Life: Alyx may not be the long awaited Half Life 3, Valve is definitely back at it with a new welcome addition to the Half Life universe. TL;DR below.

    THE PROS:

    - I continue to struggle to describe the way this game looks, but I keep coming back to the same term, polished. It's by far the most polished VR game I have ever played, and probably one of the most well polished games I have ever played in general. I could talk for days about how stunningly beautiful this game is. Creative level design aside, taking in the views from City 17 is mesmerizing. From the Citadel towering above the clouds in the beginning of the game to the discarded cereal boxes along the side of the road, every detail is fleshed out to a level we've come to associate with Valve quality.

    - The gun play in this game, while not necessarily as in depth as some other more gun-focused titles, is fantastic. You can't swap hands without changing settings, there are only 3 weapons in total, and there is as of right now no melee combat in the game. HOWEVER, I want to stress this point because I've seen that it's a topic of discussion in more negative reviews, this game benefits from the lack of these features. Half Life has always been about story and lore first. Combat is important, but the world weaving is much more important. The game doesn't give you a lot of ammunition but it gives you enough to get the job done if you get a little strategic. The upgrade system for the weapons you can find is fantastic and works into the game play very, very well. I never found myself wanting, and the 3 guns you get are amazing.

    - The puzzles in this game are some of the most clever I've encountered. The best way I can put it is that they are all engaging enough to never be boring or too time consuming, but simple enough that you won't find yourself getting irritated.

    - The banter back and forth between Alyx and Russell is worth a few laughs and not much else, but it's a welcome addition in my opinion. I'm so used to gaming experiences where I play seemingly as a mute, or my dialog options are silent and responded to out of nowhere. The dialog in Half Life: Alyx is a small part of the game but it's enough to add just a tad more immersion for a VR experience.

    - The game play, ooh the game play. There are a few levels in the game that play like nothing I have ever experienced. Now granted, I'm certainly no professional so my experience may be somewhat limited, but there were so many moments of pure shock to the dynamic environment, moments of "oh you've got to be freakin' kidding me" from the unique challenges that you face, and moments of complete awe from the intricate scenery you're constantly surrounded in. Your spectators from a stream even get a detailed HUD reminiscent of previous Half Life games so they can see your health and ammo easily. You can chose from several movement options, but even when free locomoting, you can still teleport, which I found to be a wonderful combination. It is by far and away the best VR game I have played so far for all of these reasons and more.

    THE CONS:

    - When in free locomotion, Alyx walks a little slow. It's the apocalypse and we're on a mission. We could at least jog.

    - I know I said that limited ammo is a good thing because it makes you be a little more strategic, but I always found myself having more than enough ammo for the pistol and sub-machine gun, while simultaneously never having enough for the shotgun. I've heard that it spawns dynamically depending on what you use most, but I could never use the shotgun the most because I never had enough ammo. The shotgun is the most fun weapon in the game and has the best laser sight by far. Give me some more ammo for it.

    - That's literally it. I'm well known in my circles for being the "I like this, but..." guy, but I genuinely cannot find anything else about this game to complain about other than give me more shotgun shells, and Alyx walks a little too slow. Those are some pretty small complaints.

    IN CONCLUSION (TL;DR):

    Half Life: Alyx is an amazing VR game. You should buy and play it for yourself because it's worth absolutely every penny. It's not without a few shortcomings, but they don't impact my score enough to bring it down to a 9/10. The story keeps you interested, the gun play and game play work incredibly well, and this is by far the most beautiful VR game I've ever seen.

    To those people who are upset that it's only in VR and can't play this game, I'm sorry that you don't get to enjoy it. However, that doesn't mean you should dismiss VR as a gimmick like I see so many people doing. Valve uses Half Life to push boundaries, and this game does that.

