Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Aug 6, 2020
    95
    Horizon Zero Dawn is that rare gem of a game: it’s the one you make an exception for, it’s the one you just have to keep going back to, no matter how much you’ve seen of it before, and now, we have the ultimate version of the game on PC.
  2. Aug 5, 2020
    93
    Horizon Zero Dawn: Complete Edition is finally coming to PC with incredible graphics, great keyboard and mouse support, and outstanding performance. It is the perfect excuse to revisit the wonderful world that Guerrilla gave us in 2017.
  3. Aug 5, 2020
    93
    The post-apocalyptic Guerrilla game may reach a new group of users who have missed Aloy's adventures in their day. One of the best games of the generation, even better than in its original release.
  4. Aug 5, 2020
    91
    Horizon still has its weaknesses and sometimes feels overloaded with all of the open-world activities, crafting systems or an annoying fast travel system. If I ignore all of this, I have a world open to me that shines above all because it really has something to say - be it within its history or even how we deal with each other and our planet in reality. That is exactly what I miss in many open world games, in which the story likes to degenerate into a breadcrumb trail for all kinds of filling tasks.
  5. Aug 20, 2020
    90
    The PC port of Horizon: Zero Dawn is tremendous and marks an incredibly exciting time for PC gaming. After a wave of patches and updates, the myriad of early launch issues were completely avoided in my time with the game and I was able to experience Horizon: Zero Dawn’s exhilarating gameplay and gorgeous visuals in all their glory. If the trailer doesn’t sell you on the game, take my word for it: you should play Horizon: Zero Dawn. It’s an absolutely enthralling open-world action game with a great story, excellent gameplay and one of the most captivating adventures of this gaming generation. If this marks the beginning of Sony’s willingness to expand it’s console exclusives to the PC market, then I’m incredibly excited to see what the future holds.
  6. Aug 11, 2020
    90
    Horizon may be slowly getting older, but it hasn’t lost any of its exquisite qualities. This is still a brilliant action adventure in an original open world filled with well-crafted stories. And, thanks to the PC port, it looks (and moves) better than ever before.
  7. Aug 10, 2020
    90
    Horizon Zero Dawn is already an exceptional game in its own right, but on PC it is easily the better experience. Whether gamers weren't interested the first time around or they don't have a PS4 but do have a PC, this is still a must-play. Even those that enjoyed Horizon Zero Dawn will find that the PC version brings some new layers to the table thanks to the higher frame rate and improved visuals. The game still adheres to the open-world mold a little more than some might hope, but the environments, story, and gameplay help elevate it enough to be memorable.
  8. Aug 7, 2020
    90
    This is the definitive way to experience Horizon Zero Dawn and the Frozen Wilds expansion if you're in possession of a PC to take advantage of its highest settings. While the PS4 version is still a stellar achievement in its own right, this port pushes the envelope further in terms visuals and performance that it's simply more enjoyable to play. Much like Death Stranding before it, this is yet another console exclusive finding a second home on PC.
  9. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Between the base game and the Frozen Wilds expansion, Horizon: Zero Dawn Complete Edition is a forty+ hour experience that should not be missed by fans of open world action games. Three years down the road from release, Horizon feels a little more unfocused to me than it did at launch, but the story, combat and characters are still some of my favorites from the past few years and so I was happy to return to Aloy’s world, that now looks even better. For owners of a PS4 Pro that have already played the game, buying it again on PC for the graphical upgrade alone is maybe a nonessential purchase, but PC gamers who missed Horizon on console have a great game to look forward to.
  10. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Horizon Zero Dawn remains a visually enticing game with rich natural environments and snow-capped mountains to trek through, all of which can look better than they did on PS4 and PS4 Pro if you have the right PC specs. Given the density of certain towns or villages, or chaos of some combat scenarios, frame rate can take a considerable dip, making it a fairly demanding game, but it may also noticeably stutter occasionally, making for some inconsistent performance. (I've used a Core i7-7700K, RTX 2080, and 16GB of RAM at ultrawide 2560x1080 resolution using maximum settings and TAA, and had dips to around 35-40 FPS in those intense moments.)
