User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 4302 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mikeg
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    THIS game has Extraordinary Graphics,Very Beautiful Gameplay,Movie like Sequences, and Awesome Sound! I hope people who play this game will last a life time in there hearts because this game still ROCKs all others ever made for the PC Valve i love your Work! please keep kickin ass on the best game series you have made in the Years and in the years to come!
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made - great story plot, one of the best introduction cut scenes to ever be in a game, well balanced weapons, variety of weapons is just right. The graphics might look dated 10+ years later, but eye candy does not make a game great.
  3. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    Gaming perfection, resulting in the quality of gaming we know today. Map design was genius for the time, when most games lacked puzzle elements, weapon design and a.i. was also top notch. Everything from the safe feeling the start had until the ending on xen was a joy ride with constant new equipment and weapons.
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best gameBest game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever.Best game ever. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Half Life, even today, remains a masterpiece of epic proportions. The graphics may be dated, but you'll be ignoring them the moment you get thrown into the combat, which is executed perfectly. You'll face a variety of enemies, from gun-toting U.S. Soldiers to aliens like headcrabs and vortigaunts. Luckily, you get a number of great weapons as you play on, like the powerful revolver or theHalf Life, even today, remains a masterpiece of epic proportions. The graphics may be dated, but you'll be ignoring them the moment you get thrown into the combat, which is executed perfectly. You'll face a variety of enemies, from gun-toting U.S. Soldiers to aliens like headcrabs and vortigaunts. Luckily, you get a number of great weapons as you play on, like the powerful revolver or the smg with an attached grenade launcher. The ambiance is also amazing; you'll hear growls of hidden enemies as you pass through dimly-lit areas. A simply amazing experience that must be played Expand
  6. LukeM.
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  7. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This is probably one of the best FPS experience I've had. The game has a great story and atmosphere and is very fun to play. Graphics were outstanding when it got released. They're not the greatest right now, but you can install an HD pack to improve them. The game is a must buy for those who want to know what FPS really means.
  8. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    I've played all the Half-Life games since the first and Each and every one is AMAZING! I just cant get enough of it! I Can't wait until Episode 3! I
  9. PeterM.
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    Half Life is one of the best Shooter ever!
  10. AntonA.
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    I love this game!
  11. FedorH.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made!
  12. MeNotYou
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    I can't see why anyone is slating this game for anything. It's probably one of the best games I've ever played despite it coming out so long ago. The graphics were amazing for it's time, and are great for anyone with a very bad computer. The multiplayer, while filled with bot players and very few actual ones, is quite enjoyable when you find a game with actual people. I can't see why anyone is slating this game for anything. It's probably one of the best games I've ever played despite it coming out so long ago. The graphics were amazing for it's time, and are great for anyone with a very bad computer. The multiplayer, while filled with bot players and very few actual ones, is quite enjoyable when you find a game with actual people. The levels were fun, getting progressively harder and more exciting. Puzzles were great. I love it, and I can't see how anyone would hate it and if they do they should sit down and eat shit waffles. Expand
  13. KinN.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    Half-Life is a great game. It keeps you into the FPS mindset with lots of action and ties in realistic puzzles that keep you sharp and on your toes.
  14. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    My favorite game so far I have absolutly nothing negative to say about this game it is just WOW! once you play it you will be begging for more no doubt in my mind a 10/10
  15. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    This is the first person shooter of the century. It is the greatest. Graphics are amazing for the time period (1990s) and the gameplay is so innovative. Valve is a great company. They haven't released a disappointing game yet. It is the reason for the word 'perfect'. Definitely recommend to everyone.
  16. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played, yes kids "old" games are sometimes better than the actual games, if you think that a game it's great just for it's graphics there's something wrong with you.
    if it wasn't for games like Half-life, Doom and Wolfenstein 3d, games like call of duty or halo would have never existed, that's it we owe all FPS games to Half-life, Doom and Wolfenstein 3d.
  17. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    This game is where it all began. No, it may not be as fancy and adventurous as some of the new games coming out, but if you want to sit down with a classic, here's the one. It's challenging, creative, full of options, pretty well balanced for it's age, and it gets you to think outside the -orange- box, haha.
  18. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Just hands down one of the best FPS games ever made. The story captured my interest from the first few minutes and I sat down for three days straight to finish the game. After you beat it, it doesn't have a whole lot of replay value, but man, I really liked this game. It was cool, it showed me how much fun playing on my PC could be. It helped me be more of a PC gamer and it always had meJust hands down one of the best FPS games ever made. The story captured my interest from the first few minutes and I sat down for three days straight to finish the game. After you beat it, it doesn't have a whole lot of replay value, but man, I really liked this game. It was cool, it showed me how much fun playing on my PC could be. It helped me be more of a PC gamer and it always had me hoping to catch up to that guy in the black suit! It has some "flaws" like the awkward NPCs...there are like 40 of the same scientist and the same security guards, but it just makes it kind of funny and isn't really something worth criticizing in my opinion. Great game. Expand