    We're here. we're not looking at what VR "can be" anymore. We're looking at what VR already is.
    Expand
  32. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    Lo más parecido a catar un buen vino reserva. De esos que no puedes degustar a diario y dejan un gusto que nada tiene que ver con los otros vinos más mundanos.
    Han pasado 17 años sin saber nada del universo de Gordon Freeman y su mundo de Half Life 2... ¡Pero qué regreso! Valve, la desarrolladora, no solo ha vuelto a poner a la saga a la altura de la excelencia. Este Half Life Alyx ha
    Lo más parecido a catar un buen vino reserva. De esos que no puedes degustar a diario y dejan un gusto que nada tiene que ver con los otros vinos más mundanos.
    Han pasado 17 años sin saber nada del universo de Gordon Freeman y su mundo de Half Life 2... ¡Pero qué regreso! Valve, la desarrolladora, no solo ha vuelto a poner a la saga a la altura de la excelencia. Este Half Life Alyx ha entrado como un elefante en una cacharrería del mundo gamer tradicional y gracias a la experiencia VR ha elevado la fórmula del entretenimiento interactivo cuando nadie se lo esperaba.
    Corred, insensatos. Volad a por unas Oculus, unas Vive o las Index de Valve si tenéis el presupuesto... y jugad al mejor juego de la década. El que marca un punto de no retorno, el que ha puesto por méritos propios, al resto de desarrolladoras como estudios pequeñitos en un periquete.
    Lo que he vivido no se puede expresar con palabras. Hay que probarlo y tocar, mirar, asombrarse, flipar y llorar de emoción...
    Un Must Play de la década.
    Expand
  33. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Valve somehow could repeat the same effect as it was in 1998 and 2004. Though it isn't packed with all possible physical VR interactions (like boneworks does) it is much more comfortable and interesting to play. So I could say it is The First full length single player AAA VR game. It is not a VR demo or some physics sandbox. It is big solid experience. And it is Awesome! Bravo, Valve!
  34. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    I genuinely can't explain what a trip this game was. To put it simply, the ending is cathartic.
  35. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    Only VR game I played for 6 hours straight. its soooo good. so immersive. must play for VR,
  36. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    Half-life is back on track with this title and pretty much confims an Half-Life 3 possibility more than ever. What a time to be alive o/
  37. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    Just a master piece of video game in all plat form.

    The game is very funny and absolutly immersive, for me is the best game of this VR generation and more!
  38. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    I've been playing video games beginning with Pong in the 70s and subsequently: all the early arcade games (Space Invaders, Galaxian, Defender, Scramble etc); the early 80s home PC games (Manic Miner, Atic Atac, Elite etc); console games (from the early days of Nintendo and Sega up to the present day consoles); PC gaming (I have a huge library of Steam games which i still play); and now VR.I've been playing video games beginning with Pong in the 70s and subsequently: all the early arcade games (Space Invaders, Galaxian, Defender, Scramble etc); the early 80s home PC games (Manic Miner, Atic Atac, Elite etc); console games (from the early days of Nintendo and Sega up to the present day consoles); PC gaming (I have a huge library of Steam games which i still play); and now VR.

    Thus I've witnessed all the giant leaps in gaming over the years and make no mistake this game is indicative why VR is one of them. Anyone who is giving it a low score clearly hasn't played it and is salty that it's a VR exclusive game or has played it and is blind to the significance of this game. Tech moves on and you can now buy low priced VR headsets and you don't need a PC that costs the earth. And to those moaning about the cost of entry, many of you will spend roughly the cost of an Index upgrading your phone every 12-18 months for an incrementally improved phone that is super iterative.

    And to those moaning about spending a lot of money just for one game, there are numerous amazing games to suit every taste such as: Beat Saber, Super Hot, Lone Echo, Robo Recall, Asgard’s Wrath, Skyrim VR, GTA V (modded), Moss, Gorn, Subnautica, Project Cars 2, Dirt Rally, Tetris Effect, Batman Arkham VR, Pinball FX2 VR, Eleven Table Tennis, Ghost Giant, I Expect You to Die, Battlezone, Rez Infinite, Thumper, Polybius, Star Trek Bridge Crew, Accounting+, Trover Saves the Universe, the Serious Sam games, Sairento, A Fisherman’s Tale, Doom 3 (modded), Bow to Blood, Elven Assassin, Virtual Virtual Reality, Transpose, Fujii, A Chair In a Room etc (I could carry on and on).

    Then there's the amazing experiences with many being free: Google Earth VR, VRChat, Rec Room, Daft Punk – One More Time, Museum of Other Realities, Museum of Fine Art, The Scream, Dreams of Dali, Mona Lisa Beyond the Glass, 1943 Berlin Blitz, Apollo 11, Anne Frank House, Dear Angelica, Bonfire, Nefetari, The Body VR: Journey Inside a Cell, The Wolves in the Walls, Crow: The Legend (to name but a few).

