User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 60
  2. Negative: 17 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2020
    9
    The game has essence of "souls" from the beginning but futuristic, the gameplay reminds me a lot of bloodborne, great enjoyment of this type of game. I would not give it less than an 8 score. Great job
  2. Aug 6, 2020
    10
    Fun game. Pros +cool theme
    +fun combat
    +nice variety of weapons and armor
    + lots of areas to explore
    +a few fun bosses for an indie game
    +devs update regularly
    +offline splitscreen coop soulslike (easy buy on this alone)

    Cons
    -abit clunky
    -lots of glitches
    -easy to get lost
    -over saturation of secret areas
    -confusing lore
  3. Aug 6, 2020
    10
    Man, i love this game. The atmosphere struck a chord with me and if you enjoy that horror occult space theme thats already enough reason to get this! The animations are nicely done and the armor and weapon choices are diverse enough for some awesome rpg magic! The story is mysterious like dark souls but a bit confusing to where you might need to lookup the lore abit The bosses are hit orMan, i love this game. The atmosphere struck a chord with me and if you enjoy that horror occult space theme thats already enough reason to get this! The animations are nicely done and the armor and weapon choices are diverse enough for some awesome rpg magic! The story is mysterious like dark souls but a bit confusing to where you might need to lookup the lore abit The bosses are hit or miss alot of the times but man the bosses that are done well really make the game worthwhile. I counted 3 bosses that really gave me the dark souls/ deadspace feel which i think was enough to warrant multiple playthroughs. I mean its 35 bucks and theres alot of content presented in the vanilla experience. Also i recommend transferring over the demo characters from thespian feast by loading up a file after choosing the demos class that way you can start with a level boost. Yea theres some glitches but they tend to work in your favor more than not unless you hate glitches altogether.

    Overall the funnest soulslike since the soulsborne games. Much more enjoyable for me than nioh or the surge games
    Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2020
    10
    Great game. Plays very smoothly, havent encountered any bugs yet. Great premise and environment. Must buy if you are a Dark Souls fan. Its a true Dark Souls with coop
  5. Aug 3, 2020
    8
    People are being hard aren't they? The game is good I finish it with no problem with just the run of the mill bug but nothing serious, for an indie game is ok. It has a good horror atmosphere that gives the game an identity that separates it from others souls like which I like. Just like any other souls like is not for everyone but is a good game just make sure that you know you arePeople are being hard aren't they? The game is good I finish it with no problem with just the run of the mill bug but nothing serious, for an indie game is ok. It has a good horror atmosphere that gives the game an identity that separates it from others souls like which I like. Just like any other souls like is not for everyone but is a good game just make sure that you know you are playing an indie game Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2020
    9
    Сетевой код сбоит, багов хватает, графика уровня playstation 3, но! Но игра действительно интересная, здесь просто интересно исследовать локации, да и в целом геометрия уровней к этому очень располагает. Бэктреккинг присутствует в большом объеме, уже на вводной локации замечаешь множество мест, до которых пока не добраться, но понимаешь, что такая возможность предоставится в ближайшемСетевой код сбоит, багов хватает, графика уровня playstation 3, но! Но игра действительно интересная, здесь просто интересно исследовать локации, да и в целом геометрия уровней к этому очень располагает. Бэктреккинг присутствует в большом объеме, уже на вводной локации замечаешь множество мест, до которых пока не добраться, но понимаешь, что такая возможность предоставится в ближайшем будущем, причем не всегда возможность куда-то проникнуть отсутствует ввиду отсутствия каких-либо ключей или чего-то подобного, зачастую проход попросту весьма не очевиден. Да и в целом структура уровней воспринимается как что-то гигантское, хотя это и не совсем так. Про локации ещё можно добавить то, что они примитивно просты, но не однообразны. Сэттинг и атмосфера здесь на высоте, сай-фай и киберпанк в переплет с чем-то готическим. Дух исследования выдержан. Вообще видно, что разработчики очень старались. Из минусов конечно бросается в глаза бюджетность продукта, огрехи графики прячут за "геймдизайнерской темнотой", анимации топорные. Но количество плюсов явно преобладает над количеством минусов. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2020
    10
    Game is great, many bugs are already fixed, it feels like many people are forgetting that its a indie game, the combat is great, the weapons and armors are great, the world is great, i think this is one of the best Souls-Like games out there, many bugs from other reviwes are already fixed i hope that they will change theres later.