  19. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    The Half-life1 Series of games are storytelling masterpieces!
    Still the best fps games ive ever played,There Gameplay/puzzles/Atmosphere really set the mold for all modern fps.
  20. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    A game that arouses my passion for chemistry. The first time I played I was not bored for a second. An original and incredible argument that I do not seem to go very far from reality. They tell us that it could happen any day in the 51 area (Black Mesa in game).
  21. FedorH.
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    The best game ever made!
  22. MichaelB.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Awesome Game.
  23. DanK.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    This is an amazingly awsome game. I beat it for my PS2, and again for the PC. I had endless hours of fun.
  24. FedorH.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    The best game ever made!
  25. LiamH.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    The best game I've ever played. The graphics are a bit dated, but its still the best!!
  26. m4a1sterDavery
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    What can i say the best game ever made, a million times better than half-life 2 which just cant stand up to this stunning game, also the cs mod that came out a year or 2 after half-lifes realease, was the best multiplayer game ever.
  27. YuriS.
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    One of the best games ever. Great story, great gameplay. And always good, doesn't matter which version you're playing.
  28. TychoT.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    You can tell a masterful game when people are still talking about it nearly 10 years after its release.
  29. MarkusT.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Old and simple.
  30. RobbyD.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Was a really good game i enjoyed it a lot.
  31. KaiS.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    It is the best game I've ever played.
  32. EganA
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. This game may have pretty average graphics for the time, but the enemies are great, the story was great, and some of the easter eggs and glitches are really funny. It was a delight to play and, most importantly, it was made my the smartest game company in the world, Valve. Even though in my opinion it is far worse than Half-life 2, it is still one of One of the greatest games of all time. This game may have pretty average graphics for the time, but the enemies are great, the story was great, and some of the easter eggs and glitches are really funny. It was a delight to play and, most importantly, it was made my the smartest game company in the world, Valve. Even though in my opinion it is far worse than Half-life 2, it is still one of my favorite games. Expand
  33. RossB.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    The best FPS ever, Bar None. When I first got it I played for 16 hours straight. Still remains one of my favorite games to play!
  34. AndyC.
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    Great game I am still addicted to the multiplayer even after all these years.
  35. DylanB
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    I'm writing this on August 25, 2009. I am a huge fan of the Half Life series. I've played all the other Half Life games in the series and I recently added HL1 to my collection. This is, without a doubt, the best FPS computer game I have ever played. And this is 9 years after its released! I don't know much about the graphics, sound effects, AI, and voice acting in '98 I'm writing this on August 25, 2009. I am a huge fan of the Half Life series. I've played all the other Half Life games in the series and I recently added HL1 to my collection. This is, without a doubt, the best FPS computer game I have ever played. And this is 9 years after its released! I don't know much about the graphics, sound effects, AI, and voice acting in '98 but these probably top most of them back then. This game does get pretty tough if you don't plan ahead but none the less, its still a great game. Expand
  36. HongW.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    I just love this game. It was the first ego-shooter i played (age 8) and it's absolutely awesome. Well, today the graphics isn't very well, but the gameplay is still a great experience!
  37. LarsH.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    This game rules! spent hours playing, it's from 1998, but is still one of the best pc games to get! the strange thing is that i don't know what to do at gonarch's lair.
  38. Somebody
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    The greatest shooter ever, even with aged graphics and AI. I played it a while back, and I still do. Why does everyone compare to Half-Life 2 though? That's like comparing technology from WWII to modern-day tanks.
  39. TruongN.
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    This game is the best game ever, so does the multiplayer mode!!
  40. DaveSteavens
    Jul 29, 2008
    9
    It was good, it has a great story which is pretty much the only reason I got the game but the game play was surprisingly good as well. Oh and Steve M. I think you're looking for Half-life 2 :P
  41. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    This game blew my mind. The storyline combines puzzles, action and exploring in a perfect harmony which makes Half-Life one of the history's most important game. Still today it gives me a lot of gameplay. The multiplayer is absolutely worth a shot, especially during LAN's since on-line is not so very crowded and the people playing are veterans.
  42. May 20, 2012
    10
    A lot of people base their reviews on nostalgia on older games. And while this still is a very nostalgic game it still lives up to this day in terms of gameplay. Half-Life was the first first person shooter that truly did not focus all its attention on the action; it also focused on the atmosphere, story, and puzzle like elements. It laid the footsteps for other first person shooters to follow.
  43. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Half Life for me is truly a brilliant game. The level designs were impeccable for its day, and, yes there may be no dialogue, but could you imagine Gordon Freeman speaking?