    If you're a non-VR gamer, do yourself a favour and take the leap in order to experience this incredible game and many others!
    Expand
  39. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    The awesome part of Hal-Life series! Cool story, gameplay, graphics, characters and optimization.
  40. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    I Waited so long but it finally there To those guys that review it 0/10 because they too poor to buy a vr headset if you dont like that it only in vr just ignore it you review the game but you dont even played it . If you wanna really review it first just watch the game play on youtube then do it
  41. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    The absolute highest quality VR game to date. The level of detail and polish only achievable by a company with a bottomless pit of resources like Steam/Valve. Definitely a must try for any VR gamer.
  42. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    A must-play masterpiece. Half-Life is back! And it's back in a big way!!!

    Valve still has it.
  43. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    Valve did it again and hopefully this amazing game will pave the way for more HL in VR. Some people, mostly those who never tried VR, will keep complaining about this being VR only but Valve made the right decision here. It's the future and I'm really sorry for those who refuse to see it, someday hopefully they'll come around and realize how VR makes everything so much better.

    As for
    Valve did it again and hopefully this amazing game will pave the way for more HL in VR. Some people, mostly those who never tried VR, will keep complaining about this being VR only but Valve made the right decision here. It's the future and I'm really sorry for those who refuse to see it, someday hopefully they'll come around and realize how VR makes everything so much better.

    As for the game itself, it has fantastic pacing, incredible level of detail in every stage, great combat, good puzzles and a brilliant ending that makes all these years of wait worth it. The post-credits scene is already one of those iconic moments you'll never forget. Now please, give us HL3 in VR.
    Expand
  44. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    This is the best VR game I have ever played. And besides, also on the beloved half life universe!
  45. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    No Spoilers

    Summary: It's an amazing experience in the world of HL!!! 10 A little history about myself. Half Life has been my favorite FPS since I picked up the crowbar for the first time. I played the original 1 month after released and replayed it countless times. I was one of those who purchased the HL2 collectors pack at Best Buy 4 days before they were supposed to have released
    No Spoilers

    Summary: It's an amazing experience in the world of HL!!! 10

    A little history about myself. Half Life has been my favorite FPS since I picked up the crowbar for the first time. I played the original 1 month after released and replayed it countless times. I was one of those who purchased the HL2 collectors pack at Best Buy 4 days before they were supposed to have released it only to find I couldn't play it yet :( I have played every single player campaign multiple times up to HL2 Episode 2, which I did not beat until 3 days ago. All these years I swore I would not beat the E2 until a new game was here. All those years I waited and ignored the plot. I was spoiler free for all that time until 3 days ago. And now we have HL Alyx.....

    In no uncertain terms, this is a "Half Life" game. The decision to go VR doesn't surprise me. I definitely wasn't sure about it at first. I have been playing VR for 3+ years but only simulators like xPlane, DCS, Assetto Corsa etc... Never before had I played a FPS in VR until HLA.

    The only issue I had at first was fixed with the patch that enabled smooth turning. That was the only real gripe I had from a gameplay perspective.

    As for the game itself I have nothing really to add that many others haven't already discussed in depth.

