Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 25, 2014
    88
    Outside of a few ergonomic missteps, especially with the controller integration, it delivers an intense and immersive experience that rivals a lot of AAA FPS titles.
  2. Sep 23, 2014
    85
    If you’re looking for something a little different, and don’t mind a bit of repetition, give Heavy Bullets a shot. Just remember to pick up your bullets after firing.
  3. Nov 17, 2014
    80
    I press on with Heavy Bullets because its luminescent vision sculpts that chaos from noise into a signal, and creates a deconstruction and resurrection of an idealized game that I'll never get to play, but never get tired of chasing.
  4. Oct 10, 2014
    80
    A fun, original and pretty deep game, with lots of surprises and stuff to do.
  5. Oct 18, 2014
    75
    Heavy Bullets simplifies the control system to the bone, does not give the player a great offensive arsenal, and at the same time pushes the accelerator of a reasoned action and an above average challenge.
  6. Oct 7, 2014
    75
    Though a bit on the short side, Heavy Bullets offers fun and addictive gameplay that will keep you coming back for more. It also introduces a game mechanic that feels fresh and brings something new to the realm of shooters.
  7. Oct 12, 2014
    70
    A product with some flaws, but clever and challenging enough to give a few hours of interesting gameplay.
  8. Oct 3, 2014
    70
    For gamers seeking a slice of arcade-style action, they could certainly do a lot worse than Heavy Bullets. The gameplay is fun, the aesthetics are first-class, and for people who love a challenge, it will certainly provide them with one.
  9. Dec 22, 2014
    68
    Even though Heavy Bullets flirts with roguelike ideas, it lacks replayability.
  10. Sep 22, 2014
    68
    While I enjoy the odd FPS and rogue-like game, Heavy Bullets never really managed to grab me like I hoped it would. Do not get me wrong Heavy Bullets is a competent arcade shooter and rogue-like rolled into one. The cheap price is another bonus. Yet there are just a few too many aspects about the game that I didn’t find entertaining at all.
  11. Oct 8, 2014
    60
    Perhaps the game could have benefited from more enemies, events, discoveries, or more unique items. The neon charm was always a pleasure to play through, but overall I felt Heavy Bullets wore thin over time. If you’re a huge fan of rogue-like dungeon crawlers it’s worth a shot, but not six bullets.
  12. Oct 8, 2014
    60
    If you have the patience and will to beat a monster of a difficult game then you’re quite probably going to get your money’s worth here. It’s also impressively developed by just one man I believe. Terri Vellmann you can certainly be proud of your game but less worms in future please. I’m still having sleepless nights over them.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 25, 2015
    7
    Heavy bullets is a fun little game I just bought for 2 dollars. It's a roguelike, and like MANY roguelike's, IT"S HARD. The thing I like aboutHeavy bullets is a fun little game I just bought for 2 dollars. It's a roguelike, and like MANY roguelike's, IT"S HARD. The thing I like about heavy bullets is the fast gameplay, making it so you can speedrun the game, or attempt to, then die trying. However, with that said, there's one flaw to this game: the randomly generated levels. Why? because it can make the game TOO hard sometimes. Turrets are the worst sometimes, but having 6 of them at spawn is insane, yet it happened to me 2 times in a row!

    Overall, heavy bullets is NOT for everyone (please refer to the 1 anonymous user that gave it a negative rating), but it's also very fun, fast, and HARD. 7/10
    Full Review »