  11. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Horizon: Zero Dawn is arguably one of the best games from the entire PS4 exclusive lineup, and a fan-favorite as well. Now, the PC version provides more than enough options to customize the experience for MKB players in a wide variety of hardware, including 21:9 and 32:9 displays, high resolution standard displays, and decent-ish graphics cards. Would have loved to see additional RTX options such as DLSS 2.0, one of the best features from Death Stranding on PC.
  12. 90
    It’s one of the best games of the last few years – but the PC version especially is a sight to behold, so much so that returning players should absolutely consider double-dipping for the PC version of Horizon. It really is that much of an upgrade over the PS4 version. Not only do the graphical and technical improvements make the world much more exciting to explore, but the increased framerate and ability to use a mouse elevate the combat to new heights. The PC platform allows Horizon Zero Dawn to be the best game it can be.
  13. PC Games
    Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Horizon: Zero Dawn actually exceeded my high expectations. A great game that hardly ever makes mistakes.
  14. 90
    This version of Horizon Zero Dawn brings this great former PS4 exclusive to PC, where it can tap into the potential of a much more powerful hardware.
  15. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Horizon Zero Dawn is therefore a worthwhile buy for PC. It's easy to see why - the game is still one of the best on the PS4 - although it's unlikely that those who have previously played the game will feel the need to pick it up just because of its new PC home. If consumers missed out on this console exclusive because they didn't own a PS4, however, it hasn't lost any of its power since its initial release, and remains a must-play for those who've yet to experience it.
  16. 90
    Horizon Zero Dawn was the most beautiful looking console game when it released in 2017, and it's even more stunning on PC. If you've waited to play it, then you're in for an absolute treat, and if you played it on PS4, but have a capable PC, then I'd definitely recommend you play through it again before the sequel hits.
  17. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Stunning on PS4, Horizon Zero Dawn looks stunning on PC.
  18. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    An already gorgeous game in its own right, Horizon Zero Dawn: Complete Edition celebrates this amazing title on PC with a host of improvements. Catch up on an amazing adventure and get ready for Horizon Forbidden West next year.
  19. Aug 9, 2020
    89
    In terms like stoy, setting and experience, Horizon Zero Dawn is as good on PC as it was on its original PS4 release. It's true that it improves graphically and that the ambience is very successful, but it's badly optimized and there are technical errors that weigh down this port.
  20. Aug 5, 2020
    88
    Horizon Zero Dawn brings to PC a vibrant and unique world, excellently characterized and wonderful to observe. Aloy's adventure, net of some obvious imperfections and some aspects that have withstood the test of time, is still fascinating and extremely fun to play today. In short, Guerrilla's remains one of the most precious open-world titles in recent years, not only for the charm of the story and the setting, but also for dynamic, responsive, layered and engaging gameplay.
  21. Aug 5, 2020
    88
    Horizon Zero Dawn delivers a stunning action RPG experience, this time on PC, packed with a fascinating open world setting, nice characters and an engaging story.
  22. Aug 6, 2020
    86
    While Horizon’s PC port can’t quite go toe-to-toe with the likes of RDR2’s conversion, this is still a highly polished, top-tier open world adventure. Though it lifts stealth and exploration elements from other games, Aloy’s imaginative combat and captivating metallic foes ensure the time I spent with Horizon will burn bright in my memory.
  23. CD-Action
    Oct 15, 2020
    85
    I had tons of fun with the PC version of Horizon Zero Dawn. I appreciated the story, enjoyed exploring the vast, remarkable world crafted masterfully out of extremely diverse elements, and found defeating the largest mechanical beasts to be deeply satisfying every single time. Additionally, the Complete Edition features The Frozen Wilds expansion, which is not only large, but also visually stunning. [10/2020, p.56]
  24. Aug 25, 2020
    85
    Even with its technological hangups, the PC port of Horizon Zero Dawn brings an experience wholly unlike anything else I've ever played.
  25. Aug 6, 2020
    85
    If you don't have a PS4 or just want to enjoy the game on PC with better graphics, Horizon Zero Dawn: Complete Edition would be perfect for you.
  26. Aug 6, 2020
    85
    The PC version of the visually stunning open world adventure delivers, even though it demands enormous GPU-power.
