Halo Wars 2 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead Spartans, Warthogs and other classic Halo fighting forces in a brutal war against a terrifying new enemy on the biggest Halo battlefield ever.- All-new, Action-packed Story – The heroes of Halo Wars return to find themselves - and the galaxy - in more danger than ever. Following theLead Spartans, Warthogs and other classic Halo fighting forces in a brutal war against a terrifying new enemy on the biggest Halo battlefield ever.- All-new, Action-packed Story – The heroes of Halo Wars return to find themselves - and the galaxy - in more danger than ever. Following the events of Halo 5, the all-new story is told in action-packed missions set on the legendary Halo destination known as the Ark. Players will strategically command overwhelming firepower in large-scale battles against a terrifying threat facing the UNSC and all of humanity.- Build Your Halo Army – Construct your bases, prepare your vehicles and amass your troops. Lead them into huge battles that span across alien environments in a vast collection of campaign and multiplayer maps.- Multiplayer Warfare – Play with or against your friends and the Xbox Live community in up to 3v3 matches. All-new units with explosive firepower, Leaders with special abilities that help to turn the tide in battle and thrilling multiplayer modes are at your fingertips as you wage war on a variety of maps.- Blitz: Instant Command – Blitz is an entirely new way to experience Halo Wars and real-time strategy gameplay. Combining tactical combat with card-based strategy, your deck is your army in Blitz as you build collections of powerful Halo vehicles and troops and command those units in fast-action matches online or solo against waves of enemies. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Halo Wars 2 - Atriox TGA 2016 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Feb 20, 2017
    90
    Halo Wars 2 is the sequel that no-one really asked for, but is a surprisingly solid traditional base-building RTS, and is finally on a platform suited for the genre. The campaign is a little lacking, but several different multiplayer modes and the promise of "six months of regular updates" make up for it.
  2. Feb 22, 2017
    81
    Superior to its predecessor in every way. Amazing cutscenes, a fun (yet very short) campaign, lots of fan service and decent multiplayer come together in a robust RTS package. Due to its lack of depth and content, it probably won't win the hearts of many C&C or Starcraft 2 veterans, but at the same time it presents a great entry point for newcomers to the genre.
  3. Feb 17, 2017
    80
    Halo Wars 2 is a fun strategy game with epic action moments and addictive multiplayer, but its gameplay is not very complex and feels a bit limited.
  4. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 24, 2017
    74
    Today’s strategy market is dominated by grand-scale games, like Ashes of the Singularity or Total War series. Compared to them, Halo Wars 2 feels like an echo of the glorious RTS past: small cozy bases, tiny unit limit, heavy focus on story in single-player and APM – in multiplayer. [Issue#218, p.54]
  5. Feb 23, 2017
    70
    Halo Wars 2 is a good RTS for those who wants to discover the genre, but for old-timers, it is still too classic and lacks depth.
  6. Feb 21, 2017
    70
    A bombastic but simplified RTS with great set-pieces and interesting new ideas in Blitz mode, but a lack of depth that'll shorten its longevity with PC players.
  7. Jun 8, 2017
    40
    Look, there is nothing wrong with Halo Wars 2... as a bonus game that comes free with Halo 6 or whatever. But as a premium, full-priced title? No. No, we deserve more than this. A franchise like Halo, with its rich fictional universe, its cool unit design, its super-clear mix of human and alien factions, deserves more than this.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Apr 16, 2018
    10
    Blitz is a fresh take on RTS but slightly challenging to the fans of the mainline Halo games. A must buy for Xbox and Pc owners.
  2. Apr 16, 2018
    10
    In typical fashion, the multiplayer in this Halo game is also very very good.
  3. Feb 21, 2017
    10
    Прошел на одном дыхании. 1ю часть проходил еще на 360м, как я обрадовался когда запустил ее на ПК. 2я часть серии стала намного лучше. ОжидалПрошел на одном дыхании. 1ю часть проходил еще на 360м, как я обрадовался когда запустил ее на ПК. 2я часть серии стала намного лучше. Ожидал худшего... С жанром РТС в последнее время все очень плохо, Но Halo Wars 2 мастхэв к покупке! За 2 600 получить 1ю и 2ю часть+сизн пасс и копии на хуан. Вообще ништяк. 10 Логвиновых из 10, а то и 11, и даже 12, игра года, и.т.д. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2017
    8
    I was very skeptical to buy this game as I always tend to choose good games due to the limited time I have to do so. Anyway, I did and I haveI was very skeptical to buy this game as I always tend to choose good games due to the limited time I have to do so. Anyway, I did and I have been positively surprised.
    I read many bad reviews regarding connection problems. I am happy to say that I have no suffered of that, thankfully and I have enjoyed it a lot. I have just finished one campaign and the rest of my time I have been dueling on-line. I have had a lot of fun with this game. I never write reviews but I thought this game deserved a little of my time to make justice of it
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2017
    7
    Five Word Review: Simple though enjoyable Halo RTS.
    Favorite Thing: The outstanding cinematics. I'm looking at you Starcraft, you use to
    Five Word Review: Simple though enjoyable Halo RTS.
    Favorite Thing: The outstanding cinematics. I'm looking at you Starcraft, you use to actually try.
    Least Favorite Thing: UWP? I can deal with it. Trivial base-building? Ugh but okay. A really short campaign with an unfinished story that may never see completion? I really don't like that.

    Date Completed: 2017-12-13
    Playtime: ~5h
    Enjoyment: 7/10
    Recommendation: If it's on sale. It's just far too short for the full price.
    Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2020
    6
    It may be too late to play this game, unfortunately not many play this game right now and most times u match up with high rank players alsoIt may be too late to play this game, unfortunately not many play this game right now and most times u match up with high rank players also beside the regular multiplayer mode there is another mode called blitz which is worth trying. sadly campaign is too short but cinematics are not bad for a RTS game.
    halo wars 2 might possibly be the best RTS for consoles.
    this game is currently available in xbox gamepass for both PC and Xbox.
    Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2019
    0
    Que porquería de juego ni siquiera lo pude jugar porque me obligaba a cambiarme a windows 10 un so que no me gusta no, es basura eh jugadoQue porquería de juego ni siquiera lo pude jugar porque me obligaba a cambiarme a windows 10 un so que no me gusta no, es basura eh jugado juegos con mejores gráficos que no me pedían tanta basura. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews