Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 15, 2020
    100
    The port of Halo 3 to PC is excellent across the board, and the addition of new features and content make it the best the game has ever felt to play.
  2. Jul 28, 2020
    90
    Finally Halo 3 is remastered in all it's glory. It's age showing, but not holding it back, not for a second. Halo is home again.
  3. Jul 23, 2020
    90
    The Halo 3 porting is without any doubt the best of the Master Chief Collection to date, and the job done by 343 Industries is commendable. Although we could have hoped for a remake as happened with Halo 2, the developers have shown that despite the years, the third chapter of the first trilogy is still enjoyable. And with the improvements made, it's more beautiful than ever.
  4. Jul 23, 2020
    90
    Halo 3 is a very good game. As a conclusion to the storyline, it's hard not to be engaged with how things play out with the UNSC, Covenant, and Flood all appearing. Gameplay is very satisfying. Nothing beats sniping enemies, or dual-wielding and taking out the brutes. Although the campaign is shorter than in Halo 2, most players should feel satisfied with the amount of content overall. Multiplayer is a lot of fun. Finally, as a PC port, Halo 3 comes with no notable complaints whatsoever.
  5. Jul 20, 2020
    90
    Halo 3's PC port is by far the best yet, giving the game smoother controls but otherwise keeping the original experience intact. It's just as fun to play today as it was back when it launched in 2007, a testament to Bungie's design. Both returning and fans will find something to enjoy here, either for a nostalgia trip or for an experience unlike anything else currently on the market.
  6. Jul 15, 2020
    90
    It's Halo 3. The best version of Halo 3. Don't miss it or you will regret it.
  7. Jul 13, 2020
    90
    One cannot fail to point out the significant achievements achieved by the team of development in terms of fluidity and optimization, through which it was possible to enrich a package that, even if only for the amount of content offered, would deserve a place in the collection of any videogame player.
  8. Jul 16, 2020
    87
    The genre-defining shooter holds up fantastically, despite an imperfect package.
  9. Jul 17, 2020
    85
    Halo 3 for PC is an excellent re-release of an already amazing FPS, despite being held back by a few issues (no advanced graphics settings and the heavy changes of the netcode).
  10. Jul 15, 2020
    85
    Only slightly modernized, but great PC-conversion of Bungies shooter classic.
  11. Jul 14, 2020
    80
    With the launch of Halo 3, the Master Chief Collection on PC has reached its pinnacle. The end of the original trilogy is the high point of the series, and the collection itself is finally moving past its technical issues.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 70
  2. Negative: 13 out of 70
  1. Jul 16, 2020
    3
    I played under 4 hours of the game and i was sleeping. So repetitive. Overrated game.
  2. Jul 15, 2020
    10
    For this game, I bought an xbox 360 in 2007. Now it is released on the PC and is still as cool as in the year of its release.
  3. Jul 17, 2020
    4
    I never played this back in the day, Halo CE was my nostalgia trip, playing this now, the way the shotgun is crappy, the needler homes but theI never played this back in the day, Halo CE was my nostalgia trip, playing this now, the way the shotgun is crappy, the needler homes but the plasma pistol does not, the absolute repetitive back and forth nature of this title is absolute TRASH, I remember a lot of people said it sucked back in the day, like they did reach, and now after all these years I see why. Is it possible for the AI to get worse in a game?
    Cortana was all that even kept me interested, her struggle and this new reason to pay attention, but 117 barely has any lines, no role in the game other than following along the entire time. Some people will like anything, but to me this is a TRASH game, got near the end and uninstalled, there are so many things that destroy the flow of this game, without enough to make you want to finish, it feels like a grind when it should feel more like your kicking too much ass....maybe on easy, normal, but what they did with the harder levels in this game is give the enemies randomly timed pinpoint accuracy, or explosions designed to blow you off the map while not checkpointing adequately enough for at least a good push flow, they did more difficult wrong, its not actually hard, its stupid.
    Not to mention the part where you have to fight the two scarab, a random pelican fly's around for no reason getting in the way, then when you down one and hover near the back, it allows you to break the blue shield with missiles but not actually destroy the scarab with the same placement of MISSLES, the game is on some subtle level of disaster.
    Full Review »