  27. Aug 6, 2020
    85
    Horizon: Zero Dawn is a fantastic game, and this is a very good version, although a little bit flawed. Guerrilla is committed to iron out these issues to allow PC players to enjoy this adventure in the best possible way.
  28. Aug 6, 2020
    85
    The arrival of Horizon Zero Dawn to PC does not achieve the global quality of what has already been seen with Decima Engine in terms of optimization. However, in ultra quality it offers a different (and great) way to enjoy the work of Guerrilla Games.
  29. Aug 5, 2020
    85
    Horizon Zero Dawn on PC keeps the core of what made the original game so good, offering several improvements that, while not being on the same level of optimization as Death Stranding, will please its new users.
  30. Aug 5, 2020
    85
    Three years after its initial release, Horizon: Zero Dawn is still a great game, and that Complete Edition offers all the contents available, and nicer graphics. The only drawback is the lack of stability, and many crashed that are still happening. Guess it'll buffer out with time and patches.
  31. Aug 19, 2020
    82
    Despite some of my qualms with the production and PC port quality, I highly recommend picking up Horizon: Zero Dawn for the PC. Yes, there is some risk of encountering the issues that others have seen, but fortunately, Steam's generous refund system serves as a comforting protection against wasted money. Overall, it's an easy recommendation for all cohorts of gamers. Players who didn't have a PS4 can experience a well-crafted world with a captivating story to flesh it out, and those who already played it back in 2017 might still enjoy the PC version's improved visuals and frame rate. This is a great way to refresh your memory on Aloy's adventures before the sequel releases in 2021 for PS5.
  32. Aug 11, 2020
    80
    Having played through Horizon Zero Dawn on PC, my view of it hasn't changed since I first played it in early 2017. There's a lot of open world bloat present, but when it works, it works. And man is it still beautiful, especially on PC.
  33. Aug 10, 2020
    80
    Despite the glaring flaws in Horizon Zero Dawn upon release, and the occasionally shoddy dialogue and uninspired activities, what shines through are the major moments of awe-inspiring wonder and childlike discovery. The overarching story is also a joy to unravel, touching on some major themes and topics still unseen in many games today. And the standout star of the show is of course the mechanical creatures, who always steal the scene no matter the occasion.
  34. Aug 10, 2020
    80
    Overall, there is no doubt in my mind that Horizon Zero Dawn on the PC is the best version of the 2017 title if you have the right hardware to handle it. If you don’t, you can still bring down the quality to near console and find one of the best games in this generation.
  35. Aug 7, 2020
    80
    Horizon Zero Dawn was a great game when it released three years ago, and it remains a great game now. This PC port of the Complete Edition may not be perfect, but it does successfully bring the game to a new format with additional bells and whistles that will be much appreciated.
  36. Aug 6, 2020
    80
    Horizon Zero Dawn for PC earns a great score as it still does so much right, easily deserving the attention of any curious PC gamers who feel as though they missed out, and for anyone who’s happy to jump in at that $50 launch price.
  37. Aug 6, 2020
    80
    On a modern computer, Horizon Zero Dawn Complete Edition looks absolutely stunning, thanks to new visual options - more frames per second, adjustable FOV... There are some technical flaws, but it doesn't prevent from enjoying Aloy's Adventure and its magnificent post-apocalyptic open world, even if it feels a bit redundant and not that refreshing in terms of stage work and dialogues.
  38. Aug 6, 2020
    80
    Horizon Zero Dawn is gorgeous and innately playable, even if the open-world gameplay it presents will feel overly familiar to most. The port has some issues that will almost certainly get stamped out in short order and the gameplay has its fair share of frustrations, but anyone looking to stalk some robots will find plenty to like.
  39. Aug 5, 2020
    80
    Horizon Zero Dawn is a worthwhile open-world action game on PC carried by its captivating environments, awesome combat, and thrilling main story.
  40. Aug 5, 2020
    80
    Horizon Zero Dawn Complete Edition on PC is largely the same game that released on PS4 with its strengths and weaknesses, graphical improvements and better performance do make this the best version to play, though.
