User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 361 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 361

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 28, 2015
    1
    A hack job, that's what this 'remastered' version is. The issues with it? Here is a list:
    so list:
    capturing frigates on mission 3 fails to give you back the captured ships. because the physics (ballistic) system is not being used gearbox modified all the unit stats and balance around the RNG system, meaning ships like destroyers are hard countering frigates, ships move weirdly. I
    A hack job, that's what this 'remastered' version is. The issues with it? Here is a list:
    so list:
    capturing frigates on mission 3 fails to give you back the captured ships.

    because the physics (ballistic) system is not being used gearbox modified all the unit stats and balance around the RNG system, meaning ships like destroyers are hard countering frigates, ships move weirdly.
    I did warn people about this change, but everyone said it was not a big deal... now you are seeing the consequences.

    Multiple queues are limited to 2, this broke balance further in hw1.

    Support frigates needing to dock with ships means they cannot repair fast nor at long range nor actually support.

    support frigates cannot hyperspace while carrying strike craft.

    Formations are completely broken (they are not working at all) this also is because the game is using RNG instead of ballistic system.

    capturing carriers or alike will not allow you to build ships with them.

    because they are using triggers instead of game mechanics capturing resource collectors on missions where you have to destroy them, will consider them as alive and keep giving resources ad infinitum to carriers to magically keep popping fighters or frigates.

    capturing ships sometimes will make them pop out ships from the enemy team (carriers).

    the special ability keys mostly do NOT work with bandbox selection, this includes salvage frigates (and pretty much means its a pain to use them).

    because ships aren't taking onto account collision paths on the asteroids missions fighters will not evade asteroids and will get massively crushed.

    friendly ships keep attacking ships that are already being hold by enough salvage corvettes meaning they often destroy your prey.

    shift+click for queuing fast 5 on 5 ships does not work.

    there seems to be an arbitrarily low strike craft build limit active?

    The UI ships icons are night impossible to clearly identify what do you have selected.

    the mouse seems to be lagging (is it hardware accelerated?)

    salvage corvettes suddenly seem able to easily capture enemy corvettes (this is because it seems... evasion mechanics were disabled because they do not affect the RNG system) so they fly linearly and just get clamped easily.

    salvage corvettes are not showing their capture beam animation.

    the camera zooming out seems to be limited so much you cannot have a good view of the battles unless you go into tactical view which...

    tactical view Is broken.

    the game randomly crashes on missions 4/5

    missing select unused harvesters button.

    gearbox did it on purpose but why research needs to cost resources at all? it could have been left to work just like hw1, this seems to be an unnecessary change.
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Most EPIC RTS in space. You must play it if you love space or RTS. 3 dimension of outstanding gameplay. Best game ever. I love by all my heart. Game made with soul and love. TOTALLY RECOMENDED.
  3. Jul 22, 2016
    5
    I am dissapointed too. I played Homeworld 2 and had good fun. This remastered Version has great graphics, but even on Version 2.1 there are bugs: pathfinding is very bad, often my ships dont attack anything, although there are enemies and they are on attack status. The biggest problem is the lack of good overview and I dont mean this sensor view. Then why do we have such good graphics engine?
  4. Mar 4, 2015
    1
    Aside from the graphics looking a little better just about everything else has been made worse. Formatins don't stick. Units can't be made not to shoot enemy shipts when I am capturing them (stand down is broken). Broken scriping througout. Some missions get stuck with no way to finish them. Ships get stuck with funny jitery movements. Broken path finding. AI seems erattic and withAside from the graphics looking a little better just about everything else has been made worse. Formatins don't stick. Units can't be made not to shoot enemy shipts when I am capturing them (stand down is broken). Broken scriping througout. Some missions get stuck with no way to finish them. Ships get stuck with funny jitery movements. Broken path finding. AI seems erattic and with inconsistent rules. At one time research for ion cannons is stated to be available but nothing apears in the research list so you must reload from earlier levels. Many other mechanics have been removed or destroyed like fuel or being able to heal a fleet automatically rather than baby manage each unit. Over all a horibily broken game. Frustrating to say the least. In no way is it the gem the original was. You can tell no love went into this one. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2015
    4
    I expect from a remastered a high quality and very few bugs.

    Too many bugs so far. Homeworld 1 remastered is basically a port of homeworld 1 on homeworld 2 engine, incorrectly tested.
  6. Mar 7, 2015
    4
    I have to agree with the lower scores here. I come from the original series as well and they were awesome. They are still better than any RTS today. The remastered versions however only got a slightly better look and to work on modern PC's. The issues mentioned by those scoring the remastered version low is the issues i see as well, and so i dont understand when people score the RMI have to agree with the lower scores here. I come from the original series as well and they were awesome. They are still better than any RTS today. The remastered versions however only got a slightly better look and to work on modern PC's. The issues mentioned by those scoring the remastered version low is the issues i see as well, and so i dont understand when people score the RM versions highly. Too many issues and changes from the original games that shouldnt been done because it made the RM versions worse. They look better, sure, but the IMPORTANT stuff was made worse. Graphics seems to be what people rate games for today which is a shame. Back in the day when we "didnt have" gaphics - gameplay and mechanics mattered.

    I hope Gearbox can patch and fix these issues because this should really be bought by every RTS gamer out there, and you can clearly see that even though the game is old, its so good and better than most RTS'es today that it will keep selling for years to come. Patch the issues, and get cracking on expanding on Homeworld and release HW3 in a couple of years. I will buy HW3 if the issues are fixed, new campaign, upgraded graphics engine (not really needed, but would be epic to see the REAL mechanics from the original in a modern engine).