    Final verdict - It's an amazing experience in the world of HL!!! 10
    Expand
  46. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    This is what become the gold standard in VR gaming for years to come. Is it perfect? No. Nothing is perfect. But having Valve release a Half-Life game again after decades, now even if I got contracted with COVID-19 I can die happily..
  47. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    A masterpiece of work. ı wish everyone can get Half-Life: Alyx and play it.
  48. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    Next level Experience in Gaming. Similar to the step from 2D to 3D. It is an unbelievable joy to hold the gun and tools in your hand.
  49. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    Best game ever must-play! Perfectly paced! The details is amazing! And the story is told perfectly! 10/10 ! Cant wait to see what Valve does next!
  50. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    This game is truly the best one I ever played, valve have set another bar for the vr industries don't listen to people who are angry because they don't want to buy a vr headset because it's too expensive, they're blind trust me in less than a year these people are gonna just realize that cheap vr headset exist and they gonna pick those cheap headset because YOU DON'T NEED AN 1000$ INDEX toThis game is truly the best one I ever played, valve have set another bar for the vr industries don't listen to people who are angry because they don't want to buy a vr headset because it's too expensive, they're blind trust me in less than a year these people are gonna just realize that cheap vr headset exist and they gonna pick those cheap headset because YOU DON'T NEED AN 1000$ INDEX to play HL:A as you don't need a 1000 PC to play GTA V, doom Eternal, borderlands 3, etc... I've played half life Alyx on my original Oculus rift, that is a 4 year old headset and it's as good as the 1000 dollars index maybe you have less fov or less fps but at least i can play this game and trust me this game is worth your time ! Expand
  51. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Great game with a great story. You can play it with any VR headset, the Valve headset is not required. I always loved Alyx as a character but now she got even better with funny and dialog. The new character Russel is a great addition to Half life and the Gordon team and i hope that he will be there for the next Half life.
  52. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    I've been playing for more than 25 years and this is the first time I bother writing a review. This game is AMAZING and EVERYONE needs to play this. I know that a VR setup and the headset is expensive but I really think it worth it. My only complaint is, I feel like there should be more enemies in the game, especially combine soldiers. It's soo much fun to fight against them but theI've been playing for more than 25 years and this is the first time I bother writing a review. This game is AMAZING and EVERYONE needs to play this. I know that a VR setup and the headset is expensive but I really think it worth it. My only complaint is, I feel like there should be more enemies in the game, especially combine soldiers. It's soo much fun to fight against them but the system only releases 2-4 enemies at a time..by the time I warm up, it's already finished. Still, amazing game, if this is not a 10 out of 10 (vr) game for some people, I honestly don't know what is. Expand
  53. Mar 29, 2020
    9
    This is the masterpiece that VR needed to solidify itself as a viable area for developers to make experiences in. Valve is back, and this game is proof of that. If you love Half-Life, you'll love this game, and the ending.
  54. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    They really did it. Lived up to the hype. I'm running a 3-year old rig, i5, GTX1060, and the experience is amazing. Scaled and optimized very well. Incredibly immersive interaction and positional audio. Makes you really 'live' in the world, and it's scary as hell.

    This is the new standard for FPS VR.
  55. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Just finished the story line. Half Life Alyx is the culmination of the entire history of video games. Not just of virtual reality. The mechanics. The graphics. The immersion. The art. Absolutely a pleasure.
  56. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    What can I say – this game is amazing. I clearly remember the moment when I put on my glasses run the game and saw myself in the middle of City17 with the citadel in front of me – this was indescribable feeling. You know what? This feeling is with you whole the time. I take my hat off to Valve, they did it again – they show a new direction for whole game industries. It's amazing step, andWhat can I say – this game is amazing. I clearly remember the moment when I put on my glasses run the game and saw myself in the middle of City17 with the citadel in front of me – this was indescribable feeling. You know what? This feeling is with you whole the time. I take my hat off to Valve, they did it again – they show a new direction for whole game industries. It's amazing step, and I hope that Valve make HL3 in the same way.
    Best game experience for years. Even now when I relay this words I have goosebumps just thinking about it :-)
    Expand
  57. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    Half-Life: Alyx is such a great return to the Half-Life series and every aspect that we love so much about the previous entries is enhanced by VR. This is a step in the right direction and a must play for everyone invested in this chain reaction of unforeseen consequences.
  58. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    First Of All:
    You Can't just Come And Review A Game you Didnt Play.
    Second Of All:
    Half-Life Alyx Was Like Mercy From Gabe Newell, I Really Loved The Half-Life Series, And This Is A Miracle.
  59. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    If you are rich like me you will enjoy the game, If you are poor, Then go watch pewdiepie's gameplays of Half-Life: Alyx, Either way it is a fun game, And don't worry, VR will get cheaper in 3-5 years, It's like SSD which was expensive in early 2010s and now SSDs are cheaper than HDDs :D
  60. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This game is very immersive and interesting, it expands on half life universe, blows away with it's gameplay mechanics, it's definitely one of the best VR games ever made. I don't get why people that don't have VR and never even played the game can review it.
  61. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    MASTERPIECE!!!! It's THE GAME of virtual reality. It's a wonder in every way. This game is taken care of in every tiny detail. The immersion is absolute and after 104 minutes played for now and just getting out of bed I'm going to go straight out and keep playing.
    Half life Alyx is a gem that has set a standard in gaming and VR since it was released yesterday.
    Get yourself some VR
    MASTERPIECE!!!! It's THE GAME of virtual reality. It's a wonder in every way. This game is taken care of in every tiny detail. The immersion is absolute and after 104 minutes played for now and just getting out of bed I'm going to go straight out and keep playing.
    Half life Alyx is a gem that has set a standard in gaming and VR since it was released yesterday.
    Get yourself some VR glasses and try this game you will never regret.
    Expand
  62. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Game changer, it's worth the price. It's seriously the best game I ever played.
  63. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Not only a masterclass in VR world-building, gameplay, and mechanics but a masterclass in narrative storytelling on any platform or medium.
  64. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Wow, I just finished. I can't believe that not only is there a new Half-Life game, but it's in VR and 100% lives up to the quality of HL1 and HL2. This is without a doubt the best VR game ever made. It's also one of the best looking games I have ever played (sometimes I would pick up a clock or a hotel card, hold it up to my face, and fail to find any "tells" that I was looking at aWow, I just finished. I can't believe that not only is there a new Half-Life game, but it's in VR and 100% lives up to the quality of HL1 and HL2. This is without a doubt the best VR game ever made. It's also one of the best looking games I have ever played (sometimes I would pick up a clock or a hotel card, hold it up to my face, and fail to find any "tells" that I was looking at a digital rendering and not a real object) and a wonderful example of thrilling game design.