  41. Aug 5, 2020
    80
    Horizon Zero Dawn, with the Complete Edition on Steam, arrives on PC with a convincing conversion, which allows you to retrieve one of the most fascinating open world games of the current generation with a significant performance boost and greater detail. Too bad for the lack of support for Ray Tracing and DLSS.
  42. Aug 5, 2020
    80
    This game is worth every penny of the $50 you'll need to shell out to enjoy it on your PC through Steam, and it's my sincere hope that the popularity of this title on Steam is the start of an increased focus on PC players from Sony.
  43. Aug 5, 2020
    80
    Horizon Zero Dawn's PC port lets you hunt robot animals and explore a massive post-apocalyptic world on your own computer, with consistent and reliable performance.
  44. Aug 10, 2020
    79
    If Guerrilla Games hopes to maintain a grasp on its prospective fanbase’s attention, they’ll need to put a hefty amount of work into Horizon: Zero Dawn PC. The journey itself is as incredible as ever. And if you’ve got a computer that can run the damn thing, you’re in for the pinnacle of the series. But for everyone else, I’m not altogether convinced that in its current state, spending the extra money on the PC edition is wholly justified. For now, I’d quietly keep my distance and anticipate further updates.
  45. Aug 5, 2020
    75
    Horizon Zero Dawn Complete Edition is a welcome port on PC, although very little effort has been made to actually adapt it to our machines. The graphics improvements are there and it is possible to play with the keyboard and mouse, but the interface is not particularly suitable. The flaws and clumsiness of the title, both in the combat system, inventory and crafting, still tend to irritate, but it remains a good game, on which you can spend tens of hours without getting bored.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 6, 2020
    I'm a big fan of HZD, and on my most powerful PC, I can currently play a tolerable-if-blurry 4K version at a nearly locked 60fps (or a native 1440p version at around 68fps on a variable refresh rate monitor). And it's a great action game at 60fps and above, especially when you juggle hero Aloy's selection of weapons and traps to fake like a real robo-safari hunter. There's no modern action game quite like it.
  2. Aug 9, 2020
    If all you want is 60 FPS and you have a relatively recent system and a sufficiently fast GPU for your target resolution, that should be easy enough to achieve as long as you take note of the settings and configuration requirements I pointed out in the performance deep dive section. However, chasing consistent very high framerates above that (e.g. 120 FPS) seems like a fool’s errand even on top-end hardware. Ultimately the game is a visual spectacle and the gameplay is not particularly fast-paced, so the severe sacrifices in graphics necessary to achieve even relatively consistent 120 FPS do not appear to be worth it in this case.
  3. Not the most innovative game in the world by any means, but one of the best adventures you can go on inside a telly, and one of the most beautiful, too – especially now that telly is a PC. [RPS Bestest Bests]
  4. Aug 11, 2020
    I do want to reiterate that Horizon Zero Dawn has mostly been okay on my PC. It’s worse than Death Stranding, but nowhere near as bad as Red Dead Redemption 2 (which did eventually get fixed) at launch. I can play at higher graphics settings and frame rates than the PS4 version, and with ultrawide support, so ultimately, this is the best version for me despite its issues. But the reports of poor performance elsewhere are so widespread and disparate across a variety of hardware that I can’t really recommend it until there’s definitive evidence of comprehensive fixes.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 515 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Aug 9, 2020
    0
    The game is buggy as **** Can't really play it because of constant crashes. Got reimbursed for this. I mean come on? No QA at all?
  2. Aug 9, 2020
    0
    This game is not working. Crushing on deckstop. i have 32G RAM. RTX2060SUPER, Ryzen3600x. In RDR2 i have about 100 fps on ultra.

    Also
    This game is not working. Crushing on deckstop. i have 32G RAM. RTX2060SUPER, Ryzen3600x. In RDR2 i have about 100 fps on ultra.

    Also about 35% of players also cant run this game - do not buy it untill they fix this. Its not an AAA companay and game....
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2020
    3
    Animations are not adjusted for more than 30fps, AF is broken, stutter in cut scenes on high end systems (NVMe, 32GB, 2080, 9900k, G-Sync). Bad port.