User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 351 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 351

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2016
    5
    I am dissapointed too. I played Homeworld 2 and had good fun. This remastered Version has great graphics, but even on Version 2.1 there are bugs: pathfinding is very bad, often my ships dont attack anything, although there are enemies and they are on attack status. The biggest problem is the lack of good overview and I dont mean this sensor view. Then why do we have such good graphics engine?
  2. Feb 27, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this one was going to be a slam dunk - after all it was an excellent game and Gearbox was planning to update it and beautify it. Beyond that though we quickly get in to trouble:

    1) Fuel has been taken out - this on its own is alright but it causes strike craft to never bother to return to support frigates for repair and rearm. As a consequence of removing fuel they inadvertently made fighters far less survivable.

    2) The original game had support for telling your ships to keep a stance of aggressive or evasive for extra damage or extra survivability... this is just gone.

    3) Formations of ships completely break up as soon as they encounter the enemy.... they may as well be set to 'fly randomly'

    4) Bugs, bugs, bugs.... I am dumbfounded how they managed to introduce so many of them.
    -The game wouldn't run on day 1 until I did some settings arcana. I'm not running a weird build, win7_64, yet these problems happened... unacceptable.

    -The game frequently misses mission triggers, e.g. in the asteroid mission I've completed it yet the Bentusi never show up... the mission just never ends.

    -In the previous mission I captured an enemy carrier. When it came out of the mothership as a friendly carrier it started to disgorge ~20 enemy interceptors....

    -Resource harvesters keep getting stuck due to incompetent pathing

    Really this feels like a beta... I am so tired of companies selling unfinished crap as final product and planning to patch it later.
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2015
    6
    In and of itself, Homeworld:Remastered is a decent game with modern graphics and gameplay, though marred by multitudes of bugs (some game breaking). As a remastering of the originals, it is a straightforward upgrade of Homeworld 2 and a shambling shadow of Homeworld 1. The HW1 game has had many features and balance points sacrificed so that it could be shoehorned into the HW2 engine andIn and of itself, Homeworld:Remastered is a decent game with modern graphics and gameplay, though marred by multitudes of bugs (some game breaking). As a remastering of the originals, it is a straightforward upgrade of Homeworld 2 and a shambling shadow of Homeworld 1. The HW1 game has had many features and balance points sacrificed so that it could be shoehorned into the HW2 engine and multiplayer. Having said this, the Remastered collection does come with HW: Classic, which is a worthwhile purchase for the most diehard of fans. Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2015
    7
    the long awaited remastered version of one of the finest if not the finest space RTS is finally here.
    It has delivered in many ways. The graphics are just beautiful and do the original justice. Space has never before looked so strikingly good.
    It has some flaws however. I'll only be talking about Homeworld remastered, not Homeworld 2 remastered. First of all. There was the chance to
    the long awaited remastered version of one of the finest if not the finest space RTS is finally here.
    It has delivered in many ways. The graphics are just beautiful and do the original justice. Space has never before looked so strikingly good.

    It has some flaws however. I'll only be talking about Homeworld remastered, not Homeworld 2 remastered.
    First of all. There was the chance to get rid of the tedious resource collecting at the end of levels. they have not done it. Why not is beyond me, since in Homeworld 2, it was already implemented that resources are collected automatically at the end of the levels. To add to that flaw, the resource collectors seem to have gotten the dumb makeover. Maybe it is just my memory, but they really seem to behave quite stupid when collecting resources. On several occasions, they were sitting idle when given the harvest command after they consumed a cloud or a rock, not harvesting any further. Also, they seem to move even slower than in the original HW. In some levels, it took several hours! to collect all the remaining resources. That's not good.

    They killed the formations which worked perfectly in the original. Most of them just don't do what they're supposed to. This is especially bad in the sphere formation. In the original, you could let your smaller ships enter a sphere formation and with an additional guard command on bigger ships, they would move in position to form a protective sphere around the ship, firing on all threats while moving along with the guarded ship in a perfect sphere. This doesn't work anymore, they just form a small blob flying alongside the protected ship, which renders the sphere formation completely useless.

    There are also pathfinding bugs. This is especially annoying, when in battle and you order your support frigates to repair your capitals. Very often they get stuck in front of another big ship, waiting for the big ship to move instead of going around, hence, no repairs done. ship lost. I hopw they fix it with a patch soon.

    Finally, there's the UI. WTF? Is all I have to say about this. It's sad :(

    To sum it all up: I'm back in the Homeworld Universe, It looks better than ever, but it feels off. Some former key elements are missing, bugs distort the gaming experience, and the UI is terrible.
    The worst part however is, that it feels slower than ever before.
    To bring this game to a younger generation who didn't know the original, would have meant to adapt a faster pace. Most of them are not familiar with this kind of slow gaming and it could mean a huge blow to sales if the game doesn't appeal to them.
    If Gearbox is able to fix these issues, we might have a classic again.
    7/10 for now
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2015
    6
    6/10 for Remastered edition. Classics are still the best of the best, but remaster has many issues. It's unoptimized, the game crashes often, HW1 port to HW2 engine was done bad and broke half of HW1 mechanics. I hope Gearbox will take this eriously and patch it soon so it can be enjoyable experience as originals were.
  6. Sep 3, 2016
    7
    A passable remaster but doesnt retain the charm of the original game. While the graphics are definitely better it is lacking the intense and realism of the original game. The camera movements are too quick, zoom function didnt work for some reason maybe because its the tutorial, the texture is too bright. It puts me too much to continue much further. I'd just go back and play the originalA passable remaster but doesnt retain the charm of the original game. While the graphics are definitely better it is lacking the intense and realism of the original game. The camera movements are too quick, zoom function didnt work for some reason maybe because its the tutorial, the texture is too bright. It puts me too much to continue much further. I'd just go back and play the original homeworld 2. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Jan 21, 2016
    90
    Homeworld is just as revolutionary in 2015 as it was in 1999—and now it looks great too.
  2. May 25, 2015
    90
    Homeworld Remastered Collection is a huge proposition, an indelible package, and it deserves to remain a towering monolith in the RTS game canon as long as possible... And now, I think that maybe it's not so bad feeling tiny.
  3. May 18, 2015
    90
    Homeworld is back in great shape, and you won't regret diving into your best sci-fi memories.