    The weaponry was well placed, due to the best weaponry (Experimental) being placed near the end, with the ammo for the heavy guns particulate not being laden all over, but in places that were believable, and scarce
    Half Life for me is truly a brilliant game. The level designs were impeccable for its day, and, yes there may be no dialogue, but could you imagine Gordon Freeman speaking?

    The weaponry was well placed, due to the best weaponry (Experimental) being placed near the end, with the ammo for the heavy guns particulate not being laden all over, but in places that were believable, and scarce enough so that they couldn't simply be spammed over and over.
    Expand
  44. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    If you are an idiot like one who plays black ops. Then you wont like this. If you are a brilliant and open minded person, prepare to be shocked away. This game is just perfect..... (Other than the occasional problem with the puzzle's and bug) NOTE : Made in the 90's SO EXPECT BAD GRAPHICS
    ITS DIRECT X 7!!!! ( not that it matters ) SO DONT GET MAD AT IT FOR I quote "Graphics suck, just look
    If you are an idiot like one who plays black ops. Then you wont like this. If you are a brilliant and open minded person, prepare to be shocked away. This game is just perfect..... (Other than the occasional problem with the puzzle's and bug) NOTE : Made in the 90's SO EXPECT BAD GRAPHICS
    ITS DIRECT X 7!!!! ( not that it matters ) SO DONT GET MAD AT IT FOR I quote "Graphics suck, just look at black ops"
    IF YOU WANT GRAPHICS, DONT USE A CONSOLE, AND GET A NICE SETUP WITH FULL DX11 CAPABILLITY TO BLAST CRYSIS 1 AND CRYSIS 2 AWAY ON MAXIMUM!!!!
    That explains the idiots out there that judge games by graphical capabillity.
    Expand
  45. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    This game, back when I first played it, came to me as a surprise. The depth of the story coupled with length of the game was like reading a novel. Sure, at some points I died so many times it was ridiculous, but that's okay. I played for days before beating it and the ending left me with a smile. Gordon Freeman started nerds on the track of supremacy in combat. Anyways, the gameplay wasThis game, back when I first played it, came to me as a surprise. The depth of the story coupled with length of the game was like reading a novel. Sure, at some points I died so many times it was ridiculous, but that's okay. I played for days before beating it and the ending left me with a smile. Gordon Freeman started nerds on the track of supremacy in combat. Anyways, the gameplay was solid, there were parts that I had to do over because it glitched out on me or I missed something. But all in all, worth a play through while we hold our breath for Half-Life 2: Episode 3 Expand
  46. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    This game will forever be among my personal favorites. Great story and amazing gameplay, the environments and maps are well designed and the sound is great. Had a lot of fun.
  47. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Great original game which can be bought on steam for a cheap $10! Has awesome graphics for its age, game-play and story and you can even meet some funny and scary people in this game. I recommend this game!
  48. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I'm kinda mixed up on this game, but I can say one thing: it's a very cured and detailed game. I liked the story, the enemy AI is fantastic and very challenging, and the setting and places are extremely well done: you can see how much time they put into this game. But still...I hated few things. For example, the jumping parts: you can easily lose health by jumping 1 cm more higher thanI'm kinda mixed up on this game, but I can say one thing: it's a very cured and detailed game. I liked the story, the enemy AI is fantastic and very challenging, and the setting and places are extremely well done: you can see how much time they put into this game. But still...I hated few things. For example, the jumping parts: you can easily lose health by jumping 1 cm more higher than normal (and we talk about 10 hp or more), and so you'll sometimes HAVE TO use ladders or avoid crazy jumps which, in many games, won't harm you. Even if the AI is challenging, some enemies are just far too hard in my opinion and sometimes the game becomes very unbalanced (the soldiers were the hardest m------ers I've ever beaten, while all the other aliens were easier, even the biggest ones). Add also that the explosions are very big, meaning that you can still get hit even if you're far at times (I got hit also when I was hiding behind crates, not too far away, while I shot at some bombs attached to the wall...this still scarred me). And, if I have to be brutal, some parts looked unneccesary and to me they looked like "add ups" instead of real continuation. But still, it's a good game and actually very modern to this day: good puzzles, very detailed settings, interesting story and a well though gameplay: can't say it fails somewhere can I? Expand
  49. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Wow I am bored, Anyhow this game was awesome back in the day, Since times have progressed you might find this game boring(I still enjoy it) but your going to want to know the whole story when the final installment comes out so skip a happy meal buy this(along with Half-Life 2, Ep.1 Ep.2) and get up to speed with the story of Dr. Freeman and his best friend the crowbar before the nextWow I am bored, Anyhow this game was awesome back in the day, Since times have progressed you might find this game boring(I still enjoy it) but your going to want to know the whole story when the final installment comes out so skip a happy meal buy this(along with Half-Life 2, Ep.1 Ep.2) and get up to speed with the story of Dr. Freeman and his best friend the crowbar before the next installment comes out which will probably make game of the year. Expand
  50. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    This is far away the best shooter from history of games. Everything changes since its was made.