    Any concerns I initially had about there being too much humor faded after I realized I was playing a pretty scary horror game and that the humor is just there to keep things from getting unbearably bleak. The writing is sharp, the acting is fantastic, and Valve keeps each new area full of interesting surprises.

    Combat is surprisingly challenging. There are a lot of things to juggle, between keeping your guns loaded and accessing you inventory mid-combat while not getting mowed down instantly. Alyx is not Gordon Freeman and does not have a magical bullet suit, so she dies very quickly if you don't retreat or stay in cover.

    The level of immersion is off the charts, even for a VR game, in part because of the absolutely gorgeous Source 2 engine and Valve's top-tier art team and level designers. There is also plenty here for Half-Life fans to enjoy, with familiar characters, enemies, and weapons making appearances.

    Also, the gravity gloves are brilliantly implemented, and strike the perfect balance between utility and being overpowered. They are not the gravity gun, and you will not be mowing down fools by hitting them with a cinder block at Mach 3. They're more for grabbing distant items and to keep you from having to bend over all the time to pick things up.

    All in all, I couldn't be happier with this purchase. Valve did it.
    Expand
  65. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Can't wait for Half-Life Brain interfacing in 13 years

    Loved every second. Going to jump back in to get all the resin
  66. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    the best thing ever happened to PC gaming
    Best Half Life game/Best of VR game/Best pc game/
    JUST THE BEST GAME
    what can be better than this? maybe only something like Sword Art Online in real life?
    (btw SAO is **** i was just using it as example)
  67. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    The best VR game of all time and one of the best games this year. Not to even mention that it brings back one of the best game series back from the dead.
  68. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Wow! That's the future of gaming! Standing in front of the citadel in City17 and seeing the true size of it in VR is mind blowing! You can use your bare hands to interact with all the objects around you in such a natural way. I was immediately IN THIS WORLD. You'll forget your real space, but beware of the walls in your room :). There is so much attention to every detail paired with greatWow! That's the future of gaming! Standing in front of the citadel in City17 and seeing the true size of it in VR is mind blowing! You can use your bare hands to interact with all the objects around you in such a natural way. I was immediately IN THIS WORLD. You'll forget your real space, but beware of the walls in your room :). There is so much attention to every detail paired with great storytelling.

    It's so intense! Half Life reached the next level with VR. If you never played in VR, give it a try and do it slowly because Alyx is so immersive you can have some problems as beginner. Especially movement should be set to teleport for beginners to avoid instant motion sickness, veterans use smooth locomotion and have the best experience of their VR life!