    I give it 4/10 for fixing the original games to work on todays PC's, and for at least trying to get the best RTS ever made remastered to a new audience, and to us veterans. So 6 points missing for a perfect score because Gearbox changed or broke some vital and great working mechanics from the original versions. Also i think i crashed only once and the performance was decent on max graphics (slight stutter on a rather good PC). Please try again Gearbox. Patch what the community is asking you to patch, and then get busy making HW3. It will take the RTS crown and bring in a lot of money. Just do it right.
    Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2015
    4
    NOTE: Exclusively about Homeworld 1 Remastered, not tested 2 yet.

    As much as I love Homeworld the initial release is kind of disappointing to say the least. Many features are broken or just don't exist and even though I'm glad it's not just a fancy copy of the original I can't help the feeling some changes were just wrong. Some of the stuff that doesn't work: - Formations and
    NOTE: Exclusively about Homeworld 1 Remastered, not tested 2 yet.

    As much as I love Homeworld the initial release is kind of disappointing to say the least. Many features are broken or just don't exist and even though I'm glad it's not just a fancy copy of the original I can't help the feeling some changes were just wrong.

    Some of the stuff that doesn't work:
    - Formations and behavior don't work at all.
    - Some selection behaviors HW players got used to (ie. selecting all ships of one type in formation with the mothership by clicking only one ship) don't exist
    - Some 'box commands' don't work/are missing (most notably salvaging)
    - Ship AI is really lacking so you can't depend on them to make reasonable tactical decisions themselves anymore (ie ships keep attacking a salvaged ship; selecting a sub-optimal target)
    - "Keep docked" in the launch window does nothing
    - tactical map refuses to open under certain circumstances

    the actual list goes on but I'll save that for a forum post

    Once you know how to deal with all these problems the gameplay isn't too bad. Having played the original not long before I appreciate at least some of the changes made but overall it's some kind of a mixed bag situation. Salvaging for example isn't as broken as it was in HW1 but that's only because the ships are simply not worth it = salvaging not worth it (especially if you basically have to babysit your entire fleet)
    The introduction of the dynamic difficulty (basically determining the enemy's fleet's strength based on your's at the end of the previous mission) should not have happened. Not only was HW1 well balanced in difficulty (if you didn't use 'exploits') but the high amount of resources also means players will muster up their fleet before starting the next mission in preparation and be outnumbered anyways. I'm not through yet but I'm anticipating problems in later missions.

    Multiplayer is kind of strange. Combining the HW1 and HW2 races sounded nice but they didn't figure out how to handle the differences between the two games. Fighters will build individually or in squads, tech trees, Taiidan und Hiigaran fleets still almost the same, differently working building mechanics.... It's just not ONE game but two somehow mashed together. How about a game mode option for HW1 or HW2 style and build around that?

    *sigh* .. at least it happened but there is so much not working I hope they pull themselves together, fix all the problems and continue making good HW games like the franchise deserves.
    Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2015
    2
    New players to the game wont know the problems untill you play the classic game. And as this is a "Remasterd" title, I will be doing a strict comparison to the original title.

    I had heard there would be a select few changes to the original game, and that they would all be for the better.But largely, that is not what we got. the Homeworld '1' remastered is not the game we were lead to
    New players to the game wont know the problems untill you play the classic game. And as this is a "Remasterd" title, I will be doing a strict comparison to the original title.

    I had heard there would be a select few changes to the original game, and that they would all be for the better.But largely, that is not what we got. the Homeworld '1' remastered is not the game we were lead to believe it was going to be. while the visuals are great as one would expect them to be, the mechanics fall woefully short of the original game. here is a list of the biggest problems in my opinion. in no particular order:
    1 ) support frigates no longer repair units from a distance, and instead take a long time maneuvering around a ship in desperate need of repair, before finding a good spot to fix it from.
    2 ) the same for resource collectors who now circle forever to find a good spot to harvest from.
    3 ) the difficulty scales with your own fleet power, before there were a set number of enemys in an area, but now there are more or less depending how your campaign progresses.
    4 ) the original end credits is not featured in the remastered(which from what I understand is more greedy record label than the fault of gearbox, but its still a problem)
    5 ) instead of the awesome tactics and beautiful formations with physics based hit detection, it was substituted for the random number generation of HW2.

    Any of the changes listed above would be upsetting for long time fans of homeworld, but number 5 is the biggest deviation from the gameplay of HW1Classic. and in it of itself ruins the game, because without this the only thing the remastered has in common with the classic is the title and story. Whatever reason Geabox told themselves to convince themselves that the changes(butchering) to the classic game was okay, was dead wrong.

    I was expecting two remastered games, not one game with two campaigns. ! award 2 points because it does contain the original unmolested games and otherwise a pretty game to look at, but not play.
    Expand
  9. Feb 28, 2015
    2
    While the graphics have been brought up to modern standards, the mechanics (at least in HW1) are a bastardization. No fuel, die rolls instead of bullet physics, tactics have been completely removed, formations simply don't work, corvettes behave like fighters, and getting units to do what you want them to do is an exercise in frustration. On top of that, the release is riddled with bugs.While the graphics have been brought up to modern standards, the mechanics (at least in HW1) are a bastardization. No fuel, die rolls instead of bullet physics, tactics have been completely removed, formations simply don't work, corvettes behave like fighters, and getting units to do what you want them to do is an exercise in frustration. On top of that, the release is riddled with bugs. Not good enough. Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this one was going to be a slam dunk - after all it was an excellent game and Gearbox was planning to update it and beautify it. Beyond that though we quickly get in to trouble:

    1) Fuel has been taken out - this on its own is alright but it causes strike craft to never bother to return to support frigates for repair and rearm. As a consequence of removing fuel they inadvertently made fighters far less survivable.

    2) The original game had support for telling your ships to keep a stance of aggressive or evasive for extra damage or extra survivability... this is just gone.

    3) Formations of ships completely break up as soon as they encounter the enemy.... they may as well be set to 'fly randomly'

    4) Bugs, bugs, bugs.... I am dumbfounded how they managed to introduce so many of them.
    -The game wouldn't run on day 1 until I did some settings arcana. I'm not running a weird build, win7_64, yet these problems happened... unacceptable.

