Halo: Combat Evolved Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 541 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a desperate attempt to keep a conquering alien race called the Covenant from finding Earth, you--a cybernteically enhanced soldier representing the peak of human military evolution--and a ragtag group of Marines flee to a distant uncharted system where you unexpectedly stumble acrossIn a desperate attempt to keep a conquering alien race called the Covenant from finding Earth, you--a cybernteically enhanced soldier representing the peak of human military evolution--and a ragtag group of Marines flee to a distant uncharted system where you unexpectedly stumble across Halo, an enormous alien artifact in orbit between a gas giant and its moon. Your objective: Uncover Halo's horrible secret, and destroy mankind's nemesis - the Covenant. [Microsoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Halo Movie 10
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    Watching the game run at 1600X1200 left me speechless. Textures are incredibly rich; the lighting is to die for... On the flipside, however, in order to really enjoy Halo, you need a hardcore gaming rig to see any kind of smooth framerate. [Nov 2003, p.95]
  2. There are still countless hours of fun to be had with Halo. If you couldn't stomach the control pad and the lack of online support (or Xbox itself) really turned you away from the Xbox version, then this Halo is sure to please.
  3. I'm going to cheat, and simply provide a score for the multiplayer element of the game...and bearing in mind that this game probably won't run shockingly well without major tweaking, because it's one of the most demanding games in terms of system specs that we've ever seen.
  4. PC Gamer
    85
    It's the outdoor areas - roughly 25 percent of the game's 20-plus hours of playtime - that host the kind of epic confrontations that you'll tell your buddies about. [Holiday 2003, p.98]
  5. 80
    Crippling frame rate problems tarnish an otherwise engaging single-player experience. Ultimately, the addictive online multiplayer is the main attraction; without it, there’s not much to see here.
  6. Does have one noticeable omission. In the Xbox title, gamers can choose to play the campaign mode alongside another player. This isn't an online option on the Windows version, which is disappointing because it would be fun to run through the story mode cooperatively with a friend.
  7. To put it simply, the game is horribly slow. The framerate is so devastating, that at a point during the second level, playing the game becomes literally impossible...One of the biggest disappointments in my gaming career.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 137
  2. Negative: 28 out of 137
  1. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This review is the second part of a fairly long but helpful review, go to the Halo: Combat Evoleved (Xbox 2001) page to see the first half.This review is the second part of a fairly long but helpful review, go to the Halo: Combat Evoleved (Xbox 2001) page to see the first half.
    There are ten fairly long, open playable campaign (story-mode) levels in Halo: Combat Evolved and even more multiplayer (versus-mode) levels. You can play with one or two players in the campaign or up to sixteen players in multiplayer, which is great fun when youâ
    Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    so confused how this game did not get better ratings compared to its xbox release.

    they are both the same freaking game- scratch that....
    so confused how this game did not get better ratings compared to its xbox release.

    they are both the same freaking game- scratch that....

    the only thing different about this game is the fact that because it is on the computer you could CUSTOMIZE AND MOD IT. which is freaking AMAZING.

    I know this is not related to the game but ever play Halo:custom edition? simply fantastic.
    if halo for the xbox got a 97 without the ability to create god like player/ fan based mods then this game should have scored the equivalent or higher than the xbox version
    Expand
  3. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Halo is one of the most soul-moving games ever made, in that it gives you the feeling you are taking part in something great and very Halo is one of the most soul-moving games ever made, in that it gives you the feeling you are taking part in something great and very important. The level design is not physically brilliant, but the atmosphere always is. Expand
  4. GetFitWithGilbertMulroneycakes
    Oct 18, 2003
    8
    Hmm. It's a good game alright - one of the best console FPSes evereverever - only, now it's on PC, it's, it's, it's Hmm. It's a good game alright - one of the best console FPSes evereverever - only, now it's on PC, it's, it's, it's out of date. It took two sodding years to port it over, and now it feels like, well, a two-year-old game. Buy it if you like, but bear in mind that Half-Life 2 - which makes this game look even older than it is - is just around the corner. Mmm, Half-Life 2... Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    I haven't played Halo on Xbox or in its early years but looking at it from 2012, it's still pretty good but has some glaring flaws. For someI haven't played Halo on Xbox or in its early years but looking at it from 2012, it's still pretty good but has some glaring flaws. For some reason there's no minimap and destination points only appeared in a few missions for me which can make the levels very confusing and I did get lost more than a couple times. The level design is also pretty bland and repetitive, especially in the mission with 343 Guilty Spark. Having to go through 4 floors of the same looking environment sure got stale. Those are my two main flaws with the game but it has tons of positives as well. The guns are awesome and feel great to shoot and there's a good variety of them as well, my personal favourites are the pistol and the plasma pistol. I dunno why, I guess I just like pistols. The vehicles are also amazing and I was blown away by how smoothly they controlled for a game that came out in 2001, especially the banshee which I had a blast with. I found the story pretty good for a shooter as well but I wish they could have started to give Master Chief more of a personality in the first game.

    The multiplayer is great fun and I was pleasantly surprised that it's actually still pretty active on the PC version, I always see servers that are full and thriving with players even after 11 years. I'm not a huge fan of the maps that take place in an interior because they can get very chaotic when the only available weapon is set to rocket launcher. I did love the outdoor maps and my favourite is Timberland for it's size and beauty.

    Overall a great game and still worth playing even after over a decade, it's at it's best in multiplayer though since the singleplayer campaign is pretty dated.
    Expand
  6. Lutar
    Apr 19, 2008
    5
    Average game. Nice graphics, really good plot. However, all the time you are in the same environment and shooting the same enemies which Average game. Nice graphics, really good plot. However, all the time you are in the same environment and shooting the same enemies which makes the game a bit boring after some time. Plot is the strongest aspect of this game. Expand
  7. HolySh*t
    Oct 20, 2003
    0
    I am very disappointed in the game... it seems to run OK on my P4 3.2/1Gb DDR/Radeon 9800 pro, but the game looks pooooooor. As if the maps I am very disappointed in the game... it seems to run OK on my P4 3.2/1Gb DDR/Radeon 9800 pro, but the game looks pooooooor. As if the maps were made by some 5y old kid. Driving those vehicles with a mouse is only fun for players who love to have RSI... I love to play CTF but not in HALO... To me, for online gaming, BF42 and SOF2 are fun better! Expand

See all 137 User Reviews