    Love it!
    Expand
  69. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Ждали игру 13 лет, прошел игру в ютубе, отличная игра!
  70. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Simply the best, hand crafted while still being meaty with content. Nothing close to this with VR, a must play for VR
  71. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Valve is once again changing the way people play games and while many people are upset now, it wont be long before VR is going to be the way to go.
  72. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    This game is truly a masterpiece... I own the Rift for quiet some time now and played a lotof cool shooter games (e.g. Arizona Sunshine) but this game just blew my mind. Stunning graphics and the feeling of the game is just WOW. Everyone giving this game a score lower than 8 is just a troll or is salty because he/she can't afford a VR setup. If you own a compatible VR device, you have toThis game is truly a masterpiece... I own the Rift for quiet some time now and played a lotof cool shooter games (e.g. Arizona Sunshine) but this game just blew my mind. Stunning graphics and the feeling of the game is just WOW. Everyone giving this game a score lower than 8 is just a troll or is salty because he/she can't afford a VR setup. If you own a compatible VR device, you have to play this game! 12/10, much wow, will blow you away for sure. Expand
  73. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Never seen anything like this before in VR. Its been 4 hours but it felt like 40 minutes.
  74. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    I waited 7-8 years, and i can say............This amazing!!////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////.//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
  75. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Lovelovelovleovleovlrovleovl ovleovleovlrovlorlvorlvorlvrolvorlvorlgorlvorlvorlgoto
  76. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This is THE defining FPS adventure we have been waiting for in VR. Highly detailed, incredible story, incredible sound design. One heck of a game VR or not ! Absolute masterpiece of a game. This is my first Metarcritic review - But I had to get it out. INCREDIBLE game ! Plays flawless on the Rift S -
  77. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Не зря ради неё купил ВР! Графика - изумительная! Геимплей - разнообразный! Оптимизация - огонь
  78. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This game is a real masterpiece! The best game I have payer in my entire life ! It blown me away from start to finish!
  79. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    One of the best video games to this day and age!
    I jumped in with unrealistic expectations because it's the first half life game in 12 years but it somehow managed to surpass those expectations.
    It's worth buying a headset just to play it
  80. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    I've been a hesitant fan of VR for the better part of the past year ever since I tried out RE7 on PSVR. Despite the limitations I was really impressed and saw great potential in VR as not necessarily "the future" of gaming, but certainly as a very strong and viable alternative to flat-screen gaming. My only gripe at that point was the lack of titles available in VR.

    Valve has always
    I've been a hesitant fan of VR for the better part of the past year ever since I tried out RE7 on PSVR. Despite the limitations I was really impressed and saw great potential in VR as not necessarily "the future" of gaming, but certainly as a very strong and viable alternative to flat-screen gaming. My only gripe at that point was the lack of titles available in VR.

    Valve has always been at the forefront of the industry pushing new technology down consumer's throats until they conform, and in retrospect we find that it's usually for the better. Innovation is nothing to belittle and there is so much of it in Half Life: Alyx. As a game, it's also quite excellent. The aesthetic is pleasingly dark and they push horror-esque scenes throughout the game to better effect than actual horror games. The UI is intuitive and throwing grenades or pulling things in with your gravity gloves works like a charm. The music is very fitting in all situations, and definitely adds a lot to the game. Not forgettable at all. The first time you go up against Combine soldiers and the music from the trailer kicks on, it feels great. Additionally, Valve has promised 3 more AAA VR titles in the coming years and so it's looking like my gripe about there being no titles is about to be addressed.

    Having said that the game doesn't come without a few downsides that I hope will be addressed.

    - No run feature in smooth locomotion mode
    - Sometimes the physics engine messes up a bit. Haven't had anything game breaking
    - When I started the game the first time, there was an audio issue where any action performed by characters was not heard, but ambient noises and music could be. A restart fixed it and I haven't had a similar problem since, though.
    - Not enough crowbar

    But all in all this is a wonderful title. If you can, get yourself some knuckles controllers for this game because they work infinitely better than the alternatives, and obviously better headsets will make the game more enjoyable.

    As a sidenote, I've only completed about half of the game so far but if anything serious changes my opinion about it as the game progresses I'll rewrite my review and reassess the score I gave it.
    Expand
  81. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    This games consolidates all of the best VR practices we've seen in the best VR games in the past 2 years to create a solid VR experience.
    Not even mentioning that it's Half-life, it's a solid game on its own regardless of platform. the story, characters and dialog are amazing as we've come to expect from Valve.
    Many people back in the day would've complained too that their 486 based pc
    This games consolidates all of the best VR practices we've seen in the best VR games in the past 2 years to create a solid VR experience.
    Not even mentioning that it's Half-life, it's a solid game on its own regardless of platform. the story, characters and dialog are amazing as we've come to expect from Valve.