    -The game frequently misses mission triggers, e.g. in the asteroid mission I've completed it yet the Bentusi never show up... the mission just never ends.

    -In the previous mission I captured an enemy carrier. When it came out of the mothership as a friendly carrier it started to disgorge ~20 enemy interceptors....

    -Resource harvesters keep getting stuck due to incompetent pathing

    Really this feels like a beta... I am so tired of companies selling unfinished crap as final product and planning to patch it later.
    Expand
  11. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest RTS pc games of all time returns! homeworld 2 is 12 years old and its STILL better than most RTS games of the present day which is just shocking and this is coming from a guy who plays company of heroes, total war, starcraft etc.

    The game was beautiful back in the day for its time but now its been updated to modern day graphics, it aint only a good multiplayer game,
    One of the greatest RTS pc games of all time returns! homeworld 2 is 12 years old and its STILL better than most RTS games of the present day which is just shocking and this is coming from a guy who plays company of heroes, total war, starcraft etc.

    The game was beautiful back in the day for its time but now its been updated to modern day graphics, it aint only a good multiplayer game, the story and single player are excellent, the music and sounds are pure quality, the game pretty much has everything, it isnt overly complex as a game but it isnt totally newb friendly either and the single player missions do not like you win without using your brain, like in my opinion every single game out there should do.

    Thank you gearbox for releasing this amazing franchise i got the collectors edition today and cant wait to play. I am a really only a pure multiplayer gamer but i will 100% do the single player for this game and i will WHORE the multiplayer, i cannot wait to see the HW1 and HW2 armies mix together in multiplayer, i really hope for HW3 after remastered, please!!!!! make it so! keep it true homeworld for the fans! Thank you!
    Expand
  12. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    I haven't had any serious issues with the game. The only bug I've seen involved a resource collector getting stuck on an asteroid. So a pretty minor bug all things considered.

    This is an update that makes the game look gorgeous, even if your computer isn't the most up-to-date. My computer is like 7 years old and yet these uodate graphics play really well. There are also a lot of
    I haven't had any serious issues with the game. The only bug I've seen involved a resource collector getting stuck on an asteroid. So a pretty minor bug all things considered.

    This is an update that makes the game look gorgeous, even if your computer isn't the most up-to-date. My computer is like 7 years old and yet these uodate graphics play really well. There are also a lot of graphical options that you can go through if you are in a similar situation.

    The game does change a number of things compared to Homeworld 1. However, it also features a classic edition of Homeworld 1 if that is all you want to play as well.

    Finally, anyone who gives this re-release anything less than a 7 is a fanatic. Yes, there are changes made to the game as it was converted into the HW2 engine. However the gameplay is still extremely enjoyable and the only people who will notice many of these differences are hardcore Homeworld players.
    Expand
  13. Feb 26, 2015
    6
    In and of itself, Homeworld:Remastered is a decent game with modern graphics and gameplay, though marred by multitudes of bugs (some game breaking). As a remastering of the originals, it is a straightforward upgrade of Homeworld 2 and a shambling shadow of Homeworld 1. The HW1 game has had many features and balance points sacrificed so that it could be shoehorned into the HW2 engine andIn and of itself, Homeworld:Remastered is a decent game with modern graphics and gameplay, though marred by multitudes of bugs (some game breaking). As a remastering of the originals, it is a straightforward upgrade of Homeworld 2 and a shambling shadow of Homeworld 1. The HW1 game has had many features and balance points sacrificed so that it could be shoehorned into the HW2 engine and multiplayer. Having said this, the Remastered collection does come with HW: Classic, which is a worthwhile purchase for the most diehard of fans. Expand
  14. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    My favorite space RTS for over a decade, now with a new coat of paint, some gameplay mechanics have changed due to engine switch but the story, atmosphere and orchestral score remain the same in the end that is what matters the most to me.
  15. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    Homeworld was my childhood. Glad to have an old friend back.

    Yes things may have changed some in Homeworld's mechanics, yes there may have been some bugs at launch, but this game... it takes me back. In this high quality, with everything maxed out, I have a great joy within me. They did a good enough job. Even if no more patches are done, I will be happy. Oh and Gearbox - you are NOT
    Homeworld was my childhood. Glad to have an old friend back.

    Yes things may have changed some in Homeworld's mechanics, yes there may have been some bugs at launch, but this game... it takes me back. In this high quality, with everything maxed out, I have a great joy within me. They did a good enough job. Even if no more patches are done, I will be happy.

    Oh and Gearbox - you are NOT forgiven for Aliens Colonial Marines...
    Expand
  16. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    This is a brilliant old game with a HD overhaul. And its still a awesome game. There haven't really been any games like this ever since, which is a bit strange. So to see Homeworld come back is just... Epic man..
  17. Feb 27, 2015
    7
    the long awaited remastered version of one of the finest if not the finest space RTS is finally here.
    It has delivered in many ways. The graphics are just beautiful and do the original justice. Space has never before looked so strikingly good.
    It has some flaws however. I'll only be talking about Homeworld remastered, not Homeworld 2 remastered. First of all. There was the chance to
    the long awaited remastered version of one of the finest if not the finest space RTS is finally here.
    It has delivered in many ways. The graphics are just beautiful and do the original justice. Space has never before looked so strikingly good.

    It has some flaws however. I'll only be talking about Homeworld remastered, not Homeworld 2 remastered.
    First of all. There was the chance to get rid of the tedious resource collecting at the end of levels. they have not done it. Why not is beyond me, since in Homeworld 2, it was already implemented that resources are collected automatically at the end of the levels. To add to that flaw, the resource collectors seem to have gotten the dumb makeover. Maybe it is just my memory, but they really seem to behave quite stupid when collecting resources. On several occasions, they were sitting idle when given the harvest command after they consumed a cloud or a rock, not harvesting any further. Also, they seem to move even slower than in the original HW. In some levels, it took several hours! to collect all the remaining resources. That's not good.

