Hollow Knight Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 657 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hollow Knight is a 2D action-adventure game with an emphasis on traditional 2D animation and skillful gameplay. Journey to Hallownest, a vast and ancient underground kingdom inhabited by a bizarre collection of insects and monsters. Players will forge their own path as they explore ruinedHollow Knight is a 2D action-adventure game with an emphasis on traditional 2D animation and skillful gameplay. Journey to Hallownest, a vast and ancient underground kingdom inhabited by a bizarre collection of insects and monsters. Players will forge their own path as they explore ruined cities, forests of fungus, temples of bone and other fantastic lands, all on their way to uncovering an ancient mystery. Collapse

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Hollow Knight - Voidheart Edition Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 29, 2018
    100
    Hollow Knight is one of the best 2D platformers I’ve ever played - it is a beautiful, quirky and dynamic game; challenging yet rewarding; mournful yet brimming with hope. When it comes to console, it’s going to cause a real stir.
  2. Jun 22, 2018
    94
    Hollow Knight is a Metroidvania with a well of content to discover that’s as deep as its labyrinthine caves. The world of Hallownest is compelling and rich, full of story that’s left for you to discover on your own, and built with branching paths that offer an absurd amount of choice in how you go about discovering it. With such a high density of secrets to find and fun, challenging enemies to face, it’s worth spending every moment you can in Hollow Knight.
  3. 90
    If you're a fan of any of the genres that have been brilliantly meshed together to compose Hollow Knight, I highly recommend you play it. Even if you aren't. Play it anyways.
  4. Jul 12, 2017
    90
    Hollow Knight is a charming arcade that will not only inspire Metroid/vania fans. You will never be bored in the enormous and magical environments thanks to the colorful RPG elements, interesting story and unique visuals.
  5. CD-Action
    Jun 7, 2017
    85
    Despite some lack of creativity it’s so good that it’s hard to believe that it’s the first project of a tiny studio. Had brilliant Ori and the Blind Forest not existed, Hollow Knight could have become an official standard for Metroidvanias. [06/2017, p.50]
  6. Jan 2, 2018
    84
    A very difficult and hand-drawn Metroidvania with an enormous size for players with a lot of patience and a high frustration tolerance.
  7. Apr 5, 2017
    65
    I still hesitantly recommend Hollow Knight to anyone as partial to Metroidvanias as I am, but the experience runs far longer than its visual appeal does, and at that point it becomes just another Dark Souls wannabe. It’s solid, but it demonstrates how far we still are from puzzling out From Software’s master recipe.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 143
  1. Jun 25, 2019
    10
    One of my favorite games. This game is masterpiece for me, all good..............
  2. Feb 25, 2017
    10
    This game isn't getting enough mainstream press. Really... the controls are the best I've ever felt in a side-scrolling game. The graphics andThis game isn't getting enough mainstream press. Really... the controls are the best I've ever felt in a side-scrolling game. The graphics and the music... there really are no words. The story is interesting and philosophical, although it does require you use your imagination. The game is difficult, yet accessible (with modes that make it 'Dark Souls' difficult, if you're enough of a masochist). No qualms and no regrets, except that I wasn't an original Kickstarter backer. If you like video games at all, buy this. 9.8/10. Collapse
  3. Jun 20, 2018
    10
    I really think this is one of the best game ever made. It's flawless. The music, the characters, the story and the visual are amazing. AI really think this is one of the best game ever made. It's flawless. The music, the characters, the story and the visual are amazing. A masterpiece with free DLC. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2018
    10
    This game is one of the best games that I played for the last few years. And it is definitely the best metroidvania so far.
  5. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    I don't know how to describe it, just play it. "Your review must be at least 150 characters long." ok. This game if filled to the brim withI don't know how to describe it, just play it. "Your review must be at least 150 characters long." ok. This game if filled to the brim with content, I never once felt like what I was doing was pointless. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2019
    9
    Очень атмосферная игра с красивой графикой и отличной боевой системой. Игра в меру сложная, но зато когда закончишь с очередным боссом поОчень атмосферная игра с красивой графикой и отличной боевой системой. Игра в меру сложная, но зато когда закончишь с очередным боссом по настоящему получаешь желаемое наслаждение. Сюжет кстати тоже очень интересный. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2019
    0
    Absolutely atrocious. Unplayable beyond any reasonable measure. Not a finished game by any stretch of the imagination. Buggy, terriblyAbsolutely atrocious. Unplayable beyond any reasonable measure. Not a finished game by any stretch of the imagination. Buggy, terribly optimised, horribly designed. Avoid like the plague. Expand

See all 143 User Reviews