    If you like shooters from todays, you got to know this game!

    So, i dont need to explain about the great gameplay, grade awsome context, everything was nice.

    GOrdon Freeman is the greatest hero of all times and, he dont need do say a word..
  51. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Such a great game! Half-Life is the game that launched Valve into superstardom and they have good reason! It's got action, suspense, horror, twists, and an ever-changing plot that will leave you speechless. What else can I say? It has all the elements that make a first-person shooter great! I can not recommend this game enough!
  52. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Surely PC games were made before this, but PC games didn't truly exist until this was made. This is the messiah of PC gaming. This is everything. I have barely even played this, but I can confirm this as true.
  53. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    Half-Life is a great game developed by a genius corporation which was about 8 years ahead of it's time.
    Great storyline, the graphics with design are fun don't forget it had the best game-play you had ever seen.
    Once you got off of that monorail you were able to put yourself in situations you would never forget!
  54. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    One of the first 'mature' games i ever played in my life and instantly became my favorite series. The creepy moments kept me at the edge of my seat and all the characters and actions always kept my attention. I really enjoyed this game. This game was also a high end game for the time that it came out in.
  55. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    I have played Half Life since the beginning. It is an excellent game that has good replay ability. When I was able to get the Half Life Source on Steam it improved the graphics and game play considerably. I highly recommend this shooter to anyone. It has a great storyline and will bring a lot of enjoyment.
  56. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    I seriously have nothing negative to say about it, it's JUST good. Fantastic combat, extremely creative, it's just so addicting and fun. I don't care who you are, get this game. - 100/100
  57. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    i just wanna say three words, BEST-GAME-EVER!!! i love the history, the npc, the graphics, weapons, enemies, sequels, extras..... i just love it, awesome work valve!!!
  58. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is a classic, not only has it basically started valves career into FPS making but it is a good start. Excellent storyline even though it looks a bit dated, but graphics don't make a game, 10 out of -2
  59. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    Ah this game is so amazing... You could say that all games that came after this took so much inspiration of it. Really it's the best game ever made. I have finished it now 68 times and still I find so much new and cool. If someone hasn't played this I will make him/her to play, because no wonder it has the best single-player experience. PLAY IT NOW!
  60. May 23, 2012
    10
    Half-Life 2 being my favourite game of all time, making this a close contender. Half-Life was the first game I ever acquired on my first computer. I can keep coming back to it as it never gets old.
  61. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    One of the best games ever made, and it started the best game franchise ever made.
    ...................................................................
  62. May 19, 2012
    10
    Half-Life is to the FPS what Homo Habilis is to man: yes it's a has-been, but it was a necessary pivotal step to get to where we are now, and perfect during its time.
  63. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Dont waste your time reading negative reviews, they are all written by illiterate morons with no taste in video games. Either that, or they never gave the game more than 10 minutes until likely getting bored because it wasn't Call of Duty Modern Black Assault Ops Warfare 5
  64. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    For a game made in 1998; it's quite impressive. Story line is unique and keeps the player wanting more. Graphics are a bit more advanced than most game's in the 90's. Completely worth the time and money, especially if your'e a fan of the half-life series.
  65. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    For the people who hate this game, or think is overrated, stop kidding yourselves. This game really deserves its place. for the people who wished for a speech log, give it some thought: Does your life have a speech log? In this game it is your choice to ignore or listen to people. Some weapons are common, but some of them are exotic, brand new, and fantastic. The story is told without evenFor the people who hate this game, or think is overrated, stop kidding yourselves. This game really deserves its place. for the people who wished for a speech log, give it some thought: Does your life have a speech log? In this game it is your choice to ignore or listen to people. Some weapons are common, but some of them are exotic, brand new, and fantastic. The story is told without even the need of cutscenes. If you didn't get the story... well, ehmargehrd.

    Good points everywhere. Even the Xen zone gave me more than I expected from this game.

    The bad point of this game is that it doesn't autosave. I played for 3 hours without saving... yes, right in the heart. You can choose chapters, but it's not the same. You need to press F6 (Quick save) almost every 2 min if you want to play it without trouble.

    My two brothers hate the HL series just because the graphics aren't like MW3. If you are like them, and like games just because graphics, you're missing some of the best games of the world.

    Games like HL only come once in a lifetime.
    Expand
  66. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Half Life is a "one of a kind" gaming experience, the kind that pushes the game industry forward. Thanks to his amazing storytelling, his challenging gameplay and human-like enemies' A.I., Half Life keeps you glued to the screen from the first to the last frame. A must play even after 14 years from his release.
  67. Mar 15, 2017
    10
    An example of what a game should look like. Many developers have learned from this Half Life and apply their schemes today.
    Widely recommended, and with a guideline of ten.
  68. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time, the amazing atmosphere still carries through to this day. Revolutionary game play at the time and still fun to this day.
  69. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    I'll never forget half life. It played a large part in defining my science fiction existence. No FPS had been anything like it before. This was largely in part due to scripted sequences. Instead of cutscenes, things actually played out infront of your eyes while you were still playing. It set the standard that nearly all games followed since then. The levels were also ingenius. Each levelI'll never forget half life. It played a large part in defining my science fiction existence. No FPS had been anything like it before. This was largely in part due to scripted sequences. Instead of cutscenes, things actually played out infront of your eyes while you were still playing. It set the standard that nearly all games followed since then. The levels were also ingenius. Each level was its own separate level, but designed in a way to look like it was seamless. Level A would end in a hallway, a loading bar would pop up while it loaded level B, with the beginning of Level B looking just like that hallway. It gave a sense that you were never really removed from the game world.