    They killed the formations which worked perfectly in the original. Most of them just don't do what they're supposed to. This is especially bad in the sphere formation. In the original, you could let your smaller ships enter a sphere formation and with an additional guard command on bigger ships, they would move in position to form a protective sphere around the ship, firing on all threats while moving along with the guarded ship in a perfect sphere. This doesn't work anymore, they just form a small blob flying alongside the protected ship, which renders the sphere formation completely useless.

    There are also pathfinding bugs. This is especially annoying, when in battle and you order your support frigates to repair your capitals. Very often they get stuck in front of another big ship, waiting for the big ship to move instead of going around, hence, no repairs done. ship lost. I hopw they fix it with a patch soon.

    Finally, there's the UI. WTF? Is all I have to say about this. It's sad :(

    To sum it all up: I'm back in the Homeworld Universe, It looks better than ever, but it feels off. Some former key elements are missing, bugs distort the gaming experience, and the UI is terrible.
    The worst part however is, that it feels slower than ever before.
    To bring this game to a younger generation who didn't know the original, would have meant to adapt a faster pace. Most of them are not familiar with this kind of slow gaming and it could mean a huge blow to sales if the game doesn't appeal to them.
    If Gearbox is able to fix these issues, we might have a classic again.
    7/10 for now
    Expand
  18. Mar 8, 2015
    9
    This remastered collection is absolutely fantastic. The ships, the combat, the cinematic sequences, the atmosphere, everything as good as the original and a lot more HD. The only nitpick I have is that they could have ported the mechanics of the original HW1 more loosely. The salvage tactics was silly back then and is still silly now.
  19. Apr 5, 2015
    4
    Homeworld 2 Remastered is very solid, but homeworld 1 is really broken. I really dont know why Gearbox, changed HW 1 exactly to be like Hmeworld 2. HW 1 was better game. This game got a lot of bugs too (not many in HW2, but half of features in HW 1 dont work, or is pretty buggy.
    This remaster is not **** in terms of Visual quality, but it is really buggy and Homeworld 1 got game breaking
    Homeworld 2 Remastered is very solid, but homeworld 1 is really broken. I really dont know why Gearbox, changed HW 1 exactly to be like Hmeworld 2. HW 1 was better game. This game got a lot of bugs too (not many in HW2, but half of features in HW 1 dont work, or is pretty buggy.
    This remaster is not **** in terms of Visual quality, but it is really buggy and Homeworld 1 got game breaking problems.
    Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    My wish for the last 5 years has finally been answered. Beautiful graphics combined with my student years nostagia is priceless.
    A small -1 for the price tag, this is especially true for those of us who already own the originals, silly me !! Get it you fools !
  21. Mar 14, 2015
    4
    Issue is simply it is too hard without any way to adjust the difficulty. If you cannot get by the 4th mission since the AI throws everything at you including the kitchen sink, why buy the game. In the PC world you have many titles that do not adjust for different gamer levels and just show some pretty graphics. For those people who have a life, are the average gamer who enjoys a nice game,Issue is simply it is too hard without any way to adjust the difficulty. If you cannot get by the 4th mission since the AI throws everything at you including the kitchen sink, why buy the game. In the PC world you have many titles that do not adjust for different gamer levels and just show some pretty graphics. For those people who have a life, are the average gamer who enjoys a nice game, stay away from this game. Nice graphics don't fix game play and you will be frustrated giving up shortly. Expand
  22. May 3, 2015
    1
    Homeworld has become an average mod implemented for the Homeworld 2 engine. It sure looks pretty but the game play has took a big step backwards.The single player campaign takes a backseat to the goal of combining both games into a big multiplayer face off. so all the original single player balance has been turned on its head to make the original fleets fit with the fleets of HW2.

    Add
    Homeworld has become an average mod implemented for the Homeworld 2 engine. It sure looks pretty but the game play has took a big step backwards.The single player campaign takes a backseat to the goal of combining both games into a big multiplayer face off. so all the original single player balance has been turned on its head to make the original fleets fit with the fleets of HW2.

    Add to that the flight and healing mechanics and a pile of other stuff no longer work like they did makes this not so much a remasterering rather a clunky remake.

    The fact non of the so called critic's even seemed to notice that one of the two playable factions in the first game has been completely removed tells you all you need to know about how much effort they put into their reviews.

    But what the hay, it sure looks spiffy!! ...I mean that's all that matters right ?....
    Expand
  23. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    Fantastic remaster, I have only played about 3 hours so far of the first game. Looks awesome, and still has the great feel of Homeworld. You can really tell this was a game made with lots of care by a team with a lot of respect for the source material. I recommend it, nostalgic and awesome. Clear your schedule.
  24. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    Homeworld 1 and 2 original offered unique gameplay in a semi 3d setting ( still more 3d than many other games in the RTS segment ) in a visually appealing package along with great sound.

    While Homeworld 1 has not aged all that well visually, Homeworld 2 holds up to 2015 standards ( and that is vanilla Homeworld 2 original ) Herein lays the problem - maybe. The remastered package is
    Homeworld 1 and 2 original offered unique gameplay in a semi 3d setting ( still more 3d than many other games in the RTS segment ) in a visually appealing package along with great sound.

    While Homeworld 1 has not aged all that well visually, Homeworld 2 holds up to 2015 standards ( and that is vanilla Homeworld 2 original )

    Herein lays the problem - maybe. The remastered package is amazing in terms of improvements for Homeworld 1 - but feels rather insignificant for Homeworld 2. - But how much does it matter? - Actually not that much.

    While Homeworld 1 benefits greatly visually, - its sound remains similar ( i think the weaponsounds and explosions feel a little bigger - but i might be mistaken - its been a while since i played the original Homeworld 1 ) - and its gameplay benefits from a revised UI.... - Homeworld 2 gains a few effects that had been available in various ways via mods. The visual improvement of Homeworld 2 is barely noticable on the ships and models, more noticable on the backgrounds.

