Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 30, 2017
    80
    Nothing really new for Hearthstone, but a pretty cool adventure with three wings and totally free for us.
  2. Aug 29, 2017
    82
    ​Knight of the Frozen Throne adds 135 new cards, the keyword lifesteal and a free PvE adventure.
  3. Aug 21, 2017
    95
    What I really liked about Knights of the Frozen Throne is that the cards introduced allow for so much synergy that the result is extremely funny in many cases. Every day I discover new effects that I didn't think could be possible, which is Knights of the Frozen Throne's main quality. With each new Hearthstone expansion, Blizzard has outdone itself, and Knights of the Frozen Throne is no exception to the rule. I can't wait to see what's next for Hearthstone and its very strong community.
  4. Aug 21, 2017
    80
    An excellent bill.
  5. Aug 21, 2017
    84
    Beside a new card set, Knights of the Frozen Throne brings some new, interesting stuff to Blizzard's CCG, pushing the challenge to a new level. Beware of only one thing: building a competitive deck could be very expensive.
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 14 out of 28
  1. Mar 3, 2018
    0
    Frustration based game with added programming to ensure people stay at a certain amount of frustration so they are more likely to pay money inFrustration based game with added programming to ensure people stay at a certain amount of frustration so they are more likely to pay money in a futile attempt to end their frustration.

    The game is designed and programmed to make you feel bad so long you try to pay to get rid of the bad feelings. Why play a game designed to make you feel bad?
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2017
    4
    This is gonna be F2P account experience. In my honest opinion this game requires you to play about 4 hours a day doing arena runs whenever youThis is gonna be F2P account experience. In my honest opinion this game requires you to play about 4 hours a day doing arena runs whenever you can, or spending a ton of money every time new expansion comes out. Been playing this since Grand Tournament, last expansion saved enough to get Shaman Elemental deck, which was quite good, and now i crafted Deathstalker Rexxar, because it's fun. With Whispers of the Old Gods i crafted N'Zoth, but i never had enough dust to do the Rogue and had no classess legendaries.

    So here is my main concern about the game- it's almost impossible to have fun for F2P account, because most likely you are gonna play 1, maybe 2 decks. So you can either try to do something fun and fail in ladder, or play Pirate Warrior/ Ultimate Infestation Druid/ other overpowered deck. I actually watched octoberbrawl festival (or whatever it was called) and i have to agree- it WAS fun. Because the pro players had to use limited amount of cards to craft good decks. But Hearthstone has NO matchmaking at all, so you are gonna be playing golden dragon priest decks at rank 20. Or aggro decks made by people with far more experience. There should be some way to create different league for people with less packs, less cards or wins. It's just no fun to play. I really like creating my own decks with limited resources, especially if they turn out to be succesfull, but it's pointless if i know that i will lose dust needed for creating something that can go higher than rank 19. Go watch a streamer open 200 packs and complain about the lack of some cards and think about the time and effort you have to put into the game to get to that point, which is not gonna be enough.

    It's just not something that you can play casually. If you get home from work, the last thing you want is frustration because you get screwed by RNG, or can't win because of the quality of your cards. Try not to get bored after playing the same deck for few months, accumulating dust for the next expansion, so you may play the next deck for few months.

    At this point it's really just the sunk cost that is keeping me in this game. It can be enjoyable when you craft new deck, get good RNG and get a miraculous victory. But:
    - you are gonna get screwed over every time there is an expansion by overpowered cards
    - you can expect meta decks in Wild that are gonna destroy you
    - the game often creates meta with one deck better than every other, so you will run into it most of the time, because people care about winrate difference
    - there is no way to avoid people with far more resources
    - there is a lot of crappy legendaries that you are gonna get, created by Bliizzard only to screw with you
    - Arena is RNG based so you are gonna see even Kripp getting decks so crappy, that he ends up 0:3
    - you are gonna get a lot of duplicates, even if you have a quarter of the expansion

    So honestly the best way to enjoy this game is to create 20+ accounts and reroll the daily rewards to get the "play with friend" reward (if it's still there) and do it long enough to get a meta deck.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2017
    1
    Dunno what they were thinking making this expansion but they outdid themselves. Priests running rampart with endless hero power and druidsDunno what they were thinking making this expansion but they outdid themselves. Priests running rampart with endless hero power and druids just skyrocketed in power. Good job blizzard. Full Review »