    Many people back in the day would've complained too that their 486 based pc couldn't run the original Half-Life, that 3d was a gimmick, why buy a graphics card?, many people could've complained that the physics in Half-Life 2 are just a gimmick, that they don't add anything to the game, and many people will complain now that VR is just a gimmick. Do not listen to these people.
    Expand
  82. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    This game is just amazing. The world is so detailed, when I take the headset off, I get confused whether I am in VR a bit. I can't believe it works so well on my middling hardware. Best game in VR, along with Lone Echo.
  83. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Эта игра очень захватывающая и интересная, она расширяет вселенную Half-Life, поражает своей механикой геймплея, это определенно одна из лучших VR-игр, когда-либо созданных. Я не понимаю, почему люди, у которых нет виртуальной реальности и которые никогда не играли в игру, могут ее просмотреть.Эта игра очень захватывающая и интересная, она расширяет вселенную Half-Life, поражает своей механикой геймплея, это определенно одна из лучших VR-игр, когда-либо созданных. Я не понимаю, почему люди, у которых нет виртуальной реальности и которые никогда не играли в игру, могут ее просмотреть.
  84. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    It goes beyond my high expectation.
    A new step for video games.
    Unbelievable !!
  85. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    holy **** a must play game! if you haven't gotten a VR yet, NOW IS THE TIME.
  86. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Excellent immersion in a rich familiar world. Seeing a Vortigaunt in front of me adds something that pancake gaming just can't provide. Worth the wait!
  87. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game offers a whole new experience and opens the doors for VR. Being the biggest vr investment yet, it is absolutely worth the wait, as you go deep in city 17 or when you meet the briefcase guy who makes that deal. The game is so detailed and the best experience you can possibly have on vr, despite that the game only has 3 weapons, the upgrades system is pretty well made as it rewards players for exploring specially that all the upgrades are useful at some point and will not let your gun down anytime soon. Expand
  88. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Amazing. Everything is perfect. I was expecting good game but this is holy grail!!!
  89. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This is from far the best VR game that I ever played. the storyline is excellent and you feel completely immersed as soon as you put your headset on. I recommend it for anybody who is thinking about getting it you will not be disappointed. VR is the future and I'm happy to be part of it. Thanks again valve for this masterpeice.
  90. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This game is mind blowing. Absolute fantastic experience so far. It is incredible how immersive this game is. There are so many great details to discover and the atmosphere is really terrific.

    You should not expect the freedom and sandbox physics like it is in Boneworks. But in return this game so much less clunky and feels so much more polished. Instead of a sandbox you get a theme
    This game is mind blowing. Absolute fantastic experience so far. It is incredible how immersive this game is. There are so many great details to discover and the atmosphere is really terrific.

    You should not expect the freedom and sandbox physics like it is in Boneworks. But in return this game so much less clunky and feels so much more polished. Instead of a sandbox you get a theme park game. And its the best theme park I have every experienced.

    One further comment to movement options: This game is clearly designed to be used with teleportation/dash movement and not for free locomotion. I always though that free locomotion would bring the best immersive feeling, but I changed my opinion completely. I think that the dash movement is much less immersion breaking than the free locomotion option.

    The reason is simple: When freely moving with a thump-stick you are moving all the time, even for small distances as it is the most convenient way (humans are lazy). But this means that you are all the time disconnected from your real movement and it feels more like sitting in a cockpit.

    In the dash mode however, it is easier to just walk one step in your play area if an object (for example a door) is close enough. So I really get around in my play area a lot and it feels like I am really there. Of course to move greater distances you need to dash, but I think it feels really good and immersive because the audio effects are so great that it kind of feels as if you are moving there.

    Surely, from time to time, you get too close to the boundary of your play area and then you need to step back and dash forward, but for me this is way less immersion breaking than moving all the time independent of your body, since in total you have much more time to be completely immersed in the game.

    Also I think it is better to disabled snap turning as you are more immersed in the game if you turn manually in real life (you need cable management though.)
    Expand
  91. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Absolutely incredible game, would highly recommend it. Half Life Alyx PROVES VR is NOT a gimmick, it is a full on GAME and it is simply AMAZING. If you don't have VR and you have the money for it get it, it is worth it for the experience. Most of the bad reviews are people that are mad that they don't have VR so don't mind them they are just trying to ruin the score/rating. This isAbsolutely incredible game, would highly recommend it. Half Life Alyx PROVES VR is NOT a gimmick, it is a full on GAME and it is simply AMAZING. If you don't have VR and you have the money for it get it, it is worth it for the experience. Most of the bad reviews are people that are mad that they don't have VR so don't mind them they are just trying to ruin the score/rating. This is definitely a contender for game of the year and once agian Vavle will most likely revolutionize gaming. Expand
  92. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Valve shows once again that they are the kings of video game innovation.