    Cutscenes have been revised and look great - but they did look great to begin with - and the black and white "kind-of-flash-style" was more or less ageless anyway.

    For me - the biggest improvement is the compatibility and ease of access ( like a GoG title ). Even Homeworld 2 original lacked widescreen support and had some serious trouble with todays resolutions. Homeworld 1 wouldn t start at all sometimes.

    So a general statement about the remastered versions:

    It is greatly beneficial for Homeworld 1, and appreciated for Homeworld 2. That means that it is WORTH it. However - someone that knows his way around modding and already has certain mods for Homeworld 1&2 ( like UI, HD skinning, shaders, resolution support etc. ) won t find much that amazes him.

    In terms of performance - both titles run smoothly on low end computers ( todays low end computers )

    To sum it all up - Players that do like RTS should get the remastered version. Players that possess the originals can still buy it without regret. Players that do not like spaceships and RTS .... i guess those should not get it.... dahh.
    Off of the many "remastered" or "HD" versions that come out lately - this is most certainly one that did a LOT more than just slap HD on an old title. Meshes, textures, balancing, optimization and gameplay has been adjusted to get a product greater than the original.
    Expand
  25. Mar 2, 2015
    6
    6/10 for Remastered edition. Classics are still the best of the best, but remaster has many issues. It's unoptimized, the game crashes often, HW1 port to HW2 engine was done bad and broke half of HW1 mechanics. I hope Gearbox will take this eriously and patch it soon so it can be enjoyable experience as originals were.
  26. Mar 3, 2015
    8
    Great revision of both games to a modern standard, if they get formations working and sort out the balance between the two they get the last 2 points.
  27. Feb 25, 2015
    4
    TLDR: A remaster should be everything the original was and more; however, besides vastly improved graphics there are several things missing that the original had.

    I haven't gotten very far into it yet but I'm already seeing a lot of bugs (playing HW2 first as I expected that to have less issues as its more native for the engine). So far I've already seen ships go flipping rapidly,
    TLDR: A remaster should be everything the original was and more; however, besides vastly improved graphics there are several things missing that the original had.

    I haven't gotten very far into it yet but I'm already seeing a lot of bugs (playing HW2 first as I expected that to have less issues as its more native for the engine). So far I've already seen ships go flipping rapidly, missing explosion effects and damage decals. I also find a lot of the sound effects annoying and the new voice isn't nearly as good as the old one, and they removed the ability to recolor your ships. The classic version of the game has been fixed up so it doesn't flicker anymore; however, it only has openGl support now, and still doesn't have wide screen support.

    The game does look excellent, but its also showing far more bugs than what the originals had (and beings its just a remaster it should have been... better, than the original).

    Thus I'm giving it a 4, 10/10 for the good graphics (and some superb title screens), not only does it not bring anything new to the game, but it removes things like recoloring your team and playing as the Tidiian.
    Expand
  28. Mar 3, 2015
    0
    They killed the amazing original HW1 mechanics. No fuel, insane bullet physics, tactics and formations that dont work. Its almost impossible to play the HW1 Remastered campaing due how bad that mechanic is.

    A remaster version should preserve the original game mechanics, that makes the original HW1 a true masterpiece. Thats essential. Gearbox epic fail After 20 minutes trying to
    They killed the amazing original HW1 mechanics. No fuel, insane bullet physics, tactics and formations that dont work. Its almost impossible to play the HW1 Remastered campaing due how bad that mechanic is.

    A remaster version should preserve the original game mechanics, that makes the original HW1 a true masterpiece. Thats essential.

    Gearbox epic fail

    After 20 minutes trying to play the remastered HW 1, i gave up and went to the original HW1 even with bad graphics is far better that this insut that they call remaster.
    Expand
  29. Feb 27, 2015
    8
    @HWRemastered: The textures and new visual effects are great ("depth of field", hdr bloom, shadows). I have a GTX 760SC and I've maxed the graphical settings. Impressive. Also, game option: Unit Cap: HUGE Thank you!

    I like the AI. I play solo skirmish only so that's most important to me. Ships don't get hung up on each other anymore, they move when you tell them to provided
    @HWRemastered: The textures and new visual effects are great ("depth of field", hdr bloom, shadows). I have a GTX 760SC and I've maxed the graphical settings. Impressive. Also, game option: Unit Cap: HUGE Thank you!

    I like the AI. I play solo skirmish only so that's most important to me. Ships don't get hung up on each other anymore, they move when you tell them to provided they can, etc. That said, this is still Homeworld. It doesn't feel like a new game; it feels like the old game. There's a new interface but it's nothing you'd have to relearn or anything. It's pretty intuitive and you fall right back into the groove.

    Side note: My build isn't normal, either. Windows 7 x64, Xeon E3-1230, Z77, GTX 760, 32GB. And I'm not having all these problems with ships flipping out, bad pathing, etc. Not in skirmish, anyway.

    I gave the game an 8 because Homeworld is still classic, groundbreaking, and still holds up after all this time but this isn't an original game. I welcome Gearbox's updated interface - that's awesome. But in the end it's still HW. Which, I suppose is why I got it. It deserved this remaster and I'm glad to see it in widescreen, HD and all that.

    I haven't bothered with the original versions yet.
    Expand
  30. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    It's great and everything I wanted and more. For example my ships no longer crash into each other for no reason. It fixed a lot of bugs that kept be from going on and finishing the campaign when I was younger.
  31. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    Probably the only PC game I would ever give 10/10 for. If your a old Homeworld fan then you already know what this is all about, and yes the remastered edition lives up to the legend. For any newcomers, this game will provide you with countless hours of PC strategy fun. One of the most epic and memorable campaigns ever orchestrated into a game, worth every penny.
  32. Feb 26, 2015
    3
    Homeworld 1 Remaster is nothing but a Homeworld 2 mod deprived of all the depth that original had.
    No fuel
    Tactics and formations absolutely broken. And many more gameplay elements that are broken at this point. Also YES song was removed. They say it's because of the engine limitations. Meanwhile they both games run on the same modified engine. Excuses excuses. Gearbox proved once
    Homeworld 1 Remaster is nothing but a Homeworld 2 mod deprived of all the depth that original had.
    No fuel
    Tactics and formations absolutely broken.
    And many more gameplay elements that are broken at this point.

    Also YES song was removed.

    They say it's because of the engine limitations. Meanwhile they both games run on the same modified engine. Excuses excuses. Gearbox proved once again that they should stop doing video games. Salvaging someone elses work and making it worse is not a Remaster.
    Expand
  33. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Homeworld Remastered is a true remaster of the ground-breaking classic 3D space RTS.

    The collection consists of both the classic versions of Homeworld along with their fully remastered counterparts which have been staggeringly reproduced. It feels like each pixel and every detail has been given the utmost care and attention as the execution here is simply astonishing. This isn't a
    Homeworld Remastered is a true remaster of the ground-breaking classic 3D space RTS.

    The collection consists of both the classic versions of Homeworld along with their fully remastered counterparts which have been staggeringly reproduced. It feels like each pixel and every detail has been given the utmost care and attention as the execution here is simply astonishing.

    This isn't a bog-standard cash-grab remake of a classic like Grim Fandango or Resident Evil HD - Homeworld Remastered is how these packages should be - a genuine reproduction of a vintage game that has been compassionately remade from top to bottom. Gearbox have done a remarkable job across the board to bring this game into the modern day and it will go down as one of the greatest strategy games every made in one sublime and generous offering.

    A must-buy for veterans and newcomers alike.
    Expand
  34. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Homeworld Remastered is a true remaster of the ground-breaking classic 3D space RTS.

    The collection consists of both the classic versions of Homeworld along with their fully remastered counterparts which have been staggeringly reproduced. It feels like each pixel and every detail has been given the utmost care and attention as the execution here is simply astonishing. This isn't a
    Homeworld Remastered is a true remaster of the ground-breaking classic 3D space RTS.

    The collection consists of both the classic versions of Homeworld along with their fully remastered counterparts which have been staggeringly reproduced. It feels like each pixel and every detail has been given the utmost care and attention as the execution here is simply astonishing.

    This isn't a bog-standard cash-grab remake of a classic like Grim Fandango or Resident Evil HD - Homeworld Remastered is how these packages should be - a genuine reproduction of a vintage game that has been compassionately remade from top to bottom. Gearbox have done a remarkable job across the board to bring this game into the modern day and it will go down as one of the greatest strategy games every made in one sublime and generous offering.

    A must-buy for veterans and newcomers alike.
    Expand
  35. Jul 22, 2015
    0
    I bought this pack beliving in the steam shop "very positive" thing. I'm very dissapointed. This game is not a remake. A remake must respect the basis of the game. It is a plague of bugs.
    Dissapointing.

    Most of the comments giving a high score are from fans that really don't played this version. I'm sorry, but it is true.
  36. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    Brings back the fun of the original with better controls and way better graphics. Kind of interesting how you can't selected the Taiidani to start out with but oh well, I guess the writers of the first Home World weren't thinking of squeals.
  37. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    A true legend brought back with updated visuals but not much else. Not that the game needs anything else. This is a serious contender for greatest strategy game of all time. Challenging, beautiful and wonderfully narrated, Homeworld 1 and 2 has stood the test of time and remains as entertaining as the days when I first played each game. Highly recommended. Can't wait for Shipbreakers/part 3!!
  38. Feb 25, 2015
    9
    I personally do not like RTS in any form, but I make exception to Homeworld. The story was always beautiful and got you emotionally. Few games can do that.

    I bought this game day 1 when the original first came out and I'm just glad I can play it again with as much joy as when I played the original. It's all there, but better now. They didn't just update it, they added more to the
    I personally do not like RTS in any form, but I make exception to Homeworld. The story was always beautiful and got you emotionally. Few games can do that.

    I bought this game day 1 when the original first came out and I'm just glad I can play it again with as much joy as when I played the original. It's all there, but better now. They didn't just update it, they added more to the immersion and atmosphere.

    However, there is still work to be done as I have already encountered a few nasty bugs. But easy enough to work around except one that required me to restart the game.

    But I also won't be retiring my Cataclysm CD just yet.
    Expand
  39. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    10/10. Perfectly remastered RTS classic with preserved aspects from original HW (original music, original cutscenes and textures but remastered to higher resolutions). Yes there are some bugs, but none of them are critical. But all in all, this is "remastered" as i imagine..
  40. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Amazing game to those that have played the original and those yet to play for the first time. It is one of those games that once played you will want to not stop.
  41. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    A complete remastering. All updated textures, sound, and gameplay. The best remastering I have ever seen. If you love scifi games, this is a must buy. Also comes with classic games.
  42. Feb 25, 2015
    9
    Gearbox did a bang up job of giving Homeworld and Homeworld 2 a facelift, no doubt about it. Everything has been improved dramatically, graphics, cutscenes, audio, as well as the UI. The mod support is also extremely important and is bound to give the game a lot of longevity as people port over their original Homeworld mods and work on new ones.

    That said, there are a few negatives.
    Gearbox did a bang up job of giving Homeworld and Homeworld 2 a facelift, no doubt about it. Everything has been improved dramatically, graphics, cutscenes, audio, as well as the UI. The mod support is also extremely important and is bound to give the game a lot of longevity as people port over their original Homeworld mods and work on new ones.

    That said, there are a few negatives. Cataclysm is nowhere to be found (for understandable reasons), but that's a real shame because its campaign was phenomenal. Homeworld 1 retains its infuriatingly schizophrenic difficulty curve and is ready to teach a whole new generation of players the "abuse salvage corvettes while reloading 10 times in a row or get curbstomped" mantra. The replayability-killing Asteroid Belt Mission Of Doom (tm) is also still there. Lots of players will give up on its campaign before it ends, as was the case back in the day. Homeworld 2 is less insane and more fair, so it's always a joy to play.

    Overall, a passionate facelift that still wears its gameplay warts on its sleeve. If that's what you wanted, you got it. Prepare your backsides.
    Expand
  43. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Finally, good game in stores. It is shame that it was developed years ago. Why don't publishers make hardcore games anymore? You can make money on those games, Homeworld Remastered just proved that. There is market for it. Go oldschool.
  44. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    This is still, without a doubt, the best space RTS game ever made.

    The music, the story, and now the amazing graphics make the game a wonderful experience. There are still some bugs, which is normal for game launches, however they will be definitely resolves promptly.
  45. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    İn 1999; this was the greatest RTS ever. İn 2003 it went one step ahead. 15 years passed and I still think the same. The greatst RTS EVER!!! . Same homeworld same fun but better graphics. Reommended
  46. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    Gearbox have done a fantastic job on this REMAKE. Yes remake - I feel the need to highlight this because allot of people were expecting new ships, complete redesigns ect... which obviously hasn't occured. Gearbox set out to keep the game as origional as possible to ensure that the atmosphere that was created 15 years ago was maintained and they have done a splendid job.

    Just waiting
    Gearbox have done a fantastic job on this REMAKE. Yes remake - I feel the need to highlight this because allot of people were expecting new ships, complete redesigns ect... which obviously hasn't occured. Gearbox set out to keep the game as origional as possible to ensure that the atmosphere that was created 15 years ago was maintained and they have done a splendid job.

    Just waiting for the mods to start appearing - some have already announced on MODDB
    Expand
  47. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Gearbox have done a fantastic job of remastering the legendary Homeworld games.
    The graphics are excellent, the updated sound and visuals bring the game into the modern day and
    you soon forget that it's based of such an old, yet ground-breaking game.

    So far i have had no bugs, no crashes, nothing after 4 hours in.

    Multiplayer works extremely well to boot.

    A must buy for any RTS fan
  48. Feb 25, 2015
    9
    Played for like 2 hours and honestly i really love it. I didn't played the original one so this is not a nostalgic side of me that attracted me to this game. I just didn't seen any 3D RTS and i wanted to experiment it. Story so far is awesome, that really what i want to see in a game.
  49. Apr 6, 2015
    8
    Homeworld Remastered is a great return of an already great game.

    I'm so glad I was able to play the first homeworld and actually get to beat it this time. My only complaint is that after a few levels, Capturing the enemy fleet becomes a priority especially with capital ships. I would literally capture every enemy capital ship and just annihilate the next map. One mission, you have the
    Homeworld Remastered is a great return of an already great game.

    I'm so glad I was able to play the first homeworld and actually get to beat it this time. My only complaint is that after a few levels, Capturing the enemy fleet becomes a priority especially with capital ships. I would literally capture every enemy capital ship and just annihilate the next map. One mission, you have the ghost ship that steals your frigates and higher lvl, I just made a **** ton of bomber fighters and corvettes and bum rushed the ghost ship while leaving the 40+ frigate ships alone and bam.. my Cap of 24 Frigates just turned into 60+ frigates and a few destroyers. Just kept stealing more capital ships on and on and won the game without any effort.

    Then Homeworld 2 comes along and bam.. punches me in the face and then kicks me while on the ground. I dont get to build my fleet after beating objectives, computer constantly sends waves after waves of enemies while trying to build a fleet. It's a lot more micro managing than the first, but the story is pretty awesome.
    Expand
  50. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    I bought the collectors edition of this game because I played the original to death. It looks amazing! It sounds amazing! it is amazing! Did I mention it's amazing!
  51. Sep 3, 2016
    7
    A passable remaster but doesnt retain the charm of the original game. While the graphics are definitely better it is lacking the intense and realism of the original game. The camera movements are too quick, zoom function didnt work for some reason maybe because its the tutorial, the texture is too bright. It puts me too much to continue much further. I'd just go back and play the originalA passable remaster but doesnt retain the charm of the original game. While the graphics are definitely better it is lacking the intense and realism of the original game. The camera movements are too quick, zoom function didnt work for some reason maybe because its the tutorial, the texture is too bright. It puts me too much to continue much further. I'd just go back and play the original homeworld 2. Expand
  52. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    If your looking for an amazing experience, then look no further. Top notch graphics and despite the *whinging* about supposed issues, if the people who moaned over them simply got on with the mission and realize the HW1 and HW2 engines were different so different approaches were needed, they'd enjoy it a lot more rather than crying.

    If you never played this before, this right here is a
    If your looking for an amazing experience, then look no further. Top notch graphics and despite the *whinging* about supposed issues, if the people who moaned over them simply got on with the mission and realize the HW1 and HW2 engines were different so different approaches were needed, they'd enjoy it a lot more rather than crying.

    If you never played this before, this right here is a great time to get it. And if your an old hand whose enjoyed Complex mod and so forth for HW2, well, it includes classic HW2 so mods still work *and* a mod toolkit for the Remastered version is on it's way. Literally f**kin A.
    Expand
  53. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    This is the Remastered Version Homeworld needed and deserved. While there are a few bugs and lacking features from the original games, it is a really solid and well-done title. Well worth your time and money.
  54. Apr 17, 2015
    8
    Since the start of the ps4 and Xbox one genaration of consoles a lot of "remakes" have been made but this game has seen remarkable changes that are very noticeable to me.One good change was that they added more factions,the lack of factions in the last game was a major problem for me.The UI was redone making it more accessible to the different screens.This could have been a ten butSince the start of the ps4 and Xbox one genaration of consoles a lot of "remakes" have been made but this game has seen remarkable changes that are very noticeable to me.One good change was that they added more factions,the lack of factions in the last game was a major problem for me.The UI was redone making it more accessible to the different screens.This could have been a ten but twothings stopped me liking it that much.One was I had a problem loading it up but gearbox helped me fixed.The other one was the loading was quite slow.overall a great game and a good remake! Expand
  55. Dec 28, 2019
    0
    This is not a "remake" this a bugged remake. ships move as if developers were learning how physics works. the interface is so ugly compared to the original, and the classic version is crashing. how come developers can be proud of this ?? script, trigger and timer in missions are broken. ships collide and bug and we can't finish missions. ? the worst remake of all time.