    The storytelling was great as well. Instead of just being overloaded with cheesey information, you start off simply as a regular scientist working in a secret underground research facility somewhere in the south US known as Black Mesa. While performing a landmark experiment despite safety concerns from officials, you accidentally open a portal to an alien world. This experiment causes a "resonance cascade effect" (whatver that means) which causes temporal rifts to open throughout the entire facility, warping in hostile alien forces. The entire game is a story about surviving against all odds. The plot thickens even further as US Special forces are sent in. When you first see them you think "Awesome, backup!" but soon find out they aren't there to rescue you: they're there to destroy you & all the evidence with it.

    It thickens even further when you advance through the game, you hear the Special forces are pulling out because its too much for even them to handle and you get the hint they are about to nuke the entire facility into oblivion.

    One of the reasons the storyline is so great is because its so plausible. The actions from the scientists to the Special forces makes sense. If Half Life actually happened, it would very likely play out something like the game. Nothing turns me off more than an implausible story.

    From the scripted sequences of scientists screaming by on a falling elevator, survivors in vents scared out of their minds, half life delivers an incredible variety of experiences. Action, suspense, hopelessness, triumph, uncertainty. While playing, you really couldn't predict what would happen next which is always one of the signs of a good story.

    A real 10/10, and it isn't awarded lightly either.
    Expand
  70. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    I am sure that this is best game ever made. Best feeling, best music, sounds, environment... Valve should make some similar game with GoldSrc engine...
  71. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    I am a huge half life fan, you may think that i am biased, but this game is best in whole wide world. Best graphics for its time and brilliant plot innovating game play. True oldschool shooter without iron sight, bleeding screen, auto restored hp and other casual things.
  72. sft
    May 22, 2013
    10
    Gordon is definitely not a moron

    The Half-Life games are the thinking-person’s FPSs and the series is this reviewer’s favourite game franchise. The original game does look a bit dated by the standards of 2011 but bearing in mind that it was first released in 1998 it still looks pretty good, and in it’s day it was truly ground-breaking. It also used a physics engine that was the best of
    Gordon is definitely not a moron

    The Half-Life games are the thinking-person’s FPSs and the series is this reviewer’s favourite game franchise. The original game does look a bit dated by the standards of 2011 but bearing in mind that it was first released in 1998 it still looks pretty good, and in it’s day it was truly ground-breaking. It also used a physics engine that was the best of its time and an AI that performed far better than any other. Almost everything you could want is here: a good variety of environments, some satisfying puzzles, and some challenging combat. It also has, within the obvious limits of a shooter, a solid and engaging story. All of this makes for a game that keeps you entertained from start to finish and never outstays its welcome. Great stuff and it gets much much better with Half-Life
    Expand
  73. Aug 31, 2017
    10
    "Time to choose, Mr. Freeman."

    I've played this so many times since I was a child, I can perfectly remember every single level, knowing what comes next each time a turn a corner, every single line in the dialogues, every G-Man sighting and I still enjoy it like it's my first time. No other game has been entrenched in my memory like this one.