    if you like souls game and stuff just buy it and support
    Game is great, many bugs are already fixed, it feels like many people are forgetting that its a indie game, the combat is great, the weapons and armors are great, the world is great, i think this is one of the best Souls-Like games out there, many bugs from other reviwes are already fixed i hope that they will change theres later.

    if you like souls game and stuff just buy it and support the developers, its a great game ! it has is flaws but its still great
    Expand
  8. Aug 4, 2020
    9
    Good atmosphere and music. Great scifi soulslike. The developer is working on bugs as they are known
  9. Aug 2, 2020
    10
    Absolutely excellent game. Can't recommend enough. If you enjoy Sci-fi horror, this is a must-play.
  10. Aug 5, 2020
    10
    Super jeux, j'ai passé un très bon moment. Même si on sent les limitations du studio, je l'ai fini sans aucun temps long, n'est ce pas les derniers AAA ? Pour un studio indépendant, c'est de l'excellent travail !
  11. Aug 6, 2020
    8
    Hellpoint reminds me of bloodborne/dark souls the art and visuals are on point but Hellpoint has a lot of bugs, I'm scoring this game on enjoyment and playability not because of bugs
  12. Aug 12, 2020
    10
    It's fun with plenty of charm. I really enjoyed the theme. It's not flawless, couple of bugs here and there but definitely enjoyable if you give it some leniancy.
  13. Aug 15, 2020
    9
    This is a good game. Great, even, when you consider it was made by an only 11 man dev team. It is like a heavy metal, space opera, lovecraftian souls-like mashup. I have enjoyed my time thus far and plan to continue playing it multiple times. Considering the state of AAA gaming right now, this is exactly the type of games that need to receive support and players.
    ***UPDATE: After a
    This is a good game. Great, even, when you consider it was made by an only 11 man dev team. It is like a heavy metal, space opera, lovecraftian souls-like mashup. I have enjoyed my time thus far and plan to continue playing it multiple times. Considering the state of AAA gaming right now, this is exactly the type of games that need to receive support and players.
    ***UPDATE: After a handful of patches, game is even better. I am loving the feeling of being lost in a game for the first time in a while. Increased rating to 9.
    Expand
  14. Oct 27, 2020
    10
    Awesome Game. Looks great and need not so much System performance. A really good choice if u like Dark Souls and like Sci-fi. And the Bugs all rdy gone. BUY IT!!
  15. Apr 5, 2021
    8
    If you like souls-like combat and enjoyed Bloodborne this game is for you. Do not play this game as your first souls-like game. Dark Souls and Bloodborne are much better, but this game gets a bonus for being playable on Mac.
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 15, 2020
    55
    The game’s setting and horror vibes are interesting and boss fights are decent but my overall impression of Hellpoint is that the developers got in over their heads. I don’t recommend it to anyone who still has other soulslikes to feast on. [10/2020, p.83]
  2. Oct 9, 2020
    62
    Hellpoint is a game for Dark Souls saga lovers who want to live a similar experience regardless of the sacrifices that it entails. The title is lost amid the vastness of similar games that are capable of doing everything better, and while each game deserves to be treated as a separate set, it seems to strive to keep Miyazaki going through our heads at all times. It does not quite shine in nothing and its most positive aspects are lost among the immensity of bugs and cloned situations that leave us a déjà-vu feeling more bitter than sweet during the 20 hours that it lasts.
  3. Oct 8, 2020
    70
    Hellpoint is a dark sci-fi souls-like game that introduces some new features and ideas in an attempt to differentiate itself from a common dark souls clone. Plenty of glitches and bugs make it feel rushed and make it look like it’s still in beta. Overall, Hellpoint has lots of promise, and could have been an amazing game if Cradle Games spent more time in development.