Heavy Rain Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 232 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience a gripping psychological crime thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where even the smallest actions and choices can cause dramatic consequences. The hunt is on for the Origami Killer, named after his calling card of leaving folded paper shapes on victims. FourExperience a gripping psychological crime thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where even the smallest actions and choices can cause dramatic consequences. The hunt is on for the Origami Killer, named after his calling card of leaving folded paper shapes on victims. Four characters, each with their own motives, take part in a desperate attempt to stop the killer from claiming a new victim. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 16, 2019
    85
    Even ten years after its premiere, this interactive thriller from David Cage is still great. Sometimes you can sense the age when it comes to visuals, but if you haven’t played this yet, you are in for a treat.
  2. Jul 11, 2019
    80
    Solid port, but there are some problems with the controls.
  3. Jul 19, 2019
    80
    It is an incredibly jarring, emotionally gutting game with beautiful music that sinks its teeth into you and refuses to let go until it reels back with a piece of your heart.
  4. Heavy Rain is perfect game, PC port looks good and works smoothly.
  5. 70
    Heavy Rain was quite the unique release in 2010 and is still worth a look for genre fans. This PC re-release improves a lot of things about that original experience, but doesn't go as far as it could in some respects.
  6. Jun 27, 2019
    70
    Of course, it’s a good thing that Heavy Rain is now available on PC. Many people will be able to play it for the first time and the game is still very beautiful, visuals-wise. But the mouse/keyboard controls are sluggish.
  7. Jul 8, 2019
    65
    Nine years later, Heavy Rain’s flaws have only become more pronounced. Even so, strong narrative design can’t be denied, and it’s just enough to ease the pain caused by the game’s more outrageous blunders.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 47
  2. Negative: 10 out of 47
  1. Jul 30, 2020
    10
    Scenry is awesome, but camera in some scenes is very bad. I think Everyone must to play in this game
  2. Apr 13, 2020
    10
    Well, where to start. Game 10 years old, but mimics better than 90 % of new games. Heavy Rain is probably the most emotive and dramatic game,Well, where to start. Game 10 years old, but mimics better than 90 % of new games. Heavy Rain is probably the most emotive and dramatic game, I have ever played. Amazing graphics, nice soundtrack, choices, I really got into the main character and sympathized with him. For now game don't have any bugs, controlling by mouse and keyboard is sometimes harder, sometimes game is so slow (walking), but is okay. I don't t mind the Epic Store and I hate haters, who give bad score only because Epic Store (aka Epic Store haters).

    I absolutely recommend this interactive drama masterpiece.
    Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2019
    10
    The PC version offers the graphical excellence for this amazing 2010 interactive drama, which is getting low scores from Epic Games haters.The PC version offers the graphical excellence for this amazing 2010 interactive drama, which is getting low scores from Epic Games haters. The game will be released on other stores once the exclusivity deal is over. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2019
    8
    Heavy Rain is a very good experience but the plot is filled with inconsistencies and voice acting is average at best. The Graphics were reallyHeavy Rain is a very good experience but the plot is filled with inconsistencies and voice acting is average at best. The Graphics were really good for a 9 year old game though. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2020
    7
    Сюжет неплох, чего и следовало ожидать от визуальной новеллы, однако экспозиция ну оооочень затянута и скучна, из-за ее всратости не удивлюсь,Сюжет неплох, чего и следовало ожидать от визуальной новеллы, однако экспозиция ну оооочень затянута и скучна, из-за ее всратости не удивлюсь, если кто - нибудь забросил игру в первые 2 часа. Персонажи интересные и классные, выбор влияет, атмосфера просто запредельная, графика оставляет желать лучшего, но игра все-таки 2010 года, так что можно сделать игре снисхождение. После прохождения нет ощущения, что ты прошел какой-то шедевр, или игра раскрыла много проблем, закрутила сюжет, этого всего нет. Просто неплохая игра на 1 раз, не более. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2020
    6
    I've been longing for a game that similar with LA Noire. Not the open world aspect, but the investigation, collecting evidence, solving crimeI've been longing for a game that similar with LA Noire. Not the open world aspect, but the investigation, collecting evidence, solving crime and such. A friend recommended me Heavy Rain. Too bad for me, I don't own a console, Playstation 3 for this matter. As soon as this game announced to coming on PC I was excited. But today when I play it, on the first impression all I got is dissapointment.

    First the game was badly optimized. I have **** tons of games released at 2012 that runs very well at max on my machine. This game, not so much, and it looks uglier than most of the game I had on that period. They could've spend more time optimizing it before releasing on the PC.

    Second, there're too many chores to do instead of giving the players the good stuffs in front. I mean even LA Noire's first case was pretty interesting. I get it that this was sort of like "tutorial mode" in order to make the player grasp on how to navigate and control the game. But later on you still have some of these chores here and there. I feel like they're just there as a "filler" to make the game much more of a game than an interactive movie.

    This is not a bad game despite those two major flaws. I would say this is the next evolution of point and click adventure games that were popular in the late 80's and early 90's. Or an interactive movie on which story comes first.

    Still I was hoping for a game that have hyper laser focus on crime solving. I wouldn't mind LA Noire 2, without the open world and driving segments. Or Heavy Rain 2, with much less chores and better pacing. I've looked at Detroit gameplay, it's a much more polished Heavy Rain, and seems it have better pacing. It give you a very interesting first case right on your face earlier on.

    Maybe I'll give that one a try sometimes in the future. For those who interested in this game, probably better to just skip to Detroit instead.
    Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2019
    0
    Good story telling when it actually works.
    Crashes.
    Button prompts are extremely annoying. Range from menial to just instantly kill someone.
    Good story telling when it actually works.
    Crashes.
    Button prompts are extremely annoying. Range from menial to just instantly kill someone. Why is that a problem?
    Because its not made clear what each button prompt does. At one point i wanted to check what an item is only to instantly chug some pills. At another point there was a standoff and i killed a guy because there was a button prompt but the button prompt didnt say **** go **** and murder him on the spot".
    Its hard to pick the dialogue choices you want - not because they are all interesting but because the writing floats in circles and wiggles making it impossible to read in the time they want you to make a choice. On top of that they tend to change numbers - i.e. if a dialogue choice was previous button "2" then in the next spinwheel dialogue choice it might be 3 or 4 and thats just stupid af.
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews