Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 1, 2020
    100
    The Halo 3: ODST port on PC is essentially perfect, and so far, it's 343 Industries' best work with the Master Chief Collection.
  2. Oct 31, 2020
    90
    Like all releases in the Master Chief Collection, Halo 3: ODST isn’t a perfect port. It has flaws, particularly in Firefight and with regard to the game’s audio logs. That said, the fact that 343 continues to make these games run as well as they do on a platform they were never designed for so long after their original releases is nothing short of a minor miracle. The MCC continues to improve with each patch and I have no doubt that the problems here will eventually be fixed. In the meantime, we can enjoy ODST in all of its glory. It’s still the most stylish and unique Halo game and being able to play it, and its incredible version of Firefight again, is wonderful. I’m happy to return to New Mombasa, to wander its ruined streets and let the sounds of rain and smooth jazz wash over me. More than a decade later, there’s still nothing quite like it. You know the music. Time to dance.
  3. Sep 28, 2020
    90
    Today on PC, the campaign for Halo 3: ODST is a mere $4.99. A majority of the troopers may not be the most engaging, but the combat and music are a treat. The weapons, from the Spartan Laser to the Brute Plasma Rifle, are a blast to use. The game also brings ODST Firefight mode to The Master Chief Collection for all of your survival needs.
  4. Oct 16, 2020
    85
    Compared with the elite Spartan, although the adventures written by ODST in mortal bodies are a bit less legendary, there are more human emotions that players can resonate in the game.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 62
  2. Negative: 14 out of 62
  1. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    Ignore this, i just wrote this in all my reviews to have in somewhere a list of all cottent thats
    i've saw or played in my life. Just that,
    Ignore this, i just wrote this in all my reviews to have in somewhere a list of all cottent thats
    i've saw or played in my life. Just that, sorry if you see this and you are looking for something seious.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2020
    9
    I played this game a lot on the 360, it was and still is my favorite halo game. I've beaten the campaign more times than I can remember onI played this game a lot on the 360, it was and still is my favorite halo game. I've beaten the campaign more times than I can remember on each difficulty and have marathoned it multiple times. So naturally, the very first thing I did when it launched on MCC 2 days ago was marathon it on legendary and I don't regret it. This rerelease on the pc is extremely faithful to the original version of the game. The graphics for this game have aged extremely well minus a few textures and human faces. The pseudo open world of New Mombassa is still great to explore and you still have the option of sneaking past enemies to avoid fights or killing them. Some of the hit registration and damage for weapons seemed whacky and off at times but was never a big problem, something I just noticed. This port of ODST is not only great for people who have never played the original game, but also for those that played it back on the 360. Full Review »
  3. Jan 4, 2022
    3
    Halo 3 ODST is boring. Oh so incredibly boring. Dull, absolutely dull. Compared to Halo 3 it, is very much a regression of quality. It has aHalo 3 ODST is boring. Oh so incredibly boring. Dull, absolutely dull. Compared to Halo 3 it, is very much a regression of quality. It has a chance of doing things differently, a different experience in the Halo universe. It fails to do so. The attempts at changing up the formula are too conservative and ultimately just make the game a worse version of Halo 3.

    Graphically, it's not worse or better on technical side, it's about equal. However, it is definitely duller - the color palette shifted more to grey and brown, making it also stand out less from the overabundance of dull shooters of its time. For the most part, you will move through a city at night, with reused buildings and location - the city is not that big, but you'll feel like it's even smaller because every goddamn district looks the exact same - same layout, same buildings, same colors, same props...

    Sound wise, it's technically again on par with the mainline games, but the music, for most of the game, is a sort of jazzy lounge / elevator music, that is both completely uninspired and completely out of place.

    Story wise, again, pretty uninspired affair. The characters are unlikable from first cutscene and remain throughout.

    Gameplay is, as mentioned, worse rendition of Halo 3. The enemies have inflated health pool, artificially creating a feeling of ammo scarcity. What it really is though, is that even common enemies take a huge amount of ammo to kill. Personally, I really hate bullet sponges, they are a very unimaginative way to handle enemies and difficulty. It's not overdone to a point where the game would become a complete slog, but it's still noticeable. Also, most of the game is moving through a, as mentioned, very boring and repetitive cityscape. The game eludes, at the beginning, that many of the buildings are empty and you can flank or avoid enemies or take shorter paths if you explore them - but this is actually very limited and there are only a few shortcuts and paths through buildings you can take. Most of the time, you will be slowly walking through mostly empty dark grey city with nothing happening, with occasional combat with small groups of enemies - mostly 1 brute + 3 grunts, or 1-2 snipers. After you move to a new location, you will be treated to a "flashback" which is a mission in line with mainline Halo, but as mentioned, worse balance and also shorter in length as well. The only other real difference is that your HP does not regenerate, so if your shields (called stamina for whatever reason, lmao) drop and you get hit a couple times, you have to go and get a medkit or find a healing post - so basically Halo CE. How very innovative... True non-Spartan combat...

    Anyways, what this should have been, was an expansion / DLC to Halo 3, and turn the huge, repetitive, boring city at night into a single level / stage perhaps with focus on stealth.

    As it stands, it's just a crappy boring shooter where the shooting does not feel good, and where the shooting parts are also separated by long walking simulator parts in an uninteresting setting where nothing really happens and everything looks the same.
    Full Review »