    At first i was curious how this would compare to Boneworks, a Half-life inspired game in VR that is truly groundbreaking in how it handles realism and physics. However Boneworks starts to show fairly early on the limitations of full physics simulation when precision can be unforgiving and dissonance between real
    Valve shows once again that they are the kings of video game innovation.

    At first i was curious how this would compare to Boneworks, a Half-life inspired game in VR that is truly groundbreaking in how it handles realism and physics. However Boneworks starts to show fairly early on the limitations of full physics simulation when precision can be unforgiving and dissonance between real life and virtual can create some really awkward jank.

    This is where Valve flex their masterful AAA muscles and experience. They have struck that perfect balance between realistic physics, world agency, but also making if feel fluid, seamless and deliberate.They have pushed the boundaries of VR and made the first truly killer app that has the titanic weight of the Half-Life IP behind it. This is where Valve and Half-Life truly belongs, at the frontier of gameplay innovation.
    Expand
  93. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    This is maybe the best game I've ever played. Valve is finally back with Half-Life
  94. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    People who dislike this game because it's VR only are pathetic and disgusting. You known there once were only 2D games, and buying the first 3d accelerator card for my PC in the 90s was hella expensive. That was no reason to hate on the up and coming 3D games.

    Idiots somehow have 1300$ for a phone that they use to browse 9gag, but when an emerging technology comes along that promises
    People who dislike this game because it's VR only are pathetic and disgusting. You known there once were only 2D games, and buying the first 3d accelerator card for my PC in the 90s was hella expensive. That was no reason to hate on the up and coming 3D games.

    Idiots somehow have 1300$ for a phone that they use to browse 9gag, but when an emerging technology comes along that promises new ways to play, they are suddenly all out of mere 400$.
    Expand
  95. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    People who complain is because they haven't tried it. Total feeling of being in City 17 and the Half-Life atmosphere. Amazing second by second. Overwhelming enjoyment for saga lovers.
    Great story and content.
    Masterpiece: the best game for both VR and PC/console. Essential. La gente que se queja es porque no lo ha probado. Sensación total de estar en Ciudad 17 y en la atmósfera de
    People who complain is because they haven't tried it. Total feeling of being in City 17 and the Half-Life atmosphere. Amazing second by second. Overwhelming enjoyment for saga lovers.
    Great story and content.
    Masterpiece: the best game for both VR and PC/console. Essential.

    La gente que se queja es porque no lo ha probado. Sensación total de estar en Ciudad 17 y en la atmósfera de Half-Life. Asombroso segundo a segundo. Un disfrute brutal para los amantes de la saga.
    Gran historia y contenido.
    Obra maestra: el mejor juego tanto de VR como de PC o consola. Imprescindible.

    Las uvas no están verdes, afortunadamente.
    Expand
  96. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Greatest VR Game ever made, one of the best first person shooters of all time.

    As a diehard Half-life fan, I am overwhelmingly happy this game got made. The ending is so special.

    Thank you, Valve
  97. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    This game is incredible. Truly a good vr game. It was well worth the wait..
  98. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing game. Hope half-life 3 coming out soon. Valve, they're made it...again. Expand
  99. Mar 26, 2020
    10
    Gracias valve nos has dado lo que estábamos esperando ojala venga el 3. Gloria al señor gaben
  100. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Впечатления как от второй, а хотелось бы как от первой. Не без косяков, но моментов "ух" масса, хотя халфа далеко не первое, во что играл в vr.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Mar 30, 2020
    100
    Half-Life: Alyx is a perfect example of what happens if you wait a little while before jumping into a new platform. It perfects many mechanics from other games while adding in a layer of polish that only Valve could manage. It’s equal parts enchanting and terrifying, and it’s sure to be one of the turning points in VR for many of us.
  2. 95
    I'd declare Half-Life: Alyx the new age of the first-person shooter, if the uptake of virtual reality had been a little more promising so far. It is a cut above everything I've ever played within a headset and it's a brave, risky step for a long-dormant series to take. It takes a special team to withhold for thirteen years and deliver on an impossible hype and yet Half-Life: Alyx was worth every one of those 4,548 days.
  3. Mar 30, 2020
    100
    When all is said and done and everyone has had the chance to play it for themselves, I have no doubt that Alyx will be held in the same lofty regard as the first two Half-Life entries. It really is that good. Of course, I still want Half-Life 3, but it turns out that I wanted this even more and didn’t know it.