    An essential title for gaming.
  74. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Half Life is one of the best FPS in all of history. Half-Life made in 1999 BEATS some games made in 2013 (COD) there is actually an interesting story line. Gordon Freeman a theoretical physicist that knows how to shoot zombies with a shotgun take that rednecks your not the only one. The map design, level design, and weapon design is OUTSTANDING. (Love the spaz-12) this the first and maybeHalf Life is one of the best FPS in all of history. Half-Life made in 1999 BEATS some games made in 2013 (COD) there is actually an interesting story line. Gordon Freeman a theoretical physicist that knows how to shoot zombies with a shotgun take that rednecks your not the only one. The map design, level design, and weapon design is OUTSTANDING. (Love the spaz-12) this the first and maybe the best game valve has made. Yes graphics are outdated and yes AI are a bit clumsy and walk in linear ways at times but you can look over that and still IT WAS MADE IN 1999 and if you want an updated version get black mesa source - that's for the pusses who care so much about graphics. Overall this is a GREAT fps and I would play this game before you die great job valve I give this a 97/100 Expand
  75. Jun 11, 2016
    10
    I started playing HL when i was a kid. After those years i'm still playing that awesome story-driven adventure FPS.Well the graphics are outdated after 18 years but hey you can download and play the HL Sourse version.
  76. Jun 18, 2016
    10
    An absolute amazing, breath taking adventure game ever made. Half-Life has amazing environments, awesome weapons, crazy enemies, and incredibly smart A.I. Each sequel just continues to build onto the mysterious story Half-Life has to offer. A must own and must play for all those Valve fans and adventure seekers out there! Half-Life is like Citizen Kane of video games!
  77. Jun 3, 2017
    10
    Run, Think, Shoot, Live. Half-Life series is my best FPS EVER. Especially Half-Life 1? It never gets old. But if you want to play unofficial modernized Half-Life, Go play Black Mesa. Play Half-Life first, then play Black Mesa. And then, Go play Half-Life 2. EPIC saga begin!...But where is myyyyyy THREEEEEEEEEEE? 3333333?...Plz, VALVE.
  78. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece that can be considered the best of all time. Nothing can even come close to the impact that this game made for the entire world. This single handily created the modern FPS genre. Sure Doom and Duke Nukem 3D were good, but Half Life made it a story, not a mindless shooting frenzy. If you are looking for that, then this game will be semi unpleasing for you. If youThis game is a masterpiece that can be considered the best of all time. Nothing can even come close to the impact that this game made for the entire world. This single handily created the modern FPS genre. Sure Doom and Duke Nukem 3D were good, but Half Life made it a story, not a mindless shooting frenzy. If you are looking for that, then this game will be semi unpleasing for you. If you are looking for a great game with a great story line and combat, then this game will satisfy your needs easily. Expand
  79. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    "When I first saw the trailer for this, I saw that it had good graphics. When I bought it only played it for like the first stage before realising how terrible the graphics are. I don't care how long ago this game was made, graphics matter more than anything in a game."
    I couldn't possibly disagree more with you!
  80. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    This is among one of the best shooters ever made. It has a deep single-player story driven experience where you take the role of Gorden Freeman, crowbar wielding scientist turned alien hunter. This game is a classic and it spawned some of the best game mods ever seen, including Counter-Strike.
  81. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest First Person Shooters ever made.Just loses to his sequel,Half Life 2.Good history,great level design and fun challenge.Still fun to play even today.
  82. Mar 21, 2017
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite games,
    this game stays strong, I play and finish it at least once every 2 years,
    the classic one, its a great game, and to be fair even the graphics although very old, still hold up someone!
    its not that ugly that it hurts your eye is what i mean!
    best game every! give us HL3 valve!! plz!
  83. May 28, 2016
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made. An instant classic. A masterpiece of sci-fi storytelling and FPS adventure. I played this game over a decade after it was released and I still enjoyed it more than many of the modern games I had been playing. So incredibly gripping, engaging, and exciting. Pick this up during Steam's summer sale and you'll have purchased one of the best deals in PC gaming.
  84. Oct 14, 2016
    10
    There is nothing to say. Every time when new Valve title is published - it is a new word in game development. Every game contains unique game mechanic, graphic, interesting story. When I see that the new Vale game is published I know - the industry today increments its life cycle.
  85. Oct 11, 2016
    10
    One of the best games, if not the best game I ever played, great AI for its time, takes you into a new world, the story is so deep that 4 games did not even get close into finishing it