    I tested the
    This is not a "remake" this a bugged remake. ships move as if developers were learning how physics works. the interface is so ugly compared to the original, and the classic version is crashing. how come developers can be proud of this ?? script, trigger and timer in missions are broken. ships collide and bug and we can't finish missions. ? the worst remake of all time.

    I tested the homeworld 2, classic and remastered.
    Expand
  56. Aug 4, 2016
    9
    Five Word Review: Slick game made wonderfully modern.
    Favorite Thing: The modernized UI and controls make it feel like this game is hot off the press.
    Least Favorite Thing: Difficulty can be a bit all over the place at times.

    Playtime: 11h Homeworld 1, 14h Homeworld 2
    Enjoyment: 9/10
    Recommendation: Definitely
  57. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    Remastered Homeworld 1 straight up does not work, but comes with classic which is damn near perfect. Do not play Remastered Homeworld 1 as NONE of the gameplay scripts are ported, only story critical ones. Bullet physics do not exist in remastered's engine (hw2) and as such every single strategy in homeworld one simply does not work and things like frigates automatically melt when touched.Remastered Homeworld 1 straight up does not work, but comes with classic which is damn near perfect. Do not play Remastered Homeworld 1 as NONE of the gameplay scripts are ported, only story critical ones. Bullet physics do not exist in remastered's engine (hw2) and as such every single strategy in homeworld one simply does not work and things like frigates automatically melt when touched. The campaign itself does not work without survival-horror elements like the needleships ramming your destroyers or the asteroids being untargetable in diamond shoals. In remastered, the enemy just lets you win because the scripts do not function in Remastered, only classic. That said, the entire package is my game of the year and I've purchased three collector's editions. Expand
  58. Dec 10, 2021
    0
    Loved the graphics update but even now roughly 6 years after release there are still major bugs in the campaign. There are deep moments in this game that get ruined when the camera ends up facing randomly into space, levels that for some reason your ships can randomly hyperspace on, levels that get stuck and just don't complete, and even after their work to mitigate formations not being inLoved the graphics update but even now roughly 6 years after release there are still major bugs in the campaign. There are deep moments in this game that get ruined when the camera ends up facing randomly into space, levels that for some reason your ships can randomly hyperspace on, levels that get stuck and just don't complete, and even after their work to mitigate formations not being in on release still buggy as heck. As of today, if you wanted to go through and enjoy the story properly play it on the original versions or else you risk having the mood ruined by random and difficult to solve bugs. Expand
  59. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Mad props to Gearbox for remastering my love for a once-dead franchise. They improved the UI in HW1 along with a wide variety of graphical upgrades. HW2 feels just as good as it did in 2004 when I first felt love for the Vagyr. The only thing missing is Homeworld: Cataclysm, which will hopefully be a DLC in the future.
  60. Nov 19, 2019
    9
    Great remaster to one of the best space strategy games of 2000's.
    Finished the story of the first one - awesome :)
    Waiting to have some free time to finish a second one.
  61. Mar 25, 2022
    6
    Homeworld is a real-time strategy video game developed by Relic Entertainment and published by Sierra Studios. Set in space, the science fiction game follows the Kushan exiles of the planet Kharak after their home planet is destroyed by the Taiidan Empire in retaliation for developing hyperspace jump technology. The survivors journey with their spacecraft-constructing mothership to reclaimHomeworld is a real-time strategy video game developed by Relic Entertainment and published by Sierra Studios. Set in space, the science fiction game follows the Kushan exiles of the planet Kharak after their home planet is destroyed by the Taiidan Empire in retaliation for developing hyperspace jump technology. The survivors journey with their spacecraft-constructing mothership to reclaim their ancient homeworld of Hiigara from the Taiidan, encountering a variety of pirates, mercenaries, traders, and rebels along the way. In each of the game's levels, the player gathers resources, builds a fleet, and uses it to destroy enemy ships and accomplish mission objectives. Expand
  62. Aug 5, 2021
    7
    Jeu de stratégie qui consiste surtout à produire et à gérer ses vaisseaux spatiaux de manière optimale à travers différentes missions.
    Le jeu est assez exigeant : vous commencez une mission avec les vaisseaux restant de la mission précédente, si vous terminez de justesse, bonne chance pour la suite.
    Trouvable pour une poignée d' € sur des sites de vente de clé Steam, je conseille aux
    Jeu de stratégie qui consiste surtout à produire et à gérer ses vaisseaux spatiaux de manière optimale à travers différentes missions.
    Le jeu est assez exigeant : vous commencez une mission avec les vaisseaux restant de la mission précédente, si vous terminez de justesse, bonne chance pour la suite.
    Trouvable pour une poignée d' € sur des sites de vente de clé Steam, je conseille aux amateurs du genre.
    mods possibles pour moins de prise de tête
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Jan 21, 2016
    90
    Homeworld is just as revolutionary in 2015 as it was in 1999—and now it looks great too.
  2. May 25, 2015
    90
    Homeworld Remastered Collection is a huge proposition, an indelible package, and it deserves to remain a towering monolith in the RTS game canon as long as possible... And now, I think that maybe it's not so bad feeling tiny.
  3. May 18, 2015
    90
    Homeworld is back in great shape, and you won't regret diving into your best sci-fi memories.