• Publisher: 3DO
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2002
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 353
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyE.
    Nov 13, 2007
    3
    Amazing premise, awesome evolution of the Heroes series, great music, and some excellent hard choices in town building made this game *potentially* the best Heroes game ever. The inability of 3D0 to finish the adventure-map AI unfortunately destroyed any hope of a game with long-term replayability. Once you see how inept the AI is outside the campaign missions, you just can't lose. Amazing premise, awesome evolution of the Heroes series, great music, and some excellent hard choices in town building made this game *potentially* the best Heroes game ever. The inability of 3D0 to finish the adventure-map AI unfortunately destroyed any hope of a game with long-term replayability. Once you see how inept the AI is outside the campaign missions, you just can't lose. An amazing sequel destroyed by the rushed-product syndrome. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    4
    I, myself, am a big fan of well thought through turn-based strategy games. When I started to play this game, most of my friend were saying "oh, Heroes 3 is so much better". However, I thought that it would be wise to try the game before saying that it is not worth any of my time. So I did. The first feeling was that the gameplay was OK. Nothing extremely bad for a 2002 game. The way theI, myself, am a big fan of well thought through turn-based strategy games. When I started to play this game, most of my friend were saying "oh, Heroes 3 is so much better". However, I thought that it would be wise to try the game before saying that it is not worth any of my time. So I did. The first feeling was that the gameplay was OK. Nothing extremely bad for a 2002 game. The way the game plays was certainly different from what I was used to in Heroes 3, but it did not make it feel worse in that case. It was just different with some new interesting ideas that fit the game quite well. The thing is, it feels sort of cheap, the graphics are just very edgy and does not form the harmony you would expect. After playing Heroes IV I turned back to Heroes III to compare. And from the moment I, once again, saw the undeniable truth: the older version is so much better and so much smoother, it just feels a lot more organic and enjoyable. The feeling that I did not really feel playing Heroes IV was the joy of gaming, it just did not feel right. The game does not feel polished or finished, it just forms some sort of feeling that it is hostile to the player. It even lost that sporty feeling of competitive gaming, which is due to removal of a normal grid in the combat. To sum up, I will not play it again, but if you want a taste of history, it would be a game to try. Don't worry, you probably won't hook up. Expand
  3. WellynR.
    May 25, 2002
    0
    This game is f.....g wank have New World Computing relized it before completing the game. It has the option to play multiplayer but when you click on it you have to download an update.
  4. AnonymousMC
    Sep 30, 2002
    2
    The do-nothing AI, poor difficulty level balancing within campaigns, and lackluster graphics make this game more of a chore than a source of recreation. A medium to high-level Might hero is invincible. Why use anything else? It's not like the computer players will ever leave their towns to attack you anyway.
  5. Ryencoke
    Jun 4, 2006
    0
    Horrible. HoMM 3 devours this game in every way.
  6. JasonC.
    Jun 19, 2002
    0
    The Whole Heroes of Might And Magic series sucks. No point to the game at all. Plus the crappy graphics. Come on, not even totally 3D. This game makes Age Of Empires look over rated. Don't waste your time or money to buy or download this game. This games was a disgrace to the gaming world.
  7. Jan 9, 2015
    0
    Am probably should give this game big plus for brave attempt to create something new original. This game have unique style and interesting RPG feeling. Unless its all broken to point that am not enjoy playing it as previously HoMM3. What is most important in strategy are statistics, informations and all that is like secondary to useless things. For example fonts with informations are tinyAm probably should give this game big plus for brave attempt to create something new original. This game have unique style and interesting RPG feeling. Unless its all broken to point that am not enjoy playing it as previously HoMM3. What is most important in strategy are statistics, informations and all that is like secondary to useless things. For example fonts with informations are tiny and instead you have that wide interface and pictures which anyway are bad. Also number one in tactic is visible grid where you may predict how enemy or you will move this is almost not existing here and I don't see benefits from 3D landscape in battles it could be flat. And few other things which should be done better like upgrade units more items in shop etc. Only concept is good maybe even better that in all other HoMM but it look bad broken, like made in hurry or something or not tested. Am actually would give this game chance and try to play it just because it have some good ideas and its probably better from nevest HoMM. But definitely am enjoyed more playing previously HoMM 2 and 3 Expand
  8. ShadowPrince
    Jul 6, 2002
    2
    I have to agree that this game is geroin for it's funs. Dangerously addictive. But very poorly done, too many bugs, memory leaks here and there, even bugs in scenarios, sometimes game just crash my system. Very disappointing.
  9. AnonymousMC
    Feb 27, 2006
    0
    Terrible game!!!! HoMM 3 was so good, why did they have to go ahead and destroy it? its almost as if they did it on purpose. i understand that 3DO had no choice but to either release the game or go bankrupt, but i would preffer they didnt release the game. the graphics are completely SAD, especially of flying units. the whole new battle system is terrible. and they really could have put aTerrible game!!!! HoMM 3 was so good, why did they have to go ahead and destroy it? its almost as if they did it on purpose. i understand that 3DO had no choice but to either release the game or go bankrupt, but i would preffer they didnt release the game. the graphics are completely SAD, especially of flying units. the whole new battle system is terrible. and they really could have put a little more time into making the different towns and deciding which creatures go where. Devils and Vampires in the same town?!?!?! are you kidding me?!?! Expand
  10. Oct 7, 2019
    0
    With all my gaming soul, I don’t understand the high ratings of this ...this product. An uninteresting story, in attempts to jump over the head of the third part, and a completely wretched appearance/graphics. It feels like they were drawing this ...game on their knees for three days in a hurry. Besides the beautiful artifacts, everything else was ugly. Especially the movement of units, soWith all my gaming soul, I don’t understand the high ratings of this ...this product. An uninteresting story, in attempts to jump over the head of the third part, and a completely wretched appearance/graphics. It feels like they were drawing this ...game on their knees for three days in a hurry. Besides the beautiful artifacts, everything else was ugly. Especially the movement of units, so if they are all somehow crippled. And this stupid idea to rotate the map at an angle like pseudo 3D. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Computer Gaming World
    50
    The new combat system is an almost unmitigated disaster. [July 2002, p.73]
  2. 87
    The great balance and fabulous background of the game are simply outstanding.
  3. The title takes everything that has ever been great about the series and elevates it to the next level. The changes revitalize the Heroes formula and provide more strategic gameplay than the series has ever offered.