    This game is what games should be, perfect in every way, almost 20 years and this game is still playable.
  86. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    The second best game ever made (The first is being Half-Life 2.). A masterpiece. A revelationary for it's time. Old but gold. Do I need to say more???
  87. Dec 29, 2016
    10
    Played this game when I was about 5 years old. Took me a while to beat it. I couldn't figure it out without looking up the answers towards the final levels. I'm a little slow. Great game though. The engine gave me many hours of fun through free mods, the Gearbox concurrent releases (which aren't canon) and multiplayer in the former and latter.
  88. Feb 20, 2017
    10
    The best game ever created this game made my childhood thanks to valve and without forgetting its expansions that were also good game 100% recommended
  89. Apr 10, 2017
    10
    Even though its graphics may not have aged to well, it is still one of the most important shooters of all time, and serves to remind us just how terrible games are becoming nowadays.
  90. Apr 27, 2017
    10
    The game that defined the RPG genre. Great plot development, magnificent level design, immortal gameplay. Half-Life is the past, the present and the future of gaming.
  91. Jun 20, 2017
    10
    This is great for anyone wanting a sci-fi game that is not overrated like Halo or Metroid, And come on, You have to admit the graphics were awesome for a 1998 game! This game is amazing, Enough said. 10/10.
  92. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    This game is simply perfect. From the story- in which a test lab failure at the fictional Blackmesa Research Facility blows up the facility, leaving the protagonist Gordon Freeman to escape. He must face many challenges, such as marines sent to clean out the place, and kill any survivors. The gameplay is executed extremely well, which likely explains why it has gotten Game of the Year 4This game is simply perfect. From the story- in which a test lab failure at the fictional Blackmesa Research Facility blows up the facility, leaving the protagonist Gordon Freeman to escape. He must face many challenges, such as marines sent to clean out the place, and kill any survivors. The gameplay is executed extremely well, which likely explains why it has gotten Game of the Year 4 times (1998-2002). I don't know what else to say, as the community says it for me. Just an extra check for you; the fan base is very good, and holds up much better than say, the FNAF, Undertale, or Sonic the Hedgehog fandoms. It's a good game indeed, so good it got a patch 19 years after release from Valve. Expand
  93. Aug 7, 2018
    10
    this is the game that was revolutionary, for sure one of the best games of all time, if not the best
  94. MikeM.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    For its time, it simply couldn't be beat. Even by the graphically superior Unreal. Excellent story progression through "chapters" that never pulled you out of the story. And TFC...man, it was worth the price alone! Never found another online game I enjoyed to that extent. I was still playiing some great SP mods & TCs up until a year ago (2007!). One was, IMO,even better than the For its time, it simply couldn't be beat. Even by the graphically superior Unreal. Excellent story progression through "chapters" that never pulled you out of the story. And TFC...man, it was worth the price alone! Never found another online game I enjoyed to that extent. I was still playiing some great SP mods & TCs up until a year ago (2007!). One was, IMO,even better than the orginal. And those mods are all FREE. Never have or liekly will get that much mileage out of any game, period. And it's fun to mess with Worldcraft to see if you can make some interesting levels/encounters. This is perhaps even more fun than the game itself, if such is possible. HL2 was really cool, but HL1 was most definitely the best, most long-lasting fun I ever had. Expand
  95. EtienneM.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    Good game easy control, good story and good design.
  96. JosefV.
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Half-Life That's really one of the greatest (maybe not one, just greatest) games ever made. HL has become so great, that (after several years) tens of thousands ppl still playing this amazing game. GL & HF
  97. Kyle
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Simply a classic. Nuff said.
  98. FedorH.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The best game ever made!
  99. RemcoE.
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Great, that is the word to discribe this game it is the best shooter till now it suck you up when you start and it keeps you hypnotised till the very end.
  100. AnastasiaO.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Very detailed and expansive environments even more so then the Sequel.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. It isn't everyday that you come across a game that totally revolutionizes an entire genre, but Half-Life has done just that.
  2. The storyline runs in perfect harmony with the action and acts as a conduit not a stopgap, or a padding device. Each gaming element compliments the next and the entire presentation is nothing short of, well…dare we say it…revolutionary.
  3. PC Gamer
    97
    This is The Big One, and it's even better than we could've hoped. [Jan 1999, p.166]